Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 set forth in the amendment submitted 4/16/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-8, filed 4/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 13-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chou et al. (Hereinafter, “Chou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200225203 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14), the rejection of Claim(s) 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Whitehouse et al. (Hereinafter, “Whitehouse”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180062373 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 4/16/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 13-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chou et al. (Hereinafter, “Chou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200225203 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14), the rejection of Claim(s) 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Whitehouse et al. (Hereinafter, “Whitehouse”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180062373 A1, that “Panetta does not teach or suggest a combination of a gas composition sensor and a gas ionization sensor operating together to determine an operating condition and to generate respective gas data and ionization data signals that are used by a system controller to generate a control signal. Panetta is directed to arc detection using generic sensors that detect arc-related phenomena and does not teach or suggest sensing gas composition as a parameter. In fact, Panetta is completely silent regarding a gas composition sensor, as it does not teach or suggest any structure configured to detect or measure gas composition or generate a gas data signal. Further, Panetta does not teach or suggest generating a control signal based on gas composition data in combination with ionization data. Accordingly, a dual-sensor arrangement and gas composition sensing feature are entirely absent from Panetta.
Uchii is entirely silent regarding such a configuration and therefore cannot cure the deficiencies of Panetta. Therefore, Panetta and Uchii, either alone, or in combination, fails to teach or suggest "a gas composition sensor and a gas ionization sensor disposed in the gas filled assembly, wherein the gas composition sensor and the gas ionization sensor is configured to (i) determine an operating condition associated with the current switch and (ii) generate respective a gas data signal and an ionization data signal; and a plurality of switch contacts configured to (i) receive a control signal from a system controller and (ii) switch a current input to a current output based on the control signal, wherein the control signal is generated by the system controller based at least in part the gas data signal and the ionization data signal," as recited in amended claim 1.
With respect to independent claim 13,…… Zeng fails to teach or suggest receiving, by one or more processors, system data comprising both a gas data signal generated by a gas composition sensor and an ionization data signal generated by a gas ionization sensor. Zeng's (Remarks-Page 7) monitoring module is limited to environmental sensors, such as a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas concentration sensor, for detecting hazardous ambient conditions. Id. Zeng is silent with respect to a gas ionization sensor and corresponding ionization data generation and does not teach or suggest control based on ionization detection. Accordingly, dual sensor system features are not taught or suggested by Zeng.
Uchii is entirely silent regarding such a configuration and therefore cannot cure the deficiencies of Zeng. Therefore Zeng and Uchii either alone, or in combination, fails to teach or suggest "receiving, by one or more processors, system data, the system data comprising at least a gas data signal by a gas composition sensor and an ionization data signal by a gas ionization sensor from a gas filled current switch," as recited in amended claim 13.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is non-obvious over Panetta in view of Uchii, and that further amended claim 13 is non-obvious over Zeng in view of Uchii (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 4/16/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 13-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chou et al. (Hereinafter, “Chou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200225203 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14), the rejection of Claim(s) 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Whitehouse et al. (Hereinafter, “Whitehouse”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180062373 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/28/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 13 and dependent claims 2-12 and 14-20 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a gas composition sensor [[or]] and a gas ionization sensor disposed in the gas filled assembly, wherein the gas composition sensor [[or]] and the gas ionization sensor is configured to (i) determine an operating condition associated with the current switch and (ii) generate respective one or more of a gas data signal [[or]] and an ionization data signal” In claim 1 and “receiving, by one or more processors and from a gas filled current switch, system data, the system data comprising a gas data signal that corresponds to a gas composition sensor and[[/or]] an ionization data signal that corresponds to a gas ionization sensor; determining, by the one or more processors, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 in view of ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) and further in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1.and Claim(s) 13 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 and further in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1., as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 in view of ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) and further in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Panetta teaches a current switch (arc faults in multiphase electrical systems, and more particularly to an arc fault protection circuit.; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
one or more of a gas ionization sensor [18] (Arc fault detector 18 as the gas ionization sensor as it senses the gas ionization) (Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-6); wherein the gas ionization sensor [18] is configured to
(i) determine an operating condition associated with the current switch (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.), sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like are the operating condition of the current switch);
and (ii) generate respective one or more of an ionization data signal (Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like. Upon detection of an arc, arc detector 18 provides a control signal to controller 20; Paragraph [0021] Line 4-8); and
a plurality of switch contacts [22a, 22b, 22c, 30a, 30b, 30c] (Switches 22 are normally closed. Impedances 24a, 24b and 24c are respectively connected in parallel with switches 22a, 22b and 22c with one impedance connected in parallel with each switch 22 (i.e. across the switch contacts of each switch 22); Paragraph [0016] Line 1-5; Arc fault limiting circuit 10 may include further circuit break or disconnect switches 30a, 30b, 30c (individually and collectively switches 30); Paragraph [0020] Line 1-3) configured to
(i) receive a control signal from a system controller [20] (Controller 20 may a programmable logic controller (PLC) or other controller suitable for actuating the opening switches 22, and, may form part of the arc fault detector 18. Controller 20 may provide a control/actuation signal upon detection of an arc, used to actuate switches 22 and 30; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-5) and
(ii) switch a current input to a current output based on the control signal (Typically, switches 30 open in three to five cycles of the current of source 14 (e.g. 43-83 ms, for a 50 to 60 Hz source). In the presence of a fault, 50-200 kA of fault current may be drawn. As will be appreciated, 50 kA through the protected system for 83 ms can cause significant damage of equipment, and harm to personnel. Conveniently, opening switches 22 and introducing impedances 24 may limit the fault current to 50 kA for 8 ms or less, and thus 400 A until switches 30 are open (e.g. 75 ms). This may reduce incident energy on load and may provide a safer work environment as recommended by CSA Z462 and NFPS 70E (see for example IEEE 1584 for calculation details); Paragraph [0026] Line 1-12; Current flows from the source 14 to load 16 through the current path when switch 30 and 22 is closed and therefore swtich 22 and 30 switch the current input from source 14 to current output to the load 16 based on the control/actuation signal of the controller 20),
wherein the control signal is generated by the system controller [20] based at least in part on the ionization data signal (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; Controller 20 may provide a control/actuation signal upon detection of an arc, used to actuate switches 22 and 30; Paragraph [0019] Line 4-5).
