DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on January 2, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently claim 1 is amended, resulting in claims 1-7 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 depends from claim 1 and recites the limitation “wherein each of Printing inks A, B and C contains a different composition”. However, claim 1 recites that the pattern has only one of features (a), (b), and (c), and in the listed features at least one of the Printing Inks A, B, C are required. Therefore it is within the scope of claim 1 to include only one of the claimed Inks A, B, and C. As such claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear whether it is further limiting claim 1 to include all of the Inks A, B, and C.
Claim 5 depends from claim 1 and recites the limitation “wherein at least two of Printing Inks A, B and C contain the same composition”. Claim 5 is indefinite for the same reasons presented with respect to claim 4 above.
Due to claims 4 and 5 requiring comparisons to compositions of inks that are not present in the claimed textile substrate prior art cannot be applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata (JP H06-184958)1.
With respect to claims 1-3, Kawabata discloses an interwoven pile fabric made by mixing two or more pile yarns (2) (3) having different dyeability in a tufted base fabric (1) and printing the fabric by spraying a dye that selectively dyes one of the pile yarns (2) (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). Kawabata further discloses Figure 1(b) which shows a union fabric tufted into loops of different heights (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). The polyester yarn (3) is taller (first height) than the acrylic yarn (2) (second height) (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]).
Kawabata further discloses that both pile yarns (2) (3) may be dyed by printing in multiple stages or at least one type of pile-yarn may be not be printed so that the color of the original yarn or original-dyed yarn may be used ((a) at least one of printing ink A, B, and C on at least a portion of the area containing the first physical cue, (b) at least one of printing ink A, B, and C on at least a portion of the area having the second physical cue, (c) at least one of printing ink A, B, and C on at least a portion of the area containing both the first and the second physical cues) (paragraph [0011]).
The limitations "designed for use on a horizontal surface” in claim 1, “wherein the textile substrate is a floorcovering article” in claim 2, and “wherein the floorcovering article is selected from broadloom carpet, floor mats, and carpet tiles” in claim 3 are use limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as well as that pile fabrics are suitable for applications that place them on the floor such as bath mats and kitchen mats (paragraph [0003]). Since Kawabata teaches the same materials and structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claim 6, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. The limitation “wherein the at least one topographical area containing tufted yarns of a first height and of a second height is detectable by hardware that transmits print instructions via software to a digital printing machine for application of at least one of Printing Ink A, B and C to the textile substrate” defines the textile substrate by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 15. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
With respect to claim 7, Kawabata discloses all the limitations of claim 7 above. The pile yarns (2), (3) have different dyeability where a dye selectively dyes only one of the pile yarns (2), (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). Therefore the dye pattern will be in-register with the topographical area containing the pile yarns (2) (3).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/403,8362 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to the instant claim 1, claim 1 of MacMeccan claims a textile substrate comprised of tufted yarns, said tufted yarns forming at least two areas A1 and A2 within the textile substrate, said areas A1 and A2 each containing a tufted design, said area A1 containing a first tufted design TD1 and said area A2 containing a second tufted design TD2, said TD1 being different from TD2, said at least two areas A1 and A2 being further characterized by having one of the following: (a) a print composition on at least a portion of area A1, (b) a print composition on at least a portion of area A2, or (c) a print composition on at least a portion of both area A1 and area A2, said textile substrate designed to be affixed to a building surface (MacMeccan; claim 1). Claim 5 of MacMeccan further claims the variations in yarn height including yarns having a first tuft height and a second tuft height, said first tuft height being greater than said second tuft height (MacMeccan; claim 5).
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 10-11, and 15-16 of copending Application No. 18/403,8443 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to instant claim 1, claim 1 of McCay claims a textile substrate comprising a pattern, said pattern characterized by having at least one area containing physical cues and at least one area free from physical cues, said physical cues being selected from print composition, tufting density, yarn construction, yarn composition, and combinations thereof, said pattern further characterized by having only one of the following: (a) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height (area A1), (b) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a second height, or (c) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height and a second height, said substrate designed for use on a horizontal surface (McCay; claim 1). Claims 2-3 of McCay further claims the textile substrate containing areas of tufted yarns having at least one of high tuft and low tuft (McCay; claims 2-3).
With respect to instant claim 1, claim 7 of McCay claims a textile substrate comprising a pattern, said pattern characterized by having at least one area containing a first physical cue and at least one area containing a second physical cue, said physical cues being selected from print composition, tufting density, yarn construction, yarn composition, and combinations thereof, said pattern further characterized by having only one of the following: (a) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height, (b) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a second height, or (c) printing ink A, B, or C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height and a second height, said substrate designed for use on a horizontal surface (McCay; claim 7).
