DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 9/18/2025, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 5-7, 9, and 13-17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 9/18/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Spero
Claims 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spero(USPubN 2021/0162912).
As per claim 9, Spero teaches an illumination system comprising: at least one first light-emitting diode configured to project a first light within a first visible spectrum; at least one second light-emitting diode configured to project a second light within a second visible spectrum that is different than the first visible spectrum(“By varying the number and/or light power output of a specific color LED or group of LEDs relative to the others, a different intensity and color temperature of light with a “warm” or “cool” appearance may be effected.” in Para.[0109], [0267]);
an imaging assembly comprising: an infrared light source configured to project an infrared light; and an imager that captures an image of a reflection of the infrared light from a surface of an object(“The controller of the LEDs is coupled to a camera which analyzes surfaces and usage within the living space and adjusts the lighting accordingly” in Para.[0036], “If infrared lighting is need for the security camera then provision is made to have IR sources aimed at the specific areas of concern” in Para.[0279]);
a processor configured to: extract a 2-dimensional ("2D") representation of the surface from the image; identify and apply a categorization to the object identified categorize the object as one of a readable medium or a consumable; and if the object is identified as a readable medium, apply a subcategorization to the identified readable medium as an electric readable medium with a display or anon-electric book(Para.[0036], [0057], [0060], “the logical controller 454 receiving image input from the camera 453 and running pattern recognition software will identify what is the visual task a person is trying to perform. The computer routine receives images from the camera and by determining the proximity of persons to objects such as books, newspapers, computer screens, telephones, televisions, cereal bowls, a writing pad, etc. that are recognized by the computer vision techniques predicts what visual task the user is trying to perform. The logical controller 454 then drives the light sources 457 according to recommended lighting practice levels stored in its data storage. In another preferred embodiment of the invention the user can command the logical controller as to the visual task being performed and the type of lighting desired such as “warm white” or “more light” and their preferred intensity level.” in Para.[0267], [0294]),
generate an illumination signal to at least one of the at least one first light-emitting diode and the at least one second light-emitting diode based on a category the subcategorization of the object to illuminate the object(“The logical controller 454 then drives the light sources 457 according to recommended lighting practice levels stored in its data storage. In another preferred embodiment of the invention the user can command the logical controller as to the visual task being performed and the type of lighting desired such as “warm white” or “more light” and their preferred intensity level.” in Para.[0267]).
As per claim 10, Spero teaches wherein the first visible spectrum is between about 350 nm and about 500 nm(“doubling the power to 40 Watts with the addition of four watts or 100 lumen of 470 nm Blue LEDs (e.g. Osram LB WSAM) a 3800 Kelvin CCT cool white light can be produced using 500 lumen of 528 nm green light mixed with 400 lumen of 590 nm yellow and 150 lumen of 625 nm red yielding a good color rendering CRI of 82” in Para.[0313]).
As per claim 11, Spero teaches wherein the second visible spectrum is between about 500 nm and about 700 nm(“doubling the power to 40 Watts with the addition of four watts or 100 lumen of 470 nm Blue LEDs (e.g. Osram LB WSAM) a 3800 Kelvin CCT cool white light can be produced using 500 lumen of 528 nm green light mixed with 400 lumen of 590 nm yellow and 150 lumen of 625 nm red yielding a good color rendering CRI of 82” in Para.[0313]).