Panetta fails to teach that the current switch comprising a gas filled assembly and a gas composition sensor; the gas composition sensor and the gas ionization sensor disposed in the gas filled assembly; generate a gas data signal and wherein the control signal is generated by the system controller based at least in part on the gas data signal.
Zeng teaches a multi-function remote-controlled smart meter circuit breaker that can remotely control the opening and closing of the circuit breaker, and can monitor environmental changes, thereby ensuring that the remote control does not bring to security risks (Summary of the invention; Page 2-Line 1-4), wherein
the current switch comprising a gas composition sensor [6] (The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16);
generate a gas data signal (The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 14-16) and wherein the control signal is generated by the system controller [4] based at least in part on the gas data signal [6] (The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the household transmission line at the rear end of the electric gate 1 to monitor the household voltage and current. The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the central processor 4, and the electrical information monitoring module always sends voltage and current numerical signals to the central processor 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 7-10; The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16). The purpose of doing so is to monitor environmental changes and to prevent potential safety hazard, to avoid unsafe conditions such as sparks or damage to household appliances due to excessive voltage and current when closing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Panetta in view of Zeng to include a gas composition sensor, because Zeng teaches to include a gas composition sensor and to generate gas date helps to monitor environmental changes and prevents potential safety hazard (abstract), avoids unsafe conditions such as sparks or damage to household appliances due to excessive voltage and current when closing (Page 3).
The combination of Panetta and Zeng that the current switch comprising a gas filled assembly and a gas composition sensor; the gas composition sensor and the gas ionization sensor disposed in the gas filled assembly
Uchii teaches a gas insulated switchgear and, more particularly, to a gas insulated switchgear reducing use of greenhouse effect gases (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
the current switch comprising a gas filled assembly [1] (Figure 5) (A lid 36 for internal inspection is fitted over the sealed container 1 by means of fastening bolts 37 so as to seal the sealed container 1. A packing 38 is provided in the connection part of the lid 36 so as to keep gas-tightness of the arc-extinguishing gas 31b filled in the sealed container 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-5) and the gas composition sensor and the gas ionization sensor disposed in the gas filled assembly (A detection means for detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1. More specifically, a sensor 51 capable of detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1, and information detected by the sensor 51 is analyzed by an analyzer 52; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to obtain high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption , to avoid high pressure from being applied directly to a piston, to provide excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and to use widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness, to prevent the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Panetta and Zeng in view of Uchii to include a gas filled assembly, because Uchii teaches to include a gas filled assembly obtains high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption, avoids high pressure from being applied directly to a piston (Paragraph [0005]), provides excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and uses widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness (Paragraph [0006]), prevents the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the condition is representative of degradation, wear, or damage to an assembly comprising the current switch (Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like; Paragraph [0021] Line 2-6; As such, arc faults can easily result in property and personnel damage, resulting from heat, and such faults need to be contained quickly. To this end, residential arc fault circuit interrupters (AFCIs) are often used in homes. In industrial multi-phase settings, arc fault protectors often create a low impedance path upstream of the load to decrease the energy incident on the load. Creating such a low impedance path, however, often results in damage to the source and to the transmission lines, and may also place electrical and mechanical stress on the remainder of the multi-phase system; Paragraph [0004] Line 1-11; Therefore, arc fault can damage the switches; Typically, switches 30 open in three to five cycles of the current of source 14 (e.g. 43-83 ms, for a 50 to 60 Hz source). In the presence of a fault, 50-200 kA of fault current may be drawn. As will be appreciated, 50 kA through the protected system for 83 ms can cause significant damage of equipment, and harm to personnel. Conveniently, opening switches 22 and introducing impedances 24 may limit the fault current to 50 kA for 8 ms or less, and thus 400 A until switches 30 are open (e.g. 75 ms). This may reduce incident energy on load and may provide a safer work environment as recommended by CSA Z462 and NFPS 70E (see for example IEEE 1584 for calculation details); Paragraph [0026] Line 1-12).
