Detailed Action
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 10 and 14 – 16 having “positioning module”, claims 1 – 5, 7 – 11 and 14 – 17 having “wireless communication module” and claims 6, 12, 13, 18 and 19 having “storage unit”.
Claim limitations “positioning module, wireless communication module and storage unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 – 19 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Fig. 1 and corresponding paragraphs 0017 – 0019 describes mobile electronic device 100 having positioning module, wireless communication module and storage unit.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 7 having “wireless communication module” is described in Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0017 – 0019 of the specification. However, the specification does not describe any structure for a “wireless communication module”.
Claims 2 – 5 and 8 – 11 are also rejected due to their dependency on independent claims 1 and 7 respectively.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 having “wireless communication module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the specification does not describe corresponding structure, material or acts for the claimed function for a “wireless communication module”, thus makes it indefinite.
Claims 2 – 5 and 8 – 11 are also rejected due to their dependency on independent claims 1 and 7 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Morgan US PGPub: US 2006/0095349 A1 May 4, 2006.
Regarding claim 1, Morgan discloses,
a mobile electronic device (user device 101, scanning vehicle 201 – Figs. 1/101, 2/201. A location beacon database and server, method of building location beacon database, and location based service using same. Wi-Fi access points are located in a target geographical area to build a reference database of locations of Wi-Fi access points. While traversing the target area, periodically receive the GPS coordinates of the GPS device. While traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0020 - 0025), comprising:
a positioning module for generating a positioning signal (positioning software 103);
a wireless communication module (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) for detecting a communication device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made – paragraphs 0020, 0023) and obtaining a wireless network name to be confirmed (access points in receipt of a probe request will transmit a broadcast beacon containing information about the access point. That beacon includes the MAC address of the device, the network name, the precise version of the protocol that it supports and its security configuration along with information about how to connect to the device – paragraph 0043. The responding signal beacons contains the network name of the access point - known as an SSID, the MAC address of the access point device as well as other meta information about the access point – paragraph 0052); and
a processor (the scanning device runs the scanning client software 704 that controls the entire process – Figs. 2/202, 7/702, paragraph 0052), signally connected to the positioning module and the wireless communication module (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) to generate a position confirmation result by confirming whether the positioning signal is within a position coordinate range (the scanning device also tracks the presence of any 802.11 access point within range and records the radio characteristics of that access point signal along with the GPS location of the scanning vehicle – paragraph 0047. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – paragraph 0020), and to generate a network confirmation result by confirming whether the wireless network name to be confirmed is a trusted Service Set Identifier SSID (the scanner passes this array of access points to the Locator 906 which checks the MAC addresses of each observed access point against the Access Point Reference Database 905. The Access Point Reference Database returns the location data for each of the observed access points that are known to the
system – Fig. 9/905, paragraph 0044);
wherein, when the position confirmation result is yes and the network confirmation result is yes, the processor sends a stored data (the Locator passes this collection of location information along with the signal characteristics returned from each access point to the Bad Data Filter 907. This filter applies a number of comparison tests against each access point to determine if any of the access points have moved since they were added to the access point database. After removing bad data records, the Filter sends the remaining access points to the Location Calculation component 908 – paragraph 0044) through the wireless communication module and the communication device to an external device (Central Network Database 802 – Fig. 8/802, paragraph 0057) signally connected to the communication device (once authenticated, the scanning client 704 identifies all the recently collected scan data from the local storage 703 and uploads that data to the Central Network Database 802 – Fig. 8/802, paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 7, Morgan discloses,
a system for using a mobile electronic device (a location beacon database and server, method of building location beacon database, and location based service using same. Wi-Fi access points are located in a target geographical area to build a reference database of locations of Wi-Fi access points. While traversing the target area, periodically receive the GPS coordinates of the GPS device. While traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0020 – 0025), the system comprising:
an external device (Central Network Database 802 – Fig. 8/802, paragraph 0057);
a communication device (scanning vehicle 201 having scanning device 202 – Figs. 2. 7, 8, 10), signally connected to the external device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023); and
a mobile electronic device (user device 101, scanning vehicle 201 – Figs. 1/101, 2/201), signally connected to the communication device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) and comprising: a positioning module for generating a positioning signal (positioning software 103);
a wireless communication module (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) for detecting the communication device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made – paragraphs 0020, 0023) and obtain a wireless network name to be confirmed (access points in receipt of a probe request will transmit a broadcast beacon containing information about the access point. That beacon includes the MAC address of the device, the network name, the precise version of the protocol that it supports and its security configuration along with information about how to connect to the device – paragraph 0043. The responding signal beacons contains the network name of the access point - known as an SSID, the MAC address of the access point device as well as other meta information about the access point – paragraph 0052); and