As per claim 12, Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify an outer perimeter of the object; and generate the illumination signal to focus the first light or the second light to substantially match the outer perimeter of the object(“Actual vision and perception is not only a function of the illuminance falling on the object being observed but also of the luminance of surfaces in the surround, spectral distributions of the object and background and the general illuminance level to which the eye has adapted. Veiling luminance and veiling reflections may even be as interfering so as to disturb the ability to see. Described is a method of using an embodiment of multiple light source lighting fixture of the present invention with finely controlled light delivery to assist people to better see objects or carry out visual tasks such as reading. The method comprises altering the intensity and/or color of the illumination delivered to the task versus other surfaces in the visual surround (that is they are in the viewer's field of view) such that the luminance of the object, the luminance of the background, the contrast and the veiling reflections are controlled so as to produce optimal vision conditions. To accomplish the spatially differentiated light delivery to the object of the visual task such as a book or computer screen the light sources to produce task lighting have multiple, narrow beams with minimal spill light. The limited coverage area of each beam and sharp cutoff is such that the lighting fixture controller can target a book while not substantially illuminating the desk. Other light sources illuminate the desk and other surfaces in the visual surround at an optimal background level luminance. The background level is determined by factors such as whether it is an office environment where others are present, and a dark office is unpleasant or if the reading is at home and a lower background can be tolerated” in Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], [0297]).
As per claim 14, Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: upon applying the categorization to the readable medium, generate the illumination signal to the at least one first light-emitting diode only; and upon applying the different categorization to the consumable, generate the illumination signal to the at least one second light-emitting diode only(Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], “light at 3500K-4100K helps accentuate the textures and colors of fish and white meat while the rosy hue of a 2250K light source will accentuate the color and juices of red meat. Thus, it would be beneficial if the light which is illuminating the specific table setting can be varied in accordance with the food being served. The FAML with its capability of delivering spatially differentiated illumination will render each portion in its best light. Using programmed scene recognition algorithms, the luminaire's computer vision system comprised of the camera sensor 496 and logical controller 494 identifies the food on the plate, looks-up in storage the recommended CCT and powers each of the different colored LED chips aimed thereon at the correct power level in order to provide the optimal color illumination” in Para.[0282], [0284], [0297]).
As per claim 15, Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a hand gesture in the image; and modify a convergence or divergence angle of the first light or the second light based on movement of the hand gesture(Para.[0288], [0299]).
As per claim 16, Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the hand gesture in the image; and switch between the first light and the second light based on movement of the hand gesture(Para.[0288], [0299]).
As per claim 17, Spero teaches an illumination system comprising: at least one first light-emitting diode configured to project a first light within a first visible spectrum; at least one second light-emitting diode configured to project a second light within a second visible spectrum that is different than the first visible spectrum(“By varying the number and/or light power output of a specific color LED or group of LEDs relative to the others, a different intensity and color temperature of light with a “warm” or “cool” appearance may be effected.” in Para.[0109], [0267]);
at least one lens moveable relative to the at least one first light-emitting diode and the at least one second light-emitting diode to modify an illumination angle(“The adjustable lighting fixture structure is provided with moveable joints 506 which have means for being positioned at specific angles which are relatable to a lighting design software program such as those commercially available to lighting designers. The software can be run on the logical controller 501 or on a remote computer. When the light source module 502 etc. light distributions and aimings are input into the lighting design software program along with the room dimensions and surface reflectance's, the illuminance within the room is calculated.” in Para.[0288]);
an imaging assembly comprising: an infrared light source configured to project an infrared light; and an imager that captures an image of a reflection of the infrared light from a surface of an object(“The controller of the LEDs is coupled to a camera which analyzes surfaces and usage within the living space and adjusts the lighting accordingly” in Para.[0036], “If infrared lighting is need for the security camera then provision is made to have IR sources aimed at the specific areas of concern” in Para.[0279]);
a processor configured to: extract a 2-dimensional ("2D") representation of the surface from the image; identify and categorize the object; identify a perimeter of the object; and generate an illumination signal to at least one of the at least one first light-emitting diode and the at least one second light-emitting diode based on a category of the object(Para.[0036], [0057], [0060], “the logical controller 454 receiving image input from the camera 453 and running pattern recognition software will identify what is the visual task a person is trying to perform. The computer routine receives images from the camera and by determining the proximity of persons to objects such as books, newspapers, computer screens, telephones, televisions, cereal bowls, a writing pad, etc. that are recognized by the computer vision techniques predicts what visual task the user is trying to perform. The logical controller 454 then drives the light sources 457 according to recommended lighting practice levels stored in its data storage. In another preferred embodiment of the invention the user can command the logical controller as to the visual task being performed and the type of lighting desired such as “warm white” or “more light” and their preferred intensity level.” in Para.[0267], [0294]); and
move the at least one lens to modify the illumination angle until to illuminate at least the perimeter of the object is illuminated(Para.[0288]).
