DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 01/03/2024, claims priority to Provisional Application No. 63/478,372, filed 01/04/2023. However, upon review, the provisional application appears to define a completely different composition. The provisional application defines a body wash which only has sodium benzoate and citric acid in common with the instant invention. It is not apparent from the provisional application that Applicant was in possession of the instant invention at the time of the provisional. As such, the effective filing date of the instant invention is 01/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed at the time of the instant action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: various chemical names are capitalized in the claims. Please remove capitalization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NOMOBO Underarm Shower Rinse, Retrieved 10/24/2025, Reviews date back to 12/14/2022, see p. 10, (PTO-892), hereinafter NOMOBO.
NOMOBO discloses an underarm shower rinse (p. 1, product title). The shower rinse comprises: aqua, propanediol, hydroxyethylcellulose, soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate, cocamidropopyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, sodium hydroxide, and citric acid (p. 7, full ingredients). Such ingredients read entirely on the ingredients of the instant under arm rinse of claim 1. Since the overall composition of NOMOBO comprises water along with the sodium hydroxide and citric acid, the sodium hydroxide and citric acid ingredients read on mixtures with water as instantly recited. Regarding the recitation of “wherein the underarm rinse solution targets, eliminates and minimizes growth of” different bacteria, the composition of the prior art is structurally identical to the instantly claimed composition. Since the composition anticipated by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. The properties of instant claims 10-11 are also inherent to the NOMOBO composition for the same reasons.
Claims 2-9 recite the properties and purposes of each ingredient in the underarm rinse. Since the ingredients taught by the prior art are identical in chemical structure to the ingredients of the instant underarm rinse, each ingredient will inherently provide for its respective purpose within the composition. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma, Q., et al. (US 2023/0105693 A1, 04/06/2023, filed 02/18/2021, PTO-892), hereinafter Ma, in view of Colonial Chemicals, Inc. (2020). Soothing Odor Control Wipes, Formulation No. 4030. Retrieved 10/30/2025. (PTO-892), hereinafter Colonial Chemicals1, and Colonial Chemicals, Inc. (2021). Natural Gel-Stick Deodorant, Formulation No. 4025. Retrieved 10/30/25. (PTO-892), hereinafter Colonial Chemicals2.
Ma discloses methods and compositions that reduce or eliminate microbes on a surface or body part (abstract). The antimicrobial compositions may be formulated into consumer products such as, a personal cleaning product, an oral care product, a deodorant product, a hard surface cleaning product, liquid soap, foaming soap, liquid detergent, shampoo, shower gel, facial cleanser, mouthwash, and toothpaste ([0091]). Ma specifically discloses compositions of a roll-on deodorant soap base which comprise water deionized, hydroxyethylcellulose, ethyl alcohol, and 1,2-propylene glycol (i.e., propanediol) (table 19). High antimicrobial efficacy was detected when adding 0.5-1% of the perfumery ingredients according to the invention in the base ([0156]). The antimicrobial composition may further comprise optional ingredients such as colorants, preservatives, viscosifiers, opacifiers, emollients, humectants, antioxidants, gelling agents, gums, chelators, functional polymers, cellulose derivatives, essential oils, electrolytes, and pH adjusters ([0090]; claim 43).
Colonial Chemicals1 teaches soothing odor control wipes comprising mild odor-neutralizing and moisturizing ingredients, these freshening wipes are designed to soothe and cleanse sensitive skin (p. 1, description). The formulation comprises water, glycerin, soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate (i.e., Cola®Quat SME), cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate (i.e., Cola®Lipid C), sorbitan oleate decyl glucoside crosspolymer, lavender oil, sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate, and citric acid (p. 1, formulation). Of these ingredients, Cola®Quat SME works to eliminate unwanted odors, while Cola®Lipid C lightly conditions and protects from odor causing bacteria with antimicrobial activity (p. 1, description).
Colonial Chemicals2 teaches a natural gel-stick deodorant formulation comprising ethanol, propanediol, coco-caprylate, cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate (i.e., Cola®Lipid C), soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate (i.e., Cola®Quat SME), glyceryl laurate, stearic acid, sodium hydroxide (50%), and fragrance (p. 1, formulation).
It would have been obvious to combine the compositions of Ma, Colonial Chemicals1, and Colonial Chemicals2 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to give a combined composition that comprises all of the ingredients as instantly claimed. Ma teaches a deodorant soap base while Colonial Chemicals1 teaches odor control wipes for the body and Colonial Chemicals2 teaches a deodorant. All of these products are used in methods of eliminating odor causing bacteria and deodorizing the body. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As such, it would be obvious to combine the three compositions above to form a final composition which is capable of eliminating odor causing bacteria and deodorizing the body. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been specifically motivated to add in the cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate and soyethyl morpholinium ethosulfate of Colonial Chemicals 1 and 2, since these ingredients are taught to eliminate unwanted odors and protect from odor causing bacteria, both of which would be desirable in the antimicrobial deodorant composition of Ma. It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the citric acid of Colonial Chemicals1 and the sodium hydroxide (50% ) of Colonial Chemicals2 into the composition of Ma since these are known and effective pH adjusters for body deodorizing products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding these ingredients since Ma welcomes pH adjusters. Lastly, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate of Colonial Chemicals1 into the composition of Ma since these are known and effective preservatives for body deodorizing products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding these ingredients since Ma welcomes preservatives.
Regarding the recitation of “wherein the underarm rinse solution targets, eliminates and minimizes growth of” different bacteria, the composition made obvious by the prior art is structurally identical to the instantly claimed composition. Since the composition made obvious by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. The properties of instant claims 10-11 are also inherent to the combined composition for the same reasons.
Claims 2-9 recite the properties and purposes of each ingredient in the underarm rinse. Since the ingredients taught by the prior art are identical in chemical structure to the ingredients of the instant underarm rinse, each ingredient will inherently provide for its respective purpose within the composition. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616