DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to recite “a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire” with dependent claims 2, 5 and 7 amended for consistency. Dependent claim 6 is amended to recite “and wherein the wire dispensing tool head is configured to dispense wire independently of the second of the tool heads.” Independent claim 8 is amended to recite “bare wire” and to address the previous claim objection due to an informality by changing “system” to “a system.”
Claims 16-20 cancelled.
New independent claim 21 is added which is similar to claims 1 and 6. New dependent claims 22, 23 and 24, dependent on claim 21, are also added. (Applicant arguments/remarks 11/26/2025 p. 6).
Examiner withdraws the claim 8 objection due to the applicant correction.
Applicant argues regarding the claim 1-9, 12 and 15 rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as anticipated by Bilas (US 11302460), that the addition of the limitation “bare wire” in amended claim 1 clearly distinguishes Bilas which dispenses encased wire. Critical to the distinguishing limitation is that the wire passes through an orifice with simultaneous extrusion around the wire that encases it in a substrate material as it exits the orifice. Therefore, Bilas cannot dispense bare wire and, moreover, its cutting system cannot be configured to cut bare wire, as required by amended claim 1, but instead cuts an encased wire structure. (Applicant arguments/remarks 11/26/2025 pp. 8-10).
Examiner provides new grounds of rejection as necessitated by this amendment of independent claims 1 and 8, dependent claim 6 and the new claims 21-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 15 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilas (US 11,302,460 B2), of record, in view of Tran (US 6,945,447 B2) .
Regarding Claim 1, Bilas discloses a system for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 10 Col. 2 ll. 56-57, Col. 5 ll. 52-53 adding electronic modules to the assembly – 100; presented in an apparatus used to manufacture assembly – 100) comprising:
a wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 l. 64 apparatus – 200 wire feed device – 208);
a motion system for positioning a dispensing head around a part being fabricated (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 4-5, 7-8 electromechanical device – 212 configured to move the extruding device – 202 and wire feed device – 208);
a spool for holding spooled wire (while not explicitly stated, this is apparent at the top of Fig. 10);
a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 ll. 63-65 wire feed device – 208 that selectively feeds an electrically conductive wire, hereinafter referred to as the wire – 102, through the orifice – 206);
a cutting system configured to cut the wire after dispensement from the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 l. 66-Co. 6 l. 1 a cutting device- 210 to selectively sever the wire – 102 after it passes through the orifice – 206 included in the apparatus – 200); and
a control system operatively connected to the motion system (Fig. 1- Col. 6 ll. 10-13 electronic controller – 214 in communication with electromechanical device – 212).
However, Bilas discloses that the wire dispensing tool is configured to dispense electrically conductive wire encased within a substrate formed of a dielectric material (abs), and not bare wire.
Tran discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a system for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 1, abs, Col. 1 ll. 6-13 chip or die attachment apparatus; fabrication and packaging of integrated circuit components, integrated circuit (MMIC) chip attachment process) comprising: a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire (Fig. 1 abs, Col. 2 ll. 34-37 dispensing a precise amount of solder; solder dispensed from a wire spool – 1).
Additionally, Tran discloses a spool for holding spooled bare wire (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 34-38); a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 1 Col. 4, ll. 34-36.); and a control system operatively connected to the motion system (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 38-39).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Bilas with the teaching of Trans whereby a system for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense wires that are electrically conductive encased in a dielectric material, through its motion system for positioning the bare wire from spooled bare wire, with a feed mechanism for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing head and having a cutting system and a control system connected to the motion system, as in Bilas, would instead dispense bare wire, as in Tran, in its system for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool having a motion system, a spool, a feed mechanism and a control system similar to Bilas.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider the use of a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire in a system for manufacturing electronics to be advantageous because electronic components in close proximity such as integrated circuit chips can now be placed precisely in relation to a bare wire, including as solder, being deposited at desired locations, such as in pick-and-place positions (Col. 1 ll. 15-20, 25-28).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Bilas further discloses that the control system is configured to provide pre-travel and post-travel movements to assist in placing the bare wire (Figs. 1,10 Col. 6 ll. 34-51 memory device contains instructions to selectively feed and sever the wire and for the electromechanical device and extruding device to define a location feature – 108 in the substrate – 104).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Bilas further discloses that the control system is configured to provide cut length compensation (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 30-33 instruction causes cutting device – 21 to selectively sever the wire – 102 where “selectively” inherently involves a length compensation).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Bilas further discloses that the control system is configured to control lateral speed of the dispensing at least partially based on a feed speed of the wire (Fig. 10 Col. 5 ll. 61-62 wire feed device – 208 that selectively feeds an electrically conductive wire – 102 where “selectively” inherently involves a feed speed of the wire).