As per claim 18, Spero teaches wherein the first visible spectrum is between about 350 nm and about 500 nm(“doubling the power to 40 Watts with the addition of four watts or 100 lumen of 470 nm Blue LEDs (e.g. Osram LB WSAM) a 3800 Kelvin CCT cool white light can be produced using 500 lumen of 528 nm green light mixed with 400 lumen of 590 nm yellow and 150 lumen of 625 nm red yielding a good color rendering CRI of 82” in Para.[0313]).
As per claim 19, Spero teaches wherein the second visible spectrum is between about 500 nm and about 700 nm(“doubling the power to 40 Watts with the addition of four watts or 100 lumen of 470 nm Blue LEDs (e.g. Osram LB WSAM) a 3800 Kelvin CCT cool white light can be produced using 500 lumen of 528 nm green light mixed with 400 lumen of 590 nm yellow and 150 lumen of 625 nm red yielding a good color rendering CRI of 82” in Para.[0313]).
As per claim 20, Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: apply a categorization to the object identified as a readable medium; or apply a different categorization to the object identified as a consumable(“To accomplish the spatially differentiated light delivery to the object of the visual task such as a book or computer screen the light sources to produce task lighting have multiple, narrow beams with minimal spill light. The limited coverage area of each beam and sharp cutoff is such that the lighting fixture controller can target a book while not substantially illuminating the desk.” In Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], [0282], [0284], [0297]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Spero in view of Al-Joundi
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spero(USPubN 2021/0162912) in view of Al-Joundi et al.(USPubN 2024/0004671; hereinafter Al-Joundi).
As per claim 1, Spero teaches an illumination system comprising: at least one first light-emitting diode configured to project a first light within a cool visible spectrum; at least one second light-emitting diode configured to project a second light within a warm visible spectrum(“By varying the number and/or light power output of a specific color LED or group of LEDs relative to the others, a different intensity and color temperature of light with a “warm” or “cool” appearance may be effected.” in Para.[0109], [0267]);
an imaging assembly comprising: an infrared light source configured to project an infrared light(“If infrared lighting is need for the security camera then provision is made to have IR sources aimed at the specific areas of concern” in Para.[0279]); and
an imager that captures an image of a reflection of the infrared light from a surface of an object(“The controller of the LEDs is coupled to a camera which analyzes surfaces and usage within the living space and adjusts the lighting accordingly” in Para.[0036], Para.[0279]);
a processor configured to: extract a 2-dimensional (“2D”) representation of the surface from the image; identify and categorize the object; and generate an illumination signal to at least one of the at least one first light-emitting diode and the at least one second light-emitting diode based on a category of the object to illuminate the object(Para.[0036], [0057], [0060], “the logical controller 454 receiving image input from the camera 453 and running pattern recognition software will identify what is the visual task a person is trying to perform. The computer routine receives images from the camera and by determining the proximity of persons to objects such as books, newspapers, computer screens, telephones, televisions, cereal bowls, a writing pad, etc. that are recognized by the computer vision techniques predicts what visual task the user is trying to perform. The logical controller 454 then drives the light sources 457 according to recommended lighting practice levels stored in its data storage. In another preferred embodiment of the invention the user can command the logical controller as to the visual task being performed and the type of lighting desired such as “warm white” or “more light” and their preferred intensity level.” in Para.[0267], [0294]).
upon receiving feedback from a user to change the illumination signal associated with the category of the object, modify the illumination signal associated with the category of the object(“Logic control electronics unit, 7, receives input and/or feedback from motion, intensity and/or spectral sensors 8, or from manual control button 9 and increases or decreases or turns on or shuts off the power to one or more of the SLS to effect the desired change. That is, the control logic unit 7 has stored parameters for intensity and spectral distribution and operates the MSLS lamp within the predefined range.” in Para.[0132], [0135], [0267]).
