FINAL ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection, Applicant requests that the rejection be held in abeyance pending the disposition of allowable subject matter in the present and copending applications (page 7, Remarks). The provisional rejection is therefore maintained.
Regarding the claim interpretation under 35 USC §112(f) for claims 23 and 28, the applicant’s argument that “the word ‘means’ is recited along with sufficient associated structural features to obviate interpretation under 35 USC §112(f)” (page 8, Remarks) is not persuasive. The associated features surrounding the “drive means” in claims 23 and 28 are mostly functional and relational, not structural limitations relating to the drive means itself.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant argues that “Yamada’s magnetic elements control test tube holder orientation, unrelated to physical coupling” (page 12, Remarks), and that “[i]mplementing the claimed magnetic coupling would require a complete redesign of Takibana’s rotor and mounting system” (page 12, Remarks). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yamada teaches that magnets can be used on the rotor to releasably hold a vessel holder in place, and a structure that magnetically fixes a vessel holder in a desired position also physically couples and releasably secures that holder, which meets the claimed limitation of releasably securing the reaction vessel unit by coupling with a counter-coupling element of the reaction vessel unit. While Yamada’s test tube holder (corresponds to the reaction vessel unit/carrier) tilts into the magnetic coupling position and Takibana’s reaction vessel unit slides into the magnetic coupling position, one of ordinary skill in the art would still see the magnetic coupling concept as transferable without changing Takibana’s basic operation. Yamada does not need to disclose a horizontal axis microplate rotor identical to Takibana’s. Yamada is relied upon for the known use of rotor mounted magnetic coupling to releasably hold a vessel holder in a desired position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the same magnetic coupling configuration could be used in Takibana in place of its spring retention to achieve the predictable result of releasably securing the reaction vessel unit/carrier on the rotor, regardless of the shape of the holder or the rotational axis orientation. It has been held that “[t]he test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference…Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.").
Applicant further argues that Lattanzi does not cure the alleged deficiencies of Takibana and Yamada, because Lattanzi’s magnet is part of an external loading mechanism used before and after centrifugation rather than a magnet on the rotor during spinning (pages 12-13, Remarks). This argument is not persuasive because Lattanzi is not relied upon to teach the magnetic coupling on the rotor side in claim 19, but is relied upon to teach the specific loading/unloading beam and magnetic coupling features recited in claims 23-28, 37, 38, and 40-43.
The rejections over Takibana in view of Yamada and other cited references of record are therefore still deemed valid and are maintained.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/243644, filed on 9 January 2019.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-27, 29-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-24, 26-27, 36-39, 41-43, and 46-51 of copending Application No. 18/408845 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets claim the same structures for a centrifuge comprising a rotor, plate tray, loading beam, and magnetic couplings.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22 and 29, 30, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009264927 (Takibana et al., hereinafter Takibana) in view of Yamada (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2008/0318755).
Regarding claim 19, Takibana discloses a centrifuge comprising for cleaning a reaction vessel unit in which a plurality of reaction vessels are arranged in a two-dimensional array and the reaction vessels each have at least one opening (Fig. 1), wherein the centrifuge comprises: a housing (cover 102, Fig. 1); and a rotor (rotary drum 101; Fig. 1) arranged within the housing, wherein the rotor is configured to rotate about a horizontal rotation axis (rotation center axis 101a); and to hold the reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 1) such that the at least one opening of each reaction vessel is directed radially outwards with respect to the horizontal rotation axis of the rotor (as shown in Fig. 9); and wherein the rotor (rotary drum 101, Fig. 1) comprises a first coupling element (“leaf spring”, para. [0029] of English translation filed with IDS on 8 March 2024) for releasably securing the reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 1), but does not disclose the coupling element is magnetic and couples with a counter-coupling element of the reaction vessel unit or the reaction vessel unit carrier.