Regarding claim 3, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the gas composition sensor comprises a micro-electromechanical system sensor (Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like. Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.); Paragraph [0015] Line 4-8; MEMS serve in a wide array of functions, including as sensors, actuators, switches, and energy sources in areas such as optics, audio, radio, fluidics, and other physical phenomena; Examples of micro-electromechanical system sensor (MEMS): Pressure sensors, Gas sensors, Flow sensors, Transducers; https://atomica.com/what-are-mems/?creative=632734618702&keyword=&matchtype=&network=g&device=c&utm_term=&utm_campaign=5.+Dynamic+Search+Campaign+(from+11.11.19)&utm_source=adwords&utm_medium=ppc&hsa_acc=4111015148&hsa_cam=8067654658&hsa_grp=90204945264&hsa_ad=632734618702&hsa_src=g&hsa_tgt=dsa-19959388920&hsa_kw=&hsa_mt=&hsa_net=adwords&hsa_ver=3&gad_source=1&gad_campaignid=8067654658&gbraid=0AAAAAD--TaQLTAV8fQuOgkyGn2gI2e23D&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuuDP5pnUjgMVsB9ECB0xzyEbEAAYAiAAEgKUg_D_BwE; Therefore Panetta discloses that the sensor can be a micro-electromechanical system sensor as pressure sensor is a micro-electromechanical system sensor).
Regarding claim 5, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the gas ionization sensor [18] comprises an optical monitoring device including a photosensitive sensor or a photodetector (Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-6; A photosensitive sensor, also known as a light sensor or photoelectric sensor; A photoelectric sensor, also known as an optical sensor. Photoelectric sensors offer a wide range of functions, which vary from model to model. The most widely-used functions include detection of the presence or absence of objects, position detection, measurement of distances or differences in brightness, colour recognition and identification of transparent or opaque objects. https://www.pilz.com/en-IE/lexicon/photoelectric-sensor#:~:text=A%20photoelectric%20sensor%2C%20also%20known,material%20to%20detect%20an%20object).
Regarding claim 6, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the gas ionization sensor [18] comprises a photosensitive sensor configured to monitor brightness and/or duration of arcing caused by the plurality of switch contacts (Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-6; A photosensitive sensor, also known as a light sensor or photoelectric sensor; A photoelectric sensor, also known as an optical sensor. Photoelectric sensors offer a wide range of functions, which vary from model to model. The most widely-used functions include detection of the presence or absence of objects, position detection, measurement of distances or differences in brightness, colour recognition and identification of transparent or opaque objects. https://www.pilz.com/en-IE/lexicon/photoelectric-sensor#:~:text=A%20photoelectric%20sensor%2C%20also%20known,material%20to%20detect%20an%20object).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Panetta and Uchii fails to teach a current switch, further comprising an assembly that encapsulates one or more of the gas composition sensor or the gas ionization sensor.
Zeng teaches a multi-function remote-controlled smart meter circuit breaker that can remotely control the opening and closing of the circuit breaker, and can monitor environmental changes, thereby ensuring that the remote control does not bring to security risks (Summary of the invention-Line 1-4),
further comprising an assembly [6] in Figure 1 (environmental monitoring unit 6 as the assembly) that encapsulates one or more of the gas composition sensor or the gas ionization sensor (The environmental monitoring module 6 in Figure 1 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor; detailed description Page 2, Line 13-14). The purpose of doing so is to send numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Panetta and Uchii in view of Zeng, because Zeng teaches to an assembly that encapsulates one or more of the gas composition sensor or the gas ionization sensor sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit (detailed description).
Regarding claim 9, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the gas composition sensor comprises a sensor configured to determine a presence and/or concentration of one or more gases in the assembly (Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like; Paragraph [0021] Line 2-6; Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like. Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.); Paragraph [0015] Line 4-8; Arc fault detector determines the presence of arc in the air).
Regarding claim 10, Panetta teaches a current switch,
wherein the gas data signal is representative of a presence and/or concentration of one or more gases in the assembly (Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like; Paragraph [0021] Line 2-6; Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like. Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.); Paragraph [0015] Line 4-8; Arc fault detector determines the presence of arc in the air).
Regarding claim 11, Panetta teaches a current switch of claim 8,
wherein the gas ionization sensor comprises a sensor configured to determine a presence and/or amount of ionization in the assembly (Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like; Paragraph [0021] Line 2-6; Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like. Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.); Paragraph [0015] Line 4-8; Arc fault detector determines the presence of arc in the air).
Claim(s) 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Panetta in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130003233 A1 and further in view of UCHII et al. (Hereinafter, “Uchii”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110127237 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Zeng teaches a method (a multi-function remote-controlled smart meter circuit breaker that can remotely control the opening and closing of the circuit breaker, and can monitor environmental changes, thereby ensuring that the remote control does not bring to security risks (Summary of the invention; Page 2-Line 1-4), comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, and from a current switch, system data, the system data comprising a gas data signal that corresponds to a gas composition sensor [6] (The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the household transmission line at the rear end of the electric gate 1 to monitor the household voltage and current. The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the central processor 4, and the electrical information monitoring module always sends voltage and current numerical signals to the central processor 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 7-10; The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16);
determining, by the one or more processors,
(ii) a change in gas composition, is greater than a threshold based on the system data (The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16);
adjusting, by the one or more processors, performance of an electronics system by generating a control signal based on the determination (The central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open or close according to the opening and closing instructions sent by the remote communication module 7. When the numerical signals of the temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 to the central processor 4 are abnormally high, the central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open, and the environmental monitoring module 6 sends The signal priority is better than the signal sent by the remote communication module 7, that is, when the environmental parameters sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 are abnormal, the central processor 4 will not control the closing even if it receives the closing command sent by the remote communication module 7, ensuring that When the environment is abnormal, the switch 1 will not be closed suddenly. The central processing unit 4 preferably adopts a PIC16C series single-chip microcomputer; detailed description; Page 4; Line 27-36); and
transmitting the control signal to the current switch (The sounding device 5 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. When the central processing unit 4 receives an abnormal environmental information parameter sent by the environmental monitoring module 6, the central processing unit 4 sends a sounding signal to the sounding device 5 to cause the sounding device 5 to sound an alarm and sound the device 5 It is preferable to use a buzzer. Users can check their electricity consumption from the cloud server through the mobile APP, and send the opening or closing command, which is more convenient and safe; detailed description; Page 4).