Spero is silent about after a predetermined amount of time, revert to the initial illumination signal associated with the category of the object.
Al-Joundi teaches after a predetermined amount of time, revert to the initial illumination signal associated with the category of the object(“The altered output includes a lighting effect such as a change in color (e.g., from a defined “ambient” color to a defined “notification” color), an increase or decrease in intensity of the light, a flashing light or blinking light. The lighting effect can be a system-defined default setting or a user-defined setting for notifications. Since the lighting effect is intended to catch the user's attention for a notification, the time period in which the output is altered is temporary. For instance, the time period may be a predetermined amount of time (e.g., two seconds, three seconds). Alternatively, the time period may be dynamically determined based on a designated time period associated with the notification, which is established by the application or system component that issued the notification. When the time period expires, the altered output reverts back to the previous light output (e.g., the ambient light setting)” in Para.[0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Spero with the above teachings of Al-Joundi in order to improve user’s lighting experience.
As per claim 2, Spero and Al-Joundi teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify an outer perimeter of the object; and generate the illumination signal to focus the first light or the second light to substantially match the outer perimeter of the object(“Actual vision and perception is not only a function of the illuminance falling on the object being observed but also of the luminance of surfaces in the surround, spectral distributions of the object and background and the general illuminance level to which the eye has adapted. Veiling luminance and veiling reflections may even be as interfering so as to disturb the ability to see. Described is a method of using an embodiment of multiple light source lighting fixture of the present invention with finely controlled light delivery to assist people to better see objects or carry out visual tasks such as reading. The method comprises altering the intensity and/or color of the illumination delivered to the task versus other surfaces in the visual surround (that is they are in the viewer's field of view) such that the luminance of the object, the luminance of the background, the contrast and the veiling reflections are controlled so as to produce optimal vision conditions. To accomplish the spatially differentiated light delivery to the object of the visual task such as a book or computer screen the light sources to produce task lighting have multiple, narrow beams with minimal spill light. The limited coverage area of each beam and sharp cutoff is such that the lighting fixture controller can target a book while not substantially illuminating the desk. Other light sources illuminate the desk and other surfaces in the visual surround at an optimal background level luminance. The background level is determined by factors such as whether it is an office environment where others are present, and a dark office is unpleasant or if the reading is at home and a lower background can be tolerated” in Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], [0297]).
As per claim 3, Spero and Al-Joundi teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: apply a categorization to the object identified as a readable medium; or apply a different categorization to the object identified as a consumable(“To accomplish the spatially differentiated light delivery to the object of the visual task such as a book or computer screen the light sources to produce task lighting have multiple, narrow beams with minimal spill light. The limited coverage area of each beam and sharp cutoff is such that the lighting fixture controller can target a book while not substantially illuminating the desk.” In Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], [0282], [0284], [0297]).
As per claim 4, Spero and Al-Joundi teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: upon applying the categorization to the readable medium, generate the illumination signal to the at least one first light-emitting diode only; and upon applying the different categorization to the consumable, generate the illumination signal to the at least one second light-emitting diode only(Para.[0253], [0267], [0275], “light at 3500K-4100K helps accentuate the textures and colors of fish and white meat while the rosy hue of a 2250K light source will accentuate the color and juices of red meat. Thus, it would be beneficial if the light which is illuminating the specific table setting can be varied in accordance with the food being served. The FAML with its capability of delivering spatially differentiated illumination will render each portion in its best light. Using programmed scene recognition algorithms, the luminaire's computer vision system comprised of the camera sensor 496 and logical controller 494 identifies the food on the plate, looks-up in storage the recommended CCT and powers each of the different colored LED chips aimed thereon at the correct power level in order to provide the optimal color illumination” in Para.[0282], [0284], [0297]).
