DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/18/2026 regarding claims 1-24 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 31-36 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 13, 24, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0389104) in view of Khan Beigi (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0107525), hereinafter referred to as Khan and further in view of Li (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0105993).
As per claim 1:
Gou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 1, paragraph [0048], UE 104), the apparatus comprising:
one or more memories (see Figure 1, UE memory module 166);
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Figure 1, UE memory module 166 coupled to UE processor module 168), the one or more processors being configured to:
receive, from a network entity (see paragraph [0057], the receiving signaling from the BS to indicate a UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions, N being greater than 1), a first configuration of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols (see paragraph [0055], the BS may configure the UE to transmit PUCCH repetitively. As shown in figure 2 and paragraph [0055], PUCCH (such as PUCCH 1 indicated as black rectangle) can be transmitted in an UL subband in a downlink (DL) slot, which is a slot having DL symbols and thus SBFD symbols. Paragraph [0067] explicitly states: “all symbols configured for the subband full-duplex operation”. For example, PUCCH 1 transmitted in UL subband from symbol#5 to symbol#11 in a DL slot), the SBFD symbols comprising downlink (DL) or flexible (FL) symbols with a configured uplink (UL) sub-band (as explained earlier from figure 2 and paragraph [0055], PUCCH (such as PUCCH 1 indicated as black rectangle) can be transmitted in an UL subband in a downlink (DL) slot, which is a slot having DL symbols and thus SBFD symbols. Paragraph [0067] explicitly states: “all symbols configured for the subband full-duplex operation”. For example, PUCCH 1 transmitted in UL subband from symbol#5 to symbol#11 in a DL slot. Also, paragraphs [0060] and [0071] disclose flexible (F) symbol(s) configured for an UL subband).
Gou does not clearly teach receive, from the network entity, a second configuration of PUCCH for non-SBFD symbols, the non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols or flexible symbols configured for UL communication.
Khan teaches receive, from the network entity (see paragraph [0140], the WTRU may be configured and/or receive PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) as part of scheduling and/or activating DCI. Note: Even though this prior does NOT explicitly state receiving PUCCH resource configuration from the base station/eNB/network entity, this feature is inherently present in the prior art especially since said DCI, as it is well known in the art, is a control signaling data sent from the base station to the UE), a second configuration of PUCCH for non-SBFD symbols, the non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols or flexible symbols configured for UL communication (see paragraph [0140], the PRI may indicate the PUCCH resource to be used for PUCCH transmission. In one or more cases, the first set of PUCCH resources may be configured for the case in which the WTRU is scheduled in an UL-only time instance, in which there may be a second set of PUCCH resources that are associated with the PUCCH resources in the first set. Note: Examiner is reading said UL-only time instance as said non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols especially since the designated time instance is for only UL transmission such as UL slot 604 as shown in figure 6 for example. Paragraph [0142] also explicitly states: “the WTRU may be configured for independent/separate PUCCH configurations for SBFD and/or non-SBFD TX/RX occasions”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the PUCCH resource indicator (as disclosed in Khan) into Gou as a way of indicating the resources used for PUCCH transmission (please see paragraph [0140] of Khan). Therefore, using the SBFD UL subbands helps to enhance coverage in transmission/reception of repetition for PUCCH/PUSCH/PDCCH/PDSCH for MIMO/multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0076] of Khan).
Guo and Khan do not clearly teach and select one of the first configuration or the second configuration for transmission of uplink control information (UCI) based on at least a symbol type of a symbol within which the UCI is transmitted.
