Response to Amendment
There are no amendments made to the claims of 08/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wuechner does not disclose independent claims 1 and 23 limitation “a latch movably and undetchably mounted to the casing.” Wuechner discloses a latch (8, 9) and casing (Includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3). Wuechner discloses 9 is movable between locked and unlocked positions, and both 8 and 9 are undetachable from the casing, which includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3. Figures 1-3. Col.4, L16-20. Col.5, L1-5. Thus, Wuechner discloses the claimed limitations. Independent claims 1 and 23 are rejected. Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wuechner (U.S. Patent No. 5,934,918).
For claim 1, Wuechner discloses, in Figures 1-3, a security system for a vehicle connector port, comprising:
a casing (Includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3) configured to engage at least one portion of said vehicle connector port (4, 14) (Figures 1-3); and
a latch (8, 9) movably and undetachably mounted to the casing (9 is movable between locked and unlocked positions, and both 8 and 9 are undetachable from the casing, which includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3. Col.4, L16-20. Col.5, L1-5.) and configured to selectively move relative to the casing between a latched position to inhibit removal of said vehicle connector port and an unlatched position to allow removal of said vehicle connector port (The locking bar 9 engages 2 in the latched position, as in Figures 2-3. The latched position inhibits the removal of the vehicle connector port, as in Figures 2-3. In the unlatched position, the locking bar 9 releases 2, and allows the removal of the vehicle connector port by lifting the swing lid 2.)
For claim 2, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, wherein an access to said vehicle connector port is inhibited by an engagement of said vehicle connector port with the casing (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 12, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, wherein the casing comprises an interior, and wherein the interior is configured to receive the at least one portion of said vehicle connector port (4, 14, as in Figures 2-3.)
For claim 13, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 12, wherein the casing further comprises an opening that is in spatial communication with the interior (1 has an opening that communicates with the space in which the charge socket 3 is disposed. Figures 2-3.), and wherein the opening is configured to allow said vehicle connector port to move into or out of the interior (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 14, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 13, wherein in the latched position the latch (9) extends across the opening (Figure 3.)
For claim 15, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 12, wherein the casing further comprises a first lateral side wall, a second lateral side wall and a third lateral side wall, wherein the third lateral side wall is formed between the first lateral side wall and the second lateral side wall, and wherein the interior is at least partially defined by the first lateral side wall, the second lateral side wall and the third lateral side wall (The space for charge socket 3 is formed by the left side wall defining the first lateral wall, right side wall defining the second lateral wall, and the bottom wall defining the third lateral wall, as in Figure 1. The interior is at least partially defined by the first lateral side wall, the second lateral side wall and the third lateral side wall, Figures 2-3.)
For claim 16, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 12, wherein the casing further comprises at least one socket (3; Col.3, L19-20) within the interior and configured to receive and secure the at least one portion of said vehicle connector port (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 17, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, wherein the casing comprises a lateral side wall and a plurality of patterned apertures defined therein (Side wall on the bottom and on the right side has patterned apertures. Figure 3.)
For claim 23, Wuechner discloses, in Figures 1-3, a vehicular apparatus, comprising:
a vehicle connector port (4, 14); and
a security system comprising:
a casing (Includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3) configured to engage at least one portion of the vehicle connector port (Figures 1-3); and
a latch (8, 9) movably and undetachably mounted to the casing (9 is movable between locked and unlocked positions, and both 8 and 9 are undetachable from the casing, which includes 1, 2, and the walls surrounding the charge socket 3. Col.4, L16-20. Col.5, L1-5.) and configured to selectively move relative to the casing between a latched position to inhibit removal of the vehicle connector port and an unlatched position to allow removal of the vehicle connector port (The locking bar 9 engages 2 in the latched position, as in Figures 2-3. The latched position inhibits the removal of the vehicle connector port, as in Figures 2-3. In the unlatched position, the locking bar 9 releases 2, and allows the removal of the vehicle connector port by lifting the swing lid 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuechner (U.S. Patent No. 5,934,918) alone.
For claim 19, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, except for wherein the latch has a key shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a key shape for the latch, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skill in the art would realize that having the latch in a key shape would yield the same expected result for the intended use as with the latch of Wuechner.
For claim 21, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, except for wherein the latch has a barbell shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a barbell shape for the latch, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skill in the art would realize that having the latch in a barbell shape would yield the same expected result for the intended use as with the latch of Wuechner.
For claim 22, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 21, wherein the casing comprises a through hole, wherein the latch movably traverses through the through hole, and wherein the through hole has a circle shape matching with the barbell shape (The locking bar 9 engages a circular hole, Figures 1-3.)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuechner (U.S. Patent No. 5,934,918) in view of Russell et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,291,002).
For claim 18, Wuechner discloses the security system of Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the casing and the latch are manufactured by a three-dimensional printing process.
Russell et al. teaches a method for 3D printing for automotive parts (Col.1, L49-54) with precision quality. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Wuechner with casing and latch such that the casing and the latch are manufactured by a three-dimensional printing process, as taught by Russell et al. with a reasonable expectation of success of producing quality products.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675