DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Refer to the following rejections and the interpretations provided therein.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/23/26. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 10, “rotating” should be --rotation--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graham (US 3,538,940).
As to claim 1, Graham discloses an apparatus comprising: a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (12) and one or more rotation ends (w/slots for fittings 28, 30, 32) coupled to the connector body; a rotation fitting (28, 30 or 32; see col. 5, ll. 32-37) located at least partially inside the connector body through each rotation end (see Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (e.g. 42); and a clip (24) engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside each rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove (see Figs. 1 and 2); wherein each rotating fitting can rotate in relation to the connector (see col. 5, ll. 32-37).
As to claim 2, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the clip comprises a rotation clip, the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (top horizontal portion) and a rotation clip first arm (22) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove (Fig. 2).
As to claim 3, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip is flush with, or located inside, each rotation end (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 4, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip base defines a rotation clip projection space, and each rotation end comprises a rotation clip projection member (52); the rotation clip projection member is located inside the rotation clip projection space (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 5, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotation clip first arm comprises a rotation clip arm projection, and each rotation end comprises a rotation end ledge (of an inner wall defining the slots 20); and when the rotation clip is fully inserted, the rotation clip arm projection engages the rotation end ledge to secure each rotation clip to each rotation clip end. Refer to above annotated figure.
As to claim 6, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the rotation clip further comprises a rotation clip second arm (22) that also engages the rotation fitting groove (Fig. 2).
As to claim 7, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the rotation clip is symmetrical about a (vertical or lengthwise) plane (Fig. 1).
As to claim 8, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the connecting apparatus further comprises a fixed fitting (26; 3:66 - 4:4); wherein the connecting apparatus further comprises a pre-positioning clip (24 for fitting 26), and the connector body further comprises a pre-positioning end (for fitting 26); the fixed fitting is located at least partially inside the pre-positioning end (Fig. 2); and the pre- positioning clip extends inside the pre-positioning end (Figs. 2-3) and prevents rotation of the fixed fitting in relation to the connector body (see 3:66 - 4:4, 5:32-37).
As to claim 9, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the fixed fitting (26) defines a fixed fitting groove (50), and the pre-positioning clip comprises a pre-positioning clip base (top portion) and a pre-positioning clip first arm (22); and the pre-positioning clip first arm engages the fixed fitting groove (Figs. 2-3).
As to claim 10, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the fixed fitting comprises a fixed fitting positioning element (62) that is located inside a pre-positioning hole (bore) that is defined by the pre-positioning end (Fig. 2).
As to claim 11, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the fixed fitting further comprises one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions (52) that are located in the fixed fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2); and the one or more fixed fitting groove obstructions help prevent rotational movement of the fixed fitting by abutting the pre-positioning clip first arm (see 3:66 - 4:4).
As to claim 12, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the pre-positioning clip further comprises a pre-positioning clip second arm (22) that also engages a second fixed fitting groove (defined by surface 52).
As to claim 14, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the pre-positioning clip (24 for fitting 26) defines a pre-positioning projection space (see below), and the pre-positioning end comprises a pre-positioning end projection (52) that is located inside the pre-positioning projection space (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 15, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the rotation clip is sized and/or shaped such that the rotation clip cannot be fully inserted into the pre-positioning end; the pre-positioning clip is sized or shaped such that the pre-positioning clip cannot be fully inserted into the rotation end; or a combination thereof (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 16, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the pre-positioning clip comprises a pre-positioning clip base (top horizontal portion) and at least one pre-positioning clip arm (22); and when the pre-positioning clip is fully inserted into the pre-positioning end, the pre-positioning clip base is exposed; at least a portion of the at least one pre-positioning clip arm is exposed; or a combination thereof (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 17, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the clip comprises a pre-positioning clip (24); the pre- positioning clip comprises one or more pre-positioning clip arms (22), and each pre-positioning clip arm comprises an engagement (44); and each rotation end defines a side hole (as at 20 in Fig. 1) and the engagement engages the side hole when the pre-positioning clip is partially inserted into each rotation end.
As to claim 18, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein when the pre-positioning clip is partially inserted into each rotation end (so that the distal ends of the arms have just entered the slots), the rotation fitting can be inserted into the connector body (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 19, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the clip comprises a rotation clip (24 for fittings 28, 30, 32) and a pre-positioning clip (24 for fitting 26), the one or more rotation ends comprise a first rotation end (for fitting 30) and a second rotation end (for fitting 26); the rotation clip comprises a rotation clip base (top portion) and a rotation clip first arm (22) extending from the rotation clip base; and the rotation clip first arm engages the rotation fitting groove of the first rotation end (see Fig. 2); the pre-positioning clip comprises one or more pre-positioning clip arms (22), and each pre-positioning clip arm comprises an engagement (44); and the second rotation end defines a side hole (as at 20); the engagement engages the side hole when the pre-positioning clip is partially inserted into the second rotation end (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 20, Graham discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein when the pre-positioning clip is partially inserted into the second rotation end (so that the distal ends of the arms have just entered the slots), the rotation fitting can be inserted into the second rotation end (Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 21, Graham discloses an apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a connecting apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector, wherein the connector comprises: a connector body (12) comprising a rotation end (for fitting 30) and a pre-positioning end (for fitting 26); a rotation fitting (30) located at least partially inside the rotation end (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the rotation fitting defines a rotation fitting groove (e.g. 42); a fixed fitting (26) located at least partially inside the pre-positioning end (Fig. 2), wherein the fixed fitting defines a fixed fitting groove (50) and comprises a fixed fitting groove obstruction (52); a rotation clip (24) that engages and secures the rotation fitting to the connector body by extending inside the rotation end and engaging the rotation fitting groove (Figs. 1 and 2); and a pre-positioning clip (24) that engages and secures the fixed fitting to the connector body by extending inside the pre-positioning end and engages the fixed fitting groove and the fixed fitting groove obstruction (Fig. 2); wherein the rotating fitting can rotate in relation to the connector body and the pre- positioning clip and the fixed fitting prevent rotation of the fixed fitting in relation to the connector body (see 3:66 - 4:4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679