Li teaches and select one of the first configuration or the second configuration for transmission of uplink control information (UCI) based on at least a symbol type of a symbol within which the UCI is transmitted (paragraph [0104], disclose different operation modes for UCI transmission may be used herein to differentiate UCI transmission behavior for a NOSB-FD symbol and or a regular symbol. An operation mode A may be used herein to refer to the transmission in NOSB-FD symbols while an operation mode B may be used herein to refer to transmission in regular symbols. Note: Examiner is reading said operation mode A for NOSB-FD symbols as said first configuration and operation mode B for regular symbols as said second configuration. Examiner is also reading said NOSB-FD symbols as example symbol type).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of UCI in symbols configured for either operation mode A or operation mode B (as disclosed in Li) into both Gou and Khan as a way of facilitating transmission of UCI in specific symbols and also avoid any collision between PUCCH and DL symbol or sub-band (please see paragraphs [0114] and [0127] respectively of Li).
As per claim 2:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Guo and Li do not teach wherein the first configuration comprises a first radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration and the second configuration comprises a second RRC PUCCH configuration separate from the first RRC configuration, the first RRC configuration comprising one or more first PUCCH resource sets, each first PUCCH resource set comprising one or more first PUCCH resources, the second RRC configuration comprising one or more second PUCCH resource sets, each second PUCCH resource set comprising one or more second PUCCH resources.
Khan teaches wherein the first configuration comprises a first radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration and the second configuration comprises a second RRC PUCCH configuration separate from the first RRC configuration (see paragraph [0142], WTRU may receive RRC configuration of a first (or second) set of slots applicable to first (or second PUCCH) configuration), the first RRC configuration comprising one or more first PUCCH resource sets (see paragraph [0142], the first set of slots applicable to first PUCCH configuration), each first PUCCH resource set comprising one or more first PUCCH resources (as explained earlier in paragraph [0142], the first set of slots are applicable to first PUCCH configuration), the second RRC configuration comprising one or more second PUCCH resource sets (see paragraph [0142], the second set of slots are applicable to second PUCCH configuration), each second PUCCH resource set comprising one or more second PUCCH resources (as explained earlier in paragraph [0142], the second set of slots are applicable to second PUCCH configuration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the PUCCH resource indicator (as disclosed in Khan) into Gou and Li as a way of indicating the resources used for PUCCH transmission (please see paragraph [0140] of Khan). Therefore, using the SBFD UL subbands helps to enhance coverage in transmission/reception of repetition for PUCCH/PUSCH/PDCCH/PDSCH for MIMO/multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0076] of Khan).
As per claim 12:
Gou in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises a PUCCH resource configured with repetition (Gou, see paragraph [0057], the receiving signaling from the BS to indicate a UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions, N being greater than 1).
As per claim 13:
Gou in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 12.
Guo and Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify available slots for PUCCH repetitions associated with the PUCCH resource from a group of slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify available slots for PUCCH repetitions associated with the PUCCH resource from a group of slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0177], when SBFD applies (e.g., in one or more time-units such as one or more symbols and/or slots), the WTRU may perform UL such as PUSCH and/or PUCCH repetitions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the PUCCH resource indicator (as disclosed in Khan) into Gou and Li as a way of indicating the resources used for PUCCH transmission (please see paragraph [0140] of Khan). Therefore, using the SBFD UL subbands helps to enhance coverage in transmission/reception of repetition for PUCCH/PUSCH/PDCCH/PDSCH for MIMO/multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0076] of Khan).
As per claim 24:
Gou teaches a method operable at a user equipment (UE) (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network entity (see paragraph [0057], the receiving signaling from the BS to indicate a UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions, N being greater than 1), a first configuration of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols (see paragraph [0055], the BS may configure the UE to transmit PUCCH repetitively. As shown in figure 2 and paragraph [0055], PUCCH (such as PUCCH 1 indicated as black rectangle) can be transmitted in an UL subband in a downlink (DL) slot, which is a slot having DL symbols and thus SBFD symbols. Paragraph [0067] explicitly states: “all symbols configured for the subband full-duplex operation”. For example, PUCCH 1 transmitted in UL subband from symbol#5 to symbol#11 in a DL slot), the SBFD symbols comprising downlink (DL) or flexible (FL) symbols with a configured uplink (UL) sub-band (as explained earlier from figure 2 and paragraph [0055], PUCCH (such as PUCCH 1 indicated as black rectangle) can be transmitted in an UL subband in a downlink (DL) slot, which is a slot having DL symbols and thus SBFD symbols. Paragraph [0067] explicitly states: “all symbols configured for the subband full-duplex operation”. For example, PUCCH 1 transmitted in UL subband from symbol#5 to symbol#11 in a DL slot. Also, paragraphs [0060] and [0071] disclose flexible (F) symbol(s) configured for an UL subband).
