2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim rejections under 35 USC 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng CN 113839688A (see google translation CN113839688A - RF PA Mid devices, RF systems and communication equipment - Google Patents ) in view of Liu US2022/0311408 A1(cited by applicant).
5. Consider claim 1. Feng teaches an electronic device (fig 15) comprising: a transceiver (20 in Fig 15) configured to output a first transmission signal (ANT); a first radio frequency (RF) module (11) configured to amplify (112) the first transmission signal obtained from the transceiver to generate an amplified first transmission signal; a first antenna (Ant0) configured to transmit the amplified first transmission signal; and a main coupler (120), along a transmission path between the first RF module (11) and the first antenna (Ant0), and configured to output a first coupling signal (1) corresponding to the first transmission signal, wherein the first RF module (11) comprises at least one power amplifier (112) configured to amplify the first transmission signal and a switch (130) configured to connect one of a plurality of input ports (1, 2, CPLIN) with an output port (CPLOut) connected to the transceiver (60), and wherein the plurality of input ports of the switch comprise at least one input port (1) connected to the main coupler and configured to receive the first coupling signal output by the main coupler. Feng fails to teach that the coupler (120) is outside of the RF module. However, Liu teaches such (see fig 1 where the directional coupler (102) is outside the RF module 115. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to house the coupler of a different part of the circuit (outside the RF module) in order to make it easily replaceable if it fails.
6. Consider claim 2. Feng (fig 15) teaches wherein the plurality of input ports of the switch comprise: a first input port (1) configured to receive a forward coupling signal coupled from the first transmission signal; and a second input port (2) configured to receive a reverse coupling signal coupled from a reflected signal corresponding to the first transmission signal (see abstract and also discussion of directional coupler in fig 3).
7. Consider claim 4. Feng (fig 3) teaches wherein his coupler is a bidirectional coupler (from Feng…..It should be noted that, in the embodiment of the invention, the specific form of the coupling unit 120 is not further defined, the coupling unit 120 can also be composed of bidirectional coupler, directional coupler, the specific form is not further defined in the present application example….)
8. Consider claim 5. Feng (fig 15), teaches a second RF module (12) provided outside the first RF module, and configured to amplify (112) a second transmission signal to generate an amplified second transmission signal; and a second antenna (Ant1) configured to transmit the amplified second transmission signal, wherein the second RF module (110 inside 12) comprises an internal coupler (120 inside 12) provided inside the second RF module (12), and configured to generate a second coupling signal (2) corresponding to the second transmission signal.
9. Consider claim 6. Feng (fig 15) teaches wherein the switch (130) further comprises a third input port (3) configured to receive the second coupling signal generated by the internal coupler of the second RF module (see CPLOUT at 12).
10. Consider claim 9. Feng (fig 15) teaches wherein the first RF module (11) is configured to transmit the amplified (112) first transmission signal through the first antenna (Ant0) in a first frequency band, and the second RF module (12) is configured to transmit the amplified (112) second transmission signal through the second antenna (Ant1) in a second frequency band that is different (see discussion of fig 15 where it discusses RF modules 11 and 12 operate in different frequency bands).
11. Consider claim 14. Feng teaches (from Feng…. and the received external coupling signal is selectively output through the coupling output port CPLOUT to detect the power information of the external radio frequency signal and define the detection mode as the external power detection mode…..) wherein the transceiver is configured to monitor (through CPLOUT) at least the power of the first transmission signal, based on the first coupling signal.
12. Consider claim 15. Feng (fig 15) teaches wherein the transceiver (20) comprises an output port (at FBRX) that is connectable (through switch 130) to the main coupler (120).
13. Claims 12, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng CN 113839688A in view of Liu US2022/0311408 A1 further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice.
14. Consider claim 12. Feng teaches wherein the first RF module (11) further comprises: an antenna switch (116) configured to select between a transmission path (RXIN) of the first transmission signal, from the transceiver to the first antenna, and a reception path (RXOUT)of a first reception signal received through the first antenna and provided to the transceiver. Feng fails to explicitly state wherein the antenna switch and the switch are configured by one die. However, it is notoriously well known, and the examiner takes Official Notice of such, that during manufacturing of semiconductor circuits (such as those used in cell phones) to use a single wafer cut into pieces (or die) and to use like pieces to manufacture printed circuits (such as switches). It therefore would have been obvious, before the effective date, to use a single die for both switches to reduce the cost of manufacturing the overall device.
