DETAILED ACTION
The Response filed 26 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-15 remain pending. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons in view of previously applied prior art – Gregg (US 1,516,851) and Foster (US 2,915,325) – and a newly cited prior art reference – Schmidt (US 4,082,112).
The applicant argues on pg. 6 of the Response that “the prior art fails to disclose a valve body having a sealing surface with a valve seat receptacle.” However, Gregg and Foster both teach annular recesses, each comprising the surface that abuts the valve seat in addition to contiguous surfaces, including on the stem and on the end with which the biasing spring abuts (as shown below in the annotation of drawings taken from Gregg and Foster), and said annular recesses form the claimed valve seat receptacles, wherein the name “valve seat receptacle” is simply seen as a name for a receptacle/recess rather than necessitating additional structure or function.
[AltContent: textbox (Sealing surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Sealing surface)]
The applicant argues on pg. 6 of the Response that the prior art fails to disclose a material of the sealing surface of the valve body is softer than a material of the valve seat. However, Schmidt teaches such a sealing surface of a valve body 6 being softer than the valve seat 5 (col. 3, lines 52 – 58). The teaching of Schmidt is used to modify valve structures in the connectors disclosed by Gregg and Foster.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 9, it appears that “the complementary line connector” may have intended to instead recite --the line connector-- so that the central axis refers to the central axis of the line connector with the coupling section rather than the complementary line connector to which the line connector is selectively connected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregg (US 1,516,851) in view of Schmidt (US 4,082,112).
Regarding claim 1, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 a line connector (A) for fluidic coupling with a complementary line connector (B), wherein the line connector (A) comprises a connecting body 10, 16, 20 wherein the connecting body 10, 16, 20 has a connecting section 20 for connecting to a pipe (such as the pipe at/with valve 26) or to an aggregate and a coupling section 10 for coupling with the complementary line connector (B),
wherein the coupling section 10 and the connecting section 20 are fluidically connected to each other via an internal channel (comprising chambers 15, 21, and ports 14) of the connecting body 10, 16, 20, wherein a section of the internal channel assigned to the coupling section 10 defines a central axis in a longitudinal direction of the complementary line connector (B) and also an axial direction and a radial direction and also a circumferential direction, wherein the coupling section 10 terminates in the axial direction in a coupling opening,
wherein a valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 is arranged in the internal channel, wherein the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 comprises a valve guide 37, an axially movable valve body 38, and a valve seat (comprising the surface(s) of the disk 28 that the valve head seats on, as disclosed in pg. 2, lines 33-36 and 44-48), wherein the valve guide 37 defines the movement direction of the valve body 38, wherein the line connector (A) is designed such that the valve body 38 rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat in a closed state (Fig. 2) of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 and does not rest on the valve seat in an open state (Fig. 1) of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44, wherein the valve seat has at least one flow aperture 29 (Figs. 3-4), wherein the valve body 38 has a sealing surface (comprising the surface that abuts the valve seat in addition to contiguous surfaces, including on the stem and on the end with which the biasing spring abuts) which rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat or on the at least flow aperture in the closed state of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44,
wherein the flow aperture 29, in cross section or in a front view deviates from a circular shape arranged concentrically with respect to the central axis (Figs. 3-4),
and wherein, in the closed state of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 (Fig. 2), an edge of the at least one flow aperture 29 engages into the sealing surface in the axial direction (pg. 2, lines 33-36 and 44-48), wherein the sealing surface has a valve seat receptacle (comprising the annular recess around the valve stem of the valve) in the open state of the valve.
Gregg is silent with regard to the materials of the valve body and valve seat, or the relative softness of said materials, including teaching that a material of the sealing surface of the valve body is softer than a material of the valve seat.
Schmidt teaches a material of the sealing surface of the valve body 6 is softer than a material of the valve seat 5. (col. 3, lines 52 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing surface/valve body to be made of a material softer than a material of the valve seat to deform when seated, as Schmidt teaches (col. 3, lines 52 – 58), which ensures sealing, including for imperfect seating.
Regarding claim 2, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve seat has at least two flow apertures 29 (Figs. 3-4) each with complete peripheral edges (because each aperture 29 inherently has at least one edge/peripheral edge).
Regarding claim 3, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the at least one or only one flow aperture 29 deviates from the circular shape (because the at least one flow aperture 29 is arch shaped).
Regarding claim 4, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the at least one flow aperture 29 is elongated or arched in a cross section or in a front view.
Regarding claim 6, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that an axially outward end of the valve guide 37 projects past the valve seat or the guide receptacle (comprising the opening in the valve seat 30 that receives the valve guide 37) in an axially outward direction.
Regarding claim 7, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve seat is produced separately from the connecting body 10, 16, 20 and is fixed in the connecting body 10, 16, 20 or in a valve seat section of the connecting body, 10, 16, 20 (via fastener 27).
Regarding claim 8, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 comprises a reset element 14, wherein the reset element 14 is arranged axially outward from the valve seat or from the guide receptacle (comprising the opening in the valve seat 30 that receives the valve guide 37).