Yamada discloses analogous art related to a centrifuge, wherein the rotor (2, Fig. 1) comprises a first magnetic coupling element (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1) to releasably secure the reaction vessel unit (test tube holder 3, Fig. 1) or the reaction vessel unit carrier by coupling with a counter-coupling element of the reaction vessel unit or the reaction vessel unit carrier (the test tube holder 3, which corresponds to the reaction vessel unit, is formed of magnetic material and thus the entire holder acts as the counter coupling element, para. [0054]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of Takibana with the type of coupling element and counter-coupling element as taught by Yamada for the purpose of locking the holders in position on the rotor (Abstract). This modification constitutes a simple substitution of one known coupling mechanism (a spring) with another known mechanism (magnetic coupling) to achieve the predictable result of releasably securing the reaction vessel unit, consistent with KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), Rationale B.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the first magnetic coupling element (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1, Yamada) is provided at a rear side of the rotor (bottom side of the rotor of Yamada) opposite to a side of the rotor where the reaction vessel unit or the reaction vessel unit carrier can be inserted into the rotor (top side of the rotor of Yamada).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the rotor comprises a stopper provided at a rear side of the rotor opposite to a side of the rotor where the reaction vessel unit or the reaction vessel unit carrier can be inserted into the rotor (the rear wall of the holding part 104 acts as the stopper, see annotated Fig. 1 of Takibana below).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the stopper comprises the first magnetic coupling element (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1, Yamada).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the rotor comprises a first receiving area (holding part 104, Fig. 1) for receiving the reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the rotor further comprises a second receiving area (four holding parts 104 shown in Fig. 3, Takibana) for receiving one of the reaction vessel unit, wherein the first and second receiving areas are arranged diametrically opposite with respect to the horizontal rotation axis (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein respective plate trays (holding part 104, Takibana) are configured such that the reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Takibana) can slide into the respective plate tray or out of the respective plate tray (as shown in Fig. 8, Takibana).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses wherein the platform (stage 105, Fig. 1, Takibana) of the centrifuge includes a surface oriented parallel to the rotation axis of the rotor and arranged to support the reaction vessel unit during loading and unloading of the reaction vessel into and out of the rotor.
Claims 23-28, 37, 38, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takibana in view of Yamada, as applied to claim 19 and 22 above, and further in view of Lattanzi (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2004/0087426).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Takibana and Yamada discloses a loading mechanism for loading and unloading the centrifuge (stage 105, 105a guide member, transport part 105b, elevating mechanism 106, Fig. 1) with the reaction vessel unit; wherein the loading mechanism comprises a beam (transport part 105b) for extending and retracting the reaction vessel unit or the reaction vessel unit carrier and a drive means for extending and retracting the beam (“piston operated by hydraulic pressure or pneumatic pressure, a motor, a rack, a pinion provided on an arm for pushing out”, para. [0029] of English translation filed with IDS on 8 March 2024), but does not disclose wherein the bream in its extended state extends through a centrifuge section comprising the housing and the rotor arranged in the housing and is removed from the centrifuge section in its retracted state so that the rotor can rotate freely.
