DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102(a)2
Claim(s) 1-6,11-24,28-30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Cheng et al (20240155491 A1) hereinafter as Cheng.
Regarding claim(s) 1,20,29,30, Cheng discloses a user equipment (UE) and network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (See Fig(s). 3 UE 310 and Network node 320 with processors 312, 322 and memory 314 and 324 respectively) to:
receive, via a tow power radio of the UE or a main radio of the UE, a signal indicative that the UE is to skip use of the low power radio to monitor one or more low power wake up signals (See Fig(s). 4-5, See ¶ abstract, 2, 11, 25, low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) monitoring with respect to user equipment and network node… The apparatus may comprise a main radio (MR) and a lower-power wake-up radio (LP-WUR). The apparatus may determine whether to activate or deactivate a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) monitoring by the LP-WUR ;
skip monitoring of the one or more low power wake up signals based at least in part on the signal (See ¶ 27, 48,55,57, if the LP-WUR receives the system frame number SFN successfully, the LP-WUR may indicate the main radio MR to skip the additional SSB search and the LP-WUR may use the received SFN for the SSB measurement).
Further regarding claims 20 and 29, Cheng discloses method and apparatus of network entity performing the mirrored steps of claims 1 and 30, (again See Fig(s). 3,5, UE 310 and Network node 320 with processors 312, 322 and memory 314 and 324 respectively for performing the steps of claims 29-30 respectively).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 21, Cheng discloses receive, via the low power radio of the UE, a low power wake up signal indicative that the UE is to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals (See ¶ 81, When the LP-WUS received by the LP-WUR indicates that the PDCCH monitoring for a duration on the active DL BWP of a serving cell needs to be skipped, the MR may start skipping the PDCCH monitoring at the beginning of the first slot).
Regarding claim(s) 3,22, Cheng discloses wherein the low power wake up signal is received via one or more resources, and one or more indexes of the one or more resources indicate to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals ((See ¶ 81, When the LP-WUS received by the LP-WUR indicates that the PDCCH monitoring for a duration on the active DL BWP of a serving cell needs to be skipped, the MR may start skipping the PDCCH monitoring at the beginning of the first slot…NOTE resources are the slots of communications.).
.
Regarding claim(s) 4,23, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more resources correspond to time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, or any combination thereof (See ¶ 72, 74, The UE may determine the LP-WUS monitoring occasion(s) by reusing the configurations for PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSSG (e.g., monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot).
Regarding claim(s) 5,24, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling indicating a plurality of resources including the one or more resources; and monitor for the low power wake up signal via the plurality of resources based at least in part on the control signaling (See ¶ 68, In the RRC connected mode, the UE can monitor the downlink control signal of power saving (DCP) to know whether to start the on-duration timer of the upcoming DRX cycle. On the other hand, the DCP cannot be used to adjust physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring behavior during the on-duration time).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Cheng discloses wherein the low power wake up signal comprises one or more modulated bits indicative that the UE is to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals (See ¶ 81, When the LP-WUS received by the LP-WUR indicates that the PDCCH monitoring for a duration on the active DL BWP of a serving cell needs to be skipped, the MR may start skipping the PDCCH monitoring at the beginning of the first slot).
Regarding claim(s) 11,28, Cheng discloses wherein, to receive the signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the main radio of the UE, a control signal indicative that the UE is to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals (See ¶ 27).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a low power wake up signal during a low power wake up signal monitoring occasion indicated by the control signal, wherein powering down the low power radio is based at least in part on receiving the low power wake up signal (See ¶ abstract, 2,7, The apparatus may determine whether to activate or deactivate a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) monitoring by the LP-WUR according to at least one pre-configured condition in the configuration. The apparatus may receive an LP-WUS from the network node via the LP-WUR in an event that the LP-WUS monitoring is activated..