Regarding claim 9, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the line connector (A) comprises a valve seat holder 27 for securing the valve seat in the connecting body 10, 16, 20.
Regarding claim 10, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the connecting body 10, 16, 20 is designed as one piece and is integrally formed (because it is comprised of rigidly attached pieces).
Regarding claim 11, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve body 38 does not contact the connecting body 10, 16, 20 in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve (at least in the closed state of the valve, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the line connector (A) is designed such that the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 opens or closes depending on a connection of the line connector (A) with the complementary line connector (B).
Regarding claim 13, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the line connector (B) is a coupling socket or a coupling plug (wherein “coupling socket” and “coupling plug” are broadly interpreted as names of structures, and not necessarily further defining a structure or function, or because the line connector (B) acts as a socket in which the valve 37, 38 reciprocates or the conduit 20 is inserted).
Regarding claim 14, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 a fluid line comprising at least one line connector (A) according to claim 1 and a pipe (comprising any of the pipes connected to the valves 26 connected to the connectors A, B).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrillo (US 2022/0018474) in view of Gregg and Schmidt.
Regarding claim 15, Carrillo discloses in Figs. 1-9 use of a line connector 12 in an electric vehicle (abstract), but lacks disclosing that the line connector is according to claim 1.
Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 a line connector according to claim 1, as discussed above in the anticipatory rejection of claim 1 in view of Gregg. Gregg is silent with regard to the materials of the valve body and valve seat, or the relative softness of said materials, including teaching that a material of the sealing surface of the valve body is softer than a material of the valve seat. However, Schmidt teaches a material of the sealing surface of the valve body 6 is softer than a material of the valve seat 5. (col. 3, lines 52 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the line connector disclosed by Carrillo to be like the line connector taught by Gregg (at least at the connection end 18 disclosed by Carrillo), so the valve taught by Gregg that automatically closes upon disconnection to a complementary line connector protects the check valve 10 disclosed by Carrillo, and the diaphragm thereof, from the external debris/fluids when the line connector isn’t connected to the complementary line connector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing surface/valve body in the combination of Carrillo and Gregg to be made of a material softer than a material of the valve seat to deform when seated, as Schmidt teaches (col. 3, lines 52 – 58), which ensures sealing, including for imperfect seating.
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 (alternatively: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster (US 2,915,325) in view of Gregg and Schmidt.
Regarding claim 1, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a line connector 11 for fluidic coupling with a complementary line connector 12, wherein the line connector 11 comprises a connecting body (comprising the outer housing of the line connector 11) wherein the connecting body has a connecting section (with threads 17) for connecting to a pipe 13, 19 or to an aggregate and a coupling section (with the bore in which the complementary line connector 12 is fitted) for coupling with the complementary line connector 12,
wherein the coupling section and the connecting section are fluidically connected to each other via an internal channel (in which the valve 23 is disposed) of the connecting body, wherein a section of the internal channel assigned to the coupling section defines a central axis in a longitudinal direction of the complimentary line connector 12 and also an axial direction and a radial direction and also a circumferential direction, wherein the coupling section terminates in the axial direction in a coupling opening,
wherein a valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 is arranged in the internal channel, wherein the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 comprises a valve guide 22, an axially movable valve body 23, 22, and a valve seat 20, 21 (with seating surface 25), wherein the valve guide 22 defines the movement direction of the valve body 23, 22, wherein the line connector 11 is designed such that the valve body 23, 22 rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 20, 21 in a closed state (Fig. 4) of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 and does not rest on the valve seat 20, 21 in an open state (Fig. 3) of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24, wherein the valve seat 20, 21 has at least one flow aperture 28, wherein the valve body 23, 22 has a sealing surface (comprising the surface that abuts the valve seat in addition to contiguous surfaces, including on the stem and on the end with which the biasing spring abuts) which rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 20, 21 (Fig. 4) or on the at least flow aperture 28 in the closed state of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 (specifically, the valve body 23, 22 rests on the valve seat 20, 21),
wherein the flow aperture 28, in cross section or in a front view deviates from a circular shape arranged concentrically with respect to the central axis (inherently to form the plurality of apertures 28, disclosed in col. 2, lines 48-51, in the annular configuration around the valve spring housing 21),
wherein the sealing surface has a valve seat receptacle (comprising the annular recess formed around the narrow valve stem of valve) in the open state of the valve.
Foster lacks teaching that in the closed state of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 (Fig. 4), an edge of the at least one flow aperture 28 engages into the sealing surface int the axial direction, and Foster is silent with regard to the materials of the valve body and valve seat, or the relative softness of said materials, including teaching that a material of the sealing surface of the valve body is softer than a material of the valve seat.
