DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 20170117109) in view of Grossberg et al (US Publication No. 20200279707).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]), applied to a relay circuit (10) comprising a controller (16), a relay (14), a controllable switch (Ql, Q2) and a power supply (18), wherein the controllable switch (Ql, Q2) is connected in series (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 further includes a resonant circuit 54 (consisting of an inductor 56 and capacitor 58 arranged in series) positioned between the MOSFETs 50, 52, see for example para. [0035]) with a coil (56) of the relay (14), the power supply (18) supplies power to the coil (56) of the relay (14), the controllable switch (Ql, Q2) is controlled by the controller (16), and the method comprises: receiving an operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14) by the controller (16); and adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) a driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14), based on the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) by the controller (16), to reduce a total loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of the relay (14), wherein the total loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of the relay (14) is a sum (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of a conduction loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) and a driving loss (i.e., such as in the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) of the relay (14).
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to a current through a main circuit being large, the total loss of the relay is reduced by reducing the conduction loss; and wherein in response to the current through the main circuit being small, the total loss of the relay is reduced by reducing the driving loss.
Grossberg discloses a relay (i.e., switching circuit 133; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]); wherein in response (i.e., such as the response sensed via circuit 137; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) to a current (i.e., such as in response to the current in the main-circuit/power-bank 131 which is measured via the measurement circuit 137 then a signal to be sent via the DSP circuit 136 according or as response to the measured current in circuit 131; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) through a main circuit (i.e., such as power-bank 131; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) being large (i.e., such as the measured current in circuit 131 is above the threshold value; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]), the total loss (i.e., such as the total power losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) of the relay (i.e., the switching circuit 133; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) is reduced (i.e., such as to provide lower conduction losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) by reducing (i.e., such as lowering the conduction losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) the conduction loss (i.e., the disconnection & monitoring circuit 135 prevents the premature conduction, thereby reducing the conduction losses in the power bank 131; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) and wherein in response (i.e., such as the response sensed via circuit 137; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) to the current (i.e., such as in response to the current in the main-circuit/power-bank 131 which is measured via the measurement circuit 137 then a signal to be sent via the DSP circuit 136 according or as response to the measured current in circuit 131; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) through the main circuit (i.e., such as power-bank 131; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) being small (i.e., such as the measured current is below the threshold value; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]), the total loss (i.e., such as the total power losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) of the relay (i.e., such as the switching circuit 133; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) is reduced (i.e., such as lower power energy needed to drive the switching circuit 133; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) by reducing (i.e., such as lowering power energy needed to drive the switching circuit 133 which is done via disconnection & monitoring circuit 135; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) the driving loss (i.e., such as based on a decision to disconnect the electrical circuit from the grid, DSP 136 might not generate signal S11 (e.g., null voltage) to control switching circuit 133 to interrupt the power provided by power supply 132 to storage 134, thereby causing a discharging of the power stored in storage 134 towards disconnection & monitoring circuit 135 to drive the control coil(s) of the latching relay(s) and generate a disconnection of the switching contacts, thereby lowering the driving losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]) (Note; the power storage 134 has two benefits towards reducing the total loss and that is; One. Providing minimum power enough to drive the relay, thereby saving energy which resulting in lowering the driving losses; Two. In case of an excessive energy (e.g. current above the threshold in circuit 131) the power storage 134 is ready to be discharged by circuit 137, thereby preventing the coil actuation/conduction which resulting in lowering the conduction losses; see for example fig. 13, para. [0159]- [0168]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the control circuit in Liu, as taught by Grossberg, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing the relay power losses.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the relay circuit (10) further comprises a parameter collection device (i.e., such as voltage sensor 68 and current sensor 70, see for example para. [0037]) for acquiring (i.e., such as sensing, see for example para. [0037]) the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]), the parameter collection device (i.e., such as voltage sensor 68 and current sensor 70, see for example para. [0037]) is connected to the controller (16), and the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14) comprises at least an ambient temperature (i.e., such the MEMS element is subjected to the stated mode, see for example para. [DOSS]) at a contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14) or a current (i.e., such as I sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) comprises: increasing (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) when the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) or the ambient temperature (i.e., such the MEMS element is subjected to the stated mode, see for example para. [DOSS]) at the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) increases (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]), to reduce (i.e., such as reduce the actual MEMS switch current. In the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) the total loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of the relay (14) by reducing (i.e., such as reduce the actual MEMS switch current. In the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) the conduction loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of the relay (14); and decreasing (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) when the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) or the ambient temperature (i.e., such the MEMS element is subjected to the stated mode, see for example para. [DOSS]) at the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) decreases (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]), to reduce (i.e., such as reduce the actual MEMS switch current. In the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) the total loss (i.e., such as much lower power dissipation, longer life, and less contact resistance than electromechanical relays and that provides/offers lower conduction loss and lower cost than SSRs, see for example para. [0006]) of the relay (14) by reducing (i.e., such as reduce the actual MEMS switch current. In the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) the driving loss (i.e., such as in the auxiliary circuit 90, the power loss would be very small, as the capacitor value is small, capacitor voltage is also small, and the frequency is low, see for example para. [0044]) of the relay (14).