DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 should be changed to “The method of claim .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deak (US20080048506, “Deak”).
Re claim 1, Deak discloses an electrical generator comprising:
a plurality of turns of wire forming a coil 20 (fig 11, [0027]);
a generator magnet 40 positioned in an interior region of the coil 20 (figs 8 & 10-11, [0027] & [0031-0033]); and
an actuator movable relative to the generator magnet 40 (figs 1, 3-6 & 10, [0034] & [0036-0037]), the actuator configured such that the actuator moves the generator magnet 40 from a first position relative to a plane along which the coil 20 is disposed (figs 10, 14 & below, [0037], 1st position when 40 in center between stationary magnets 24a-b after 50 clears 42 as seen in fig 10) to a second position in which the poles of the generator magnet 40 are in a second position relative to the plane (figs 10, 14 & below, 2nd position indicated by dashed outline of magnet 40/paddle 42 below),
wherein the generator magnet 40 returns to the first position upon release of the actuator (figs 10, 14 & below, [0037-0038], after 50 clears paddle 42 & positioned in center by stationary magnets 24a-b), and
wherein movement of the generator magnet 40 from the second position to the first position induces a voltage across the coil 20 ([0033] & [0037], Deak discloses 40 moving from 1st to 2nd position induces voltage but movement from the 2nd to 1st positions inherently induces voltage since the magnetic field of 40 is moving through the coil to return to the 1st position).
Re claim 2, Deak discloses claim 1 and further discloses a stationary magnet 24a positioned adjacent to the generator magnet 40 (figs 10 & 14-15, [0030] & [0037-0038]), wherein the stationary magnet 24a applies a restoring force to the generator magnet to return the generator magnet 40 to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator (figs 10 & 14-15, [0033] & [0037]), and
wherein at least a part of the voltage induced across the coil 20 is due to the movement of the generator magnet 40 responsive to the restoring force (figs 10 & 14-15, [0033] & [0037], since 40 is moved from through 20 by 24a).
Re claim 13, Deak discloses electrical generator comprising:
a plurality of turns of wire forming a coil 20 (fig 11, [0027]);
a generator magnet 40 positioned in the coil 20 (figs 8 & 10-11, [0027] & [0031-0033]);
a stationary magnet 24a positioned below the generator magnet 40 (figs 10 & 14-15, [0030] & [0037-0038], below in the direction of movement of 40; also discloses apparatus can be mounted vertically-[0040]); and
an actuator movable relative to the generator magnet 40 (figs 1, 3-6 & 10, [0034] & [0036-0037]), the actuator configured such that the actuator moves the generator magnet 40 from a first position relative to a plane along which the coil 20 is disposed (figs 10, 14 & above for claim 1, [0037], 1st position when 40 in center between stationary magnets 24a-b after 50 clears 42 as seen in fig 10) to a second position in which the poles of the generator magnet 40 are in a second position relative to the plane (figs 10, 14 & above for claim 1, 2nd position indicated by dashed outline of magnet 40/paddle 42 below),
wherein the generator magnet 40 returns to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator (figs 10, 14 & above for claim 1, [0037-0038], after 50 clears paddle 42 & positioned in center by stationary magnets 24a-b), at least due in part to a restoring force applied to the generator magnet 40 by the stationary magnet 24a (figs 10 & 14-15, [0033] & [0037]), and
wherein movement of the generator magnet 40 from the second position to the first position, induces a voltage across the coil output terminals 44 or within the coil 20 ([0032-0033] & [0037], Deak discloses 40 moving from 1st to 2nd position induces voltage but movement from the 2nd to 1st positions inherently induces voltage since the magnetic field of 40 is moving through the coil to return to the 1st position).
Re claims 3 and 14, Deak discloses claims 2 and 13, respectively, and further discloses at least one of a flexure, hinge, or isolation pad positioned at an interface of the generator magnet 40 and the stationary magnet 24a (figs 10 & 14, 24a & 40 form isolation pad of air between them formed by repulsive magnetic flux).
