DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinma (EP 1 842 612 A1).
Claim 1:
Shinma discloses a contamination shield (abstract) comprising:
a sleeve (2) having a sleeve proximal end (19) and a sleeve distal end (4, 5), wherein the sleeve proximal end (19) is configured to attach to a chuck of a drill machine (fig. 1A, 3B; [0013] and [0014]); and
an enclosure (1) having an enclosure proximal end (23) and an enclosure distal end, wherein the enclosure proximal end (23) is joined to the sleeve distal end (4, 5), and wherein the enclosure (1) is formed of a plurality of circular baffles (figs. 1 and 5; [0012] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 5A, below).
Claim 2:
Shinma discloses the contamination shield of claim 1, wherein the plurality of circular baffles each have at least one ridge and at least one recess and wherein the at least one ridge has a greater diameter than the at least one recess (figs. 1 and 5; [0012] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 5A, above).
Claim 3:
Shinma discloses the contamination shield of claim 1, further comprises a base ring (23) joined to the enclosure distal end (figs. 13; [0031] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 5A, above).
Claim 8:
Shinma discloses a drill machine (50) (fig.5A, [0016]) comprising: a chuck (chucking mechanism) (fig. 5A, [0016]); and the contamination shield (1, 2) of claim 1 (figs. 1A, 3B; [0012]-[0014] – see also annotated reproduction f fig. 5A, above).
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machida (JP 7 766 504 B2) as provided by Machida (US 2023/0241737 A1) as an English language equivalent.
Claim 1:
Machida discloses a contamination shield (abstract) comprising:
a sleeve (2) having a sleeve proximal end (4, 5) and a sleeve distal end (15), wherein the sleeve proximal end (4, 5) is configured to attach to a chuck of a drill machine (figs. 4-5; [0039] and [0054]); and
an enclosure (3) having an enclosure proximal end (26) and an enclosure distal end, wherein the enclosure proximal end (26) is joined to the sleeve distal end (15), and wherein the enclosure (3) is formed of a plurality of circular baffles (figs. 4-5; [0043]).
Claim 4:
Machida discloses the contamination shield of claim 1, wherein the plurality of circular baffles is made of plastic (resin) (fig. 3A, [0038]).
Claim 5:
Machida discloses the contamination shield of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is configured to move between a compressed state and a decompressed state (fig. 3A, [0057]).
Claim 6.
Machida discloses the contamination shield of claim 5, wherein a length of the enclosure in the decompressed state is greater than or equal to a length of a drill bit (B) (figs. 2 and 3A, [0041]).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Famulari (EP 0 295 225 A1).
Claim 1:
Famulari discloses a contamination shield (abstract) comprising:
a sleeve (5) having a sleeve proximal end and a sleeve distal end, wherein the sleeve proximal end is configured to attach to a chuck of a drill machine (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 19-34); and
an enclosure (1) having an enclosure proximal end and an enclosure distal end, wherein the enclosure proximal end is joined to the sleeve distal end (at locking ring 5), and wherein the enclosure (1) is formed of a plurality of circular baffles (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 19-34).
Claim 7:
Famulari discloses the contamination shield of claim 1, wherein the plurality of circular baffles have graduated diameters such that the enclosure is conical in shape (fig. 1, col. 1, lines 52-54 and col. 4, lines 26-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In an alternative, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Famulari (EP 0 295 225 A1).
Claim 7:
Machida discloses the contamination shield of claim 1; and, Machida fails to disclose the plurality of circular baffles have graduated diameters such that the enclosure is conical in shape. Instead, Machida discloses multiple containment shields may have different shapes for different operations (Machida, [0064]).
Famulari discloses a contamination shield comprising a sleeve (5) and an enclosure (1) comprising a plurality of circular baffles (bellows) (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 19-34); wherein the plurality of circular baffles (bellows) have graduated diameters such that the enclosure is conical in shape (fig. 1, col. 1, lines 52-54 and col. 4, lines 26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the contamination shield of Machida to have graduated diameters as taught by Famulari in order to improve compression behavior and surface conformity in Machida’s contamination shield (Famulari, col. 1, line 63 bridging col. 2, line 6 and col. 4, lines 39-51). The modification represents a predictable design choice within the same field addressing the same problem. See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luu (US 2021/0069844 A1) discloses a dust-proof drilling apparatus.
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726