DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 8th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the application, with claims 16-20 withdrawn. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for Claim 1 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the valve-shaft-suction-application port must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “circumferential seal elements extending circumferentially… and radially outwardly from an outer surface of portions of the cylindrical seal member” which is confusing and unclear. According to this limitation, the circumferential seal elements extend around the seal member and radially outward from the surface of a portion of the seal member, however, the limitation further states that the circumferential seal elements are positioned “proximal and distal to said circumferential seal elements.” Based on the current recitation of the claim, it appears as if the seal elements are positioned proximal and distal to themselves which is indefinite as to the intended structure. The amendments made do not alleviate this indefiniteness as it is still unclear what the circumferential seal elements are positioned proximal and distal in relation to.
Claims 3, 5 recite the limitation "valve-well-suction-application port" in its first appearance. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al. (US 20150148608 A1, hereinafter Fukushima).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukushima discloses
A valve component (valve shaft 66 + valve cylinder 50, FIGS. 2-4) for a medical valve assembly (suction button unit 29, FIG. 3), the valve component comprising:
a valve shaft (valve shaft 66, FIGS. 3-4) extendable through a valve well (valve cylinder 50, FIGS. 2-3) of a valve assembly (suction button unit 29, FIG. 3) and along an actuation axis (par. 85 discloses rotation of valve shaft about axis in the valve cylinder), and
defining a valve-shaft-suction-source port (upper hole opening 71 + upper passage hole 74, FIGS. 3-5) extending transverse to the actuation axis (depicted in FIG. 5), and
a valve-shaft-suction-application port (flow path surface 72, FIGS. 3-5) extending axially along the actuation axis and in fluid communication with the valve-shaft-suction-source port (FIGS. 3-5, par. 62 discloses flow path surface extends in axial direction; par. 67 discloses flow path surface cooperates with upper passage hole for fluid connection); and
a cylindrical seal member (cap device 52 + button housing 75, FIG. 5) extending circumferentially around the valve shaft and defining a suction-source communication port (plurality of wall vents 89, FIG. 6) in fluid communication with the valve-shaft- suction-source port (par. 72 discloses wall vents create flow path between upper passage hole and cap device);
wherein the valve shaft is axially movable within a valve well (valve cylinder 50, FIGS. 2-3) between an off position in which the valve assembly is in an off configuration with the valve-shaft-suction-source port not in fluid communication with a valve-well-suction-source port (suction port hole 57, FIGS. 3, 9-10) of the valve well (FIGS. 3, 9, par. 93-95 disclose inactive state with no fluid communication), and
an on position in which the valve assembly is in an on configuration with the valve-shaft-suction-source port in fluid communication with the valve-well-suction-source port (FIG. 10, par. 95 disclose active position where flow path surface is in communication with suction port hole).
Regarding Claim 4, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 1,
wherein the valve shaft has a proximal end (button cap 47, FIG. 3) extending away from the valve well for actuation by a user (FIG. 3, par. 94-95 disclose button cap is depressed, i.e. actuated by user), and
a distal end (small diameter portion 66b, FIGS. 3-5) extending within the valve well (depicted in FIG. 3),
the valve assembly further comprising a shaft seal member (seal packing 53, FIGS. 3-5) adjacent the distal end of the valve shaft (depicted in FIGS. 3-5).
Regarding Claim 5, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 4, wherein the shaft seal member seals between the valve-well-suction-source port and the valve-well-suction-application port (discharge port hole 56, FIG. 3, par. 92 disclose suction conduit and discharge conduit are closed from communication via tight sealing by the seal packing).
Regarding Claim 6, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 1, wherein the cylindrical seal member defines one or more suction bleed passages (plurality of wall vents 89 + plurality of cap vents 95, FIGS. 5-6) axially along the cylindrical seal member between the valve shaft and the cylindrical seal member (depicted in FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 6, wherein the one or more suction bleed passages are in fluid communication with air outside the valve assembly to allow air from outside the valve assembly to bleed a suction source in fluid communication with the valve-well-suction-source port when the suction source is running and the valve assembly is in the off configuration (par. 72 discloses plurality of wall vents create flow path between upper passage hole and cap device for flow of air in the inactive state, i.e. off configuration, par. 76 discloses cap vents are open to the atmosphere and the valve assembly is opened to the atmosphere via cap vents and wall vents).
Regarding Claim 8, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 7, wherein the valve shaft defines a bleed port (lower passage hole 73, FIG. 4) therethrough in fluid communication with air outside the valve assembly and with the one or more bleed passages (par. 93 discloses lower passage hole is opened to the atmosphere along with the wall vents and cap vents, i.e. fluid communication).