With regard to engagement of the at least one flow aperture and the sealing surface of the valve body, Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 that in the closed state of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 (Fig. 2), an edge of the at least one flow aperture 29 engages into the sealing surface in the axial direction (pg. 2, lines 33-36 and 44-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve disclosed by Foster so that the core forming the flow apertures also contributes to the seating surface of the valve seat such that an edge of at least one flow aperture engages the sealing surface of the valve, as Foster teaches, so the seating surface has a greater surface area that provides greater distribution of stress on the seating surface and the valve such that the probability of damage is reduced.
With regard to the materials of the valve body and valve seat, Schmidt teaches a material of the sealing surface of the valve body 6 is softer than a material of the valve seat 5. (col. 3, lines 52 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing surface/valve body to be made of a material softer than a material of the valve seat to deform when seated, as Schmidt teaches (col. 3, lines 52 – 58), which ensures sealing, including for imperfect seating.
Regarding claim 2, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the valve seat 20, 21 has at least two flow apertures 28 (col. 2, lines 48-51) each with complete peripheral edges (because each aperture 28 inherently has at least one edge/peripheral edge).
Regarding claims 3-4, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a plurality of apertures 28, as previously discussed, but is silent with regard to their specific shape.
Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 a similar plurality of apertures 29, wherein the at least one or only one flow aperture 28 deviates from the circular shape, because the at least one flow aperture 29 is elongated or arched in a cross section or in a front view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apertures disclosed by Foster deviate from the circular shape by being arc shaped, as Gregg teaches, because Foster is silent with regard to such detail and as an obvious modification of shape (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). Furthermore, the two arcs disclosed by Gregg are naturally produced when providing the two ribs to symmetrically support the guide receptacle in the middle of the apertures with minimum disruption in flow.
Regarding claim 6, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that an axially outward end of the valve guide 22 projects past the valve seat 20, 21 or the guide receptacle 21 in an axially outward direction.
Regarding claim 8, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 comprises a reset element 24, wherein the reset element 24 is arranged axially outward from the valve seat 20, 21 or from the guide receptacle 21.
Regarding claim 10, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the connecting body is designed as one piece and is integrally formed.
Regarding claim 12, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the line connector 11 is designed such that the valve 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 opens or closes depending on a connection of the line connector 11 with the complementary line connector 12.
Regarding claim 13, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the line connector 11 is a coupling socket (because it has an outer sleeve 30 in which the complementary line connector 12 is inserted) or a coupling plug (because the valve seat 20 is inserted into a socket 45 in the complementary line connector 12).
Regarding claim 14, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a fluid line 11, 19, 13, 12, 37, 14 comprising at least one line connector 11 according to claim 1 and a pipe 13 (or pipe 14).
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, Foster discloses a valve seat as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that the valve seat is produced separately from the connecting body and is fixed in the connecting body or in a valve seat section of the connecting body, the line connector comprises a valve seat holder for securing the valve seat in the connecting body, and wherein the valve body does not contact the connecting body in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 a similar valve seat 28, wherein the valve seat 28 is produced separately from the connecting body 10 and is fixed in the connecting body 10 or in a valve seat section of the connecting body 10. Regarding claim 9, the line connector (A) comprises a valve seat holder 27 for securing the valve seat 28 in the connecting body 10 (pg. 2, lines 8-16). Regarding claim 11, the valve body 38, 37 does not contact the connecting body 10 in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve seat (including the guide receptacle formed therewith) to be produced separately from the connecting body and fixed to the connecting body, as Gregg teaches, as an obvious separation of parts (MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)). Furthermore, having the valve be separable allows more flexibility in the assembly process, and allows for more modularity so smaller parts can be repaired/replaced for cheaper costs compared to larger/integral parts.
Regarding claim 11, in modifying Foster in view of Gregg, to have the valve seat and guide receptacle be separate from the connector body, as discussed above, the valve body does not contact the connecting body in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Claim 15 (alternatively) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrillo in view of Foster and Gregg and Schmidt.
Regarding claim 15, Carrillo discloses in Figs. 1-9 use of a line connector 12 in an electric vehicle (abstract), but lacks disclosing that the line connector is according to claim 1.
Foster teaches in Figs. 1-4, and in view of Gregg, a line connector according to claim 1, as discussed above in the obvious rejection of claim 1 in view of Foster and Gregg. Foster and Gregg are silent with regard to the materials of the valve body and valve seat, or the relative softness of said materials, including teaching that a material of the sealing surface of the valve body is softer than a material of the valve seat. However, Schmidt teaches a material of the sealing surface of the valve body 6 is softer than a material of the valve seat 5. (col. 3, lines 52 – 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the line connector disclosed by Carrillo to be like the line connector taught by Foster and Gregg (at least at the connection end 18 disclosed by Carrillo), so the valve taught by Foster that automatically closes upon disconnection to a complementary line connector protects the check valve 10 disclosed by Carrillo, and the diaphragm thereof, from the external debris/fluids when the line connector isn’t connected to the complementary line connector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing surface/valve body in the combination of Carillo, Foster, and Gregg to be made of a material softer than a material of the valve seat to deform when seated, as Schmidt teaches (col. 3, lines 52 – 58), which ensures sealing, including for imperfect seating.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753