DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 19 November 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04 January 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 1, it is unclear as to what constitutes “sparkle grade.” The instant Claim and Specification describes usage of a spectrophotometer to obtain the noted measurement; however the meaning of the term remains ambiguous. A search of powder coating art does not suggest this is a term understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, Claim 1 is ambiguous. For purposes of examination, powder coating compositions comprising effect pigment content within the claimed range are understood to read on the claim. Claims 2-7 are similarly rejected to the extent that they depend from Claim 1 and do not resolve the noted ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being and/or (a)(2) by US 3,843,571 to E. B. Fitzgerald (“Fitzgerald”).
With regard to Claims 1, Fitzgerald teaches a powder coating featuring a sparkle appearance composition comprising less than 0.2 wt. % of effect pigment based on a total weight of the coating, and articles coated thereby (see Abstract; Col. 1, Lns. 6-32; Col. 14, Lns. 13-31; Claim 1).
With regard to Claim 2, the compositions of Fitzgerald are understood to comprise the claimed flop index property in view of the reference’s disclosure of a composition reading upon Claim 1 and sparkle appearance description thereof (see Abstract; Col. 1, Lns. 24-31).
With regard to Claim 3, Fitzgerald teaches compositions comprising thermoplastic acrylic polymer comprising cellulose acetate butyrate at amounts within the claimed range, and mixture therewith of additional compositions comprising backbones of acrylic copolymer, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride, and silicone-containing polymers (see Col. 2, Lns. 50-51; Col. 9, Ln. 60 through Col. 10, Ln. 20; Col. 16, Example 1; Col. 17 formulations).
With regard to Claims 5-6, Fitzgerald teaches coatings comprising reaction products of polyester resin and polymeric epoxy in addition to isocyanate (see Col. 9 Ln. 16 through Col. 14, Ln. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgerald.
With regard to Claims 4 and 7, Fitzgerald teaches mixtures of powder coating materials featuring the claimed constituents (see Col. 2, Lns. 20-26 and Lns. 50-51; Col. 9 Ln. 16 through Col. 14, Ln. 10; Col. 16, Example 1; Col. 17 formulations) without particularly limited proportions thereof; however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed amount of such components. Given Fitzgerald’s aims of providing finishes for automotive bodies (see Abstract; Col. 1, Ln. 26), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed amounts throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in obtaining a desired finish appearance.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715