Regarding claim(s) 13, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UEto: power down the main radio based at least in part on receiving the control signal without receiving a downlink data message associated with the control signal (See ¶ 31, The transition time values may have a unit of seconds or milliseconds. The transition time values may comprise one or more of the following time parameters, e.g., the ramping up/down time, the initial SSB search time, the frequency synchronization time, the SSB process time, and the required radio resource management (RRM) time.).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Cheng discloses wherein, to skip the monitoring, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: skip the monitoring of the one or more low power wake up signals based at least in part on non-receipt of a threshold quantity of consecutive low power wake up signals (See ¶ 55 he MR may receive the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations from the network node through the SI, RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI format. In an example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may indicate how to skip the measurements, e.g., skip three measurements after one SSB measurement. In another example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may comprise the conditions of the UE being able to skip the serving cell measurement. The conditions may comprise at least one of the LP-WUR being ON, the high SNR, and the low UE mobility.).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Cheng discloses wherein the signal indicates a pattern for skipping monitoring of the one or more low power wake up signals, a duration for skipping monitoring of the one or more low power wake up signals, or one or more low power wake up signal monitoring occasions, or any combination thereof (See ¶ 55 he MR may receive the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations from the network node through the SI, RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI format. In an example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may indicate how to skip the measurements, e.g., skip three measurements after one SSB measurement. In another example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may comprise the conditions of the UE being able to skip the serving cell measurement. The conditions may comprise at least one of the LP-WUR being ON, the high SNR, and the low UE mobility.).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Cheng discloses wherein, to skip the monitoring, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: skip a plurality of low power wake up signals, wherein the signal is indicative of a quantity of the plurality of low power wake up signals thereof (See ¶ 55 he MR may receive the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations from the network node through the SI, RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI format. In an example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may indicate how to skip the measurements, e.g., skip three measurements after one SSB measurement. In another example, the serving cell measurement relaxation configurations may comprise the conditions of the UE being able to skip the serving cell measurement. The conditions may comprise at least one of the LP-WUR being ON, the high SNR, and the low UE mobility.).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication to resume monitoring of low power wake up signals; and monitor for the low power wake up signals based at least in part on the indication to resume monitoring (See ¶ 82, the MR may transmit a PUCCH providing a positive scheduling request (SR) after the MR detects a DCI format providing the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field. The DCI format providing the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field may indicate to the MR that the PDCCH monitoring for the duration of the active DL BWP of the serving cell needs to be skipped. In the implementations, the MR may resume the PDCCH monitoring starting at the beginning of the first slot after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission.).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Cheng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UEto:transmit a request for the signal indicative that the UE is to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals, wherein the signal is received based at least in part on the request (See ¶ 37, The LP-WUR may indicate a wake-up indication to the MR if the LP-WUS reception indicates a wake-up request. The wake-up indication may comprise the maintained SFN information.)
Regarding claim(s) 19, Cheng discloses wherein the request is transmitted based at least in part on a battery state of the UE, traffic conditions at the UE,or both (See ¶ 32, the LP-WUR may maintain the SFN obtained from the MR. In an example, the MR may receive an indication from the network node to request the LP-WUR to maintain the SFN when the MR is in the ultra-deep sleep. The indication may be received through the RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI format.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (20240155491 A1) hereinafter as Cheng in view of BHATOOLAUL et al (20250048263 A1) hereinafter as BHATOOLAUL.
Regarding claim(s) 7, BHATOOLAUL discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: detect the low power wake up signal using an envelope detector (See ¶ 54, The first receiver may monitor for an LP-WUS and may be a low power receiver (such as a simple receiver with an envelope detector). .
Envelop detection is a demodulation process that extracts a shape that represents the varying amplitude of a modulated signal over time.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of BHATOOLAUL within Cheng, so as to incorporate an ED for to combin an incoming modulated signal with a local oscillator signal to obtain an intermediate frequency level.
Claim(s) 8-9,25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (20240155491 A1) hereinafter as Cheng in view of Yang et al (20240422671 A1) hereinafter as Yang.
Regarding claim(s) 8,25 Yang discloses wherein the low power wake up signal comprises a sequence, and a sequence index of the sequence indicates to skip use of the low power radio to monitor the one or more low power wake up signals (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 126, A sequence corresponding to a first WUS sent by the base station is sequence A, and a sequence corresponding to a second WUS is sequence B. …See ¶ 48-50, in response to the detected first WUS indicating a second type of information, detection of the second WUS is skipped, where the second type of information includes any one of full wake-up indication information).
Skip monitoring of low power radio signal allows for conservation of battery life for the UE.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yang within Cheng, so as to conserve battery life by skip monitoring low power radio.
Regarding claim(s) 9,26, Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling indicating one or more sequence indexes including at least the sequence index and one or more corresponding sets of wake up signal skipping parameters (See ¶ 72,127-128, a first sequence corresponding to the first WUS, [0075] where the first information includes at least one of: a terminal device index, a first group index corresponding to the terminal device, a second preset index, a first parameter, or a first group number.). Reasons for combining same as claim 8.
Claim(s) 10,27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (20240155491 A1) hereinafter as Cheng in view of Yang et al (20230276361 A1) hereinafter as Yang.
Regarding claim(s) 10,27 Yang discloses wherein the low power wake up signal indicates an identifier of the UE, a group identifier corresponding to a plurality of UEs, a cell identifier, a tracking area identifier, or any combination thereof (See Fig(s). 11, See ¶ 133, 144,an m-sequence may be seeded via a hashing function 1110 with inputs such as cell ID, UE identifier (ID), UE-group ID, time parameters).
An identifier specifies the exact location for wake up signaling as needed without erroneous wastage of power.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yang within Cheng, so as to transmit only to desired radios without wastage of power and interference.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411