DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to applicant’s argument that none of the references teach “acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a display of the authentication image by the terminal apparatus; and display, on the display after the subsequent authentication of the user, a screen for the user to execute a process,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that applicant’s argument appear to be based around the word subsequent. The examiner is taking the position that subsequent will refer to anything that follows. Watanabe discloses that the QR code can be displayed after the authentication is performed at the MFP, paragraph 111. Although Watanabe discloses displaying the QR code at the MFP, the QR code is not displayed until after, subsequent, to the user being authenticated at the MFP. The user can not only be authenticated at the time, but can also be authenticated earlier by the in-house system. This can be through the display, paragraphs 17 and 58. Even if the user is authenticated during the same process, this is still a different authentication. Therefore, the QR code authentication that occurs after the user authentication is a subsequent authentication. After the authentication is complete, the display is updated to allow the user to utilize the device, paragraph 107.
Although Watanabe discloses display of the QR code on the MFP, Saita is used to show that the QR code can be displayed on separate device, paragraphs 119 and 123. Therefore, the display of the QR code would be a separate form of authentication and therefore a subsequent authentication. Any action that happens as a result of the authentication, such as using the device, would occur after all authentication is complete, such as paragraph 107 of Watanabe. Therefore, Watanabe in view of Saita does teach “acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a display of the authentication image by the terminal apparatus; and display, on the display after the subsequent authentication of the user, a screen for the user to execute a process.”
It is noted that the objection to the title is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2016081523) in view of Saita (US 2020/0285436).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe teaches an apparatus (Element 14) communicably connected with a terminal apparatus (Element 11) and an information processing system (Paragraphs 3 and 10 and element 10), the apparatus comprising:
a display to display an input screen for receiving input of authentication information from a user (Paragraphs 17 and 58, wherein the user logs into the device with a password through the display); and
circuitry configured to:
receive the input of the authentication information of the user (Paragraph 111, wherein the user is authenticated);
convert the authentication information into an authentication image based on a success of authentication using the authentication information of the user (Paragraphs 112 and 113, wherein a QR code is generated);
display the authentication image on a display (Paragraph 113, wherein a QR code is displayed. This is done after the user is authenticated, therefore subsequent 107);
display, on the display after the subsequent authentication of the user, a screen for the user to execute a process (Paragraph 107, wherein after the user is authenticated, the user can operate the device).
Watanabe does not teach acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a subsequent display of the authentication image by the terminal apparatus.
Saita does teach acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a subsequent display of the authentication image by the terminal apparatus (Paragraph 119 and 123, wherein the authentication information is displayed by the wearable. This can be a QR code. This would be after the authentication as performed by Watanabe).
Watanabe and Saita are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe with the teachings of Saita for the purpose of properly authenticating devices of a user (Saita: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Watanabe further teaches wherein
the input screen includes an input field for input of the authentication information and a display component for instructing login based on presentation of the authentication image (Paragraph 58, wherein the user can input authentication information),
the input of the authentication information is received via the input field (Paragraph 58, wherein the user can input authentication information),
and the authentication image displayed to be captured by the terminal apparatus (Paragraphs 59, 61, and 62, wherein the QR code is captured accordingly).
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe further teaches wherein circuitry processes the data by printing the data (Paragraph 122, wherein a file can be printed).
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe further teaches wherein circuitry processes the data by registering, in the information processing system, image data generated based on scanning of an original (Paragraph 107 and 120, wherein scan data can be processed).
Regarding Claim 11, Watanabe further teaches wherein the circuitry processes the data includes by setting, in the apparatus, a print setting or a read setting associated with the identification information of the user and acquired by the circuitry (Paragraph 120, wherein the settings can be configured to produce a job).
Regarding Claim 12, Watanabe teaches an authentication system (Paragraph 1), comprising:
a display to display an input screen for receiving input of authentication information from a user (Paragraphs 17 and 58, wherein the user logs into the device with a password through the display); and
circuitry configured to:
receive the input of the authentication information of the user (Paragraph 111, wherein the user is authenticated);
convert the authentication information input into an authentication image based on a success of authentication using the authentication information of the user (Paragraphs 112 and 113, wherein a QR code is generated);
display the authentication image on the display (Paragraph 113, wherein a QR code is displayed. This is done after the user is authenticated, therefore subsequent 107);
display, on the display after the subsequent authentication of the user, a screen for the user to execute a process (Paragraph 107, wherein after the user is authenticated, the user can operate the device).
Watanabe does not teach acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a display of the authentication image by a terminal apparatus.
Saita does teach acquire, according to a subsequent authentication of the user, the authentication information of the user based on a display of the authentication image by a terminal apparatus (Paragraph 119 and 123, wherein the authentication information is displayed by the wearable. This can be a QR code. This would be after the authentication as performed by Watanabe).
Watanabe and Saita are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe with the teachings of Saita for the purpose of properly authenticating devices of a user (Saita: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 15, Watanabe further teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions (Paragraph 22) which, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to perform the authentication method of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, Watanabe teaches when the input of authentication information is received, display on the display the authentication image and acquire the data associated with the identification information (Paragraph 113, wherein the QR code can be displayed), and
when the authentication information of the user is acquired, acquire the data associated with the identification information without displaying the authentication image (Paragraph 111 and 112, wherein the data is not displayed unit a display request).