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) comprises: controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) a duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of a drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) for driving (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) the controllable switch (Ql, Q2) using pulse width modulation (i.e., such as the oscillator to operate in a PWM, see for example para. [0048]), based on the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14), to adjust (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) comprises: controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) based on a value (i.e., such as the inductor and capacitor values and the pre-charge capacitor voltage, see for example para. [0046]) of the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14), to adjust (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) is the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14), and wherein the controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) comprises: adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) based on a waveform (i.e., such as the pulse detection circuits 130, see for example [0051]) of the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14), to match a waveform (i.e., such as the pulse detection circuits 130, see for example [0051]) of a current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14) to the waveform (i.e., such as the pulse detection circuits 130, see for example [0051]) of the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) flowing through the contact (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) of the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) comprises: comparing (i.e., such as comparator will sense a voltage across MEMS switch 24, see for example para. [0038]) the operating parameter (i.e., such as predetermined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) with at least one threshold (i.e., such as the pre-determined voltage threshold may be a threshold associated with a "hot switching" condition, see for example para. [0033]); setting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to a first duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a first duty cycle, DC.sub.1, (for example 50% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]), when the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14) is greater than the threshold (i.e., such as the pre-determined voltage threshold may be a threshold associated with a "hot switching" condition, see for example para. [0033]); and setting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to a second duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a second duty cycle, DC.sub.2, (for example 10% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]), when the operating parameter (i.e., such as predetermined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) of the relay (14) is less than the threshold (i.e., such as the pre-determined voltage threshold may be a threshold associated with a "hot switching" condition, see for example para. [0033]), wherein the first duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a first duty cycle, DC.sub.1, (for example 50% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]) is greater than the second duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a second duty cycle, DC.sub.2, (for example 10% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]), and the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) at the first duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a first duty cycle, DC.sub.1, (for example 50% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]) is strong by comparison (i.e., such as comparator will sense a voltage across MEMS switch 24, see for example para. [0038]) with the second duty cycle (i.e., such as the oscillator 110 would output an electrical pulse at a second duty cycle, DC.sub.2, (for example 10% duty cycle); see for example para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the controlling (i.e., such as the auxiliary circuit 14 (via controlling thereof by control circuit 16) functions to prevent the MEMS switch 24 from operating in a "hot switching" condition that could negatively impact the switching efficiency and switch longevity, see for example para. [0031]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) based on the value (i.e., such as the inductor and capacitor values and the pre-charge capacitor voltage, see for example para. [0046]) of the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) comprises: adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) a current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14), in response to an increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and Isense via 70, see for example para. [0037]); and adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14), in response to a decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14) comprises: adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14) linearly (i.e., such as would be changed at line cycle based on the actual load current I.sub.LOAD, see for example para. [0044]) in response to the increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]); and the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14) comprises: adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the duty cycle (i.e., such as where the oscillator's duty cycle would vary (i.e., the pulse width would vary) but its frequency would be constant, see for example para. [0048]) of the drive signal (i.e., such as the logic level On-Off signals, see for example para. [0048]) to decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) the current (i.e., such as I-sense via current sensing circuit 70, see for example para. [0037]) or voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the coil (56) of the relay (14) linearly (i.e., such as would be changed at line cycle based on the actual load current I.sub.LOAD, see for example para. [0044]) in response to the decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the power supply (18) is an adjustable power supply (i.e., such as via charge circuit 60, see for example para. [0036]) controlled by the controller (16), and wherein the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) comprises: changing (i.e., via 60) a voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the adjustable power supply (i.e., such as via charge circuit 60, see for example para. [0036]) based on the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]), to adjust (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the changing (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the adjustable power supply (i.e., such as via charge circuit 60, see for example para. [0036]) based on the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]) comprises: increasing (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) the voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the adjustable power supply (i.e., such as via charge circuit 60, see for example para. [0036]) to strengthen the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14), in response to an increase (i.e., such as increases the current driving/carrying capability (i.e., provides a current boost) of the oscillator 110, see for example para. [0048]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]); and decreasing (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) the voltage (i.e., such as V-sense via voltage sensor 69, see for example para. [0037]) of the adjustable power supply (i.e., such as via charge circuit 60, see for example para. [0036]) to weaken (i.e., such as auxiliary switch that limits the voltage across the MEMS switch, see for example para. [0056]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14), in response to a decrease (i.e., such as by limiting the voltage across the MEMS switch 24 to a low voltage level, reliable operation of MEMS switch can be assured, see for example para. [0033]) in the operating parameter (i.e., such as pre-determined thresholds; V-sense via 68 and I-sense via 70, see for example para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Grossberg and the teachings of Liu as modified by Grossberg have been discussed above.
Liu further discloses the control method (i.e., see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]- [0044]); wherein the adjusting (i.e., such as the construction of auxiliary circuit 14 allows it to function in two separate operating modes, see for example para. [0036]) the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) comprises: regulating the driving force (i.e., such as a technique implemented by control circuit 16 for operating the auxiliary circuit 14 in the low current mode and high current mode relative to operation of the MEMS switching circuit is shown and described in greater detail in FIG. 6, see for para. [0037]) applied to the relay (14) within a preset range (i.e., such as the voltage and energy levels present across the MEMS switch 24 during switching, see for example para. [0031]), wherein an upper limit (i.e., such as a "first signal characteristic" for logic high, see for example para. [0048]) of the preset range (i.e., such as the voltage and energy levels present across the MEMS switch 24 during switching, see for example para. [0031]) does not exceed an upper limit (i.e., such as a "first signal characteristic" for logic high, see for example para. [0048]) allowed by the relay (14), and a lower limit (i.e., such as a "second signal characteristic" for logic low, see for example para. [0048]) of the preset range (i.e., such as the voltage and energy levels present across the MEMS switch 24 during switching, see for example para. [0031]) is not less than a lower limit (i.e., such as a "second signal characteristic" for logic low, see for example para. [0048]) sufficient for contacts (i.e., such as MEMS switch 24 includes a contact 26, see for example para. [0026]) of the relay (14) attached.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838