DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on June 18, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently claims 1-16 and 19-27 are amended and claims 17-18 are cancelled, resulting in claims 1-16 and 19-27 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-10, 13-16, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata (JP H06-184958)1,2.
With respect to claim 1, Kawabata discloses an interwoven pile fabric made by mixing two or more pile yarns (2) (3) having different dyeability in a tufted base fabric (1) (physical cue) and printing the fabric by spraying a dye that selectively dyes one of the pile yarns (2) (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). The pile yarns include combinations such as acrylic fibers and polyester fibers and nylon fiber and polyester fibers (paragraph [0007]). The pile yarns (2) define the claimed area A1 containing a first tufted design TD1 and the pile yarns (3) define the claimed area A2 containing a second tufted design TD2.
Kawabata further discloses that both pile yarns (2) (3) may be dyed by printing in multiple stages or at least one type of pile-yarn may be not be printed so that the color of the original yarn or original-dyed yarn may be used (a print composition on at least a portion of area A1, a print composition on at least a portion of A2, or a print composition on at least a portion of both area A1 and area A2) (paragraph [0011]).
The limitation "designed to be affixed to a building surface” is a use limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as well as that pile fabrics are suitable for applications that place them on the floor such as bath mats and kitchen mats (paragraph [0003]). Since Kawabata teaches the same materials and structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
The limitations “machine-detectable” and “wherein the machine-detectable physical cue is configured to be optically or spectrally detected by a digital printing machine during printing, and wherein the digital printing machine is configured to vary deposition of the print composition in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because as described above, Kawabata teaches the use of pile fibers with different dyeability (physical cue), allowing for selective dyeing of the pile fabric (paragraph [0006]). It is noted that the instant specification states that suitable physical cues include yarn composition (see e.g., paragraph [0013] of the specification as filed).
With respect to claims 2 and 13, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kawabata further discloses the interwoven pile fabric may be any fabric in which two or more types of pile yarns are mixed and planted in a tufted and embroidery base fabric (paragraph [0008]). The form of the planted pile yarn is not important, such as the height, basis weight (variation in tufting density, physical cue), the proportion and arrangement of different types of pile yarns, and whether the planted pile yarns are looped, cut, or a mixture of these (variation in yarn construction, physical cue) (paragraph [0008]). The pile yarns include combinations such as acrylic fibers and polyester fibers and nylon fiber and polyester fibers (variation in yarn composition) (paragraph [0007]). The yarns selected are able to be selectively dyed, leaving the other yarn undyed (variation in print composition, physical cue) (paragraph [0009]).
With respect to claim 3, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 2 above. Kawabata further discloses Figure 1(b) which shows a union fabric tufted into loops of different heights (differences in yarn height) (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). In another example the acrylic yarn (2) was dyes with yellow, red, and blue cationic dye whereas the polyester yarn (3) was not dyed and remained white (differences in yarn color) (paragraphs [0015]-[0016]). The pile yarns (2) (3) may be looped, cut, or a mixture (paragraph [0008]).
The differences in physical cues producing a detectable variation in surface profile or optical response defines the textile substrate by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 3. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claims 5 and 7, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 3 above. Kawabata further discloses Figure 1(b) which shows a union fabric tufted into loops of different heights (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). The polyester yarn (3) (first tuft height/physical cue) is taller than the acrylic yarn (2) (second tuft height/physical cue) (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). In the example only the acrylic yarn (2) (second tuft height/physical cue) was dyed and the polyester yarn (3) (first tuft height/physical cue) was not dyed (paragraph [0021]).
The limitation “wherein the print composition is determined by detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses a dyeing pattern based on the height of the piles.
With respect to claims 9-10, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 5 above. Kawabata further teaches the polyester yarn (3) (first tuft height) has a height of 6mm and the acrylic yarn (2) (second tuft height) has a height of 3mm (the first tuft height is 100% greater than the second tuft height) (paragraph [0020]).
The difference in tuft height producing a detectable signal sufficient for detection by the digital printing machine defines the textile substrate by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claims 9-10. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claim 14, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 2 above. Kawabata further discloses the pile yarns (2), (3) have different dyeability where a dye selectively dyes only one of the pile yarns (2), (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). As mentioned above, the pile yarns (2) define the claimed area A1 and the pile yarns (3) define the claimed area A2. Since the pile yarns (2) and (3) have different dyeabilities the area A1 includes a print composition PC1 that is different than a print composition PC2 in the area A2.
The limitation “wherein the selection of PC1 and PC2 is controlled based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses selection of print composition based on the yarn composition of the areas A1 and A2 as described above.
