DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Six (6) sheets of drawings were filed on January 03, 2024.
The drawings are objected to because the term "optical elements" is used to refer to various distinct features shown in Figures 2A, 2B, and 2C. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 17 the claims recite “a plurality of optically bonded optical elements that form a single monolithic optical component.” By definition, “monolithic” refers to an object composed of a single, continuous material or a single block without seams. Conversely, a “plurality of elements” that are “bonded” implies the existence of discrete bodies joined by an interface, adhesive or a thermal fusion process. While multiple elements can be integrally joined or coupled to function as a unit, they do not form a monolithic structure because the bonded interfaces represent a physical departure from a single, seamless body. It is unclear whether the claim requires a component carved from a single starting block (which would contradict the “plurality of bonded elements” limitation) or whether it refers to a composite structure. If the latter, the term “monolithic” is used improperly.
This rejection may be overcome by amending the claim to accurately describe multiple elements that have been joined into a single functional piece. Alternatively, if the component is truly monolithic, the requirement for a “plurality of bonded elements” should be removed.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claims as directed toward a plurality of optically bonded components and will disregard the term “monolithic”.
Regarding claims 2-8 and 18-20; dependent claims inherently contain the deficiencies of any base or intervening claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US11159239B2), thereafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1; Wang discloses an optical device (Optical splitting and filtering unit), comprising: a plurality of optically bonded optical elements(Figure 5: Column 5 lines 19-55) that form a single monolithic optical component, wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements comprises: a set of optical splitter surfaces(301e in Figures 3 and 4) configured to optically split a first input beam into a plurality of first output beams(Column 5 lines 61-66); and a set of optical combiner surfaces(301e in Figures 3 and 4. Column 5 lines 61-66) configured to optically combine a plurality of second input beams into one or more second output beams(Column 5 lines 61-66), wherein a set of optical paths coupling a set of inputs, to receive the first input beam and the plurality of second input beams, and the set of outputs, to output the plurality of first output beams and the one or more second output beams, are formed by the single monolithic optical component without an intermediate air interface( Figures 3 and 4. Column 4 lines 49-55).
Regarding Claim 2; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses, wherein the set of optical paths includes two or more optical paths, wherein each optical path, of the set of optical paths, includes an input of the set of inputs and an output of the set of outputs. (Figures 3 and 4. Input port a, output port d and bidirectional output port c).
Regarding Claim 5; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses, wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements includes at least one thin film (Dielectric film: Column 5 lines 61-66).
Regarding Claim 6; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses, wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements includes at least one interface to divide a beam into a plurality of component beams (Figures 3 and 4: 301e coated with a dielectric film. Column 5 lines 63-66).
Regarding Claim 7; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses, wherein the at least one interface is a surface that passes through a first portion of the beam and reflects a second portion of the beam (Figure 3 and 4: 301e in the first and second prism 3012 and 301e in the third and fourth prism 3013 and 3014).
Regarding Claim 9; Wang discloses an optical system(Optical splitting and filtering unit), comprising: an optical device including a plurality of optically bonded optical elements(Figure 5: Column 5 lines 19-55), the plurality of optically bonded optical elements comprising: a first set of optical elements (Figure 3: First Prism 3011 and Second Prism 3012) to optically split a first one or more beams(Column 5 lines 56-66), wherein the first set of optical elements includes at least one splitting surface and at least one reflecting surface(Figure 3: splitting surface 301e and reflective surface 301a in the first prism); and a second set of optical elements to optically combine a second one or more beams( Column 5 lines 63-66. Figure 3: 301e in the third prism 3013 and fourth prism 3014.), a set of inputs (Figure 3: Input port a and bidirectional port c); and a set of outputs (Figure 3; Output port d and bidirectional port c), wherein the set of inputs is coupled to the set of outputs via the first set of optical elements and the second set of optical elements (Figures 3 and 4: input port a, output port d and bidirectional output port c).
. Regarding Claim 10; Wang discloses the optical system of claim 9. Wang further discloses, wherein the second set of optical elements includes at least one polarization dependent reflecting surface (Figure 3 and 4. Column 6 lines 6-7) and another at least one reflecting surface (Figure 3 and 4: 3014 and 301e serves as a reflective surface. Column 3 lines 23-26).
Regarding Claim 15; Wang discloses the optical system of claim 9. Wang further discloses, wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements includes an optical element with a surface treatment (Column 5 lines 33-37. Dielectric film is considered to be a surface treatment).
Regarding Claim 16; Wang discloses the optical system of claim 9. Wang further discloses, wherein the surface treatment includes at least one of: a thin film, a surface coating, a patterning, or an etching (Column 5 lines 33-37. Dielectric film is considered to be a surface treatment).
