DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (claims 1-14 and 20-26) in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden on the Examiner to consider the claim sets covering Species 1 and Species 2 because the Examiner has not identified any separate classification, separate status in the art, or distinct field search that would distinguish a search of claims encompassing Species 1 from a search of the claims encompassing Species 2 since “a search sufficient to examine the generic claims 1 and 10 will necessarily encompass the subject matter recited in the claims directed to each species”.
This is not found persuasive because each sensor module of each species is directed to battery packs that have different shapes/structures, where each battery pack has different connecting means when it comes to connecting to equipment and to the associated sensor node. Finding prior art for Species 1 (seen at least in Figure 6) will not likely result in finding prior art for Species 2 (seen at least in Figure 12). Sufficient searching of the generic claims 1 and 10 will not necessarily result in finding prior art recited in the claims directed to each species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-14 and 20-26 remain pending for examination. Claims 15-19 and 27-32 are hereby withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 07/15/2025 and 08/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-14 and 20-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 states “at least one of the plurality of electrical contacts of the sensor” and “the first sliding lock leg of the sensor”. This should be written as “at least one of a plurality of electrical contacts of the sensor board” and “the first sliding lock leg of the sensor housing”.
Claim 21 states “the connection of the electrical contacts of the sensor and the battery connector”. This should be written as “the connection of electrical contacts of the sensor housing and the battery connector”.
Claim 21 states “the recessed area of the sensor node”. This should be written as “the first recessed area of the sensor node”.
Claim 26 states “a ledge extending perpendicular to the second end wall, wherein the ledge engages the ramp profile”. This should be written as “a second ledge extending perpendicular to the second end wall, wherein the second ledge engages the ramp profile”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 20180017242).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a sensor node (Figure 4) configured to measure one or more parameters ([0013]) of a piece of equipment ([0013]) and communicate with a sensor network ([0019]), the sensor node comprising:
a sensor board (14 and 15; Figure 4; [0014]) comprising a plurality of electrical contacts (13; Figure 4; [0018]); and
a sensor housing (16; Figure 4; [0014]) defining a cavity (38; Figure 4; [0020]), wherein the sensor board (14 and 15) is disposed within the cavity (See Figure 4; [0020]), the sensor housing (16) comprising:
a first side wall (continuous side wall A that creates the space 38; See annotated Figure 4) defining a window (opening of the continuous side wall A; See annotated Figure 4), wherein the window (opening of the continuous side wall A) exposes (the opening of the continuous side wall A permits the exposing of the contacts 33 so that batteries are connected to said contacts; [0014, 0018, 0020]) the plurality of electrical contacts (33) of the sensor board (14 and 15); and
a first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side; Figure 4; [0022-0024]) extending from the first side wall (element 42 extends from the side wall A; See Figure 4) and defining a groove (B; See annotated Figure 4) between the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) and the first side wall (A).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson teaches wherein the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) is configured to retain a battery pack (20) relative to the sensor housing (element 42 will retain batteries 20 when the cover 18 is put in place; [0022-0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson teaches the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) further comprising: a narrow portion (C; See annotated Figure 4) adjacent to the first side wall (A; See annotated Figure 4); a wider portion (D; See annotated Figure 4) on the portion away from the wall (See annotated Figure 4); and wherein the narrow portion (C) adjacent to the first side wall (A) and the wider portion (D) on the portion away from the wall (A) define the groove (B).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson teaches wherein the sensor housing (16) further comprises a second sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the right side; See Figure 4) extending from the first side wall (A; See annotated Figure 4) and defining a groove between the second sliding lock leg and the first side wall (element 42 on the right side will have the structural configuration as element 42 of the left side; therefore, the element 42 on the right side will also have a groove B; See annotated Figure 4), wherein the second sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the right side; See Figure 4) is configured to retain a battery pack (element 42 will retain batteries 20 when the cover 18 is put in place; [0022-0023]) relative to the sensor housing (16) and align a plurality of electrical contacts of the sensor board through the window (the contacts 33 will be aligned through the window of the side wall A; See annotated Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson teaches wherein the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side; Figure 4; [0022-0024]) is parallel (Figure 4 demonstrates that the element 42 of the left side will be parallel to the element 42 of the right side in order to attach to cover 18) to the second sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the right side; Figure 4; [0022-0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson teaches wherein the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) and second sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the right side) are positioned on opposite sides of the window (the elements 42 are positioned on opposite sides of the window that permits elements 33 to be exposed; See Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson teaches wherein the sensor housing (16) further comprises a third wall (wall where element 42 is located on the right side; See annotated Figure 4) defining a groove (element 42 on the right side will have the structural configuration as element 42 of the left side; therefore, the element 42 on the right side will also have a groove B; See annotated Figure 4), wherein the groove (B of the element 42 of the right side) is configured to retain a mating component (component 44 of cover 18 is held by the groove B of the element 42 on the right side; See Figure 4; [0022-0024]) relative to the sensor housing (16).