With respect to claims 15-16, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 14 above. The limitations “wherein PC1 forms a print pattern PP1 and PC2 forms a print pattern PP2, wherein PP1 differs from PP2” in claim 15, “wherein PC1 differs in quantity applied to A2 from PC2 applied to A2” in claim 16, and “wherein PC1 differs in quantity … applied to A1 from PC2 applied to A2” in claim 18 are aesthetic design choices directed to matters relating to ornamentation only which has no mechanical function, and therefore cannot be relied upon to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
The limitations “wherein differences between PP1 and PP2 are determined in response to detected variations in the machine-detectable physical cue” and “wherein quantities of PC1 and PC2 vary based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses selection of the printing composition and design based on the composition of the fibers used (physical cue) as described in the above rejections.
With respect to claim 24, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. As discussed above, the pile yarns (2), (3) have different dyeability where a dye selectively dyes only one of the pile yarns (2), (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). The pile yarns (2) define the claimed area A1 and the pile yarns (3) define the claimed area A2. Therefore the dye pattern applied to the pile yarn (2) will be in register with the tufted yarns in area A1 and the dye pattern applied to the pile yarn (3) will be in register with the tufted yarns in area A2.
The limitation “wherein the in-register application is achieved based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses the print composition being in-register with the areas A1 and/or A2 as described above.
With respect to claim 25, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kawabata further discloses printing the textile with yellow, red, and blue colored printing paste (chromophore-containing ink) (paragraph [0016]).
The limitation “wherein the deposition of the at least one chromophore-containing print ink is controlled in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses application of a chromophore-containing ink on all or various sections of the textile (determined by the composition of the fiber) as described in the rejections above.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiff (US 7435264)3.
With respect to claims 1-3, 8, and 19, Kiff discloses a textile having regions of color contrast and corresponding regions of sculpted three-dimensional surface geometry (abstract). Fig. 2 shows a textile 20 with a first region 23 (area A1) providing a first pile height 33 (first tufted design T1) and a second region 24a (area A2) providing a second pile height 34 (second tufted design T2) (physical cues) (col. 4, lines 25-35). The entire textile is dyed (a print composition one at least a portion of both area A1 and area A2) (col. 4, line 58 – col. 5, line 17).
The limitation "designed to be affixed to a building surface” is a use limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Kiff teaches the claimed structure. Since Kiff teaches the same materials and structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
The limitations “machine-detectable” and “wherein the machine-detectable physical cue is configured to be optically or spectrally detected by a digital printing machine during printing, and wherein the digital printing machine is configured to vary deposition of the print composition in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because as described above, Kiff teaches a dyed textile with different physical cues of pile height.
With respect to claim 5, Kiff discloses all the limitations of claim 3 above. Kiff further discloses the second pile height 34 is less than the first pile heigh 33 (physical cues) (col. 4, lines 25-35).
With respect to claims 20-23, Kiff discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kiff further discloses there could be multiple pile height areas, including 3 or 4 pile height areas (wherein TD3 and TD4 includes the machine-detectable physical cue distinct from TD1 and TD2) (col. 3, line 62 – col. 4, line 6).
The limitations “such that TD3 produces a distinct detectable response to the digital printing machine” and “such that TD4 produces a distinct detectable response to the digital printing machine” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kiff discloses four different pile heights (physical cues) as required by the claims.
With respect to claim 24, Kiff discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. The process of Kiff includes dyeing the textile in a base shade and etching to form areas of different pile heights (Fig. 3; col. 4, line 58 – col. 5, line 26). This results in the first region 23 providing a first color shade and first pile height 33 and a second region 24a which exhibit a second pile height 34 and a second color shade that differs from the color shade of the first region 23 (col. 3, lines 25-51). Therefore, the print composition is present in-register with the pile yarns in both A1 and A2.
The limitation “wherein the in-register application is achieved based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kiff discloses the print composition being in-register with the areas A1 and/or A2 as described above.
With respect to claim 25, Kiff discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. The process of Kiff includes dyeing the textile in a base shade and etching to form areas of different pile heights (Fig. 3; col. 4, line 58 – col. 5, line 26). Since the dye of Kiff provides color to the pile, it is a chromophore-containing ink.
The limitation “wherein the deposition of the at least one chromophore-containing print ink is controlled in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kiff discloses application of a chromophore-containing ink on all or various sections of the textile as described in the rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 11-12, 15-16, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata (JP H06-184958)4,5 as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, and 14 above.
With respect to claim 4, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 3 above. Kawabata further teaches the pile yarns (2) (3) may be looped, cut, or a mixture (paragraph [0008]). To one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to try the pile being cut, looped, or both, in order to determine which provides the desired pattern and texture (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). See MPEP 2143.
