DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that a clip engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body. Claim 17 recites that the clip is a pre-positioning clip, which is inserted into each rotation end. Yet claim 1 already designates the clip as the rotation clip. It is unclear how the clip that is used for the rotation end can be said to also be used for the fixed fitting and then said to be used for the rotation end. Claim 18 is similarly affected.
Claim 19, it is unclear how “a clip” that is said to be used for the rotation fitting is now recited as two clips, one of which is used with the fixed fitting. A clip typically conveys a single clip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ketcham et al (US 4,869,534).
As to claim 1, Ketcham et al discloses an apparatus comprising: a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (32/34) and one or more rotation ends (30) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (12) located at least partially inside the connector body (after insertion into the connector body) through each rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (36); and a clip (16) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body (swivelable).
As to claim 2, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the clip comprises a rotation clip; the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (40) and a rotation clip first arm (38) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 3, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip is flush with, or located inside, each rotation end. Refer to Figs. 1 and 2.
As to claim 4, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip base defines a rotation clip projection space (defined by the space within the confines of the clip arms (38) and base (40)), and each rotation end comprises a rotation clip projection member (a lateral edge face of apertures 36c, 36d); the rotation clip projection member is located inside the rotation clip projection space.
As to claim 5, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip first arm comprises a rotation clip arm projection (44), and each rotation end comprises a rotation end ledge (lower lateral edges of apertures 36c, 36d); and when the rotation clip is fully inserted the rotation clip arm projection engages the rotation end ledge to secure each rotation clip to each rotation end (see 2: 37-39).
As to claim 6, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the rotation clip further comprises a rotation clip second arm (38) that also engages the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 7, Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the rotation clip is symmetrical about a plane. Refer to Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2019/0226616 A1) in view of Graham (US 3,538,940).
As to claim 1, Chen et al discloses an apparatus comprising: a connecting apparatus comprising: a connector (FIG. 4), wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (20) and a fitting end (10) fixedly coupled to the connector body via a locking clip (30). The connector body includes multiple ends.
Chen et al fails to teach one or more rotation ends coupled to the connector body, a rotation fitting located at least partially inside the connector body through each end; the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove; and a clip engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotating rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body.
However, Graham teaches a multi-fitting assembly that includes multiple ends, a plurality of which rotatably secure a fitting via locking clips (24), and one end fixedly secures fitting (26; 3:66 - 4:7). Rotatable fitting members (28, 30, 32) each include a groove (42) that is alignable with a slot (20) in the fitting block so as to permit connection of a locking clip (24). Graham therefore provides the general teaching of a multi-port fitting having both rotation and fixed ends that are secured via locking clips.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al such that one or more of the connector body ends includes a rotatable connection secured by a locking clip, as taught by Graham, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide connection of a rotatable fitting, in order to suit and/or accommodate other design requirements.
As to claim 2, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the clip comprises a rotation clip (24, Graham); the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (FIG. 1, Graham) and a rotation clip first arm (22, Graham) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (FIGs. 1 and 2, Graham).
As to claim 8, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the connecting apparatus further comprises a fixed fitting (10, Chen); wherein the connecting apparatus further comprises a pre-positioning clip (30, Chen), and the connector body further comprises a pre-positioning end (22, Chen); the fixed fitting is located at least partially inside the pre-positioning end; and the pre-positioning clip extends inside the pre-positioning end and prevents rotation of the fixed fitting in relation to the connector body ([0019], ll. 27-29, Chen).
As to claim 9, Chen et al/Graham/Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the fixed fitting defines a fixed fitting groove (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen), and the pre-positioning clip comprises a pre-positioning clip base (31, Chen) and a pre-positioning clip first arm (32, Chen); and the pre-positioning clip first arm engages the fixed fitting groove (see Figs. 3 and 4, Chen).
As to claim 10, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the fixed fitting comprises a fixed fitting positioning element (133, Chen) that is located inside a pre-positioning hole (132, Chen) that is defined by the pre-positioning end.
As to claim 11, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the fixed fitting further comprises one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen) that are located in the fixed fitting groove; and the one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions help prevent rotational movement of the fixed fitting by abutting the pre-positioning clip first arm (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen).
As to claim 12, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the pre-positioning clip further comprises a pre-positioning clip second arm (32) that also engages a second fixed fitting groove (see Figs. 3 and 4, Chen).
As to claim 14, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the pre-positioning clip defines a pre-positioning projection space (the space defined by the base and two arms, Chen), and the pre-positioning end comprises a pre-positioning end projection (133, Chen) that is located inside the pre-positioning projection space.
As to claim 15, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the rotation clip is sized and/or shaped such that the rotation clip cannot be fully inserted into the pre-positioning end; the pre- positioning clip is sized or shaped such that the pre-positioning clip cannot be fully inserted into the rotation end; or a combination thereof.
As to claim 16, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the pre-positioning clip comprises a pre-positioning clip base (31, Chen) and at least one pre-positioning clip arm (32, Chen); and when the pre-positioning clip is fully inserted into the pre-positioning end, the pre-positioning clip base is exposed (see Fig. 3, Chen); at least a portion of the at least one pre-positioning clip arm is exposed; or a combination thereof.
