DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haraz, et al. (“State-of-Health and State-of-Charge Estimation in Electric Vehicles Batteries: A Survey of Machine Learning Approaches”, published in IEEE Access on October 28, 2024, herein Haraz).1 2 Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17 Haraz teaches a system for evaluating a battery assembly, method, and vehicle system,3 comprising: a sensing device configured to acquire parameters related to a group of cells of the battery assembly (Section I-C); and a diagnostic module configured to perform (Section I-B): estimating a state of charge (SOC) value for the group of cells based on measurements performed during a selected time window (Section I-C); calculating a statistical value related to the estimated SOC value for the group of cells (Section II-A); assigning the estimated SOC value to a selected bin of a plurality of SOC bins based on the statistical value, each SOC bin of the plurality of SOC bins including a subset of a range of SOC values (Section II-A); calculating a deviation of each SOC value in the selected bin relative to a plurality of SOC values in the selected bin (Table 3); and determining whether the group of cells is healthy based on the deviation (Table 4). Regarding claims 2 and 18, Haraz teaches the statistical value is an average group SOC calculated based on the measurements, and the deviation includes a group SOC deviation and a bin deviation, the group SOC deviation corresponding to a difference between the estimated SOC value and the average group SOC, the bin deviation corresponding to a difference between a SOC value in the selected bin and an average of the plurality of SOC values in the selected bin (Section III-E). Regarding claims 3, 12, and 19, Haraz teaches determining whether the group of cells is healthy includes calculating a change in the deviation (Section III-E). Regarding claim 4, Haraz teaches the change in the deviation is based on a difference between the group SOC deviation and the bin deviation (Section III-E). Regarding claims 5 and 14, Haraz teaches the group of cells is determined to be healthy based on the change in the deviation being less than a threshold change value (Section III-E). Regarding claims 9 and 16, Haraz teaches the battery assembly is at least one of a battery module and a battery pack of a vehicle (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 See 892 form for the full citation. A copy of this references is attached to this Office Action.
2 In addition to the cited portions, please see also the associated figures.
3 The memory is found in Fig. 6, and the processor is found in the abstract.
4 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.