DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “predetermined rigidity” in claims 2 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “predetermined rigidity”, specifically the metes and bounds of the term “predetermined”, is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "an open slot". It is not clear if “an open slot”, as recited in claim 15, refers to the “open slot” of claim 8, or an additional and/or distinct open slot. For the purposes of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “an open slot” in claim 15 as referring to “the open slot of claim 8”.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a first ventilation passage". It is not clear if “a first ventilation passage” of claim 17 refers to the “first ventilation passage” of claim 15, or an additional and/or distinct first ventilation passage. For the purposes of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “a first ventilation passage” in claim 17 as referring to “the first ventilation passage of claim 15”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by H.J. US-12418061-B2.
Regarding claim 1, H.J. teaches a battery cell assembly comprising:
an assembly housing (31+32) including
an accommodation space (the Examiner notes the interior of the assembly housing 31+32, as illustrated in FIG. 1, is considered the accommodation space) and
an open slot (the Examiner notes that the assembly housing is open on the bottom, before it is placed on 40, as illustrated in FIG. 4.);
a battery cell (located inside 11a) accommodated in the accommodation space of the assembly housing and including
a first electrode lead and a second electrode lead (the Examiner notes that the first electrode lead is considered 11c on one end of the assembly housing 31+32, as illustrated in FIG. 1, and the second electrode lead is considered 11c on the other end of the assembly housing, as illustrated in FIG. 1);
a first busbar member (the Examiner notes that the first busbar member is considered 21 on one end of the assembly, as illustrated in FIG. 3) and
a second busbar member (the Examiner notes that the second busbar member is considered 21 on the other end, relative to the aforenoted first busbar member, of the assembly, as illustrated in FIG. 3)
accommodated in the assembly housing,
the first busbar member connected to the first electrode lead and the second busbar member connected to the second electrode lead (see FIG. 6 of H.J.); and
FIG. 6 of H.J.
a first terminal unit (34) connected to the first busbar member (the Examiner notes that FIG. 3 of H.J shows the first busbar member on its respective end of the battery. Moreover, FIG. 1 of H.J. shows the first terminal unit covering the exposed portion of the first busbar member as previously illustrated in FIG. 1. Therefore, the Examiner notes FIG. 3 of H.J., further in view of FIG. 1 of H.J., shows the first terminal unit connected to the first busbar member) and
a second terminal unit (35) connected to the second busbar member (the Examiner notes that FIG. 3 of H.J shows the second busbar member on its end of the battery. Moreover, FIG. 1 of H.J. shows the second terminal unit covering the exposed portion of the second busbar member as previously illustrated in FIG. 1. Therefore, the Examiner notes FIG. 3 of H.J., further in view of FIG. 1 of H.J., shows the second terminal unit connected to the second busbar member),
FIG. 3 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
wherein a portion of the first terminal unit and a portion of the second terminal unit extend toward a first surface (31) of the assembly housing such that
the portions of the first terminal unit and the second terminal unit are disposed outside of the assembly housing (see FIG. 1), wherein
the open slot is formed by opening a second surface (surface opposite 31) of the assembly housing to connect the accommodation space to the outside of the accommodation space, and wherein
the open slot is formed in the assembly housing to be oriented in an opposite direction of the first surface of the assembly housing (the Examiner notes that the assembly housing is open on the bottom, before the open slot is placed on 40, as illustrated in FIG. 4, opposite to the first surface, highest point in the z-direction, of the assembly housing);.
FIG. 4 of H.J.