a processor (the scanning device runs the scanning client software 704 that controls the entire process – Figs. 2/202, 7/702, paragraph 0052), signally connected to the positioning module and the wireless communication module (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) to generate a position confirmation result by confirming whether the positioning signal is within a position coordinate range (the scanning device also tracks the presence of any 802.11 access point within range and records the radio characteristics of that access point signal along with the GPS location of the scanning vehicle – paragraph 0047. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – paragraph 0020), and to generate a network confirmation result by confirming whether the wireless network name to be confirmed is a trusted SSID (the scanner passes this array of access points to the Locator 906 which checks the MAC addresses of each observed access point against the Access Point Reference Database 905. The Access Point Reference Database returns the location data for each of the observed access points that are known to the system – paragraph 0044);
wherein, when the position confirmation result is yes and the network confirmation result is yes, the processor sends a stored data (the Locator passes this collection of location information along with the signal characteristics returned from each access point to the Bad Data Filter 907. This filter applies a number of comparison tests against each access point to determine if any of the access points have moved since they were added to the access point database. After removing bad data records, the Filter sends the remaining access points to the Location Calculation component 908 – paragraph 0044) through the wireless communication module and the communication device to the external device (once authenticated, the scanning client 704 identifies all the recently collected scan data from the local storage 703 and uploads that data to the Central Network Database 802 – Fig. 8/802, paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 14, Morgan discloses,
a method for using a mobile electronic device (user device 101, scanning vehicle 201 – Figs. 1/101, 2/201. A location beacon database and server, method of building location beacon database, and location based service using same. Wi-Fi access points are located in a target geographical area to build a reference database of locations of Wi-Fi access points. While traversing the target area, periodically receive the GPS coordinates of the GPS device. While traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0020 – 0025), the method comprising:
driving a positioning module of the mobile electronic device to generate a positioning signal (positioning software 103);
driving a processor (the scanning device runs the scanning client software 704 that controls the entire process – Figs. 2/202, 7/702, paragraph 0052) of the mobile electronic device to confirm whether the positioning signal is within a position coordinate range and generate a position confirmation result (the scanning device also tracks the presence of any 802.11 access point within range and records the radio characteristics of that access point signal along with the GPS location of the scanning vehicle – paragraph 0047. The location information is used to reverse triangulate the position of the detected Wi-Fi access point; and the position of the detected access point is recorded in a reference database – paragraph 0020);
driving a wireless communication module (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) of the mobile electronic device to detect a communication device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made – paragraphs 0020, 0023) and obtain a wireless network name to be confirmed (access points in receipt of a probe request will transmit a broadcast beacon containing information about the access point. That beacon includes the MAC address of the device, the network name, the precise version of the protocol that it supports and its security configuration along with information about how to connect to the device – paragraph 0043. The responding signal beacons contains the network name of the access point - known as an SSID, the MAC address of the access point device as well as other meta information about the access point – paragraph 0052); and
driving the processor of the mobile electronic device to confirm whether the wireless network name to be confirmed is a trusted SSID and generate a network confirmation result (the scanner passes this array of access points to the Locator 906 which checks the MAC addresses of each observed access point against the Access Point Reference Database 905. The Access Point Reference Database returns the location data for each of the observed access points that are known to the system – paragraph 0044);
wherein, when the position confirmation result is yes and the network confirmation result is yes, the processor sends a stored data (the Locator passes this collection of location information along with the signal characteristics returned from each access point to the Bad Data Filter 907. This filter applies a number of comparison tests against each access point to determine if any of the access points have moved since they were added to the access point database. After removing bad data records, the Filter sends the remaining access points to the Location Calculation component 908 – paragraph 0044) through the wireless communication module and the communication device to an external device (once authenticated, the scanning client 704 identifies all the recently collected scan data from the local storage 703 and uploads that data to the Central Network Database 802. Here, Central Network Database 802, reads on an external device – Fig. 8/802, paragraph 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Morgan US PGPub: US 2006/0095329 A1 May 4, 2006.
Regarding claim 6, Morgan discloses,
the mobile electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a storage unit signally connected to the processor for storing the position coordinate range, the trusted SSID (the Locator passes this collection of location information along with the signal characteristics returned from each access point to the Bad Data Filter 907. This filter applies a number of comparison tests against each access point to determine if any of the access points have moved since they were added to the access point database. After removing bad data records, the Filter sends the remaining access points to the Location Calculation component 908 – paragraph 0044),
but, does not disclose, the stored data; wherein the processor deletes the stored data in the storage unit after sending the stored data to the external device.