Regarding Claim 17, Watanabe teaches the terminal apparatus, which is configured to:
capture the authentication image displayed on the display (Paragraph 114, wherein the smartphone captures the authentication QR code);
store the authentication image (Paragraph 119, wherein in order to capture an analyze a QR code, it has to be at least temporarily stored).
Watanabe does not teach display the authentication image.
Saita does teach display the authentication image (Paragraph 119 and 123, wherein the authentication information is displayed by the wearable. This can be a QR code).
Watanabe and Saita are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe with the teachings of Saita for the purpose of properly authenticating devices of a user (Saita: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Watanabe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire, from the information processing system, data associated with identification information of the user (Paragraph 17 and 58, wherein user information is associated with the initial login).
Regarding Claim 19, Watanabe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to execute the process using the data (Paragraphs 107, 120, and 122, wherein the data is processed according the designation of the user).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2016081523) in view of Saita (US 2020/0285436) further in view of Hosoda (US 2020/0233619).
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to display on the display a selection screen for receiving selection of login methods including a first login method in which the authentication information of the user is input and a second login method in which the authentication image is presented (Paragraphs 59 and 61, wherein a QR code can be generated for logging in with user ID),
in a case that the selection of the first login method is received and authentication using the authentication information is successful, convert the authentication information into the authentication image, which is then displayed for capture by the terminal apparatus (Paragraphs 59, 61, and 62, wherein the QR code is captured accordingly).
Watanabe in view of Saita does not teach display on the display a selection screen for receiving selection of login methods including a first login method in which the authentication information of the user is input and a second login method in which the authentication image is presented.
Hosoda does teach display on the display a selection screen for receiving selection of login methods including a first login method in which the authentication information of the user is input and a second login method in which the authentication image is presented (Paragraph 38, wherein the user can select the mode of authentication. Although this states that a mode can be an IC card, Watanabe states that the IC card and QR code can be used together, paragraphs 59 and 61).
Watanabe and Hosoda are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita with the teachings of Hosoda for the purpose of allowing for further support of different cloud print services (Hosoda: Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hosoda further teaches wherein in a case that the selection of the first login method is received, display on the display the input field for input of the authentication information (Paragraph 38, wherein a user can login through entering information), and
in a case that the selection of the second login method is received, display on the display an authentication screen for prompting the user to present the authentication image (Paragraph 38, wherein the user can select the mode of authentication. Although this states that a mode can be an IC card, Watanabe states that the IC card and QR code can be used together, paragraphs 59 and 61).
Watanabe and Hosoda are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita with the teachings of Hosoda for the purpose of allowing for further support of different cloud print services (Hosoda: Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Watanabe further teaches wherein in response to receiving input of the authentication information, display on the display information screen indicating that an authentication process is underway (Paragraph 78, wherein the user starts the authentication process and the display updates accordingly).
Watanabe in view of Saita does not teach in response to receiving pressing of the display component, display on the display an authentication screen prompting the user to present the authentication image.
Hosoda does teach in response to receiving pressing of the display component, display on the display an authentication screen prompting the user to present the authentication image (Paragraph 38, wherein the user can select the mode of authentication. Although this states that a mode can be an IC card, Watanabe states that the IC card and QR code can be used together, paragraphs 59 and 61).
Watanabe and Hosoda are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita with the teachings of Hosoda for the purpose of allowing for further support of different cloud print services (Hosoda: Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe in view of Saita does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to:
acquire a list of the data associated with the identification information of the user from the information processing system based on the success of authentication of the user;
display on the display the list of the data;
receive selection, from the user, of the data from the list of the data; and
acquire, from the information processing system, the data that is selected.
Hosoda does teach wherein the circuitry is configured to:
acquire a list of the data associated with the identification information of the user from the information processing system based on the success of authentication of the user (Paragraph 65, wherein a list is generated);
display on the display the list of the data (Paragraph 65, wherein the list is displayed);
receive selection, from the user, of the data from the list of the data (Paragraph 66, wherein a user selects from the list); and
acquire, from the information processing system, the data that is selected (Paragraph 66, wherein the job is transmitted accordingly).
Watanabe and Hosoda are combinable because they both deal with secure printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita with the teachings of Hosoda for the purpose of allowing for further support of different cloud print services (Hosoda: Paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2016081523) in view of Saita (US 2020/0285436) further in view of Hosoda (US 2020/0233619) further in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe in view of Saita further in view of Hosoda does not teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to display on the display an indication for recommending capture and storage of the authentication image that is converted, when displaying the authentication image.
As per the previously uncontested official notice, it is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an indication to save the QR code that is presented to be able to be used later. When authentication information is presented that can be used later, it is typically suggested to save this information. This would be known to apply to a QR code.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita further in view of Hosoda with an indication of saving the authentication image for the purpose of allowing the user to easily login again to the same device.
Regarding Claim 7, Watanabe in view of Saita further in view of Hosoda does not teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to encrypt the authentication information input by the user, and
convert the authentication information that is encrypted into the authentication image.
As per the previously uncontested official notice, it is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to encrypt the authentication information when providing it for additional and later retrieval. When proof of authentication is being done, one of ordinary skill in the art, would realize that this information does not need to be easily replicated. The purpose of authentication is to secure the device or information. Therefore, having the authentication information being retrieval for later use would potentially warrant encryption. As described by Watanabe, this can be a QR code. Therefore, it would be obvious to encrypt the QR code for later use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Watanabe in view of Saita further in view of Hosoda with an encrypted QR code for the purpose of allowing the user to easily login again to the same device securely.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699