Re claims 7 and 18, Deak discloses claims 1 and 13, respectively, and further discloses a casing 18 having a bobbin configured to hold the coil 20 (figs 7 & 9-10, [0030-0031], portion of 18 that holds 20).
Re claims 8 and 19, Deak discloses claims 1 and 13, respectively, and further discloses a casing 18 having at least one compartment configured to hold the generator magnet 40 (figs 9-10, [0031], compartment inside tube).
Re claim 11, Deak discloses a method for energy generation comprising:
positioning a generator magnet 40 within a coil 20 formed from a plurality of turns of wire (figs 8-11, [0027] & [0031-0033]),
actuating the generator magnet 40 from a first position relative to a plane along which the coil 20 is disposed (figs 10, 14 & above for claim 1, [0037], 1st position when 40 in center between stationary magnets 24a-b after 50 clears 42 as seen in fig 10) to a second position in which the poles of the generator magnet 40 are in a second position relative to the plane (figs 10, 14 & above for claim 1, 2nd position indicated by dashed outline of magnet 40/paddle 42 above for claim 1); and
inducing a voltage across the coil 20 by releasing the actuation of the generator magnet 40 such that the generator magnet moves from the second position to the first position ([0033] & [0037], Deak discloses 40 moving from 1st to 2nd position induces voltage but movement from the 2nd to 1st positions inherently induces voltage since the magnetic field of 40 is moving through the coil to return to the 1st position).
Re claim 12, Deak discloses claim 10 (as best understood by examiner claim 11) and further discloses applying, by a stationary magnet 24a positioned below the generator magnet 40 (fig 10, below in the direction of movement of 40; also discloses apparatus can be mounted vertically-[0040]), a restoring force to the generator magnet 40 to return the generator magnet to the first position from the second position (figs 10 & 14-15, [0033] & [0037]).
Re claim 20, Deak discloses claim 13 as discussed above and further discloses a casing 18 having at least one compartment configured to hold the stationary magnet 24a (figs 7 & 9-10, [0030]).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US20080164702, “Brown”).
Re claim 1, Brown discloses an electrical generator comprising:
a plurality of turns of wire forming a coil 114 (figs 5-7, [0051]);
a generator magnet 112 positioned in an interior region of the coil 114 (figs 5-7, [0051]); and
an actuator movable relative to the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0049] & [0052], includes 106, 108, 120 & 118), the actuator configured such that the actuator moves the generator magnet 112 from a first position relative to a plane along which the coil 114 is disposed (figs 5 & below, [0055]) to a second position in which the poles of the generator magnet 112 are in a second position relative to the plane (figs 6 & below, [0055-0056]),
wherein the generator magnet 112 returns to the first position upon release of the actuator (figs 4-5 & 7, [0058], when 112 is released from latches 120 magnet 112 vibrates up & down until it rests at initial position shown in fig 5, as demonstrated by displacement graph of fig 4), and
wherein movement of the generator magnet 112 from the second position to the first position induces a voltage across the coil 114 ([0057]).
Re claim 4, Brown discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the actuator comprises a first spring-loaded drive lobe 120 configured to move the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0052] & [0054-0057], 120 on left side in figs 5-7).
Re claim 5, Brown discloses claim 4 as discussed above and further discloses the actuator comprises a second spring-loaded drive lobe 120 configured to move the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0052] & [0054-0057], 120 on right side in figs 5-7).
Re claim 6, Brown discloses claim 5 as discussed above and further discloses the actuator further comprises: at least one retaining wall 108 on a terminal end of the actuator (fig 5, [0050], terminal end of 106), wherein the at least one retaining wall 108 is configured to position at least one of the first spring-loaded drive lobe 120 or the second spring-loaded drive lobe 120 (figs 5-6).