Regarding claim 2, H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the assembly housing includes a material having predetermined rigidity (Column 6, Lines 27-28), and
the battery cell includes:
a pouch-type outer casing (Column 3, Lines 11-13); and
at least one electrode assembly (11) accommodated in the outer casing (11a+11b; see further Column 5, Lines 6-8),
the at least one electrode connected to the electrode lead (Column 5, Lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 3, H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first busbar member includes:
a first connection region (20a; The Examiner notes 20a is a component of 21) connected to the first electrode lead; and
a first bent region bent (22a; The Examiner notes 22a is a component of 21) and extending from the first connection region (Column 6, Lines 4-9),
the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit (the Examiner notes that FIG. 5 of H.J. shows the first bent region on an end. The Examiner further notes FIG. 1 of H.J. illustrates the end from FIG. 5 covered by the first terminal unit. Therefore, the Examiner considers FIG. 5, further in view of FIG. 1, illustrates the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit ), and
FIG. 5 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
the second busbar member includes:
a second connection region (20b; the Examiner notes that 20b is a component of 21) connected to the second electrode lead; and
a second bent region bent (22b; the Examiner notes that 22b is a component of 21) and extending from the second connection region (Column 6, Lines 4-9),
the second bent region connected to the second terminal unit (the Examiner notes that FIG. 5 of H.J. shows the first bent region on an end. The Examiner further notes FIG. 1 of H.J. illustrates the end from FIG. 5 covered by the first terminal unit. Therefore, the Examiner considers FIG. 5, further in view of FIG. 1, illustrates the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit ), and
FIG. 5 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
Regarding claim 4, H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 3, wherein
the first bent region and the second bent region are disposed to be parallel with the open slot formed in the assembly housing (Column 6, Lines 5-9).
by opening the second surface of the assembly housing to connect the accommodation space in which the battery cell is accommodated to the outside of the accommodation space (Column 6, Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 7, H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 1, wherein:
wherein the battery cell is fixed to the assembly housing (Column 6, Lines 18-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over H.J. US-1241806, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of K.K. US-20200067040.
Regarding claim 5, H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 4, but is silent on wherein:
the first terminal unit includes:
a first terminal disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a first insulating member, and
the second terminal unit includes:
a second terminal disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a second insulating member
K.K. teaches wherein:
the first terminal unit includes:
a first terminal (111a) disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a first insulating member ((0089)), and
the second terminal unit includes:
a second terminal (111a) disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a second insulating member ((0089)).
Modification of the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of insulated terminals, as suggested by K.K., would benefit the disclosure of H.J. by allowing for electrical connection of the battery cells while preventing a short circuit (H.J., (0089)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of insulated terminals, as suggested by K.K..
Regarding claim 6, modified H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 5, wherein:
the first terminal and the first busbar member are integrally formed, and
the second terminal and the second busbar member are integrally formed ( see H.J., FIG. 2).
FIG. 2 of H.J.
Claims 8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over H.J. US-1241806-B2, and further in view of N.C. US-20200235370-A1.
Regarding claim 8, H.J. teaches a battery pack comprising:
an assembly housing (31+32) including
an accommodation space (the Examiner notes the interior of the assembly housing 31+32, as illustrated in FIG. 1, is considered the accommodation space) and
an open slot (the Examiner notes that the assembly housing is open on the bottom, before it is placed on 40, as illustrated in FIG. 4.);
a battery cell (located in 11a) accommodated in the accommodation space of the assembly housing and including
a first electrode lead and a second electrode lead (the Examiner notes that the first electrode lead is considered 11c on one end of the assembly housing 31+32, as illustrated in FIG. 1, and the second electrode lead is considered 11c on the other end of the assembly housing, as illustrated in FIG. 1);
a first busbar member (the Examiner notes that the first busbar member is considered 21 on one end of the assembly, as illustrated in FIG. 3) and
a second busbar member (the Examiner notes that the second busbar member is considered 21 on the other end, relative to the aforenoted first busbar member, of the assembly, as illustrated in FIG. 3)
accommodated in the assembly housing,
the first busbar member connected to the first electrode lead and the second busbar member connected to the second electrode lead (see FIG. 6 of H.J.); and
FIG. 6 of H.J.
a first terminal unit (34) connected to the first busbar member (the Examiner notes that FIG. 3 of H.J shows the first busbar member on its respective end of the battery. Moreover, FIG. 1 of H.J. shows the first terminal unit covering the exposed portion of the first busbar member as previously illustrated in FIG. 1. Therefore, the Examiner notes FIG. 3 of H.J., further in view of FIG. 1 of H.J., shows the first terminal unit connected to the first busbar member) and
a second terminal unit (35) connected to the second busbar member (the Examiner notes that FIG. 3 of H.J shows the second busbar member on its end of the battery. Moreover, FIG. 1 of H.J. shows the second terminal unit covering the exposed portion of the second busbar member as previously illustrated in FIG. 1. Therefore, the Examiner notes FIG. 3 of H.J., further in view of FIG. 1 of H.J., shows the second terminal unit connected to the second busbar member),
FIG. 3 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
wherein a portion of the first terminal unit and a portion of the second terminal unit extend toward a first surface (31) of the assembly housing such that
the portions of the first terminal unit and the second terminal unit are disposed outside of the assembly housing (see FIG. 1), wherein
the open slot is formed by opening a second surface (surface opposite 31) of the assembly housing to connect the accommodation space to the outside of the accommodation space, and wherein
the open slot is formed in the assembly housing to be oriented in an opposite direction of the first surface of the assembly housing (the Examiner notes that the assembly housing is open on the bottom, before the open slot is placed on 40, as illustrated in FIG. 4, opposite to the first surface, highest point in the z-direction, of the assembly housing).