Lattanzi discloses an analogous art relating to a centrifuge wherein the loading mechanism (vertical actuator 15; Fig. 2) comprises a beam (actuator rod 15’; Fig. 2) configured to couple with the reaction vessel unit (bucket 30; Fig. 1) or the reaction vessel unit carrier, the beam being movable to extend and retract the reaction vessel unit (see Fig. 1 for retracted state and Fig. 2 for extended state), and a motor (electric motor; para. [0022]) coupled with the beam to extend and retract the beam, wherein the beam in its extended state extends through a centrifuge section comprising the rotor (rotating head 11; Fig. 1) and a rotor housing (centrifuging chamber 10; Fig. 1) arranged within the outer housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and is removed from the centrifuge section in its retracted state so that the rotor can rotate freely (see retracted state in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Takibana and Yamada with the loading mechanism of Lattanzi for the purpose of moving the bucket in and out of the centrifuge (para. [0026], Lattanzi).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein a second magnetic coupling element (permanent magnet 17, Lattanzi) is provided at a free end of the beam (actuator rod 15’, Fig. 2, Lattanzi) to couple with the reaction vessel unit (bucket 30, Fig. 1, Lattanzi); wherein the second magnetic coupling element is configured to be coupled with the counter-coupling element (magnet 34, Fig. 2A, Lattanzi) of the reaction vessel unit (bucket 30, Fig. 1, Lattanzi).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein the second magnetic coupling element (permanent magnet 17; Fig. 2a, Lattanzi) provided at the free end of the beam is configured to decouple from the reaction vessel unit when the reaction vessel unit abuts the stopper (in Lattanzi, the trunnions or pivots of the rotating head acts as the stopper, located at axis a in Fig. 2; when lugs 33 of the buckets 30 come in contact and rest upon the trunnions or pivots of the rotating head 11, the buckets will disengage with the actuator rod 15’; para. [0037] and [0033]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein the counter-coupling element (the test tube holder 3, which corresponds to the reaction vessel unit, is formed of magnetic material and thus the entire holder acts as the counter coupling element, para. [0054], Yamada) is configured to couple with the stopper (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1, Yamada) upon decoupling from the second magnetic coupling (permanent magnet 17; Fig. 2a, Lattanzi) element provided at the free end of the beam (actuator rod 15’, Fig. 2, Lattanzi).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening (see opening in housing cover 19 in Fig. 1, Lattanzi) for loading and unloading the centrifuge with the reaction vessel unit; and wherein a drive means (electric motor, para. [0022], Lattanzi) of the loading mechanism is arranged at a side of the rotor opposite the opening, wherein the beam (actuator rod 15’; Fig. 2, Lattanzi) in its extended state extends out of the rotor and the opening (see extended state in Fig. 2, Lattanzi).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses a reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 1, Takibana) for use with a centrifuge according to claim 24, the reaction vessel unit comprising a plurality of reaction vessels (wells 201b, Fig. 4, Takibana) arranged in a two-dimensional array, a counter-coupling element (magnet 34, Fig. 2A, Lattanzi) arranged to couple with at least one magnetic coupling element selected from the group consisting of the second magnetic coupling element (permanent magnet 17; Fig. 2a, Lattanzi) at the free end of the beam and the first magnetic coupling element comprised by the rotor.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses a reaction vessel unit carrier (see annotated Fig. 4 of Takibana below) for use with a centrifuge according to claim 24, the reaction vessel unit carrier being configured to releasably carry a reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 4, Takibana) comprising a plurality of reaction vessels (wells 201b, Fig. 4, Takibana) arranged in a two-dimensional array, wherein the reaction vessel unit carrier comprises a counter-coupling element (the test tube holder 3, which corresponds to the reaction vessel unit carrier, is formed of magnetic material and thus the entire holder acts as the counter coupling element; para. [0054], Yamada) arranged to couple with at least one magnetic coupling element selected from the group consisting of the second magnetic coupling element at the free end of the beam and the first magnetic coupling element comprised by the rotor (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1, Yamada).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses a system for cleaning a reaction vessel unit, comprising a centrifuge according to claim 24 as discussed above; and at least one reaction vessel unit (microplate 201, Fig. 4, Takibana) comprising a plurality of reaction vessels (wells 201b, Fig. 4, Takibana) arranged in a two-dimensional array, the reaction vessels each having at least one opening; wherein the rotor of the centrifuge is configured to hold the at least one reaction vessel unit with its at least one opening directed radially outwards with respect to the horizontal rotation axis of the rotor (as shown in Fig. 9, Takibana).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein the at least one reaction vessel unit (bucket 30, Fig. 1, Lattanzi) comprises a counter-coupling element (magnet 34, Fig. 2A, Lattanzi) arranged to couple with at least one magnetic coupling element selected from the group consisting of the second magnetic coupling element at the free end of the beam (permanent magnet 17; Fig. 2a, Lattanzi) and the first magnetic coupling element comprised by the rotor.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses one or more reaction vessel unit carriers (see annotated Fig. 4 of Takibana; also test tube holder 3, Yamada) configured to releasably carry the at least one reaction vessel unit and to be held by the rotor.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi discloses wherein at least one of the one or more reaction vessel unit carriers (test tube holder 3, Yamada) comprises a counter-coupling element (the test tube holder 3, which corresponds to the reaction vessel unit carrier, is formed of magnetic material and thus the entire holder acts as the counter coupling element; para. [0054], Yamada) arranged to couple with at least one magnetic coupling element selected from the group consisting of the second magnetic coupling element at the free end of the beam and the first magnetic coupling element comprised by the rotor (magnetic member 7a, 7b, Fig. 1, Yamada).