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson teaches the sensor housing (16) further comprises: a second side wall (left side wall where element 27 and element 42 are located; See Figure 4) defining a first recessed area (channel positioned between the lower rim 27a and the upper rim 27b; See Figure 4; [0022, 0024]); the first recessed area (channel positioned between the lower rim 27a and the upper rim 27b) comprises a ledge (27a), wherein the ledge (27a) is configured to retain a mating component (cover 18; Figure 4; [0022]) relative to the sensor housing (16).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson teaches wherein the mating component (cover 18) is a mounting plate (cover 18 is a plate that is mounted to the housing 16; See Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Radovich et al. (US 20180169851; hereinafter “Radovich”).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches a sensor module (Figure 4) comprising:
a sensor node (Figure 4) configured to measure one or more parameters ([0013]) of a piece of equipment ([0013]) and communicate with a sensor network ([0019]), the sensor node comprising:
a sensor board (14 and 15; Figure 4; [0014]) comprising an electrical contact (13; Figure 4; [0018]); and
a sensor housing (16; Figure 4; [0014]) defining a cavity (38; Figure 4; [0020]), wherein the sensor board (14 and 15) is disposed within the cavity (See Figure 4; [0020]), the sensor housing (16) comprising:
a first side wall (continuous side wall A that creates the space 38; See annotated Figure 4) defining a window (opening of the continuous side wall A; See annotated Figure 4), wherein the window (opening of the continuous side wall A) exposes (the opening of the continuous side wall A permits the exposing of the contacts 33 so that batteries are connected to said contacts; [0014, 0018, 0020]) the electrical contact (33) of the sensor board (14 and 15); and
a first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side; Figure 4; [0022-0024]) extending from the first side wall (element 42 extends from the side wall A; See Figure 4) and defining a groove (B; See annotated Figure 4) between the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) and the first side wall (A);
a battery pack (20 and 18) configured to energize the sensor node ([0014]), the battery pack comprising:
a battery pack body (20 and 18) containing one or more battery cells (See Figure 4), the battery pack body (20 and 18) defining a first slide lock channel (44; Figure 4), wherein the first slide lock channel (44) receives ([0022]) the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) of the sensor housing (16) to retain the sensor node (Figure 4) to the battery pack (20 and 18).
Johnson teaches the battery pack body and the first slide lock channel but does not expressly teach a battery connector interface extending through the battery pack body and disposed adjacent to the first slide lock channel, wherein the battery connector interface is aligned with the first slide lock channel to permit at least one of the plurality of electrical contacts of the sensor to contact the battery connector interface when the first sliding lock leg of the sensor is engaged with the first slide lock channel.
However, Radovich teaches a battery connector interface (354; [0134]; Figures 14-19) extending through the battery pack body (350; Figures 14-19; [0134]) and disposed adjacent to the first slide lock channel (404; [0135]; Figures 14-19), wherein the battery connector interface (354) is aligned with the first slide lock channel (404; See figures 14-19) to permit at least one of the plurality of electrical contacts of the board (294; [0133]; Figures 14-19) to contact the battery connector interface (354) when the first sliding lock leg (298B) of the housing (250; [0128]; Figures 14-19) is engaged with the first slide lock channel (404; [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Radovich battery connector interface and associated structure implemented on Johnson’s battery pack body in order to provide a single structure that has both battery and latching mechanisms rather than separate battery and cover configuration, as taught by Johnson; this reduces the amount of parts used in the system.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Johnson and Radovich teaches wherein the battery pack body (350; Figures 14-19; [0134]: Radovich) has a generally rectangular prism shape (Figure 18 demonstrates that the battery pack body 350 has a rectangular prism shape: Radovich).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Johnson and Radovich teaches wherein the first slide lock channel (404; [0135]; Figures 14-19: Radovich) and the battery connector interface (354; [0134]; Figures 14-19: Radovich) are disposed on a base of the rectangular prism shape of the battery pack body (Figures 14-19 demonstrate that the elements 404 and 354 are located on the bottom half of the battery body, i.e. base: Radovich).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches a mounting plate (13; Figure 4) coupled to the battery pack (18 and 20) and the sensor node (14-16), wherein the mounting plate (13) is configured to be coupled to the piece of equipment ([0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson teaches wherein the mounting plate (13) is configured to be coupled to a piece of loading dock equipment ([0028]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Johnson and Radovich in further view of Brehl (US 20220181803).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Johnson and Radovich teaches the connection of the electrical contacts (33: Johnson and 354: Radovich) of the sensor housing (16: Johnson) and the battery connector interface (354; [0134]; Figures 14-19: Radovich).