15. Consider claim 13. Feng fails to teach wherein the first RF module (11) further comprises at least one low-noise amplifier configured to low-noise amplify the first reception signal. However in Feng, both the second RF module (12) and third RF module (13) both have LNA’s (118) in the reception path and this is evidence that it is notoriously well known in the art to include LNA’s in any path and the examiner takes Official Notice of such. Therefore, it would have been obvious to include a LNA in the first RF module (11) of Feng in order to have a cleaner reception signal in all three reception paths.
16 Consider claim 16. Feng shows in fig 15 that the first RF module(11) and the main coupler(130) are arranged on different areas, but fails to explicitly state that they are on one printed circuit board. However, given that the electronic device is a cellphone, and that it is well known when manufacturing cell phones to use one circuit board, and the examiner takes official notice of such. It therefore would have been obvious, before the effective date that the Feng’s RF module (11) and main coupler (120) would be on one circuit board for cost cutting purposes when manufacturing the electronic device.
17. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng CN 113839688A in view of Liu US2022/0311408 A1(cited by applicant) further in view of Arkiszewski et al US 2021/0408984 A1.
Consider claim 10. Feng teaches (fig 15) the first RF module(11) is configured to generate the first transmission signal (ANT) to be transmitted to a first cellular network, and the second RF module(12) is configured to generate the second transmission signal to be transmitted to a second cellular network (from Feng ….In the embodiment of the invention, the radio frequency system by setting two first radio frequency PAMid device 11 and two second radio frequency PA Mid device 12 can be used for supporting dual -band (N41 and N77)….). Note N41 is 4G and N77 is 5G. But Feng fails to explicitly state that it supports E-Utran dual connectivity. However, likely inherent in Feng, it is notoriously well known in the art as taught by Arkiszewski et al US 2021/0408984 A1 in his multi-RF module system (see fig 3 and 0066). It would have been obvious before the effective date to add this capability to the combination of Feng and Liu in order to expand the system to rural areas that don’t have full 5G capability making it more marketable.
18. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Feng CN 113839688A in view of Liu US2022/0311408 A1 further in view of Li US 10097171 B2
19. Consider claim 11. Feng fails to teach wherein the switch is a complementary metal- oxide-semiconductor switch. However, such RF switches are well known in the art as taught by Li (see col 2, lines 3-9). It would have been obvious, before the effective date to use a complementary metal oxide switch as taught by Li for the switch (130) taught by Feng for a longer lasting switching device which would save repair/replacement costs over time.
Claim objections
20. Claims 3, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious coupling the specific coupling signals to the specific ports during the first and second time periods as called for in dependent claims 3 and 7. Claim 8 is objected to since it depends on claim 7.
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee US 2018/0205405 A1 teaches (fig 4) An electronic device is provided that includes an antenna configured to receive a first signal and transmit a second signal. The electronic device also includes a transceiver configured to perform frequency conversion of the first signal and the second signal. The electronic device further includes a coupler path configured to transmit the second signal to the transceiver via a coupler, and a receive path configured to transmit the first signal, obtained from the antenna, to the transceiver. The electronic device also includes a switching unit configured to be connected with the transceiver and switch between the coupler path and the receive path. Lee also teaches (0066) that the location of the coupler may be modified in various manners.
Moon et al US 2021/0105027 A1 teaches an electronic device (fig 8) which includes plural couplers (425, 435) located separate from the RF modules wherein the transceiver 410 may transmit a signal through the second transmission path 363 and may obtain a transmission signal and a reflection signal through the second feedback path 373.
Chen US 2023/0093847 teaches in figure 5B that the first coupling terminal c is configured to couple the radio-frequency signal received at the input terminal a and output a forward coupling signal. The second coupling terminal d is configured to couple a reflected signal of the radio-frequency signal received at the output terminal b and output a reverse coupling signal. Forward power information of the radio-frequency signal can be detected based on the forward coupling signal outputted at the first coupling terminal c. Correspondingly, reverse power information of the radio-frequency signal can be detected based on the reverse coupling signal outputted at the second coupling terminal d. Such a detection mode is defined as a reverse power detection mode.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646