Zeng fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled; the system data comprising an ionization data signal from a gas filled current switch that corresponds to a gas ionization sensor; determining, by the one or more processors, (i) a presence or amount of ionization.
Panetta teaches arc faults in multiphase electrical systems, and more particularly to an arc fault protection circuit (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
the system data comprising an ionization data signal (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.), sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like are the operating condition of the current switch) from a current switch that corresponds to a gas ionization sensor [18] (Arc fault detector 18 as the gas ionization sensor as it senses the gas ionization) (Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-6);
determining, by the one or more processors, (i) a presence or amount of ionization (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like. Upon detection of an arc, arc detector 18 provides a control signal to controller 20; Paragraph [0021] Line 4-8). The purpose of doing so is to insert a high impedance path between the source and the load, and to disconnect the source from the load in response to the arc detector detecting arcing proximate the load.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng in view of Panetta to provide an ionization data signal from a gas ionization sensor, because Panetta teaches to provide an ionization data signal from a gas ionization sensor inserts a high impedance path between the source and the load, and disconnects the source from the load in response to the arc detector detecting arcing proximate the load (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Zeng and Panetta fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled.
Uchii teaches a gas insulated switchgear and, more particularly, to a gas insulated switchgear reducing use of greenhouse effect gases (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
the current switch is gas filled [1] (Figure 5) (A lid 36 for internal inspection is fitted over the sealed container 1 by means of fastening bolts 37 so as to seal the sealed container 1. A packing 38 is provided in the connection part of the lid 36 so as to keep gas-tightness of the arc-extinguishing gas 31b filled in the sealed container 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-5; A detection means for detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1. More specifically, a sensor 51 capable of detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1, and information detected by the sensor 51 is analyzed by an analyzer 52; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to obtain high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption , to avoid high pressure from being applied directly to a piston, to provide excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and to use widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness, to prevent the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng and Panetta in view of Uchii to include a gas filled current switch, because Uchii teaches to include a gas filled current switch obtains high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption, avoids high pressure from being applied directly to a piston (Paragraph [0005]), provides excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and uses widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness (Paragraph [0006]), prevents the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Zeng teaches a method (a multi-function remote-controlled smart meter circuit breaker that can remotely control the opening and closing of the circuit breaker, and can monitor environmental changes, thereby ensuring that the remote control does not bring to security risks (Summary of the invention; Page 2-Line 1-4),
wherein the system data comprises one or more of an input current or voltage with respect to the current switch, a direct current transient ramp speed, or an alternating current zero transition (An electrical information monitoring module 8, the electrical information monitoring module is electrically connected to circuits at both ends of the electric gate respectively, the electrical information monitoring module is used to monitor voltage and current at both ends of the electrical gate, respectively, and the electrical information monitoring module is electrically connected to the central processor connection; Summary of the invention; Page 2; Line 14-17).
The combination of Zeng and Panetta fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled.
Uchii teaches a gas insulated switchgear and, more particularly, to a gas insulated switchgear reducing use of greenhouse effect gases (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
the current switch is gas filled [1] (Figure 5) (A lid 36 for internal inspection is fitted over the sealed container 1 by means of fastening bolts 37 so as to seal the sealed container 1. A packing 38 is provided in the connection part of the lid 36 so as to keep gas-tightness of the arc-extinguishing gas 31b filled in the sealed container 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-5; A detection means for detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1. More specifically, a sensor 51 capable of detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1, and information detected by the sensor 51 is analyzed by an analyzer 52; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to obtain high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption , to avoid high pressure from being applied directly to a piston, to provide excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and to use widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness, to prevent the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng and Panetta in view of Uchii to include a gas filled current switch, because Uchii teaches to include a gas filled current switch obtains high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption, avoids high pressure from being applied directly to a piston (Paragraph [0005]), provides excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and uses widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness (Paragraph [0006]), prevents the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng teaches a method,
further comprising determining one or more of (1) an indication of a leaking seal associated with the current switch, (ii) a broken seal associated with the current switch, (iii) one or more alarms responsive to the system data, or (iv) a trend leading to ionization associated with the current switch (The GSM module is used for the remote communication module. When the environmental monitoring information module and the electrical information monitoring module send abnormal signals to the central processor, the central processor can control the remote communication module to send a warning message, make a warning call, or directly alarm through the near field communication module; Summary of the invention Page 3 Line 24-27).