Official note is being taken that performing the step that deletes the stored data in the storage unit after sending the stored data to the external device, is an engineering and/or design and/or system’s requirement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a location beacon database and server, method of building location beacon database, and location based service using same, while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device and recording identity information of the detected Wi-Fi access point in conjunction with GPS location information of the vehicle when the detection of the Wi-Fi access point was made of Morgan (Morgan, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, paragraphs 0020 – 0025) wherein the system of Morgan, would have incorporated deletes the locally stored data in the storage unit after sending the stored data to the external device, for saving capacity and storage efficiency of the local storage (once authenticated, the scanning client 704 identifies all the recently collected scan data from the local storage 703 and uploads that data to the Central Network Database 802 (Morgan, paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 12, is similar to claim 6 above and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 13, Morgan discloses,
the system of claim 12, further comprising: a terminal device (the scanning vehicle stops at a nearby hotspot location and begins the process of connecting to the access point. Here, hotspot reads on the claimed a terminal device – paragraph 0057) signally connected to the mobile electronic device (while traversing the target area, detecting Wi-Fi signals from Wi-Fi access points in range of the Wi-Fi device - Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, paragraphs 0020, 0023) and comprising an application program for setting the position coordinate range and the trusted SSID and to send the position coordinate range and the trusted SSID to the storage unit (once authenticated, the scanning client 704 identifies all the recently collected scan data from the local storage 703 and uploads that data to the Central Network Database 802 (Morgan, paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 18, is similar to claim 6 above and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 19, is similar to claim 13 above and is rejected on the same grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 5, 8 – 11, 13, 15 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Fargier US PGPub: US 2021/0067364 A1 Mar. 4, 2021.
Fargier teaches, the network controller 42 generates a subnet identifier SID or sub subnet identifier SSID. The identifier can be generated randomly or according to a predefined order. The network identifier implements mechanisms for verifying the uniqueness, in the communication network 14, of the network prefix formed with the identifier relative to the location where the unconfigured network portion connects in the network and with the identifier SID, SSID generated locally (paragraph 0172).
Once the uniqueness of the sub-subnetwork identifier SSID is verified, the network controller 42 completes the network prefix of its network interface by adding the generated subnetwork identifier SSID. The network controller also forms the network address 50 of its network interface by adding, to the network prefix, the interface identifier IID that has been assigned to it. The complete network address 50 is next saved in a memory 44, 64 of the network interface 40 (paragraph 0192).
Alizadeh-Shabdiz US PGPub: US 2011/030658 A1 Dec. 15, 2011.
Systems for and methods of determining likelihood of reference point identity duplication in a positioning system are disclosed. A method of determining a measure of likelihood that a designated identifier is shared by wireless devices includes determining reference points associated with any wireless device having a designated identifier. The reference points are a geographic position at which signals from any of the wireless devices were detected and/or wireless devices from which signals were also detected within a selected period of time during which the signals from any of the wireless devices having the designated identifier were detected. The method also includes determining statistical information about a temporal distribution of detection of signals of reference points, a spatial distribution of the reference points, and/or a cardinality of the reference points and determining a measure of likelihood that the designated identifier is shared by wireless devices is based on the statistical information.
Deshpande USPGPub: US 2017/0127373 A1 May 4, 2017.
system and method for locating a network device. A location provider determines, based on location data, a location of a wireless access point. The location data includes location data from each of a plurality of network devices, wherein the location data for each network device includes the network device's location and data representative of a distance between the wireless access point and each network device. The location provider generates, based on the location of the wireless access point, location information for the wireless access point, signs the location information with a credential to form signed location information, and communicates the signed location information to the wireless access point.
Sydir US PGPub: US 2015/0024734 A1 Jan. 22, 2015.
Detecting misleading identifiable wireless signal (IWS) sources by a mobile device. When a mobile device attempts to estimate its location or route based upon ambient IWS sources, such estimations presume that the ambient IWS sources are unique, stationary, and relatively short ranged. A misleading IWS source is one that does not adhere to one or more of those presumptions.
Ge YS PGPub: US 2018/0007516 A1 Jan. 4, 2018.
A location system provides a location service for determining a location of a mobile device. A node of the location system comprises: a signal processing module, and a wireless interface which communicates wirelessly according to a standardized wireless networking protocol. The protocol defines a request message for sending a request from the mobile device to the node, the request message having a network ID field for specifying a network to which the request is directed. The wireless interface receives, from the mobile device, an instance of the request message including an ID of the location service, this being carried in the network ID field. The signal processing module detects the ID of the location service in this field, and in response captures a measurement of the received instance of the request, for use in determining the location of the mobile device in conjunction with measurements from other nodes.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642