Gou does not clearly teach receiving, from the network entity, a second configuration of PUCCH for non-SBFD symbols, the non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols or flexible symbols configured for UL communication.
Khan teaches receiving, from the network entity (see paragraph [0140], the WTRU may be configured and/or receive PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) as part of scheduling and/or activating DCI. Note: Even though this prior does NOT explicitly state receiving PUCCH resource configuration from the base station/eNB/network entity, this feature is inherently present in the prior art especially since said DCI, as it is well known in the art, is a control signaling data sent from the base station to the UE), a second configuration of PUCCH for non-SBFD symbols, the non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols or flexible symbols configured for UL communication (see paragraph [0140], the PRI may indicate the PUCCH resource to be used for PUCCH transmission. In one or more cases, the first set of PUCCH resources may be configured for the case in which the WTRU is scheduled in an UL-only time instance, in which there may be a second set of PUCCH resources that are associated with the PUCCH resources in the first set. Note: Examiner is reading said UL-only time instance as said non-SBFD symbols comprising UL symbols especially since the designated time instance is for only UL transmission such as UL slot 604 as shown in figure 6 for example. Paragraph [0142] also explicitly states: “the WTRU may be configured for independent/separate PUCCH configurations for SBFD and/or non-SBFD TX/RX occasions”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the PUCCH resource indicator (as disclosed in Khan) into Gou as a way of indicating the resources used for PUCCH transmission (please see paragraph [0140] of Khan). Therefore, using the SBFD UL subbands helps to enhance coverage in transmission/reception of repetition for PUCCH/PUSCH/PDCCH/PDSCH for MIMO/multi-TRP (please see paragraph [0076] of Khan).
Guo and Khan do not clearly teach and selecting one of the first configuration or the second configuration for transmission of uplink control information (UCI) based on at least a symbol type of a symbol within which the UCI is transmitted.
Li teaches and selecting one of the first configuration or the second configuration for transmission of uplink control information (UCI) based on at least a symbol type of a symbol within which the UCI is transmitted (paragraph [0104], disclose different operation modes for UCI transmission may be used herein to differentiate UCI transmission behavior for a NOSB-FD symbol and or a regular symbol. An operation mode A may be used herein to refer to the transmission in NOSB-FD symbols while an operation mode B may be used herein to refer to transmission in regular symbols. Note: Examiner is reading said operation mode A for NOSB-FD symbols as said first configuration and operation mode B for regular symbols as said second configuration. Examiner is also reading said NOSB-FD symbols as example symbol type).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of UCI in symbols configured for either operation mode A or operation mode B (as disclosed in Li) into both Gou and Khan as a way of facilitating transmission of UCI in specific symbols and also avoid any collision between PUCCH and DL symbol or sub-band (please see paragraphs [0114] and [0127] respectively of Li).
Claim 31 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
4. Claims 3 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0323961).
As per claim 3:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the first configuration comprises one or more first PUCCH resource sets within a radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration, each first PUCCH resource set comprising one or more first PUCCH resources, and the second configuration comprises one or more second PUCCH resource sets within the same RRC configuration, each second PUCCH resource set comprising one or more second PUCCH resources.