Re claim 10, Brown discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a spring flexure 110 coupled to and extending from the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0055]), wherein the spring flexure 110 guides the generator magnet 112 to return to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator (figs 5 & 7, [0057].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deak in view of Morganson (US2595870, “Morganson”).
Re claim 9, Deak discloses clam 1 as discussed above and further discloses a magnet return block 24a positioned below the generator magnet, wherein the magnet return block 24a is coupled to the generator magnet 20 to return the generator magnet to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator (figs 10 & 14-15, [0033] & [0037], 24a coupled to 20 through 18; or alternatively magnetically repulsively coupled to each other).
Deak is silent with respect to the magnet return block 24a is a ferrous steel return block. Specifically Deak discloses 24a is a permanent magnet, but not what it is made of.
Morganson discloses permanent magnets made of ferrous steel (fig 3, col 3, lns 51-61, carbon steel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (permanent magnet material of Deak) for another known equivalent element (ferrous steel, as disclosed by Morganson) resulting in the predictable result of forming a permanent magnet.
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Yarger et al. (US20080074083, “Yarger”).
Re claim 1, Brown discloses an electrical generator comprising:
a plurality of turns of wire forming a coil 114 (figs 5-7, [0051]);
a generator magnet 112 positioned in the coil 114 (figs 5-7, [0051]); and
an actuator movable relative to the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0049] & [0052], includes 106, 108, 120 & 118), the actuator configured such that the actuator moves the generator magnet 112 from a first position relative to a plane along which the coil 114 is disposed (figs 5 & below, [0055]) to a second position in which the poles of the generator magnet 112 are in a second position relative to the plane (figs 6 & below, [0055-0056]),
wherein the generator magnet 112 returns to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator (figs 4-5 & 7, [0058], when 112 is released from latches 120 magnet 112 vibrates up & down until it rests at initial position shown in fig 5, as demonstrated by displacement graph of fig 4), and
wherein movement of the generator magnet 112 from the second position to the first position induces a voltage across the coil output terminals 116 or within the coil 114 ([0051] & [0057]).
Brown discloses claim 13 except for:
a stationary magnet positioned below the generator magnet; and
the generator magnet returns to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator at least due in part to a restoring force applied to the generator magnet by the stationary magnet.
Yarger discloses a stationary magnet 142 positioned below the generator magnet 214 (fig 33, [0154]); and
the generator magnet 124 returns to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator at least due in part to a restoring force applied to the generator magnet 124 by the stationary magnet 142 (fig 33, [0160], 1st position shown in fig 10 when actuator/vibration has been applied; 2nd position when 124 moving toward 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electrical generator of Brown with a stationary magnet positioned below the generator magnet; and the generator magnet returns to the first position from the second position upon release of the actuator at least due in part to a restoring force applied to the generator magnet by the stationary magnet, as disclosed by Yarger, in order to provide additional force on the generator magnet, as taught by Yarger ([0160]).
Re claim 15, Brown in view of Yarger disclose claim 13 as discussed above. Brown further discloses the actuator comprises a first spring-loaded drive lobe 120 configured to move the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0052] & [0054-0057], 120 on left side in figs 5-7).
Re claim 16, Brown in view of Yarger disclose claim 15 as discussed above. Brown further discloses the actuator comprises a second spring-loaded drive lobe 120 configured to move the generator magnet 112 (figs 5-7, [0052] & [0054-0057], 120 on right side in figs 5-7).
Re claim 17, Brown in view of Yarger disclose claim 16 as discussed above. Brown further discloses the actuator further comprises: at least one retaining wall 108 on a terminal end of the actuator (fig 5, [0050], terminal end of 106), wherein the at least one retaining wall 108 is configured to position at least one of the first spring-loaded drive lobe 120 or the second spring-loaded drive lobe 120 (figs 5-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deak (US20160134173) and Hanchett (US20110254285) read on at least claims 1-2, 11 and 13.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834