Regarding Claim 9, Fukushima discloses
The valve component of claim 8,
wherein the one or more bleed passages extend axially through the cylindrical seal member (depicted in FIGS. 5-6), and
the cylindrical seal member seals between the one or more bleed passages therethrough and the valve-well- suction-source port (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Fukushima discloses
A valve shaft assembly (valve shaft 66 + valve cylinder 50, FIGS. 2-4) for a valve assembly (suction button unit 29, FIG. 3) of a medical device (ultrasonic endoscope apparatus 10, FIG. 1), the valve shaft assembly comprising:
a valve shaft (valve shaft 66, FIGS. 3-4) having a proximal end (button cap 47, FIGS. 1-3) configured for engagement by a user (par. 94-95 disclose button cap is depressed, i.e. actuated by user),
a distal end (small diameter portion 66b, FIGS. 3-5), and
a longitudinal axis extending therebetween (par. 85 discloses rotation of valve shaft about axis in the valve cylinder),
the valve shaft defining a transversely-extending port (upper hole opening 71 + upper passage hole 74, FIGS. 3-5) extending transverse to the longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 5), and
an axially-extending port (flow path surface 72, FIGS. 3-5) extending axially along longitudinal actuation axis (depicted in FIG. 5),
with the transversely-extending port in fluid communication with the axially-extending port (par. 67 discloses flow path surface cooperates with upper passage hole for fluid connection); and
a flexible cylindrical seal member (cap device 52 + button housing 75, FIG. 5) formed from a sealing material more flexible than said valve shaft (par. 59 discloses valve shaft comprises metal, par. 71 discloses button housing comprises resin), and
extending circumferentially around the valve shaft and defining a transversely-extending port (plurality of wall vents 89, FIG. 6) in fluid communication with and longitudinally aligned with the transversely-extending port in the valve shaft (FIGS. 3-5, par. 72 discloses wall vents create flow path between upper passage hole and cap device).
Regarding Claim 13, Fukushima discloses
The valve shaft assembly of claim 10, wherein the cylindrical seal member defines one or more suction bleed passages (plurality of wall vents 89 + plurality of cap vents 95, FIGS. 5-6) axially along the cylindrical seal member between the valve shaft and the cylindrical seal member (depicted in FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Fukushima discloses
The valve shaft assembly of claim 13, wherein the valve shaft defines a bleed port (lower passage hole 73, FIG. 4) therethrough in fluid communication with the one or more bleed passages (par. 93 discloses lower passage hole is opened to the atmosphere along with the wall vents and cap vents, i.e. fluid communication).
Regarding Claim 15, Fukushima discloses
The valve shaft assembly of claim 10, further comprising a shaft seal member (seal packing 53, FIGS. 3-5) on the valve shaft adjacent the distal end of the valve shaft (depicted in FIGS. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US 20150148608 A1, hereinafter Fukushima) in view of Kondo (US 20030181787 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Fukushima discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, however, Fukushima does not disclose wherein the cylindrical seal member includes circumferential seal elements extending circumferentially around the valve shaft and radially outwardly from an outer surface of portions of the cylindrical seal member proximal to and distal to the circumferential seal elements.
Kondo teaches an analogous cylindrical seal member (active blockade face 116, FIG. 5A-5B) in a valve assembly (suction valve 100, FIG. 1). The seal (116) is formed around a valve member (104) and includes O-rings (112a,112b,112c, i.e. circumferential seal elements) and grooves (118, i.e. circumferential seal elements) which extend circumferentially from the outer surface of the seal members proximally and distally (depicted in FIG. 5A-5B) and act as sealing members/ elements [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cylindrical seal member of Fukushima with the circumferential seal elements of Kondo in order to prevent foreign substances for instance filthy matters, mucus, blood, body fluids from entering the valve shaft during operation inside the human body [Kondo 0065-0066], and prevent increased sliding friction allowing for stable and smooth switching between suction states (i.e., on and off configurations) [Kondo 0047, 065-066].
Regarding Claim 3, Fukushima, as previously modified by Kondo, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, Fukushima further discloses
wherein the circumferential seal elements form seals (seal packing 53, FIG. 3) proximal and distal to the valve-shaft-suction-source port and the valve-well-suction-source port to create a sealed space extending circumferentially around said valve shaft to seal fluid communication through the valve assembly between a suction source (suction conduit 28, FIG. 3) fluidly in communication with the valve-well-suction-source port and a suction application device (discharge conduit 35, FIG. 3) fluidly in communication with the valve-well-suction-application port (discharge port hole 56, FIG. 3, par. 92 disclose suction conduit and discharge conduit are closed from communication via tight sealing by the seal packing).
Regarding Claim 11, Fukushima discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, however, Fukushima does not disclose wherein the cylindrical seal member includes circumferential seal elements extending circumferentially around said cylindrical seal member and radially outwardly from the outer surface of the cylindrical seal member proximal and distal to the circumferential seal elements.
Kondo teaches an analogous cylindrical seal member (active blockade face 116, FIG. 5A-5B) in a valve assembly (suction valve 100, FIG. 1). The seal (116) is formed around a valve member (104) and includes O-rings (112a,112b,112c, i.e. circumferential seal elements) and grooves (118, i.e. circumferential seal elements) which extend circumferentially from the outer surface of the seal members proximally and distally (depicted in FIG. 5A-5B) and act as sealing members/ elements [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cylindrical seal member of Fukushima with the circumferential seal elements of Kondo in order to prevent foreign substances for instance filthy matters, mucus, blood, body fluids from entering the valve shaft during operation inside the human body [Kondo 0065-0066], and prevent increased sliding friction allowing for stable and smooth switching between suction states (i.e., on and off configurations) [Kondo 0047, 065-066].
Regarding Claim 12, Fukushima, as previously modified by Kondo, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 11, Fukushima further discloses
wherein the circumferential seal elements are configured to define seals (seal packing 53, FIG. 3) proximal and distal to the transversely-extending port of the valve shaft when positioned within a valve well of a valve assembly (FIG. 3, par. 92 disclose suction conduit and discharge conduit are closed from communication via tight sealing by the seal packing).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795