Regarding claim 16, Zeng teaches a method,
further comprising increasing performance of the electronics system [4] based on an absence of the determination that the presence or amount of ionization or the change in gas composition is greater than the threshold (The central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open or close according to the opening and closing instructions sent by the remote communication module 7. When the numerical signals of the temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 to the central processor 4 are abnormally high, the central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open, and the environmental monitoring module 6 sends The signal priority is better than the signal sent by the remote communication module 7, that is, when the environmental parameters sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 are abnormal, the central processor 4 will not control the closing even if it receives the closing command sent by the remote communication module 7, ensuring that When the environment is abnormal, the switch 1 will not be closed suddenly. The central processing unit 4 preferably adopts a PIC16C series single-chip microcomputer; detailed description; Page 4; Line 27-36).
The combination of Zeng and Panetta fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled.
Uchii teaches a gas insulated switchgear and, more particularly, to a gas insulated switchgear reducing use of greenhouse effect gases (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
the current switch is gas filled [1] (Figure 5) (A lid 36 for internal inspection is fitted over the sealed container 1 by means of fastening bolts 37 so as to seal the sealed container 1. A packing 38 is provided in the connection part of the lid 36 so as to keep gas-tightness of the arc-extinguishing gas 31b filled in the sealed container 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-5; A detection means for detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1. More specifically, a sensor 51 capable of detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1, and information detected by the sensor 51 is analyzed by an analyzer 52; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to obtain high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption , to avoid high pressure from being applied directly to a piston, to provide excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and to use widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness, to prevent the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng and Panetta in view of Uchii to include a gas filled current switch, because Uchii teaches to include a gas filled current switch obtains high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption, avoids high pressure from being applied directly to a piston (Paragraph [0005]), provides excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and uses widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness (Paragraph [0006]), prevents the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 17, Zeng teaches a method,
wherein increasing the performance of the electronics system comprises switching of direct current at higher levels or switching of alternating current with greater offset from zero transition (The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the home circuit at the back end of the electric gate, which can count the power information of the home circuit and send it to the cloud server or the user's mobile phone through the remote communication device for storage, so that the electricity can be used every moment. Statistics and display of the amount is more intuitive than the energy meter can only see the total power consumption; The electrical information monitoring module is electrically connected to the power transmission circuit at the front of the switch, and can obtain current and voltage parameters in real time and send them to the central processor. Instruction to avoid unsafe conditions such as sparks or damage to household appliances due to excessive voltage and current when closing; Summary of the invention; Page 3 Line 10-18).
Regarding claim 18, Zeng teaches a method,
wherein adjusting the performance of the electronics system comprises decreasing an input voltage or current (The step-down rectifier circuit 3 is electrically connected to the transmission line at the front end of the electric gate 1 to draw power, step-down, and rectify, and to the central processor 4, the opening and closing drive device 22, the remote communication module 7, the electric information monitoring module 8, the environmental information monitoring; detailed description Page 4 Line 3-6; step down rectifier reduces power and therefore reduces voltage or current).
Claim(s) 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panetta ‘233 A1 in view of Zeng ‘450A and Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chou et al. (Hereinafter, “Chou”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200225203 A1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Panetta, Zeng and Uchii fails to teach a current switch, wherein the gas ionization sensor comprises an ionization detection component of a photoionization detector gas sensor.
Chou teaches a gas detector with a first gas sensor having a first gas specificity and a first response time and a second gas sensor having a second gas specificity and a second response time. The first gas specificity is different than the second gas specificity, the first response time is different than the second response time, or both the first gas specificity and the first response time are different than the second gas specificity and the second response time (Abstract),
wherein the gas ionization sensor comprises an ionization detection component of a photoionization detector gas sensor (Embodiments are disclosed of a method/apparatus of monitoring real-time ambient air quality by a combination of multiple gas analysis sensing modes, including fast-response gas sensors with low specificity to single compound (e.g., photoionization detector (PID); Paragraph [0014] Line 1-5; Mode A sensors are real-time universal gas sensors with little or no specificity to a single compound or to compounds with same or similar chemical property. Possible mode A sensors include, for example, photoionization detector (PID) sensors; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to detect the total concentration of gases in the environment (organic or non-organic) with real-time response (less than 1 minute in one embodiment, but not limited to this time period), can differentiate compounds with the same or similar chemical proper ties from other compounds with different chemical properties, to ensure cleanroom air quality, ensuring the air is free of contaminants and improving process yield, to monitor the coke oven gas by-product leakage and process optimization, to identify leaking gases and locate the source of leakage, which can provide immediate warning and emergency response actions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Panetta, Zeng and Uchii in view of Chou to include an ionization detection component of a photoionization detector gas sensor, because Chou teaches to include an ionization detection component of a photoionization detector gas sensor detects the total concentration of gases in the environment (organic or non-organic) with real-time response (less than 1 minute in one embodiment, but not limited to this time period),(Paragraph [0020]), can differentiate compounds with the same or similar chemical proper ties from other compounds with different chemical properties (Paragraph [0021]), ensures cleanroom air quality, ensuring the air is free of contaminants and improving process yield, monitors the coke oven gas by-product leakage and process optimization, identifies leaking gases and locate the source of leakage, which can provide immediate warning and emergency response actions (Paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Panetta, Zeng and Uchii fails to teach a current switch, wherein the gas ionization sensor comprises a spectrometer or one or more spectral filters configured to determine spectral content of arcing caused by the plurality of switch contacts.