Liu teaches wherein the first configuration comprises one or more first PUCCH resource sets within a radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration, each first PUCCH resource set comprising one or more first PUCCH resources (see paragraph [0228], the network device indicates by using RRC layer signaling, which PUCCH resource set in the first resource set to be used in each of N+J time units), and the second configuration comprises one or more second PUCCH resource sets within the same RRC configuration, each second PUCCH resource set comprising one or more second PUCCH resources (see paragraph [0228], the network device also indicated by using RRC layer signaling second PUCCH resource set in each of N+J time units).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of RRC signaling indicating either first PUCCH resource set or second PUCCH resource set (as disclosed in Liu) into both Guo and Khan as a way of enabling the terminal to determine which of the PUCCH resource set is the target PUCCH resource set when learning of the symbol category in the slot on each of the plurality of subbands included in the entire CC (please see paragraph [0209] of Liu).
Claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
5. Claims 4 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Liu and Elshafie (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0109534).
As per claim 4:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 3 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select one of the first PUCCH resource set or the second PUCCH resource set based on a payload size of uplink control information (UCI) and the symbol type of the symbol within which to transmit the UCI.
Elshafie teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select one of the first PUCCH resource set or the second PUCCH resource set based on a payload size of uplink control information (UCI) and the symbol type of the symbol within which to transmit the UCI (see paragraph [0102], the mobile station may determine the first quantity of resource blocks and the second quantity of resource blocks based at least in part on a payload size of the first UCI or the second UCI, an RRC configured PUCCH code rate, a number of symbols available for an applicable PUCCH format, or a number of symbols available in the first PUCCH resource and/or the second PUCCH resource indicated in the PUCCH configuration. Also, figure 10, paragraph [0114] disclose the first UCI may be transmitted using y OFDM symbols while second UCI may be transmitted using z OFDM symbols and therefore a symbol type within which to transmit the UCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implemented the configured PUCCH resources based on the payload size of the uplink control information (UCI) (i.e., two-stage UCI reporting as disclosed in Elshafie) into Guo, Khan, Li and Liu as a way of achieving an increased coding gain (please see paragraph [0081] of Elshafie).
Claim 33 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
6. Claims 5 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Jiang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0369247).
As per claim 5:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the first configuration comprises a first group of one or more first PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set of a radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration, and the second configuration comprises a second group of one or more second PUCCH resources within the same PUCCH resource set of the RRC PUCCH configuration.
Jiang teaches wherein the first configuration comprises a first group of one or more first PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set of a radio resource control (RRC) PUCCH configuration (see paragraph [0060], in the case when a PUCCH resource #i is configured within multiple PUCCH resource groups by RRC signaling, the first octet with PUCCH resource ID=i in MAC CE may be for the first PUCCH resource containing PUCCH resource #i), and the second configuration comprises a second group of one or more second PUCCH resources within the same PUCCH resource set of the RRC PUCCH configuration (paragraph [0060] disclose the second octet with PUCCH resource ID=I in MAC CE may be configured for the second PUCCH resource group containing the same PUCCH resource #i).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement inclusion of multiple PUCCH resource groups within a PUCCH resource (as disclosed in Jiang) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of associating the PUCCH resource groups with a same beam (please see paragraph [0044] of Jiang).
Claim 34 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
7. Claims 6 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Jiang and Choi (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0287376).
As per claim 6:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Jiang teaches the apparatus of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the one or more first PUCCH resources or the one or more second PUCCH resources for a PUCCH transmission carrying uplink control information (UCI).
Choi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the one or more first PUCCH resources or the one or more second PUCCH resources for a PUCCH transmission carrying uplink control information (UCI) (see paragraph [0109], the BS may transmit the DCI to the UE on a PDCCH and indicate a PUCCH resource to be used for UCI transmission in a specific resource set by an ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI) in the DCI. The ARI may be used to indicate a PUCCH resource for ACK/NACK transmission and also be referred to as a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement use of ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI) or PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) (as disclosed in Choi) into Guo, Khan, Li and Jiang as a way of indicating a subset of PUCCH resource set and which PUCCH resource in the indicated PUCCH resource subset to use according to an implicit rule based on transmission resource information about the PDCCH (please see paragraph [0109] of Choi).
