Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1,9,17 cite “…wherein the API module generates a session identifier in response to the request, and wherein the response payload includes the session identifier to uniquely identify the QoD session for subsequent QoD operations” Applicant cited paragraph 0012 as the support for the newly amended limitations. However paragraph 0012 of the specification simply states “…QoD session maybe based on a session identifier…” this cited portion does not specifically discloses “…wherein the API module generates a session identifier in response to the request, and wherein the response payload includes the session identifier to uniquely identify the QoD session for subsequent QoD operations”. To overcome this rejection, Applicant should point out to specific portions of the specification that provide the written description for the feature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7,9-15,17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzawa et al (us 2023/0027788) (hereinafter Anzawa) in view of Erman et al (us 2023/0396516) (hereinafter Erman), further in view of Beisiegel (us 2004/0243693) and Sen et al (us 2020/0218684) (hereinafter Sen).
As regarding claim 1, Anzawa discloses receiving, on the network, a request from a user device, a QoD metric to be used in the NaaS operations (see Anzawa 0038,0062 terminal transmits request to network for network quality requirement, also see 0092,0104-0105 QoS is for requesting NaaS services); wherein processing determines if the network supports the QoD metric (see Anzawa 0071, determine if quality requirement requested is satisfy, in the NaaS operations (see Anzawa 0092, quality requirement request is for Naas); wherein the response comprises a response the QoD metric in the response (see Anzawa 0041, transmitting response with result to the user).
Anzawa is silent in regard to the concept of utilizing an API module.
Erman teaches the concept of utilizing an API module (see Erman 0005, 0064, NaaS APIs by service provider).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Erman to Anzawa because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Anzawa with Erman’s teaching for the purpose of providing automated request processing and enhanced agility.
The combination of Anzawa-Erman is silent in regard to the concept of the request comprises a request payload that comprises a QoD metric, processing the request payload and the response comprises a response payload responsive to the QoD metric in the request payload.
Beisiegel teaches the concept of the request comprises a request payload that comprises a QoD metric (see Beisiegel 0050,0052, receiving a request with payload, where payload with QoS, processing the request payload (see Beisiegel 0050,0052,0065, processing the request payload) and the response comprises a response payload responsive to the QoD metric in the request payload (see Beisiegel 0050,0052, response payload with QoS).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Beisiegel to Anzawa-Erman because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Anzawa-Erman with Beisiegel’s teaching for the purpose of simplifying the interactions between clients and servers.
The combination of Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel is silent in regard to the concept of generates a session identifier in response to the request, and wherein the response payload includes the session identifier to uniquely identify the QoD session for subsequent QoD operations.
Sen teaches the concept of generates a session identifier in response to the request, and wherein the response payload includes the session identifier to uniquely identify the QoD session for subsequent QoD operations (see Sen 0089, the response message includes session ID in the payload which generated by target accelerator resource…the initiator store the session ID for later use).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sen to Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel with Sen’ teaching for the purpose of differentiate sessions in the multisession connections and maintain states across independent requests.
As regarding claim 2, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the QoD metric is a latency metric (see Anzawa 0060, 0113, latency).
As regarding claim 3, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the QoD metric is a bandwidth metric (see Anzawa, 0060, 0113, data rate (i.e. bandwidth)).
As regarding claim 4, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the request payload comprises at least one network service for which the QoD metric is requested (see Beisiegel 0049-0050, QoS elements). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 4.
As regarding claim 5, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the at least one network service comprises video services (see Erman 0068, video). For the purpose of providing various different type of services to the users.
As regarding claim 6, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the at least one network service comprises video services supporting a third-party gaming application (see Erman 0219, xr gaming). For the purpose of providing various different type of services to the users.
As regarding claim 7, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the at least one network service comprises video services supporting a third-party augmented reality (AR) application (see Erman 0068, AR). The same motivation was utilized in claim 6 applied equally to claim 7.
As regarding claims 9-15, 17-20 the limitations of claims 9-15,17-20 are similar to limitations of rejected claims 1-7 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale. Claim 9 is similar to 1, in but in the aspect of the client transmitting the request instead of the aspect of the server which is also discloses by the combination of Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel.
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen as applied to claims 1, 9 above, and further in view of Tran et al (us 10,8129920) (hereinafter Tran).
As regarding claim 8, Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen discloses the invention as claims in claim 1 above, however Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen is silent in regard to the concept of real-time data services supporting third-party autonomous device operations.
Tran teaches the concept of real-time data services supporting third-party autonomous device operations (see Tran col.58, lines 18-30, autonomous driving as NaaS service).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tran to Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Anzawa-Erman-Beisiegel-Sen with Tran’s teaching for the purpose of providing various different type of services to the users.
As regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 are similar to limitations of rejected claim 8, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUYEN MY DOAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4226. The examiner can normally be reached (571)272-4226. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459