DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a judicial exception which is not integrated into a practical application and the claims lack an inventive concept.
Step 1 is the first inquiry into eligibility analysis and asks whether the claims are directed to a statutory category. In this instance, the answer must be in the affirmative because they recite a method and a system.
Step 2A prong 1 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and asks whether the claimed invention recites a judicial exception. In this instance, the claims recite the following limitations which comprise the abstract idea:
associating a cycle length with a customer;
receiving, by a customer computing system, data for generating an evaluation system for evaluating a first structural characteristic of a first article of footwear;
designating, via identification information of the customer, the first article of footwear as being owned by the customer;
receiving, in accordance with the cycle length, a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear;
transmitting, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: (a) with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer;
designating, via identification information of the customer, a second article of footwear as being owned by the customer;
receiving, in accordance with the cycle length, a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear on the customer computing system.
This is an abstract idea because it is a certain method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions such as marketing and sales activities and/or behaviors.
Step 2A prong 2 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
a customer computing system
a manufacturer or third party computing system
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, the recitations of these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The dependent claims also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, claim 2-9 are directed to the abstract idea itself. In addition, even if these claims were determined not to be directed to the abstract idea, they do not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
a customer computing system
a manufacturer or third party computing system
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because they are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
Therefore, the claims lack one or more limitations which amount to an inventive concept in the claims.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11900432 in view of Wilkinson (US 2015/0242929). The prior patent and the present application are both directed to the concepts of evaluating an article of footwear, but the prior patent does not teach the step of: transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: (a) with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer. However, Wilkinson teaches the transmission step (see Wilkinson ¶0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the prior patent would continue to teach a system for customer evaluation of the footwear except that now that evaluation would be sent to a manufacture to produce a new article of footwear based on the evaluation. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11093989 in view of Wilkinson (US 2015/0242929). The prior patent and the present application are both directed to the concepts of evaluating an article of footwear, but the prior patent does not teach the step of: transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: (a) with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer. However, Wilkinson teaches the transmission step (see Wilkinson ¶0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the prior patent would continue to teach a system for customer evaluation of the footwear except that now that evaluation would be sent to a manufacture to produce a new article of footwear based on the evaluation. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12008617 in view of Wilkinson (US 2015/0242929). The prior patent and the present application are both directed to the concepts of evaluating an article of footwear, but the prior patent does not teach the step of: transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: (a) with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer. However, Wilkinson teaches the transmission step (see Wilkinson ¶0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the prior patent would continue to teach a system for customer evaluation of the footwear except that now that evaluation would be sent to a manufacture to produce a new article of footwear based on the evaluation. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11288724 in view of Wilkinson (US 2015/0242929). The prior patent and the present application are both directed to the concepts of evaluating an article of footwear, but the prior patent does not teach the step of: transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: (a) with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer. However, Wilkinson teaches the transmission step (see Wilkinson ¶0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the prior patent would continue to teach a system for customer evaluation of the footwear except that now that evaluation would be sent to a manufacture to produce a new article of footwear based on the evaluation. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson (US 2015/0242929) in view of Shum (US 2006/0129416).
Referring to Claim 1, Wilkinson teaches a method for customizing an article of footwear, comprising:
receiving, by a customer computing system, data for generating an evaluation system for evaluating a first structural characteristic of a first article of footwear (see Wilkinson ¶0072 and Fig. 9-10);
designating, via identification information of the customer, the first article of footwear as being owned by the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0085, the recommendation system completes the transaction and updates the user’s profile to indicate that the user has purchased the item);
receiving a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear on the customer computing system (see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc);
transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0071, the system may send information “related” to the feedback to the manufacturer for review and in order to produce an altered or new item; the feedback data itself in [0072] and Fig. 9-10 is data related to the feedback);
designating, via identification information of the customer, a second article of footwear as being owned by the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0085, the recommendation system completes the transaction and updates the user’s profile to indicate that the user has purchased the item, which includes previous purchase data);
receiving a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear on the customer computing system (see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc);
Wilkinson does not teach associating a cycle length with a customer nor that the receiving of the evaluations are in accordance with the cycle length. However, Shum teaches associating a cycle length with a customer (see Shum ¶¶0029,13,10, a user pays an initial subscription fee to periodically obtain replacement footwear at a predefined interval) and that receiving of the evaluations are in accordance with the cycle length (see Shum ¶¶0024,29, the replacement request is submitted at the end of each cycle and that request can carry information about the prior footwear’s performance characteristics). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Wilkinson would continue to provide users with footwear and receive feedback on that footwear except that now it would also be tied to a cycle length such as a subscription program as taught by Shum. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 2, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation system provides an evaluation scale through which the customer enters information relating to the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear and (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 4, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 5, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (iv) a customer-selected evaluation of a fourth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 6, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iv) a customer-selected evaluation of a fourth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (v) a customer-selected evaluation of a fifth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 7, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising generating a prompt at the customer computing system to provide an evaluation of one or more structural characteristics of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, the sliders prompt the user to make a selection).
Referring to Claim 8, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
generating an evaluation system on the customer computing system for evaluating the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear in a second iteration of the customization cycle (see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc; the combination of Wilkinson and Shun teaches multiple cycles and thus multiple iterations according);
transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear with (a) the customer, and (b) with the second iteration of the customization cycle associated with the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0071, the system may send information “related” to the feedback to the manufacturer for review and in order to produce an altered or new item; the feedback data itself in [0072] and Fig. 9-10 is data related to the feedback).