Claim 35 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Jiang and Ouchi (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0155746).
As per claim 7:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Jiang teaches the apparatus of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a bit field identifying a target slot indicating a selected group of the first group and the second group, the DCI further comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the selected group for a PUCCH transmission carrying uplink control information (UCI).
Ouchi teaches receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a bit field identifying a target slot indicating a selected group of the first group and the second group, the DCI further comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the selected group for a PUCCH transmission carrying uplink control information (UCI) (see paragraph [0414], the DCI format comprise of PRI field. The PRI field for indicating PUCCH resource. The DCI format of the multiple DCI formats may also include value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field or the value of the data to UL-ACK and indicating the same slot. For detection of PUCCH resources, the detected one or more multiple formats may be indexed in ascending order).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement transmission of the one or more DCI format each including the PRI field (as disclosed in Ouchi) into Guo, Khan, Li and Jiang as a way of indicating the PUCCH resources across all of one or more serving cells indexes (please see paragraph [0414] of Ouchi).
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Jiang and Shariatmadari (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0240784).
As per claim 8:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Jiang teaches the apparatus of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling an uplink control information (UCI) transmission from the UE to the network entity;
and identify a target slot indicating a selected group of the first group and the second group, the DCI further comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the selected group for a PUCCH transmission carrying the UCI.
Shariatmadari teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling an uplink control information (UCI) transmission from the UE to the network entity (see paragraph [0288], one DCI-scheduled downlink transmission is assumed to occur in slot n, for which HARQ feedback information (as the UCI) is to be transmitted by the UE);
and identify a target slot indicating a selected group of the first group and the second group (see paragraph [0277], following K1 parameter, the first UCI transmission repetition is to be performed by the UE in slot n+1 of CC#0), the DCI further comprising a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) indicating a PUCCH resource of the selected group for a PUCCH transmission carrying the UCI (see paragraph [0146], the PUCCH resource sets are assigned with a range of UCI payload sized. The UE first determines the UCI payload size and then selects the appropriate PUCCH resource set on that basis. Then, based on the PRI indicated (e.g., in the DCI), the PUCCH resource from the PUCCH resource set is selected).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of UCI on PUCCH resources (as disclosed in Shariatmadari) into Guo, Khan, Li and Jiang as a way of accommodating certain range of payloads for UCI feedback (please see paragraph [0136] of Shariatmadari).
10. Claims 9-11, 14 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Mahama (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0107541).
As per claim 9:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises a semi-static configuration of a PUCCH resource, the PUCCH resource comprising a periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH resource.
Mahama teaches wherein at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises a semi-static configuration of a PUCCH resource, the PUCCH resource comprising a periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH resource (paragraph [0053] disclose, for periodic and semi-persistent PUCCH, the same resource allocation is used across multiple slots, which can be a combination of full UL and SBFD partition slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to the same resource allocation for periodic and semi-persistent PUCCH used across multiple slots (as disclosed in Mahama) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of enabling transmission from UL only slot overlapping with DL subbands in a SBFD partitioned slot (please see paragraph [0065] of Mahama).
As per claim 10:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Mahama teaches the apparatus of claim 9.
Guo, Khan and Li do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a first set of periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH transmissions falling within first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource;
and drop a second set of periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH transmissions falling within second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Mahama teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a first set of periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH transmissions falling within first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0064], for period and semi-persistent PUCCH, same resource allocation is used across multiple slots, which can be a combination of full UL and SBFD partitioned slots);
and drop a second set of periodic or semi-persistent PUCCH transmissions falling within second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0065], the allocation of frequency resources in the UL-only slot may not be available in SBFD partitioned slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to the same resource allocation for periodic and semi-persistent PUCCH used across multiple slots (as disclosed in Mahama) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of enabling transmission from UL only slot overlapping with DL subbands in a SBFD partitioned slot (please see paragraph [0065] of Mahama).
