DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Omori et al. US 9231312 B2.
In reference to claim 1, Omori an electrical connector (1; fig. 1) for engaging a battery terminal, the electrical connector comprising: a securing plate (2) for securing the electrical connector to the battery terminal, the securing plate having: first and second faces (top and bottom surface of 2) spaced apart from one another so as to provide a thickness; first and second ends (left and right end of 2; fig. 1) located at opposite ends of the securing plate; first and second lateral sides (see fig. below) spaced apart from one another on opposite sides of the longitudinal axis and extending between the first and second ends; and a plurality of openings spaced from one another between the first and second ends and each opening extending from the first face to the second face, wherein the plurality of openings (14, 15) are provided to facilitate connecting the electrical connector to the battery terminal; first and second crimping clasps (11, 12) located on one of the first and second lateral sides of the securing plate and spaced apart from one another; a first bridge (11a) fixedly securing the first crimping clasp to the securing plate; and a second bridge (12a) fixedly securing the second crimping clasp to the securing plate; and each of the securing plate, the first and second crimping clasps, and the first and second bridges is made of an electrically conductive material.
Regarding the limitations “for engaging a battery terminal”, “to facilitate connecting the electrical connector to the battery terminal” , it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
However Omori does not teach a first tapered bridge and a second tapered bridge, each of the first and second tapered bridges tapers in width from the securing plate to the respective first and second crimping clasps.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the first and second bridge to be tapered shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the first and second bridge to arrive at the results of claim 1. The first and second bridge still join the crimping clasps to the securing plate, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 8, Omori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Omori does not teach wherein each of the first and second tapered bridges has first and second lateral sides extending from the securing plate to the corresponding first or second crimping clasp, and each of the first and second lateral sides has a taper angle in a range of 5 degrees to 30 degrees.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of first and second bridge so that the first and second lateral sides has a taper angle in a range of 5 degrees to 30 degrees, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the first and second bridge to arrive at the results of claim 8. The first and second bridge still join the crimping clasps to the securing plate, therefore new results are not produced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of YAGI et al. US 20150364837 A1.
In reference to claim 2, Omori substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Omori does not teach wherein each of the first and second crimping clasps is an O-type crimping clasp.
YAGI teaches of a crimping clasp is an O-type crimping clasp (30; fig. 1). Using the teaching of YAGI to modify Omori to arrive at the results of claim 2 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of YAGI. The crimping clasp still secures the terminal to the wire conductor, therefore new results are not produced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of elements including:
(Claim 10) first and second crimping clasps located on one of the first and second lateral sides of the securing plate and spaced apart from one another; a first tapered bridge fixedly securing the first crimping clasp to the securing plate; and a second tapered bridge fixedly securing the second crimping clasp to the securing plate; wherein: each of the first and second tapered bridges tapers in width from the securing plate to the respective first and second crimping clasps; and each of the securing plate, the first and second crimping clasps, and the first and second tapered bridges is made of an electrically conductive material.
The closest prior art of record Manor et al. US 6280263 B1 teaches of a bridge (22; fig. 1, 2) and a crimping clasp (16, 14; fig. 1) however Advey does not indicated allowable subject matter of claim 10 mentioned above.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 01/09/2026