The limitation "wherein the loop pile and cut pile define regions having different machine-detectable responses” is a use limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Kawabata teaches areas comprising loop and cut pile. Since Kawabata teaches the same structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claims 6 and 8, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 5 above. Kawabata further teaches that both pile yarns (2) (3) may be dyed by printing in multiple stages or at least one type of pile-yarn may be not be printed so that the color of the original yarn or original-dyed yarn may be used (paragraph [0011]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to try dyeing both the taller polyester yarn (3) (first tuft height) and the shorter acrylic yarn (2) (second tuft height), dyeing just the taller polyester yarn (3) (first tuft height), or dyeing just the shorter acrylic yarn (2) (second tuft height) in order to determine which provides the desired color tones and patterns (see e.g., paragraph [0012]). See MPEP 2143.
The limitations “wherein the selective presence of the print composition corresponds to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” and “wherein an amount of type of print composition varies based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses the physical cue and printing structure as described in the rejections above.
With respect to claims 11-12, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 5 above. Kawabata further teaches the height of the piles (2), (3) may differ to form a complex texture in combination with the dyeing and patterns (paragraph [0008]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pile height difference to include the claimed ranges. One would have been motivated to provide a pile surface with the desired texture. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routing experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
The limitation “wherein the difference in tuft height produces a detectable signal sufficient for detection by the digital printing machine” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses claimed difference in tuft height.
With respect to claims 15-16, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 14 above. Kawabata further discloses any desired pattern can be printed onto the union fabric (paragraphs [0006], [0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen a design, including where there is more or less pile yarn (2) in A1 than pile yarn (3) in A2, requiring the dye applied in A1 (PC1) to differ in quantity from the dye applied in A2 (PC2).
The limitations “wherein the differences in PP1 and PP2 are determined in response to detected variations in the machine-detectable physical cue” and “wherein quantities of PC1 and PC2 vary based on detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses claimed differences in patterns in the areas A1 and A2.
With respect to claim 20-23, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kawabata further teaches the interwoven pile fabric may comprise two or more types of pile yarns which are mixed and planted in a tufted and embroidery base fabric (paragraph [0008]). The form of the planted pile yarn is not important, such as the height, basis weight (variation in tufting density), the proportion and arrangement of different types of pile yarns, and whether the planted pile yarns are looped, cut, or a mixture of these (variation in yarn construction) (paragraph [0008]). These aspects, combined with the dyeing and patterns, create a complex texture (paragraph [0008]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to try multiple combinations of different types of piles as disclosed by Kawabata, including three and four different types of piles, in order to determine which provides the desired pattern and texture. See MPEP 2143.
The limitations “such that TD3 produces a distinct detectable response to the digital printing machine” and “such that TD4 produces a distinct detectable response to the digital printing machine” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses four different pile heights (physical cues) as required by the claims.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP H06-184958)6,7 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimball (US 2007/0014921)2.
With respect to claims 26-27, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kawabata further discloses dyeing the acrylic pile (2) with textile with yellow, red, and blue colored printing paste (chromophore-containing ink) leaving the polyester yarn (3) not dyed (free from chromophore-containing ink) (paragraphs [0016] and [0019]).
Kawabata is silent as to the composition containing a wetting agent.
Kimball teaches a method of applying a composition to a surface by applying an effective amount of a composition in a preselected pattern to a selected surface to affect a color change thereon (paragraph [0012]). The surface includes soft surfaces such as carpets, rugs, draperies, curtains, upholstery, and the like (paragraph [0042]). The décor composition may include a wetting agent incorporated prior to application of the décor composition to a surface (paragraph [0064]). The wetting agent promotes colorant and/or filler wetting, improves the flow and/or leveling of a finished cured product, and may promote wet-out during the cure reaction, which may improve adhesion and/or corrosion resistance (paragraph [0176]).
Since both Kawabata and Kimball teach coloring pile surfaces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the printing compositions of Kawabata to include a wetting agent in order to promote colorant and/or filler wetting, improve the flow and/or leveling of a finished cured product, and promote wet-out during the cure reaction, which may improve adhesion and/or corrosion resistance.
The limitation ‘wherein deposition of the print composition is controlled in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kawabata discloses controlling printing based on the fiber composition as described in the rejections above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 14, 19, and 24 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/403,8478 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to instant claims 1-3 and 5-8, claim 1 of McCay claims a textile substrate comprising a patter, sad pattern characterized by having at least one topographical area containing tufted yarns of a first height (area A1 containing a tufted design TD1) and of a second heigh (area A2 containing a tufted design TD2), said pattern further characterized by having only one of the following: (a) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height (area A1), (b) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a second height (area A2), or (c) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height (area A1) and a second height (area A2), said substrate designed for use on a horizontal surface (McCay; claim 1).