Chou teaches a gas detector with a first gas sensor having a first gas specificity and a first response time and a second gas sensor having a second gas specificity and a second response time. The first gas specificity is different than the second gas specificity, the first response time is different than the second response time, or both the first gas specificity and the first response time are different than the second gas specificity and the second response time (Abstract),
wherein the gas ionization sensor comprises a spectrometer or one or more spectral filters configured to determine spectral content of arcing caused by the plurality of switch contacts (A method/apparatus of monitoring real-time ambient air quality by a combination of multiple gas analysis sensing modes, including fast-response gas sensors with low specificity to single compound (e.g., photoionization detector (PID), thermal conductivity detector (TCD), flame ionization detector (FID), time-of-flight mass spectrometer (TOFMS)) and slow-response gas detectors with high specificity to each compound of interest (e.g., gas chromatograph (GC)+PID, GC+TCD, GC+FID, GC+mass spectrometer (MS)); Paragraph [0014] Line 1-10; Mode C sensors are slow-response gas sensors with high specificity to single compounds that require longer analysis time. In different embodiments the Mode C sensors can be, for example, gas chromatograph plus flame ionization (GC+FID), gas chromatograph plus mass spectrometer (GC+MS); Paragraph [0022] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to detect and analyze each individual compound of interest, can differentiate compounds with the same or similar chemical proper ties from other compounds with different chemical properties, to ensure cleanroom air quality, ensuring the air is free of contaminants and improving process yield, to monitor the coke oven gas by-product leakage and process optimization, to identify leaking gases and locate the source of leakage, which can provide immediate warning and emergency response actions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Panetta, Zeng and Uchii in view of Chou to include a spectrometer or one or more spectral filters to determine spectral content of arcing caused by the plurality of switch contacts, because Chou teaches to include a spectrometer or one or more spectral filters configured to determine spectral content of arcing caused by the plurality of switch contacts detects and analyze each individual compound of interest (Paragraph [0022]), can differentiate compounds with the same or similar chemical proper ties from other compounds with different chemical properties (Paragraph [0021]), ensures cleanroom air quality, ensuring the air is free of contaminants and improving process yield, monitors the coke oven gas by-product leakage and process optimization, identifies leaking gases and locate the source of leakage, which can provide immediate warning and emergency response actions (Paragraph [0015]).
Claim(s) 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG ZHAOJIE et al. (Hereinafter, “Zeng”) in the Patent Publication Number CN111009450A (Publication Date 2020-04-14) in view of Panetta ‘233A1 and Uchii ‘237 A1, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Whitehouse et al. (Hereinafter, “Whitehouse”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180062373 A1.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zeng, Panetta and Uchii fails to teach a method, wherein adjusting performance of the electronics system comprises decreasing direct current transient ramp speed or alternative current zero transition.
Whitehouse teaches an electrical metering system in a utility box is capable of receiving electrical signals received from a power utility company. The electrical metering system includes measurement circuitry capable of measuring properties of the received electrical signals. Based on the measurements, a determination is made that an arcing condition is present in the utility box. Based on the determination that the arcing condition is present, a disconnect circuit is activated to interrupt the connection between a source of the electrical signals and a premises (Abstract),
wherein adjusting performance of the electronics system comprises decreasing direct current transient ramp speed or alternative current zero transition (Although the example threshold levels 308 and 308′ in Figure 3B are depicted as pairs of voltages, other implementations of threshold levels are possible. For example, a threshold level may represent one or more of a minimum or maximum voltage level, a range of voltage levels, a minimum or maximum current level, a range of current levels, an area related to an electrical signal (e.g., an area calculated under a waveform), a quantity of zero-crossings, a frequency content of the voltage or current signal, or any other suitable threshold value. Additionally or alternatively, the threshold level may represent combination of one or more values, such as a rate of change of a suitable value, a voltage level combined with a frequency content of the voltage signal, a rate of change of a suitable value, a quantity of value occurrences within a span of time, or any other suitable combination of values; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-16). The purpose of doing so is to detect arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs, to determining that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng, Panetta and Uchii in view of Whitehouse to decrease direct current transient ramp speed or alternative current zero transition, because Whitehouse teaches to decrease direct current transient ramp speed or alternative current zero transition detects arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs (Paragraph [0004]), determines that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry (Paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zeng, Panetta and Uchii fails to teach a method, wherein adjusting performance of the electronics system comprises determining a rate of opening or closing a plurality of switch contacts associated with the current switch.
