DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden on the examiner to examine all claims since the search and examination for the inventions of Group I, Group II, and Group III would overlap. This is not found persuasive because it is the examiner’s position that there would be undue burden for the reasons set forth in paragraphs 3-5 of the office action mailed 06/10/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichikawa et al. (JP 2019009090 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Ichikawa et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 1:
Ichikawa et al. teaches a secondary battery unit ([0018]) comprising a battery pack in which multiple single cells are connected ([0014]), and in Figure 1 and 3 above, a conductor 100, i.e. heat absorbing member ([0020]), with electrical connection parts 13, i.e. tabs, are provided at both ends of the conductor body 11 ([0022]) and the electrical connection section 13 is provided with bolt insertion holes 19 through which, for example, the electrode bolts of a single cell are inserted ([0023]).
Ichikawa et al. also teaches a heat-absorbing element 15, i.e. heat absorbing agent, is sealed inside the conductor body 11, i.e. insulating container, which is a sealed space formed by sealing both ends of the electrical connection portion 13 ([0024]), and examples of materials for the conductor body 11 include copper, copper alloys, aluminum, and aluminum alloys ([0021]).
Ichikawa et al. teaches the heat-absorbing element 15 is set to have a larger heat capacity than the conductor body 11, and the heat-absorbing element 15 may be polypropylene (resin material), laminate film (resin material), water, oil, concrete, ceramic, graphite, gel sheet, etc. ([0024]).
Further, Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 3 above, the conductor 100 is provided between an individual cell 25, i.e. secondary battery, and the electrical connection part 13, and in at least a part of a peripheral region of a connection portion between the secondary battery and the tab.
Regarding claim 2, 10-11:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 3 above, a battery pack in which multiple individual cells are connected in a same plane and alternately arranged, the heat absorbing conductor 100 connects the electrodes of the individual cells ([0033]), i.e. the secondary battery includes a first end surface and a second end surface facing each other, a positive electrode provided on the first end surface, and a negative electrode provided on the second end surface, the connection portion includes a first connection portion where the positive electrode and the tab are electrically connected, a second connection portion where the negative electrode and the tab are electrically connected, and the heat absorbing member is provided between the secondary battery and the tab and in at least a part of a peripheral region of the first connection portion and the second connection portion.
Regarding claims 3-4:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 1 and 3 above, the electrical connection section 13 of the heat absorbing element 100 is provided with bolt insertion holes 19, i.e. first and second through holes, through which, for example, the electrode bolts, i.e. first and second connection portions, of a single cell are inserted ([0023], [0025]).
Ichikawa et al. also teaches in Figure 1 and 3 above, the heat absorbing conductor 100 has at least one of a first bolt insertion hole 19 into which the first connection portion is fitted and a second bolt insertion hole 19 into which the second connection portion is fitted.
Regarding claim 5:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 1 and 3 above, the first connection portion and the second connection portion would clearly have to have a circular shape in plan view. Further, given that electrical connection part 13 of the heat absorbing conductor 100 is provided with bolt insertion holes 19, i.e. first and second through holes, through which, for example, the electrode bolts, i.e. first and second connection portions, of a single cell are inserted, the first through hole having a circular shape would necessarily have to have a diameter equal to or larger than a diameter of the first connection portion in plan view for the insertion to occur, and the second through hole having a circular shape would necessarily have to have a diameter equal to or larger than a diameter of the second connection portion in plan view the insertion to occur.
Regarding claim 8:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the heat absorbing conductor 100 is in contact with the electrical connection section 13, i.e. the heat absorbing member is in contact with the tab ([0025]).
Regarding claim 9:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figured 3 above, the heat absorbing conductor 100 is in contact with the first end surface and the second end surface ([0025]).
Regarding claim 12:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the heat absorbing conductor is in contact with the electrical connection section 13.
Regarding claim 13:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 3 above, the heat absorbing conductor 100 is in contact with the first end surface and the second end surface.
Regarding claim 16:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 4 above, a heat-absorbing conductor 100A has one electrical connection portion 39 formed in an L-shape ([0036]), i.e. includes an L-shaped first tab provided along a side surface of the secondary battery from the first end surface and an L-shaped second tab provided along the side surface of the secondary battery from the second end surface, and the heat absorbing member includes an L-shaped third heat absorbing member provided between the secondary battery and the first tab, and an L-shaped fourth heat absorbing member provided between the secondary battery and the second tab.
Regarding claim 18:
Ichikawa et al. teaches in Figure 3 above, the heat absorbing conductor 100 is provided in a gap between the plurality of secondary batteries 25 ([0034]).