FIG. 4 of H.J.
H.J. is silent on the battery cell assembly further comprising a pack housing and a plurality of battery cell assemblies.
N.C. teaches:
a pack housing (10); and
a plurality of
battery cell assemblies (20).
Modification of the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of a pack housing and a plurality of battery cell assemblies, as suggested by N.C., would benefit the disclosure of H.J. by improving energy density and space utilization (N.C., (0058)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify at the effective time of filing of the present disclosure to modify the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of a pack housing and a plurality of battery cell assemblies, as suggested by N.C..
Regarding claim 9, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 8, wherein:
the assembly housing includes a material having predetermined rigidity (Column 6, Lines 27-28), and
the battery cell includes:
a pouch-type outer casing (Column 3, Lines 11-13); and
at least one electrode assembly (11) accommodated in the outer casing (11a+11b; see further Column 5, Lines 6-8),
the at least one electrode connected to the electrode lead (Column 5, Lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 10, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 8, wherein:
the first busbar member includes:
a first connection region (20a; the Examiner notes that 20a is a component of 21; see (Column 5, Line 59 – Column 6, Lines 16)) connected to the first electrode lead; and
a first bent region bent (22a; the Examiner notes that 22a is a component of 21; see (Column 5, Line 59 – Column 6, Lines 16))) and extending from the first connection region (Column 6, Lines 4-9),
the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit (the Examiner notes that FIG. 5 of H.J. shows the first bent region on an end. The Examiner further notes FIG. 1 of H.J. illustrates the end from FIG. 5 covered by the first terminal unit. Therefore, the Examiner considers FIG. 5, further in view of FIG. 1, illustrates the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit ), and
FIG. 5 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
the second busbar member includes:
a second connection region (20b; the Examiner notes that 20b is a component of 21; see (Column 5, Line 59 – Column 6, Lines 16))) connected to the second electrode lead; and
a second bent region bent (22b; the Examiner notes that 22b is a component of 21; see (Column 5, Line 59 – Column 6, Lines 16))) and extending from the second connection region (Column 6, Lines 4-9),
the second bent region connected to the second terminal unit (the Examiner notes that FIG. 5 of H.J. shows the first bent region on an end. The Examiner further notes FIG. 1 of H.J. illustrates the end from FIG. 5 covered by the first terminal unit. Therefore, the Examiner considers FIG. 5, further in view of FIG. 1, illustrates the first bent region connected to the first terminal unit ), and
FIG. 5 of H.J.
FIG. 1 of H.J.
Regarding claim 11, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 10, wherein
the first bent region and the second bent region are disposed to be parallel with the open slot formed in the assembly housing (Column 6, Lines 5-9).
by opening the second surface of the assembly housing to connect the accommodation space in which the battery cell is accommodated to the outside of the accommodation space (Column 6, Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 14, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 8, wherein:
the battery cell is fixed to the assembly housing (Column 6, Lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 15, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 8, wherein:
the pack housing includes a first ventilation passage (40; see FIG. 12)
disposed opposite an open slot formed in the assembly housing
by opening the second surface of the assembly housing to connect an accommodation space in which a battery cell is accommodated to the outside of the accommodation space,
the first ventilation passage is in communication with the open slot (Column 6, Lines 42-44).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over H.J. US-1241806, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of K.K. US-20200067040.