.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Bilas further discloses that the system further comprises a wire placement system configured to place the wire (Fig.1, Col. 6 ll. 45-51 instructions define a location feature – 108 in the substrate – 104 where aperture – 106 is precisely located relative to the location feature – 108)
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and both Bilas and Tran further disclose that the system further comprises a first of the tool heads is the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 ll. 63-64 wire feed device – 208 selectively feeds an electrically conductive wire) and wherein a second of the tool heads is selected from a set consisting of a fused filament fabrication (FFF) tool head, a microdispensing tool head, a milling tool head, a pick and place tool head, and a spray tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 3 ll. 9-10, 12 Col. 6 ll. 56-57 assembly manufactured using an automated additive manufacturing process, such as fused filament fabrication; extruding device – 202 with a dispensing head – 204).
and wherein the wire dispensing tool head is configured to dispense wire independently of the second of the tool heads (Bilas, Fig. 10, Col. 5 ll. 53-63 dispensing head – 204 dispensing thermoplastic filament; wire feed device – 208; Tran, Col. 3 ll. 19-32 tool for holding dispensed wire, pick-and-place tool).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Bilas further discloses that the system further comprises the wire is selected from a set consisting of a conductive wire, a filament, and a fiber (Col. 5, ll. 59-64 electrically conductive wire – 103, thermoplastic filament).
Regarding Claim 8, Bilas discloses a method for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 23-24) comprising:
providing system for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 11 Col. 2 ll. 56-57, Col. 5 ll. 52-53 adding electronic modules to the assembly – 100; presented in an apparatus used to manufacture assembly – 100) comprising a wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 48-52 STEP 310), a motion system for positioning a dispensing head around a part being fabricated (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 40-47 STEP 308), a spool for holding spooled wire (while not explicitly stated, this is apparent at the top of Fig. 10), a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 31-35 STEP 304), a cutting system configured to cut the wire after dispensement from the wire dispensing tool head(Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 36-39 STEP 306), and a control system operatively connected to the motion system (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 40-47 STEP 308);
controlling the wire dispensing tool head with the control system to position the wire dispensing head using the motion system to dispense a length of the wire in a desired position of the part being fabricated (Fig. 11 Col. 7 ll. 58-62 STEP 314 – form a location feature using electromechanical device – 212);
dispensing from the wire dispensing tool head the length of the wire at the desired position of the part being fabricated; and
cutting the length of the wire from a feed of wire from the spooled wire (Fig. 10, Col.6 ll. 38-43 instructions cause the wire feed device – 208 to selectively feed the wire – 102 and cutting device – 210 to selectively sever the wire – 102 as the electromechanically device moves the wire feed device – 208 and the cutting device – 210 in the 3D space.).
However, Bilas does not disclose that during the controlling step, the wire dispensing head uses the motion system to dispense a bare length of wire in a desired position of the part being fabricated.
Tran discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a process for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 1, abs, Col. 1 ll. 6-13 a chip of die attachment process; fabrication and packaging of integrated circuit components, integrated circuit (MMIC) chip attachment process) comprising: a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire (Fig. 1 abs, Col. 2 ll. 34-37 dispensing a precise amount of solder; solder dispensed from a wire spool – 1).
Additionally, Tran discloses a spool for holding spooled bare wire (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 34-38); a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 1 Col. 4, ll. 34-36.); and a control system operatively connected to the motion system (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 38-39).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Bilas with the teaching of Trans whereby a method for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense wires that are electrically conductive encased in a dielectric material, through its motion system for positioning the bare wire from spooled bare wire, with a feed mechanism for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing head and having a cutting system and a control system connected to the motion system, as in Bilas, would instead dispense bare wire, as in Tran, in its system for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool having a motion system, a spool, a feed mechanism and a control system similar to Bilas.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider the use of a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire in a method for manufacturing electronics to be advantageous because electronic components in close proximity such as integrated circuit chips can now be placed precisely in relation to a bare wire, including as solder, being deposited at desired locations, such as in pick-and-place positions (Col. 1 ll. 15-20, 25-28).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 8, and Bilas and Tran further disclose that the method of claim 8 comprises soldering the length of the wire to form an interconnection within the part being fabricated (Bilas, Fig. 7 Col. 4 ll. 7-16 terminals – 122 can be metallurgically bonded to the wires – 102 by soldering; Tran, Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 45-55 quantity of solder – 7 in the desired site as heat is applied to reflow the solder).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 8, and Bilas discloses that the method of claim 8 comprises the desired position is within a material having dielectric properties (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 52-55 extruding device – 202 selectively dispenses dielectric material) and wherein the method further comprises solidifying the material after the dispensing of the wire (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 62-67 selectively heat the thermoplastic material (dielectric) while forming the substrate – 104 in order to produce a desired shape). .