The combination of Johnson and Radovich teaches the electrical connection but does not expressly teach the electrical connection being sealed.
However, Brehl teaches the electrical connection ([0025]) being sealed (66; [0025]; Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Brehl’s sealing structure implemented for Johnson and Radovich electrical connection in order to provide a liquid tight seal between the electrical connection (See Brehl [0025]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 21, Johnson teaches a sensor module (Figure 4), comprising:
a sensor node (Figure 4) configured to measure one or more parameters ([0013]) of a piece of equipment ([0013]) and communicate with a sensor network ([0019]), the sensor node comprising:
a sensor board (14 and 15; Figure 4; [0014]) comprising an electrical contact (13; Figure 4; [0018]); and
a sensor housing (16; Figure 4; [0014]) defining a cavity (38; Figure 4; [0020]), wherein the sensor board (14 and 15) is disposed within the cavity (See Figure 4; [0020]), the sensor housing (16) comprising:
a first side wall (continuous side wall A that creates the space 38; See annotated Figure 4) defining a window (opening of the continuous side wall A; See annotated Figure 4), wherein the window (opening of the continuous side wall A) exposes (the opening of the continuous side wall A permits the exposing of the contacts 33 so that batteries are connected to said contacts; [0014, 0018, 0020]) the electrical contact (33) of the sensor board (14 and 15); and
a first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side; Figure 4; [0022-0024]) extending from the first side wall (element 42 extends from the side wall A; See Figure 4) and defining a groove (B; See annotated Figure 4) between the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) and the first side wall (A);
a second side wall (sidewall that has portion 27; See Figure 4) opposite the first wall (the second sidewall is opposite to side wall A);
a first ledge (27a) defining a first recessed area (channel positioned between the lower rim 27a and the upper rim 27b; See Figure 4; [0022, 0024]) within the second side wall (See Figure 4); wherein the first recessed area (channel positioned between the lower rim 27a and the upper rim 27b; See Figure 4; [0022, 0024]) is configured to receive a mating component (cover 18; Figure 4; [0022]) relative to the sensor housing (16) and the first ledge (27a) is configured to facilitate a connection between the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) and the mating component (cover 18);
a battery pack (18 and 20; Figure 4) configured to energize the sensor node ([0014]), the battery pack comprising:
a battery pack body (20 and 18) containing one or more battery cells (See Figure 4),
the battery pack body (20 and 18) defining a first slide lock channel (44; Figure 4), wherein the first slide lock channel (44) receives ([0022]) the first sliding lock leg (element 42 located on the left side) of the sensor housing (16) to retain the sensor node (Figure 4) to the battery pack (20 and 18); and
a mounting plate (13; Figure 4) configured to be coupled to a piece of equipment ([0028]), the mounting plate (13) comprising:
a mounting plate base (back plate of element 13; Figure 4);
a non-deflectable end wall (end walls that connect perpendicularly to the base plate of element 13; Figure 4) extending perpendicular to the mounting plate base (See Figure 4), wherein the mounting plate base (back plate of element 13) and the non-deflectable end wall (end walls that connect perpendicularly to the base plate of element 13; Figure 4) receive the sensor node (14-16; Figures 1-4) and the battery pack (18 and 20; Figures 1-4).
Radovich teaches a battery connector interface (354; [0134]; Figures 14-19) extending through the battery pack body (350; Figures 14-19; [0134]) and disposed adjacent to the first slide lock channel (404; [0135]; Figures 14-19), wherein the battery connector interface (354) is aligned with the first slide lock channel (404; See figures 14-19) to permit at least one of the plurality of electrical contacts of the sensor board (294; [0133]; Figures 14-19) to contact the battery connector interface (354) when the first sliding lock leg (298B) of the sensor housing (250; [0128]; Figures 14-19) is engaged with the first slide lock channel (404; [0135]).
In claim 21, the specific limitations of "the battery pack body defining a ramp profile, wherein the ramp profile is disposed on a movable member extending from the surface of the battery pack body that is opposite the first slide lock channel" and “a ramped retention protrusion extending perpendicular to the end wall, wherein the non-deflectable end wall is biased to engage the ramped retention protrusion with the recessed area of the sensor node and releasably retain the sensor node and the battery pack to the mounting plate” in combination with the remaining limitations as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 22-26 would also be allowed for depending on claim 21.
**NOTE**:The claim objections of claim 21 and 26 must be addressed and overcome before placing independent claim 21 and dependent claims 22-26 as allowable.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY W MEGNA FUENTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855