As per claim 11:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Mahama teaches the apparatus of claim 9.
Guo, Khan and Li do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a set of symbols associated with the PUCCH resource based on the semi-static configuration, the set of symbols including first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource and excluding second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Mahama teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a set of symbols associated with the PUCCH resource based on the semi-static configuration, the set of symbols including first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0064], for period and semi-persistent PUCCH, same resource allocation is used across multiple slots, which can be a combination of full UL and SBFD partitioned slots) and excluding second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0065], the allocation of frequency resources in the UL-only slot may not be available in SBFD partitioned slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to the same resource allocation for periodic and semi-persistent PUCCH used across multiple slots (as disclosed in Mahama) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of enabling transmission from UL only slot overlapping with DL subbands in a SBFD partitioned slot (please see paragraph [0065] of Mahama).
As per claim 14:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 13 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a first set of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission falling within first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource;
and drop a second set of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission falling within second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Mahama teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a first set of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission falling within first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0064], for period and semi-persistent PUCCH, same resource allocation is used across multiple slots, which can be a combination of full UL and SBFD partitioned slots);
and drop a second set of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission falling within second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0065], the allocation of frequency resources in the UL-only slot may not be available in SBFD partitioned slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to the same resource allocation for periodic and semi-persistent PUCCH used across multiple slots (as disclosed in Mahama) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of enabling transmission from UL only slot overlapping with DL subbands in a SBFD partitioned slot (please see paragraph [0065] of Mahama).
Claim 36 is rejected in the same scope as claim 9.
11. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Deogun (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0330849).
As per claim 15:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li teaches the apparatus of claim 12 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify available slots for PUCCH repetitions associated with the PUCCH resource based on a set of slots of both a SBFD duplex type and a non-SBFD duplex type.
Deogun teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify available slots for PUCCH repetitions associated with the PUCCH resource based on a set of slots of both a SBFD duplex type and a non-SBFD duplex type (see paragraph [0329], the UE 3 is pre-configured with a different respective number of repetitions for UL (such as PUCCH) transmissions in SBFD slots/symbols, than for uplink (PUCCH) transmissions in legacy TDD UL slots/symbols. The UE 3 can then use the specific number of repetitions for SBFD UL communication in SNFD slots/symbols, and other number of repetitions for UL communication in non-SBFD slots/symbols).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of PUCCH on both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols/slots (as disclosed in Deogun) into Guo, Khan and Li as a way of allowing enhanced decoding in respect of UL transmissions in SBFD slots/symbols (please see paragraph [0329] of Deogun).
12. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun and Mahama (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0107541), hereinafter referred to as Mahama’541.
As per claim 16:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li and Deogun teaches the apparatus of claim 15 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a set of symbols within which repetitions of a PUCCH transmission configured based on the PUCCH resource are to be transmitted, the set of symbols comprising first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource and excluding second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Mahama’541 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a set of symbols within which repetitions of a PUCCH transmission configured based on the PUCCH resource are to be transmitted, the set of symbols comprising first symbols of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0105], for PUCCH repetition, skipping of repetitions for specific sets of slots can be performed. For example, from figure 5, the repetition on the configured PUCCH resource 501 overlaps with the respective DL SB can be skipped) and excluding second symbols of a different duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0106], in one embodiment, skipping is applied if PUCCH repetition overlaps (partially or fully) with the DL-SB in the SBFD slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the dropping of repetitive transmissions (as disclosed in Mahama’541) into Guo, Khan, Li and Deogun as a way of avoiding PUCCH resources overlapping with DL-SB in the transmission occasion (please see paragraph [0090] of Mahama’541).
13. Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun, Mahama’541 and Lu (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0226852).
As per claim 18:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun and Mahama’541 teaches the apparatus of claim 17 with the exception of:
wherein a frequency hopping pattern of the frequency hopping configuration is based on relative slots with respect to a first available slot for a PUCCH transmission associated with the PUCCH resource.