Whitehouse teaches an electrical metering system in a utility box is capable of receiving electrical signals received from a power utility company. The electrical metering system includes measurement circuitry capable of measuring properties of the received electrical signals. Based on the measurements, a determination is made that an arcing condition is present in the utility box. Based on the determination that the arcing condition is present, a disconnect circuit is activated to interrupt the connection between a source of the electrical signals and a premises (Abstract),
wherein adjusting performance of the electronics system comprises determining a rate of opening or closing a plurality of switch contacts associated with the current switch (Although the example threshold levels 308 and 308′ are depicted as pairs of voltages, other implementations of threshold levels are possible. For example, a threshold level may represent one or more of a minimum or maximum voltage level, a range of voltage levels, a minimum or maximum current level, a range of current levels, an area related to an electrical signal (e.g., an area calculated under a waveform), a quantity of zero-crossings, a frequency content of the voltage or current signal, or any other suitable threshold value. Additionally or alternatively, the threshold level may represent combination of one or more values, such as a rate of change of a suitable value, a voltage level combined with a frequency content of the voltage signal, a rate of change of a suitable value, a quantity of value occurrences within a span of time, or any other suitable combination of values; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-16). The purpose of doing so is to to detect arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs, to determining that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng, Panetta and Uchii in view of Whitehouse to determine a rate of opening or closing a plurality of switch contacts associated with the current switch, because Whitehouse teaches to determine a rate of opening or closing a plurality of switch contacts associated with the current switch detects arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs (Paragraph [0004]), determines that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry (Paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 21, Zeng teaches a method (a multi-function remote-controlled smart meter circuit breaker that can remotely control the opening and closing of the circuit breaker, and can monitor environmental changes, thereby ensuring that the remote control does not bring to security risks (Summary of the invention; Page 2-Line 1-4), comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, system data, the system data comprising a gas data signal by a gas composition sensor [6] from a current switch (The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the household transmission line at the rear end of the electric gate 1 to monitor the household voltage and current. The electrical information monitoring module 8 is electrically connected to the central processor 4, and the electrical information monitoring module always sends voltage and current numerical signals to the central processor 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 7-10; The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16);
determining, by the one or more processors,
(ii) a change in gas composition, is greater than a threshold based on the system data (The environmental monitoring module 6 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. The environmental monitoring module 6 includes a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, and a gas sensor. The environmental monitoring module 6 sends numerical signals of temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration to the central processing unit 4; detailed description; Page 4 Line 13-16);
adjusting, by the one or more processors, performance of an electronics system by generating a control signal based on the determination (The central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open or close according to the opening and closing instructions sent by the remote communication module 7. When the numerical signals of the temperature, smoke concentration, and gas concentration sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 to the central processor 4 are abnormally high, the central processor 4 controls the opening and closing drive device 22 to drive the electric gate 1 to open, and the environmental monitoring module 6 sends The signal priority is better than the signal sent by the remote communication module 7, that is, when the environmental parameters sent by the environmental monitoring module 6 are abnormal, the central processor 4 will not control the closing even if it receives the closing command sent by the remote communication module 7, ensuring that When the environment is abnormal, the switch 1 will not be closed suddenly. The central processing unit 4 preferably adopts a PIC16C series single-chip microcomputer; detailed description; Page 4; Line 27-36); and
transmitting by the one or more processors the control signal to the current switch (The sounding device 5 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 4. When the central processing unit 4 receives an abnormal environmental information parameter sent by the environmental monitoring module 6, the central processing unit 4 sends a sounding signal to the sounding device 5 to cause the sounding device 5 to sound an alarm and sound the device 5 It is preferable to use a buzzer. Users can check their electricity consumption from the cloud server through the mobile APP, and send the opening or closing command, which is more convenient and safe; detailed description; Page 4).
Zeng fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled; the system data comprising an ionization data signal from a gas filled current switch that corresponds to a gas ionization sensor; wherein the system data comprises a direct current transient ramp speed and an alternating current zero transition determining, by the one or more processors, (i) a presence or amount of ionization.
Panetta teaches arc faults in multiphase electrical systems, and more particularly to an arc fault protection circuit (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
the system data comprising an ionization data signal (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.), sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like are the operating condition of the current switch) from a current switch that corresponds to a gas ionization sensor [18] (Arc fault detector 18 as the gas ionization sensor as it senses the gas ionization) (Arc fault detector 18 may be any conventional detection device capable of detecting the presence of arcing. Arc fault detector 18 may be an optical or chemical sensor, a pressure transducer, a current sensor, a temperature sensor or the like; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-6);
determining, by the one or more processors, (i) a presence or amount of ionization (Arc fault detector 18 thus typically detects some artefact of electrical arcing (e.g. flash, ionized air, sound, etc.). Arc fault detector 18 is in communication with controllable switches 22a, 22b and 22c (individually and collectively switches 22), through a controller 20; Paragraph [0015] Line 7-11; Arc fault detector 18 monitors load 16 for the occurrence of arcing at or proximate load 16. As noted, arc fault detector may monitor for the presence of an indicator of an arc--by for example sensing light, ionized air, a change in pressure, sound, or the like. Upon detection of an arc, arc detector 18 provides a control signal to controller 20; Paragraph [0021] Line 4-8). The purpose of doing so is to insert a high impedance path between the source and the load, and to disconnect the source from the load in response to the arc detector detecting arcing proximate the load.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng in view of Panetta to provide an ionization data signal from a gas ionization sensor, because Panetta teaches to provide an ionization data signal from a gas ionization sensor inserts a high impedance path between the source and the load, and disconnects the source from the load in response to the arc detector detecting arcing proximate the load (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Zeng and Panetta fails to teach that the current switch is gas filled; wherein the system data comprises a direct current transient ramp speed and an alternating current zero transition.