The limitations “machine-detectable” and “wherein the machine-detectable physical cue is configured to be optically or spectrally detected by a digital printing machine during printing, and wherein the digital printing machine is configured to vary deposition of the print composition in response to detection of the machine-detectable physical cue” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because as described above, McCay teaches the physical cues of different pile heights.
With respect to instant claim 14, claim 4 of McCay further claims wherein each of printing inks A, B, and C contains a different composition (McCay; claim 4).
With respect to instant claim 19, claim 5 of McCay further claims wherein at least two of printing inks A, B, and C contain the same composition (McCay; claim 5).
With respect to instant claim 24, claim 7 of McCay further claims wherein the textile substrate contains printing ink in-register with the at least one topographical area containing tufted yarns of a first height and a second height (McCay; claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §102 and 103
The arguments in the response filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the response Applicant submits that the selective dyeing of Kawabata occurs due to chemical compatibility, not because the substrate includes features that are detected by a printing machine and used to control deposition. Similar arguments are made with respect to Kiff on page 8.
These arguments are not persuasive. Claim 1 is directed to a textile substrate comprising a print composition that fulfills the requirements of (a)-(c). Therefore, claim 1 is a final product where the print composition is already applied in the desired pattern. Applying this print composition by using a printing machine that detects physical cues and controls deposition of the printing composition is a method of applying the print composition already claimed.
Method limitations do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2113.
Looking at the structural limitations of claim 1, a textile substrate with tufted yarns where the tufted yarns form at least two areas A1 and A2 is positively recited. Area A1 includes a tufted design TD1 with a physical cue and area A2 includes a tufted design TD2 with a physical cue. Claim 1 further requires (a) a print composition on at least a portion of A1, (b) a print composition on at least a portion of A2, or (c) a print composition on at least a portion of both area A1 and A2. Therefore, structurally, claim 1 requires two tufted areas with physical cues and a print composition corresponding to those areas.
The structure of the physical cues are further defined in at least claims 2-5 as well as the instant specification. Of note the physical cues include differences in yarn composition (as in Kawabata) and differences in pile height of the tufted portions (as seen in Kawabata and Kiff). The instant specification does not discuss a degree of difference required by the physical cues in order to be detected by a digital printing machine to vary deposition of the print composition. It is also noted that this degree of variation is dependent on the printing machine used as well, and specific parameters/differences the printing machine can measure are also not described by the instant specification.
Therefore, the method limitation does not appear to impart additional structure to the claims than is already recited. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the areas A1 and A2 of Kawabata are defined by different fiber compositions and different pile heights (Kawabata; paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0020]), both of which are identified as suitable physical cues by the instant specification. The dye patterns are determined by the composition of the yarn (Kawabata; paragraph [0011]), therefore the print composition is (a) on at least a portion of the area A1, (b) on at least a portion of the area A2, or (c) on at least a portion of both areas A1 and A2. As such, regardless of the method used to apply the print composition, Kawabata teaches the structure of the final product of claim 1.
Similarly, as described in more detail in the rejection of claim 1 above, Kiff teaches a textile having regions of color contrast which corresponds to a change in pile height (areas A1 and A2) (Kiff; abstract, col. 4, lines 25-35). Therefore Kiff also teaches the structure of the final product of claim 1.
Applicant has not convincingly argued that the method of using a digital printing machine to detect and vary print composition in response to physical cues requires specific structure different than that disclosed by the prior art.
On page 9 of the response Applicant submits that all the requirements to establish a prima facie case of obviousness have not been met, specifically that all claim limitations have not been considered.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. For example, Applicant states that all claim limitations have not been considered by fails to identify the specific limitations not addressed.
On page 10 of the response Applicant submits that variations in print composition and placement are functionally linked to machine-detectable cues and affect how the printing system operates. Therefore such features are not merely aesthetic but instead contribute to the functional performance of the system and therefore are entitled to patentable weight.
These arguments are not persuasive. It is noted that the claims are not directed to a system as alleged, but rather to a textile substrate where the print composition is already applied. As discussed above, the machine-detectable system is a method limitation and does not provide any additional structure than is already recited by the claims. As the prior art discloses all the structure of claim 1 as described above, including the different areas with different physical cues and the presence of a print composition, the pattern in which the print composition is applied is an aesthetic design choice.
Response – Double Patenting
The rejections of claims 1-5 as being provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/403,844 (reference application) are withdrawn in light of the 6/18/2026 amendments made to the ‘844 application.
The rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 14, 19, and 24 as being provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/403,847 (reference application) are maintained.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Machine translation used as reference
2 Previously presented
3 Previously presented
4 Machine translation used as reference
5 Previously presented
6 Machine translation used as reference
7 Previously presented
8 Hereinafter referred to as McCay