Referring to Claim 9, the combination teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
generating an evaluation system on the customer computing system for evaluating the first structural characteristic of a third article of footwear in a third iteration of the customization cycle;( see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc; the combination of Wilkinson and Shun teaches multiple cycles and thus multiple iterations according);
receiving a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the third article of footwear on the customer computing system (see Wilkinson ¶0072, a user clicks the heel and adjusts the cushioning slider);
transmitting, from the customer computing system to a manufacturer or third party computing system, data including the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the third article of footwear, wherein the data is transmitted in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the third article of footwear with (a) the customer, and (b) with the third iteration of the customization cycle associated with the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0071, the system may send information “related” to the feedback to the manufacturer for review and in order to produce an altered or new item; the feedback data itself in [0072] and Fig. 9-10 is data related to the feedback).
Referring to Claim 10, Wilkinson teaches a system for customizing an article of footwear comprising:
a computing system configured to:
generate an evaluation system for evaluating a first structural characteristic of a first article of footwear (see Wilkinson ¶0072 and Fig. 9-10);
designate, via identification information of a customer, the first article of footwear as being owned by the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0085, the recommendation system completes the transaction and updates the user’s profile to indicate that the user has purchased the item);
designate, via identification information of the customer, a second article of footwear as being owned by the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0085, the recommendation system completes the transaction and updates the user’s profile to indicate that the user has purchased the item);
an input system configured to:
receive input data indicating a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc);
receive input data indicating a customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the second article of footwear on the customer computing system (see Wilkinson ¶¶0086,72,75 and Fig. 9-10, the user can provide feedback on the items that the user has purchased, such as on the heel width, arch support, comfort, etc);
a transmission system configured to transmit the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear to a manufacturer or third party, wherein the transmission system transmits the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear in a manner to allow the manufacturer or third party to associate the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear: with a customer, and (b) with a first iteration of a customization cycle associated with the customer (see Wilkinson ¶0071, the system may send information “related” to the feedback to the manufacturer for review and in order to produce an altered or new item; the feedback data itself in [0072] and Fig. 9-10 is data related to the feedback).
Wilkinson does not teach associating a cycle length with a customer nor that the receiving of the evaluations are in accordance with the cycle length. However, Shum teaches associating a cycle length with a customer (see Shum ¶¶0029,13,10, a user pays an initial subscription fee to periodically obtain replacement footwear at a predefined interval) and that receiving of the evaluations are in accordance with the cycle length (see Shum ¶¶0024,29, the replacement request is submitted at the end of each cycle and that request can carry information about the prior footwear’s performance characteristics). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Wilkinson would continue to provide users with footwear and receive feedback on that footwear except that now it would also be tied to a cycle length such as a subscription program as taught by Shum. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 11, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the computing system, the input system, and the transmission system comprise portions of a mobile computing device selected from the group consisting of: a smartphone, a cell phone, a tablet, and a laptop (see Wilkinson Fig. 1 and ¶0040).
Referring to Claim 12, the combination teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the evaluation system is generated by an application program running on the mobile computing device (see Wilkinson Fig. 1 and ¶0040).
Referring to Claim 13, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the evaluation system provides an evaluation scale through which the customer enters information relating to the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 14, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear and (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 15, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 16, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (iv) a customer-selected evaluation of a fourth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 17, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the evaluation system provides multiple evaluation scales through which the customer enters information relating to: (i) the customer-selected evaluation of the first structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (ii) a customer-selected evaluation of a second structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iii) a customer-selected evaluation of a third structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, (iv) a customer-selected evaluation of a fourth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear, and (v) a customer-selected evaluation of a fifth structural characteristic of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, feedback about cushioning, comfort, arch support, length, toe-box width, heel width, and other characteristics).
Referring to Claim 18, the combination teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein the computing system generates a prompt for the customer to provide an evaluation of one or more structural characteristics of the first article of footwear (see Wilkinson Fig. 9-10, the sliders prompt the user to make a selection).
Referring to Claim 19, this claim is similar to claim 8 and therefore rejected under the same reasons and rationale.
Referring to Claim 20, this claim is similar to claim 9 and therefore rejected under the same reasons and rationale.
Remarks
Additional prior art relevant to the claimed application but not relied upon includes:
Gupta (US 2014/0277663) teaches creating custom-fit apparel designs personalized for individuals and generated using body scanners.
Shum (US 2006/0129416) teaches selling custom footwear by a subscription service.
Reference U (see PTO-892) teaches product customization for personalized products.
In regards to the applicant’s arguments under 35 U.S.C. 101, the applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the response that the recited limitations are not directed to an abstract idea because they cannot be performed in the human mind. The examiner notes that the abstract idea is not argued to be a mental process but rather it is a certain method of organizing human activity including commercial or legal interactions such as marketing and sales activities and/or behaviors. For these reasons, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In regards to the applicant’s arguments under 35 U.S.C. 102, the examiner notes that these arguments are now moot. The applicant has amended the claims which necessitated a new search and new prior art used to reject the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW E ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688