With respect to instant claim 2, claim 6 of McCay further claims wherein the textile substrate is a floorcovering article (McCay; claim 6).
With respect to instant claim 4, claim 10 of McCay further claims wherein each of printing inks A, B, and C contains a different composition (McCay; claim 10).
With respect to instant claim 5, claim 11 of McCay further claims wherein at least two of printing inks A, B, and C contain the same composition (McCay; claim 11).
With respect to instant claim 6, claim 15 of McCay further claims wherein each physical cue is detectable by hardware that transmits print instructions via software to a digital printing machine for application of at least one of Printing Ink A, B, and C to the textile substrate (McCay; claim 15).
With respect to instant claim 7, claim 16 of McCay further claims wherein the textile substrate contains printing ink in-register with at least one area containing a first physical cue (McCay; claim 16).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §112
The rejections of claims 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, are maintained.
The rejection is maintained because it is still within the scope of claim 1 to include only one of the claimed Inks A, C, and C. and it is unclear whether claims 4 and 5 further limit claim 1 to include all of the Inks A, B, and C (or two of the inks as in claim 5).
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §102
Applicant’s arguments submitted in the response filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 3 of the response Applicant submits that Kawabata fails to teach the limitations of claims 2 and 3 because paragraph [0003] states that “these products are different from carpets and other items that are subject to strong personal preferences…”.
These arguments are not persuasive. The products referred to in paragraph [0003] are pile fabrics such as bath mats and kitchen mats of the prior art and differentiates them from carpets solely because carpets usually have more patterns due to personal preferences and thus have greater dyeing costs. The background information in paragraph [0003] does not appear to assert that the pile fabrics of Kawabata cannot be used as carpets, but rather shows the difference in price due to dyeing preferences of the end user. Kawabata goes on to state that the aim of the invention is to provide a method for printing union pile fabrics which allows for the expression of fine patterns and the use of complex colors (paragraph [0005]), thereby providing a pile fabric with more complex patterns which is described in paragraph [0003] as preferred for carpets.
Additionally it is noted that claims 2 and 3 are not limited to carpets, but include floorcovering articles (claim 2) and floor mats (claim 3) which encompass bath mats and kitchen mats. Furthermore, as explained in the rejections previously and above, the limitations "designed for use on a horizontal surface” in claim 1, “wherein the textile substrate is a floorcovering article” in claim 2, and “wherein the floorcovering article is selected from broadloom carpet, floor mats, and carpet tiles” in claim 3 are use limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the use produces a structural feature of the product. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Kawabata teaches the claimed structure as well as that pile fabrics are suitable for applications that place them on the floor such as bath mats and kitchen mats (paragraph [0003]). Since Kawabata teaches the same materials and structure as disclosed by the Applicant, then it would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
On page 4 of the response Applicant submits that Kawabata fails to teach selective dyeing of yarn tufts based on the relative height of the tufted yarns to one another as recited by claim 1.
These arguments are not persuasive. It is respectfully submitted that claim 1 does not require selective dyeing based on tuft height. For example, option (c) is “at least one of Printing Ink A, B and C on at least a portion of the tufted yarns having a first height and a second height”. This limitation encompasses a single ink (e.g., Printing Ink A) which covers a portion (or all) of both tufted yarns having a first height and a second height. Therefore claim 1 encompasses embodiments where the dyeing is not selected based on tuft height.
Furthermore it is respectfully submitted that Kawabata teaches dyeing based on tuft height. Particularly, Kawabata discloses an interwoven pile fabric made by mixing two or more pile yarns (2) (3) having different dyeability in a tufted base fabric (1) and printing the fabric by spraying a dye that selectively dyes one of the pile yarns (2) (3) in accordance with a desired pattern (paragraph [0006]). Kawabata further discloses Figure 1(b) which shows a union fabric tufted into loops of different heights (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). The polyester yarn (3) is taller (first height) than the acrylic yarn (2) (second height) (Fig. 1(b); paragraph [0020]). Therefore, as the pile sections of difference heights are made of different materials with different dyeabilities, the pile fabric of Kawabata is selectively dyeable based on pile height.
Response – Double Patenting
The examiner acknowledges Applicant’s request that the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the allowance of one or more of the pending applications.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Machine translation used as reference
2 Hereinafter referred to as MacMeccan
3 Hereinafter referred to as McCay