Regarding claim 12, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 11, but is silent on wherein:
the first terminal unit includes:
a first terminal disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a first insulating member, and
the second terminal unit includes:
a second terminal disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a second insulating member
K.K. teaches wherein:
the first terminal unit includes:
a first terminal (111a) disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a first insulating member ((0089)), and
the second terminal unit includes:
a second terminal (111a) disposed on the first surface of the assembly housing; and
a second insulating member ((0089)).
Modification of the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of insulated terminals, as suggested by K.K., would benefit the disclosure of H.J. by allowing for electrical connection of the battery cells while preventing a short circuit (H.J., (0089)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of H.J. by inclusion of insulated terminals, as suggested by K.K..
Regarding claim 13, modified H.J. teaches the battery cell assembly of claim 12, wherein:
the first terminal and the first busbar member are integrally formed, and
the second terminal and the second busbar member are integrally formed ( see H.J., FIG. 2).
FIG. 2 of H.J.
Claim 16 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified H.J. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of S.W. US-20230318066-A1.
Regarding claim 16, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 15, wherein:
the pack housing includes:
a base plate (H.J., 100) disposed opposite the open slot.
Modified H.J. is silent on a side plate, and associated components of such side plate.
S.W. teaches:
a side plate disposed opposite the first electrode lead or the second electrode lead (see (0100)),
the side plate includes:
a first hollow portion (430) formed therein;
a first ventilation hole (440) connected to the first hollow portion; and
an external ventilation hole (516) connecting the first hollow portion to the outside of the side plate, and
the assembly housing includes a second ventilation hole (522) disposed opposite the first ventilation hole.
Modification of the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a side plate, and associated components of such side plate, as shown by S.W., would benefit the disclosure of modified H.J.. by allowing for a battery rack structure than enables increased capacity and shape of the battery system, while also ensuring easy maintenance (S.W., (0048)) along with safely preventing and controlling thermal runaway ((0007) and (0100)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the present disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a side plate, associated components of such side plate, and associated placement of such side plate, as shown by S.W..
Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified H.J. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of S.F. US-6586132-B1.
Regarding claim 17, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 16, wherein:
a first ventilation passage (H.J., 40)
the assembly housing is mounted on the base plate (see FIG. 2 of H.J which shows the assembly housing (31, see further in view of FIG. 1 for location of 32, disposed and mounted on the base plate) such that
Modified H.J. is silent on the inclusion on a third ventilation hole and associated placement of a third ventilation hole.
S.F. teaches:
a third ventilation hole (35) connected to the first ventilation passage,
the third ventilation hole in communication with the outside of the base plate (S.F., Column 5, Lines 22-32), and
the open slot (26 of S.F.) is connected to the third ventilation hole (see FIG. 5).
Modification of the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a third ventilation hole, as suggested by S.F., would benefit the disclosure of modified H.J. by allowing for enhanced cooling of the entire cell with a simple coolant path (S.F., Column 6, Lines 26-30)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify at the effective time of filing of the present disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a third ventilation hole, as suggested by S.F.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified H.J., as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of K.S. US-20110300428-A1.
Regarding claim 18, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 16, but is silent on the inclusion of cooling passages.
K.S. teaches:
wherein the base plate further includes a first cooling passage (342)
disposed opposite the battery cell accommodated in the assembly housing (see FIG. 2 and FIG. 3).
Modification of the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a first cooling passage, as suggested by K.S., would benefit the disclosure of modified H.J. by allowing for coolant to be spread throughout a portion of the base plate (K.S., (0049), “The first cooling water transfer hole 342 is formed to cause cooling water to be spread in the first layer 340”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a first cooling passage, as suggested by K.S..
Regarding claim 19, modified H.J. teaches the battery pack of claim 16, but is silent on the battery pack further comprising a cooling plate.
K.S. teaches wherein:
a cooling plate (360) is in contact with the base plate (340 of K.S.),
the cooling plate including a second cooling passage (361a/361b/361c).
Modification of the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a cooling plate, as suggested by K.S., would benefit the disclosure of modified H.J. by enhancing cooling capabilities (K.S., see (0055), “After having undergone heat exchange through the second plate 320, the third plate 330 dissipates heat of the cooling water to the outside. Accordingly, the cooling water performs heat exchange with the outside in the third plate 330”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified H.J. by inclusion of a cooling plate, as suggested by K.S..
Conclusion
/EVAN M ABELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721