Claims 1, 8-10, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seol et al. (US 20190237713 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8-10, and 12-15:
Seol et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, a battery pack 1 may include a plurality of secondary batteries 100, first and second conductive plates 310 and 320, i.e. heat absorbing member ([0053]), where the first and second conductive plates 310 and 320 may include a conductive material, i.e. heat absorbing agent, such as aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, or an alloy thereof ([0065]), and the first and second conductive plates 310 and 320 are provided between the secondary battery and the tab 410 and in at least a part of a peripheral region of a connection portion between the secondary battery and the tab 410 ([0066]).
Seol et al. also teaches in Figure 9 above, a bottom insulating plate 221 of a second holder structure 220, i.e. a heat absorbing member in which a heat absorbing agent is encapsulated in an insulating container ([0106]).
Further, Seol et al. teaches in Figure 4 above, first and second connection tabs 410 and 420 connect the first and second conductive plates 310 and 320, i.e. first and second heat absorbing members are in contact with the tab and the first and second heat absorbing members are in contact with the first end surface and the second end surface, with the negative electrode 111 or the positive electrode 121 of the battery cells 100 through the holes 310h and 320h to connect the battery cells 100 in series and/or in parallel ([0066]), i.e. the secondary battery includes a first end surface and a second end surface facing each other, a positive electrode provided on the first end surface, and a negative electrode provided on the second end surface, the connection portion includes a first connection portion where the positive electrode and the tab are electrically connected, a second connection portion where the negative electrode and the tab are electrically connected, and the heat absorbing member is provided between the secondary battery and the tab and in at least a part of a peripheral region of the first connection portion and the second connection portion.
Regarding claim 18:
Seol et al. teaches in Figure 4 above, the heat absorbing member is provided in a gap between the plurality of secondary batteries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (JP 2019009090 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Ichikawa et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claims 14-15:
Ichikawa et al. teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
However, Ichikawa et al. does not teach a second heat absorbing member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use additional heat absorbing conductors in order to suppress the temperature rise during abnormal energization ([0006]). The duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results. Providing additional heat absorbing conductors would have achieved expected results such as further suppressing the temperature rise during abnormal energization. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) B. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378,380 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (JP 2019009090 A) in view of Umeda (JP 2009245730 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Umeda are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 17:
Ichikawa et al. teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
However, Ichikawa et al. does not teach the third heat absorbing member and the fourth heat absorbing member, a thickness of a bent portion in the L shape is thinner than a thickness of a portion other than the bent portion in the L shape.
Umeda teaches a secondary battery U in Figure 1 above, a heat radiating portion comprising a heat dissipation portion 3 provided on a standing surface portion 2 provided on a main body portion 1, i.e. heat absorbing member forms an L-shape ([0013]). Given that the standing surface portion 2 provided on the main body portion forms an L-shape, wherein an L-shape would necessarily have a thickness of a bent portion in the L shape thinner than a thickness of a portion other than the bent portion in the L shape.
Umeda also teaches when heat is radiated from the heat radiating portion, the air between the heat radiating plates is warmed to form an ascending air current, and a flow of air is naturally generated, so that high heat radiation efficiency can be obtained without providing a cooling fan or the like ([0011]).
In light of the motivation for using the heat radiating portion disclosed by Umeda as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat radiating portion in the battery pack of Ichikawa et al. in order to obtain high heat radiation efficiency.
Claim 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seol et al. (US 20190237713 A1) in view of Abe et al. (CN 104218236 A). It is noted that the disclosure of Abe et al. is based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claims 6-7:
Seol et al. teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
Further, Seol et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the first and second conductive plates 310 and 320, i.e. heat absorbing member ([0053]) are covering the secondary batteries.
However, Seol et al. does not teach the secondary battery includes a slit portion provided around the positive electrode and a cracking valve provided in the slit portion, the heat absorbing member is provided to cover the slit portion, and the heat absorbing member is provided inside the slit portion.
Abe et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the protruding portion 14a of the safety valve 14, i.e. cracking valve, can be connected to the positive lead 25 protruding from the spirally wound electrode body 20 through a sub-disc 19 configured to cover the hole portion 16a, i.e. slit portion, formed in the center of the stop disc 16 ([0056]), i.e. the secondary battery includes a slit portion provided around the positive electrode and a cracking valve provided in the slit portion and the heat absorbing member is provided to cover the slit portion, in order to allow gas to be released when internal pressure exceeds a predetermined value ([0057], [0058]).
In light of the motivation for using a hole portion with a safety valve in the hole portion disclosed by Abe et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hole portion with a safety valve in the hole portion in the battery pack of Seol et al. in order to allow gas to be released when internal pressure exceeds a predetermined value.
Conclusion
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787