As to claim 21, Chen et al discloses an apparatus comprising: a connecting apparatus comprising: a connector (FIG. 4), wherein the connecting apparatus comprises a fixed fitting (10, Chen); wherein the connecting apparatus further comprises a pre-positioning clip (30, Chen), and the connector body further comprises a pre-positioning end (22, Chen); the fixed fitting is located at least partially inside the pre-positioning end; and the pre-positioning clip extends inside the pre-positioning end and prevents rotation of the fixed fitting in relation to the connector body ([0019], ll. 27-29, Chen); wherein the fixed fitting defines a fixed fitting groove (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen), and the pre-positioning clip comprises a pre-positioning clip base (31, Chen) and a pre-positioning clip first arm (32, Chen); and the pre-positioning clip first arm engages the fixed fitting groove (see Figs. 3 and 4, Chen); one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen) that are
located in the fixed fitting groove; and the one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions help prevent rotational movement of the fixed fitting by abutting the pre-positioning clip first arm (groove structure shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0015] and [0017], Chen).
Chen et al fails to teach a connector body comprising a rotation end; a rotation fitting located at least partially inside the rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove; a rotation clip that engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside the rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein the rotating fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body.
However, Graham teaches a multi-fitting assembly that includes multiple ends, a plurality of which rotatably secure a fitting via locking clips (24), and one end fixedly secures fitting (26; 3:66 - 4:7). Rotatable fitting members (28, 30, 32) each include a groove (42) that is alignable with a slot (20) in the fitting block so as to permit connection of a locking clip (24). Graham therefore provides the general teaching of a multi-port fitting having both rotation and fixed ends that are secured via locking clips.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al such that one or more of the connector body ends includes a rotatable connection secured by a locking clip, as taught by Graham, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide connection of a rotatable fitting, in order to suit and/or accommodate other design requirements.
Ketcham et al teaches a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (32/34) and a rotation end (as at 30) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (12) located at least partially inside the connector body (after insertion into the connector body) through each rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (36); and a clip (16) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body (swivelable); wherein the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (40) and a rotation clip first arm (38) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the rotation clip first arm comprises a rotation clip arm projection (44), and each rotation end comprises a rotation end ledge (lower lateral edges of apertures 36c, 36d); and when the rotation clip is fully inserted the rotation clip arm projection engages the rotation end ledge to secure each rotation clip to each rotation end (see 2: 37-39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al/Graham such that the configuration of the rotation fitting locking assembly takes that as taught by Ketcham et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate a rotation fitting (12) having a tapered barbed design like that of Ketcham.
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2019/0226616 A1) in view of Graham (US 3,538,940), and further in view of Ketcham et al.
As to claim 3, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, except that the rotation clip is flush with, or located inside, each rotation end.
Ketcham et al teaches a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (32/34) and a rotation end (as at 30) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (12) located at least partially inside the connector body (after insertion into the connector body) through each rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (36); and a clip (16) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body (swivelable). As shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the clip (16) is flush with, or located inside, the rotation end.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al/Graham such that the configuration of the rotation fitting locking assembly takes that as taught by Ketcham et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate a rotation fitting (12) having a tapered barbed design like that of Ketcham.
As to claim 4, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, except that the rotation clip base defines a rotation clip projection space, and each rotation end comprises a rotation clip projection member; the rotation clip projection member is located inside the rotation clip projection space.
Ketcham et al teaches a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (32/34) and a rotation end (as at 30) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (12) located at least partially inside the connector body (after insertion into the connector body) through each rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (36); and a clip (16) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body (swivelable); wherein the clip comprises a rotation clip; the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (40) and a rotation clip first arm (38) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the rotation clip base defines a rotation clip projection space (defined by the space within the confines of the clip arms (38) and base (40)), and each rotation end comprises a rotation clip projection member (a lateral edge face of apertures 36c, 36d); the rotation clip projection member is located inside the rotation clip projection space.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al/Graham such that the configuration of the rotation fitting locking assembly takes that as taught by Ketcham et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate a rotation fitting (12) having a tapered barbed design like that of Ketcham.
As to claim 5, Chen et al/Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, except that the rotation clip first arm comprises a rotation clip arm projection, and each rotation end comprises a rotation end ledge; and when the rotation clip is fully inserted the rotation clip arm projection engages the rotation end ledge to secure each rotation clip to each rotation end.
Ketcham et al teaches a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (32/34) and a rotation end (as at 30) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (12) located at least partially inside the connector body (after insertion into the connector body) through each rotation end, wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (36); and a clip (16) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove; wherein each rotation fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body (swivelable); wherein the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (40) and a rotation clip first arm (38) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the rotation clip first arm comprises a rotation clip arm projection (44), and each rotation end comprises a rotation end ledge (lower lateral edges of apertures 36c, 36d); and when the rotation clip is fully inserted the rotation clip arm projection engages the rotation end ledge to secure each rotation clip to each rotation end (see 2: 37-39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen et al/Graham such that the configuration of the rotation fitting locking assembly takes that as taught by Ketcham et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to accommodate a rotation fitting (12) having a tapered barbed design like that of Ketcham.
As to claim 6, Chen et al/Graham/Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the rotation clip further comprises a rotation clip second arm (38, Ketcham et al) that also engages the rotation fitting groove.
As to claim 7, Chen et al/Graham/Ketcham et al discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the rotation clip is symmetrical about a plane. Refer to Fig. 1 in Ketcham et al.
Conclusion
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679