Regarding Claim 17; Wang discloses An optical device (Optical splitting and filtering unit), comprising: a plurality of optically bonded optical elements (Figure 5: Column 5 lines 19-55)that form a single monolithic optical component, wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements comprises: a set of optical splitter surfaces (301e in Figures 3 and 4) configured to optically split a first input beam into a plurality of first output beams(Column 5 lines 61-66), wherein the set of optical splitter surfaces(Figure 3: splitting surface 301e) are formed on a first subset of optically bonded optical elements(Figure 3: First Prism 3011 and Second Prism 3012) of the plurality of optically bonded optical elements, wherein the set of optical splitter surfaces includes at least one splitting surface and at least one first reflecting surface(Figure 3: splitting surface 301e and reflective surface 301a in the first prism); and a set of optical combiner surfaces (301e in Figures 3 and 4. Column 5 lines 61-66) configured to optically combine a second input beam and a third input beam into a single second output beam ( 301e in the second prism 3012 in Figures 3 and 4), wherein the set of optical combiner surfaces are formed on a second subset (Figure 3: 301e on the third prism 3012 and fourth prism 3014) of optically bonded optical elements of the plurality of optically bonded optical elements, wherein the set of optical combiner surfaces includes at least one polarization multiplexing surface ((Figure 3 and 4. Column 6 lines 6-7) and at least one second reflecting surface((Figure 3 and 4: 3014 and 301e serves as a reflective surface. Column 3 lines 23-26), wherein the plurality of optically bonded optical elements includes a set of inputs (Figure 3: Input port a and bidirectional port c) and a set of outputs (Figure 3; Output port d and bidirectional port c), and wherein a set of optical paths coupling the set of inputs and the set of outputs are formed by the single monolithic optical component without an intermediate air interface (Figures 3 and 4. Column 4 lines 49-55).
Regarding Claim 18; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 17. Wang further discloses wherein the set of optical splitter surfaces (301e in Figures 3 and 4) includes an optical element surface with a functional patterning (Dielectric film: Column 5 lines 61-66). The dielectric film of Wang is interpreted as the claimed functional patterning as the film serves as the specific structural feature that enable the “splitting” functions of the surface. Additionally, the film is applied to specific portion of the prism (301e), further reinforcing the “patterning” definition.
Regarding Claim 19; Wang discloses the optical devices of claim 17. Wang further discloses wherein the set of optical combiner surfaces (301e in Figures 3 and 4. Column 5 lines 61-66) includes an optical element surface with a functional patterning (Dielectric film: Column 5 lines 61-66). The dielectric film of Want is interpreted as the claimed functional patterning as the film serves as the specific structural feature that enable the “splitting” functions of the surface. Additionally, the film is applied to specific portion of the prism (301e), further reinforcing the “patterning” definition.
Regarding Claim 20; Wang discloses the optical devices of claim 17. Wang further discloses wherein at least one optical element, of the plurality of optically bonded optical elements, includes both an optical splitter surface, of the set of optical splitter surfaces, and an optical combiner surface, of the set of optical combiner surfaces (301e in Figures 3 and 4. Column 5 lines 61-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US11159239B2), thereafter Wang, in view of Belt et al. (US9939651B1), thereafter Belt.
Regarding Claim 3; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses a set of optical paths (Figures 3 and 4. Column 4 lines 49-55), but fails to disclose that each optical path traverses two anti-reflectance coatings.
Belt teaches each optical path, of the set of optical paths, traverses two anti-reflectance coatings (Figure 5. Column 16 lines 60-67).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical system of Wang by incorporating the dual anti-reflectance coatings taught by Belt to prevent any internal reflections back into the optical device.
Regarding Claim 4; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses a set of optical paths (Figures 3 and 4. Column 4 lines 49-55), but fails to disclose each optical path, of the set of optical paths, is associated with an incidence angle of that is offset from normal.
Belt teaches each optical path, of the set of optical paths, is associated with an incidence angle of that is offset from normal (Column 2. lines 47-53).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to configure the optical paths of Wang with the incidence angle offset from normal as taught by Belt to optimize the spatial routing of light and prevent any internal reflections back into the optical device.
Regrading Claim 8; Wang discloses the optical device of claim 1. Wang further discloses a plurality of optically bonded elements (Figure 5: Column 5 lines 19-55), but configured to split a single input beam (301e in Figures 3 and 4) but fails to disclose splitting the input beam into three output beams associated with three outputs.
Belt teaches, the splitting of a single input beams into three output beams associated with three outputs (Figures 3B, 4 and 5).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical device described by Wang by incorporating the three-beam splitting configuration taught by Belt to achieve the desired result of producing three distinct output beams.
Regrading Claims 11, 12 and 13; Wang discloses the optical system of claim 9. Wang further discloses a plurality of optically bonded elements (Figure 5: Column 5 lines 19-55), comprises a first (First prism and second prism 3011 and 3012) and second optical element (third and fourth prism 3013 and 3014) but fails to disclose a first optical element with a first refractive index, and a second optical element, with a second refractive index, bonded to the first optical element, wherein the first refractive index is within a threshold percentage of the second refractive index. Wherein the threshold percentage is less 5% and 1%
Belt teaches, a first optical element with a first refractive index, and a second optical element, with a second refractive index, bonded to the first optical element, wherein the first refractive index is within a threshold percentage of the second refractive index (Column 13 lines 11-13). Wherein the threshold percentage is less than 5% and 1%. The overall description of the assembly acting as a single solid medium implies that the refractive indices of all four prisms must be nearly identical, less than 1%, to maintain optical uniformity across the entire system.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the optical system of Wang by incorporating the homogeneous solid medium of. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these elements to achieve the predictable result of a creating a bonded optical system that functions as a single, uniform solid medium.
Regarding claims 14; Wang discloses the optical system of claim 9. Wang further discloses a first and second optical element but fails to disclose they are glass optical components.
Belt teaches, the optical components are glass (Column 13 lines 11-13).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical system of Wang by incorporating the glass optical components, taught by Belt. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize glass because it is a standard material in optical engineering knowns for its durability, high transparency and stable refractive index.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874