As per claim 6, Spero and Al-Joundi teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a hand gesture in the image; and modify the intensity of the first light and the second light based on movement of the hand gesture(“The concentrated light source 528 is aimed by controller 501 to provide direct illumination to perform the visual task of reading the book that she is assumed to be undertaking. If not happy with the lighting level she may command the lighting controller, either audibly or by a gesture picked up by the camera vision system or electromagnetically through a control device, to affect a change.” in Para.[0299]).
As per claim 8, Spero and Al-Joundi teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Spero teaches further comprising a user interface in communication with the processor, the user interface providing an option to switch between the first light and the second light and modify a convergence or divergence angle of the first light or the second light(“The adjustable lighting fixture structure is provided with moveable joints 506 which have means for being positioned at specific angles which are relatable to a lighting design software program such as those commercially available to lighting designers. The software can be run on the logical controller 501 or on a remote computer. When the light source module 502 etc. light distributions and aimings are input into the lighting design software program along with the room dimensions and surface reflectance's, the illuminance within the room is calculated.” in Para.[0288]).
Spero in view of Al-Joundi and Shimizu
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spero(USPubN 2021/0162912) in view of Al-Joundi et al.(USPubN 2024/0004671; hereinafter Al-Joundi) further in view of Shimizu et al.(USPubN 2017/0347073; hereinafter Shimizu).
As per claim 5, Spero and Kuhlman teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Spero teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a hand gesture in the image; and modify a convergence or divergence angle of the first light or the second light based on the hand gesture(“using scene recognition algorithms, that based on her head position, she is reading a book 527 and not watching the television screen 526. The concentrated light source 528 is aimed by controller 501 to provide direct illumination to perform the visual task of reading the book that she is assumed to be undertaking. If not happy with the lighting level she may command the lighting controller, either audibly or by a gesture picked up by the camera vision system or electromagnetically through a control device, to affect a change.” in Para.[0299]).
Spero and Al-Joundi are silent about generate a projected light menu of a current illumination angle; and modify a convergence of divergence angle of the first light or the second light based on movement of the hand gesture over the projected light menu.
Shimizu teaches generate a projected light menu of a current illumination angle; and modify a convergence of divergence angle of the first light or the second light based on movement of the hand gesture over the projected light menu(Para.[0185])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Spero and Al-Joundi with the above teachings of Shimizu in order to improve operability of the projection video display device.
Spero in view of Terrier
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spero(USPubN 2021/0162912) in view of Terrier et al.(USPubN 2017/0259735; hereinafter Terrier).
As per claim 13, Spero teaches all of limitation of claim 9.
Spero is silent about wherein the processor is further configured to: apply a greater illumination intensity if the object is subcategorized as the non-electric book than if the object is subcategorized as the electric readable medium.
Terrier teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: apply a greater illumination intensity if the object is subcategorized as the non-electric book than if the object is subcategorized as the electric readable medium(“If the image analysis means have determined that a passenger present in the seat 9 is consulting their computer, the individual lighting device 18 associated with this seat 9 then emits lighting of moderate intensity. If the image analysis means have determined that a passenger present in the seat 9 is reading a book, the individual lighting device 18 associated with this seat 9 then emits a high intensity lighting. If the image analysis means have determined that a passenger present in the seat 9 is active, with no book, the individual lighting device 18 associated with this seat 9 then emits a medium intensity lighting. If the image analysis means have determined that a passenger present in the seat 9 is sleeping, the individual lighting device 18 associated with this seat 9 then emits a light of low intensity or null intensity.” in Para.[0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Spero with the above teachings of Terrier in order to improve user’s lighting experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484