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 8, and Bilas and Tran disclose that the method of claim 8 comprises the part being fabricated comprises a multilayer circuit board (Bilas, Figs. 9, 11 Col. 7 ll. 53-57 STEP 312 forming a substrate – 104 made of the dielectric material that encases the plurality of wires – 102) (Fig. 1, Tran, Col. 4 ll. 12-15 process for attaching a circuit chip or die to a substrate).
Regarding Claim 21, Bilas discloses a system for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 10 Col. 2 ll. 56-57, Col. 5 ll. 52-53 adding electronic modules to the assembly – 100; presented in an apparatus used to manufacture assembly – 100) comprising:
a wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 l. 64 apparatus – 200 wire feed device – 208);
a motion system for positioning a dispensing head around a part being fabricated (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 4-5, 7-8 electromechanical device – 212 configured to move the extruding device – 202 and wire feed device – 208);
a spool for holding spooled wire (while not explicitly stated, this is apparent at the top of Fig. 10);
a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 ll. 63-65 wire feed device – 208 that selectively feeds an electrically conductive wire, hereinafter referred to as the wire – 102, through the orifice – 206);
a cutting system configured to cut the wire after dispensement from the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 5 l. 66-Col. 6 l. 1 a cutting device- 210 to selectively sever the wire – 102 after it passes through the orifice – 206 included in the apparatus – 200);
a second tool head selected from a set consisting of a fused filament fabrication (FFF) tool head, a microdispensing tool head, a milling tool head, a pick and place tool head, and a spray tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 3 ll. 9-10, 12 Col. 6 ll. 56-57 assembly manufactured using an automated additive manufacturing process, such as fused filament fabrication; extruding device – 202 with a dispensing head – 204).
a second motion system for positioning the second tool head around a part being fabricated (Fig. 10 Col. 7 ll. 40-47 Step 308 electromechanical device includes moving the extruding device – 202 and the wire feed device – 208 within a 3D space) and
a control system operatively connected to the first motion system, the second motion system, the wire dispensing tool head, and the second tool head (Fig. 10 Col. 6, ll.10-14 electronic controller – 214 in communication with the extruding device – 202, the wire feed device – 208 and the electromechanical device – 212).
However, Bilas discloses that the wire dispensing tool is configured to dispense electrically conductive wire encased within a substrate formed of a dielectric material (abs), and not bare wire.
Tran discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a system for manufacturing electronics (Fig. 1, abs, Col. 1 ll. 6-13 chip or die attachment apparatus; fabrication and packaging of integrated circuit components, integrated circuit (MMIC) chip attachment process) comprising: a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire (Fig. 1 abs, Col. 2 ll. 34-37 dispensing a precise amount of solder; solder dispensed from a wire spool – 1).