Lu teaches wherein a frequency hopping pattern of the frequency hopping configuration is based on relative slots with respect to a first available slot for a PUCCH transmission associated with the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0123], discloses, for PUCCH, configuring two sets of starting PRB and a second hop PRB as a frequency hopping pattern of the PUCCH in the SBFD slot and a frequency hopping pattern of the PUCCH in the uplink slot respectively).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
As per claim 19:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun, Mahama’541 and Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
The combination of Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541 do not teach wherein the relative slots comprise slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Lu teaches wherein the relative slots comprise slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see paragraph [0129], the frequency hopping mode for PUCCH transmission comprise at least two SBFD time units, the positions of the starting frequency resources indicated by the second frequency hopping pattern are located in an uplink subband in the SBFD time unit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
As per claim 20:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun, Mahama’541 and Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541 do not teach wherein the relative slots comprise sequential slots based on slot index regardless of a duplex type associated with each of the sequential slots.
Lu teaches wherein the relative slots comprise sequential slots based on slot index regardless of a duplex type associated with each of the sequential slots (see Figure 3, shows sequential transmission PUCCH transmission within the SBFD slots according to a frequency hopping pattern. Time slot ‘U’ corresponds to PUSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
As per claim 21:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun and Mahama’251 teaches the apparatus of claim 17 with the exception of:
wherein the frequency hopping configuration further comprises demodulation reference signal (DMRS) bundling comprising a time domain window (TDW) length of two or more consecutive slots within which repetitions of a PUCCH transmission associated with the PUCCH resource are transmitted on a same set of frequencies.
Lu teaches wherein the frequency hopping configuration further comprises demodulation reference signal (DMRS) bundling comprising a time domain window (TDW) length of two or more consecutive slots within which repetitions of a PUCCH transmission associated with the PUCCH resource are transmitted on a same set of frequencies (see paragraph [0120], disclose UE is configured to repeatedly perform inter-slot frequency hopping on the PUCCH and PUCCH-DMRS-bundling= ‘enabled’. The UE transmits the first repetition of the PUCCH in the indicated slot, where if PUCCH-frequency hop interval is provided. The UE repeats the PUCCH in the interval until the UE transmits the PUCCH in the N repeat slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
As per claim 22:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun, Mahama’251 and Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Guo, Khan, Li, Deohun and Mahama’251 do not teach wherein the two or more consecutive slots comprise slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource.
Lu teaches wherein the two or more consecutive slots comprise slots of a same duplex type as the PUCCH resource (see Figure 3, shows sequential transmission PUCCH transmission within the SBFD slots according to a frequency hopping pattern. Time slot ‘U’ corresponds to PUSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
As per claim 23:
Guo in view of Khan and further in view of Li, Deogun, Mahama’251 and Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Guo, Khan, Li, Deogun and Mahama’251 do not teach wherein the two or more consecutive slots comprise a set of sequential slots based on slot index regardless of a duplex type associated with each of the sequential slots, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: reset the TDW based on a duplex change to create an actual TDW spanning one or more sequential slots of the set of sequential slots of a same duplex type.
Lu teaches wherein the two or more consecutive slots comprise a set of sequential slots based on slot index regardless of a duplex type associated with each of the sequential slots, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: reset the TDW based on a duplex change to create an actual TDW spanning one or more sequential slots of the set of sequential slots of a same duplex type (see paragraph [0120], for PUCCH-DMRS-bundling=’enabled’, the UE transmits the PUCCH in N repeat slots, where a first interval is numbered 0, and subsequent intervals are sequentially counted. Each interval is counted regardless of whether the UE transmits the PUCCH in the interval).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the frequency hopping pattern for PUCCH (as disclosed in Lu) into Guo, Khan, Deogun and Mahama’541. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing signaling overhead while ensuring that frequency hopping in an SBFD slot does not exceed a range of an uplink subband (please see paragraph [0005] of Lu).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474