Claims 31, 32, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takibana in view of Yamada, as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of BlueCatBio Exhibit 1004 (Non-patent Literature Documents Cite No. 7 of IDS filed on 8 March 2024, hereinafter Exhibit 1004) as described in the Petition for Post Grant Review of U.S. Patent No. 10,338,063 (Non-patent Literature Documents Cite No. 33 of IDS on 8 March 2024, hereinafter the Petition).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, the combination of Takibana and Yamada does not explicitly disclose wherein the first receiving area is formed by a plate tray defined by a rectangular base wall and two U-shaped rails; wherein the first and second receiving areas are each formed by a plate tray defined by a rectangular base wall and two U-shaped rails.
Exhibit 1004 discloses the Gyro Washer (which according to the Petition, was in public use at trade shows in 2009 and 2010), an analogous art related to a centrifuge for cleaning microplates, wherein the first receiving area is formed by a plate tray defined by a rectangular base wall and two U-shaped rails (see annotated Fig. 4 below); wherein the first and second receiving areas are each formed by a plate tray defined by a rectangular base wall and two U-shaped rails (see annotated Fig. 4). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Takibana and Yamada with the plate tray configuration disclosed by Exhibit 1004 for the purpose of holding microplates for washing.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Exhibit 1004 discloses wherein respective base walls of the two plate trays are parallel to each other (see annotated Fig. 4, Exhibit 1004), and each respective U-shaped rail comprises a base shank (see annotated Fig. 4, Exhibit 1004) and an inner side shank (see annotated Fig. 4, Exhibit 1004) mounted on the base wall, and further an outer side shank (see annotated Fig. 4, Exhibit 1004) spaced apart from the base wall, wherein the respective base shanks are arranged perpendicular to the respective base wall and the respective side shanks extend from the respective base shank in a direction toward a center of the rotor, such that the respective U-shaped rails are arranged opposite with their open sides (see annotated Fig. 4, Exhibit 1004).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Exhibit 1004 discloses wherein the respective distance of the respective outer side shank to the respective inner side shank or the respective base wall is designed such that a reaction vessel unit or a reaction vessel unit carrier is held with play in the radial direction (since the microplate of Exhibit 1004 is designed to be placed into and removed from the plate trays, it is inherent and necessary that there is sufficient play or gap in the groove to allow for such movements).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takibana in view of Yamada, further in view of Lattanzi, as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Piramoon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2010/0184578, hereinafter Piramoon).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi does not disclose wherein the reaction vessel unit carrier comprises a rectangular frame having side edges and rims at the side edges, wherein the rims have at least one feature selected from the group consisting of respective upper surfaces of the rims being tilted inwards, and the rims being non-continuous along the side edges.
Piramoon discloses analogous art relating to a centrifuge, wherein the reaction vessel unit carrier (supporting carrier 14; Fig. 2E) comprises a rectangular frame having side edges and rims at the side edges (outer side walls 70a, 70b, 70c, 70d; Fig. 2E), wherein the rims have at least one feature selected from the group consisting of respective upper surfaces of the rims being tilted inwards, and the rims being non-continuous along the side edges (see annotated partial 2E below). It would have been further obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Takibana, Yamada, and Lattanzi with the reaction vessel unit carrier configuration taught by Piramoon for the purpose of receiving and supporting microplates in the carrier (para. [0025], Piramoon).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774