Additionally, Tran discloses a spool for holding spooled bare wire (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 34-38); a feed mechanism operatively connected between the spool and the wire dispensing tool head for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing tool head (Fig. 1 Col. 4, ll. 34-36.); and a control system operatively connected to the motion system (Fig. 1 Col. 4 ll. 38-39).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Bilas with the teaching of Trans whereby a system for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense wires that are electrically conductive encased in a dielectric material, through its motion system for positioning the bare wire from spooled bare wire, with a feed mechanism for feeding the bare wire from the spool to the wire dispensing head and having a cutting system and a control system connected to the motion system, as in Bilas, would instead dispense bare wire, as in Tran, in its system for manufacturing electronics with a wire dispensing tool having a motion system, a spool, a feed mechanism and a control system similar to Bilas.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider the use of a wire dispensing tool head configured to dispense bare wire in a system for manufacturing electronics to be advantageous because electronic components in close proximity such as integrated circuit chips can now be placed precisely in relation to a bare wire, including as solder, being deposited at desired locations, such as in pick-and-place positions (Col. 1 ll. 15-20, 25-28).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Bilas further discloses that the control system is configured to: apply a layer of material (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 52-55 extruding device – 202 selectively dispenses dielectric material);
control the wire dispensing tool head and the first motion system to dispense a length of the bare wire in a desired position within the layer of material (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 63-65 wire feed device – 208 that selectively feeds an electrically conductive wire – 102 through the orifice – 206);
after dispensing from the wire dispensing tool head, the length of the bare wire at the desired position within the layer of material, cut the length of the bare wire from a feed of wire from spooled wire (Fig. 10 Col. 5 l. 66-Col. 6 l. 3 cutting device – 210 configured to selectively sever the wire – 102 after it passes through the orifice – 206).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Bilas and Tran disclose that the method of claim 21 comprises the control system is configured to control fabrication of a multi-layer circuit board (Bilas, Figs. 9, 11 Col. 7 ll. 53-57 STEP 312 forming a substrate – 104 made of the dielectric material that encases the plurality of wires – 102) (Fig. 1, Tran, Col. 4 ll. 12-15 process for attaching a circuit chip or die to a substrate).
.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 21 and Bilas discloses that the second tool head is a fused filament fabrication tool head (Col. 3. ll. 9-12 fused filament fabrication; Col. 5 ll. 59-62 thermoplastic material may be provided to the dispensing head – 204 in the form of a thermoplastic filament), and wherein the control system is configured to: dispense bare wire from the wire dispensing tool head at a desired position (Fig. 10, Col.5, ll. 63-65 wire feed device – 208 feeds electrically conductive wire – 102), and subsequently dispense dielectric material from the fused filament fabrication tool head over the bare wire (Fig. 10 Col. 6 ll. 1-3 wire – 102 may already be surrounded by an insulative jacket prior to passing through the orifice – 206).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bilas (US 11,302,460 B2), of record, and Tran (US 6,945,447 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lang (KR 10-1346050 B1) with machine translation, of record.
Regarding Claims 10 -11, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 8 but do not disclose that the length of wire is dispensed in a shape of a coil or that the length of wire is dispensed in a shape of an antenna pattern having at least one curve.
Lang discloses in a method and apparatus for manufacturing a radio frequency circuit board (paragraph [1]) by means of an array of wires (paragraph [16]). Additionally, these wires can be formed in a shape of a coil of wire (Fig. 22 p. 35 ll. 1-7, 10 coil wires – 104) which form a coil – 50) and that this can also be in the form of an antenna (Fig. 2 paragraph [26]) where the combination of a coil of wire and a chip or chip module that forms an antenna is called a transponder where the wires forming the antenna may be completely or partially installed within the substrate (paragraph [5]).This is known as an antenna coil, which is inherently curved (Figs.2, 4 paragraph [24] antenna coil
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Bilas with the teachings of Lang whereby the method of Bilas where a length of wire is dispensed is done so in the shape of a coil and in the shape of an antenna pattern with at least one curve, as taught by Lang.
One with ordinary skill would use this technique because it provides because the antenna coil that forms the transponder is formed of very small, fine wires which allow for complete or partial installation on a substrate that can then be used in a card for use in access passes, vending machine payment devices, debit and/or credits cards or “smart cards” (paragraph [4]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bilas (US 11,302,460 B2), of record, and Tran (US 6,945,447 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Farmer (WO 2019/086854 A2), of record.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Bilas and Tran disclose all the limitations of claim 8 and but do not disclose that the cutting is performed by using a blade or a laser.
Farmer discloses a wiring method and apparatus for continuous wiring of shape memory alloy actuators including shape memory alloy (SMA) sub-assemblies having static wire attach structures (abs, p. 1 ll. 7-10). During the method of manufacturing there is at least one embodiment where the actuator wires are to be cut between adjacent SMA structures or sub-assemblies in order to detach them (p. 2 ll. 4-15). This process step of cutting at least one SMA actuator wire between adjacent SMA sub-assemblies may be performed by using a laser or a mechanical cutting process, where the latter can inherently use a blade (p. 17 ll. 22-25).
This would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art because, as this evidence indicates, this would be an example of applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results – MPEP § 2143 I (C)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748