DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species IV in the reply filed on 6/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 4, and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilmartin et al US Patent 11,266,517B2.
Gilmartin et al discloses an endoprosthesis (see Fig. 8), comprising an elongated tubular member (250) comprising a filament forming circumferential rows (252, 254 and 256) disposed about a central longitudinal axis, the circumferential rows having a plurality of knitted loops (276) and intermediate rungs (see figure below) extending between adjacent knitted loops. Wherein the filament extends continuously from a first end of the elongated tubular member to a second end of the elongated tubular member. Wherein the elongated tubular member includes at least one window (see figure below) formed through a side wall of the elongated tubular member having a size equal to or greater than two knitted loops of the plurality of knitted loops (the window is about 3 times the size of two loops).
Regarding claim 3, see window above showing no intermediate rungs.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, col. 5, lines 66-67 and col. 6, lines 1-20 discloses a plurality of anti-migration loops adjacent to at least one window, the anti-migration loops are inherently parallel to the side wall of the tubular member, since, it is inherent to be parallel for the purpose of fitting inside a delivery catheter. Additionally, it is also inherent to be self-biased toward the expanded second position.
Regarding claim 11, see col. 5, lines 11-18 disclosing the polymeric layer.
Regarding claim 12, it is inherent to not having the polymeric covering, since those windows are used to allow blood flow to different parts of the human body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilmartin et al US Patent 11,266,517B2 in view of McNern et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0236259A1.
Gilmartin et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Gilmartin et al does not disclose the plurality of anti-migration loops extending across the at least one window, a polymeric covering the anti-migration loops and the anti-migration loops having an outer perimeter greater than the outer perimeter of the knitted loops.
McNern et al teaches an implant having knitted loops wherein the anti-migration loops (20) extends across at least one window (see Fig. 4), the anti-migration loops can include a polymeric covering (See paragraph 52) and see Fig. 4 showing the outer perimeter of element (20) are much larger that the knitted loops.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the Gilmartin et al reference by adding the anti-migration loops around the at least one window to anchor the implant within a human conduit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 7/22/26