Uchii teaches a gas insulated switchgear and, more particularly, to a gas insulated switchgear reducing use of greenhouse effect gases (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
the current switch is gas filled [1] (Figure 5) (A lid 36 for internal inspection is fitted over the sealed container 1 by means of fastening bolts 37 so as to seal the sealed container 1. A packing 38 is provided in the connection part of the lid 36 so as to keep gas-tightness of the arc-extinguishing gas 31b filled in the sealed container 1; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-5; A detection means for detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1. More specifically, a sensor 51 capable of detecting CO gas or O.sub.3 gas is provided in the sealed container 1, and information detected by the sensor 51 is analyzed by an analyzer 52; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to obtain high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption , to avoid high pressure from being applied directly to a piston, to provide excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and to use widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness, to prevent the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng and Panetta in view of Uchii to include a gas filled current switch, because Uchii teaches to include a gas filled current switch obtains high spraying pressure applied to the arc especially at the time of large current interruption, avoids high pressure from being applied directly to a piston (Paragraph [0005]), provides excellent arc-extinguishing performance and electrical insulation performance and uses widely in high-voltage switchgears, to use in a compact type switchgear due to low cost, safety, and environmental friendliness (Paragraph [0006]), prevents the carbon from being generated, so that the interruption current is restricted to be small or spraying pressure rise required for large current interruption needs to be achieved mainly by mechanical compression, which may increase the size and cost of the switchgear (Paragraph [0018]).
The combination of Zeng, Panetta and Uchii fails to teach wherein the system data comprises a direct current transient ramp speed and an alternating current zero transition.
Whitehouse teaches an electrical metering system in a utility box is capable of receiving electrical signals received from a power utility company. The electrical metering system includes measurement circuitry capable of measuring properties of the received electrical signals. Based on the measurements, a determination is made that an arcing condition is present in the utility box. Based on the determination that the arcing condition is present, a disconnect circuit is activated to interrupt the connection between a source of the electrical signals and a premises (Abstract),
wherein adjusting performance of the electronics system comprises decreasing direct current transient ramp speed and alternative current zero transition (Although the example threshold levels 308 and 308′ in Figure 3B are depicted as pairs of voltages, other implementations of threshold levels are possible. For example, a threshold level may represent one or more of a minimum or maximum voltage level, a range of voltage levels, a minimum or maximum current level, a range of current levels, an area related to an electrical signal (e.g., an area calculated under a waveform), a quantity of zero-crossings, a frequency content of the voltage or current signal, or any other suitable threshold value. Additionally or alternatively, the threshold level may represent combination of one or more values, such as a rate of change of a suitable value, a voltage level combined with a frequency content of the voltage signal, a rate of change of a suitable value, a quantity of value occurrences within a span of time, or any other suitable combination of values; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-16). The purpose of doing so is to detect arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs, to determining that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zeng, Panetta and Uchii in view of Whitehouse to decrease direct current transient ramp speed and alternative current zero transition, because Whitehouse teaches to decrease direct current transient ramp speed or alternative current zero transition detects arcing conditions before any damage or endangerment occurs (Paragraph [0004]), determines that the measurements are outside of normal operating conditions (e.g., arcing conditions are present), a disconnect signal may be sent to disconnect circuitry (Paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
MENSA et al. (US 20170168030 A1) discloses, “PORTABLE ELECTRONIC SYSTEM FOR THE ANALYSIS OF TIME-VARIABLE GASEOUS FLOWS- [0003] The invention also comprises apparatuses and methods for analyzing time-variable gaseous flows. [0036] With reference to FIGS. 1-16 and, in particular, to FIG. 1, a portable system 1 for analyzing time-variable gaseous flows is described. [0037] This system 1 comprises a sampling chamber 18, a gas sampling module 7, an ion filtering module 8 and an ionic detection module 9. [0038] The sampling chamber 18 is suitable to be kept at a controlled sampling pressure Pc, and it is configured to receive at least one gaseous flow F having a gaseous composition (i.e., a gas composition) to be analyzed that is variable over time. [0039] The gas sampling module 7, arranged in fluidic communication with the sampling chamber 18, is configured to adjust an input gaseous flow Fi of gas particles (i.e., gaseous particles) from the sampling chamber 18, and an output gaseous flow Fo from the sampling module 7, so as to reproduce inside the sampling module 7 a gaseous composition representative of the gaseous composition to be analyzed. [0040] In addition, the sampling module 7 is configured to ionize said gas particles and to emit the ions produced, so as to generate an ion flow I having an ion composition representative of the gaseous composition to be analyzed. [0041] Moreover, the sampling module 7 is suitable to maintain therein a controlled ionization pressure Pi. [0042] The sampling module 7 is configured in such a way that the input gaseous flow Fi comprises a plurality of micro-flows at a molecular or predominantly molecular regime, at the sampling pressure Pc, and the output gaseous flow Fo is a flow at a molecular or predominantly molecular regime, at the ionization pressure Pi. [0043] The ion filtering module 8 is operatively connected to the sampling module 7 to receive the ion flow I, and is configured to controllably select at least one type of ions present in the ion flow I and to generate a corresponding at least one homogeneous ion beam I′, having an intensity representative of the concentration of the corresponding gas particle in the gaseous composition to be analyzed. [0044] The ion detecting module 9 is operatively connected to the ion filtering module 8 to receive the at least one ion beam I′, and is configured to measure the intensity of such at least one ion beam I′ and to generate a corresponding electric signal S representative of the concentration of the corresponding gas particle in the gaseous composition to be analyzed.
However, MENSA does not disclose a plurality of switch contacts configured to (i) receive a control signal from a system controller and (ii) switch a current input to a current output based on the control signal, wherein the control signal is generated by the system controller based at least in part on the gas data signal and the ionization data signal.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858