DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 4-5, it is suggested that “a complementary line connector” be changed to --the complementary line connector-- to refer to the antecedent basis for the structure recited in line 1.
In claim 1, lines 9-10, “an axial and a radial direction” should be changed to --an axial direction and a radial direction-- if the limitation is intended to recite two different directions.
In claim 6, lines 2-3, “an axially outward direction” should be changed to --the axially outward direction-- if it refers to the same axially outward direction as the one introduced in claim 1, or --an axially outward direction of the valve guide-- if it refers to a new direction that specifically refers to the valve guide.
In claim 12, line 3, it is suggested that “a complementary line connector” should be changed to --the complementary line connector-- to refer to the antecedent basis for the structure recited in claim 1.
In claim 13, line 1, “wherein line connector” should be changed to --wherein the line connector--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 (wherein claims 2-4, 7, 9-10, 12, and 14-15 inherit their rejections due to their dependencies) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the section of the internal channel assigned to the coupling section" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first rection of the structure, so “the section…” should be changed to --a section…--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the coupling socket" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation is meant to refer to the complementary line connector (wherein one such complementary line connector is a coupling socket, as claimed in claim 13, while another example of the complementary line connector is a coupling plug, as claimed in claim 13).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the axially outward direction" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear whether “the axially outward direction” is supposed to refer to the axial direction/”axial and a radial direction” antecedently recited in lines 8-9, or refers to a different direction. As understood, “the axially outward direction” refers to the axial direction (i.e. they are the same).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the locked state of the valve" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation refers to the closed state of the valve, as recited elsewhere in the disclosure, including claims 5 and 11.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the open state of the valve" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of such a state, so “the open state” should be changed to --an open state--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the closed state of the valve" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation refers to “the locked state” recited in claim 1, which should probably be changed to recite a closed state, as discussed in the 112 rejection of claim 1 above regarding “the locked state”.
In claim 6, lines 2-3, it is unclear whether “an axially outward direction” is supposed to introduce a direction different the “axially outward direction” antecedently recited in claim 1. See also the 112 issue above regard the recitation of “the axially outward direction” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the closed state of the valve" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation refers to “the locked state” recited in claim 1, which should probably be changed to recite a closed state, as discussed in the 112 rejection of claim 1 above regarding “the locked state”.
In claim 13, lines 1-2, it is unclear whether “a coupling socket” is supposed to introduce a new coupling socket, or refer to the coupling socket introduced in claim 1. As discussed above with regard to the 112 issue concerning the recitation in claim 1 of “the coupling socket,” it appears that claim 1 should be amended rather than claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10, and 12-14 (as understood: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster (US 2,915,325).
Regarding claim 1, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a line connector 11 for fluidic coupling with a complementary line connector 12, wherein the line connector 11 comprises a connecting body (comprising the outer housing of the line connector 11) wherein the connecting body has a connecting section (with threads 17) for connecting to a pipe 13, 19 or to an aggregate and a coupling section (with the bore in which the complementary line connector 12 is fitted) for coupling with a complementary line connector 12,
wherein the coupling section and the connecting section are fluidically connected to each other via an internal channel (in which the valve 23 is disposed) of the connecting body, wherein the section of the internal channel assigned to the coupling section defines a central axis in a longitudinal direction of the coupling socket (that receives the complementary line connector 12) and also an axial and a radial direction and also a circumferential direction, wherein the coupling section is concluded in the axially outward direction by a coupling opening,
wherein a valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 is arranged in the internal channel, wherein the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 comprises a valve guide 22, an axially movable valve body 23, 22, and a valve seat 20, 21 (with seating surface 25), wherein the valve guide 22 defines the movement direction of the valve body 23, 22, wherein the line connector 11 is designed such that the valve body 23, 22 rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 20, 21 in the locked state (Fig. 3) of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 and does not rest on the valve seat 20, 21 in the open state (Fig. 4) of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24,
wherein the valve seat 20, 21 has at least one flow aperture 28 which in cross section or in a front view deviates from a circular shape arranged concentrically with respect to the central axis (inherently to form the plurality of apertures 28, disclosed in col. 2, lines 48-51, in the annular configuration around the valve spring housing 21),
and/or
the valve guide 22 is mounted to slide axially in a guide receptacle 21 of the valve seat 20, 21.
Regarding claim 2, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the valve seat 20, 21 has at least two flow apertures 28 (col. 2, lines 48-51) each with complete peripheral edges (because each aperture 28 inherently has at least one edge/peripheral edge).
Regarding claim 5, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the valve body 23, 22 has a sealing surface which rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 20, 21 or on the at least flow aperture 28 in a closed state (Fig. 3) of the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24.
Regarding claim 6, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that an axially outward end of the valve guide 22 projects past the valve seat 20, 21 or the guide receptacle 21 in an axially outward direction.
Regarding claim 8, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the valve 20, 21, 23, 22, 24 comprises a reset element 24, wherein the reset element 24 is preferably arranged axially outward from the valve seat 20, 21 or from the guide receptacle 21.
Regarding claim 10, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the connecting body is designed as one piece and is integrally formed.
Regarding claim 12, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the line connector 11 is designed such that the valve 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 opens or closes depending on a connection of the line connector 11 with a complementary line connector 12.
Regarding claim 13, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 that the line connector 11 is a coupling socket (because it has an outer sleeve 30 in which the complementary line connector 12 is inserted) or a coupling plug (because the valve seat 20 is inserted into a socket 45 in the complementary line connector 12).
Regarding claim 14, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a fluid line 11, 19, 13, 12, 37, 14 comprising at least one line connector 11 according to claim 1 and a pipe 13 (or pipe 14).
Claims 1-12 and 14 (alternatively: 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10, 12, and 14; as understood: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregg (US 1,516,851).
Regarding claim 1, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 a line connector (A) for fluidic coupling with a complementary line connector (B), wherein the line connector (A) comprises a connecting body 10, 16, 20 wherein the connecting body 10, 16, 20 has a connecting section 20 for connecting to a pipe (such as the pipe at/with valve 26) or to an aggregate and a coupling section 10 for coupling with a complementary line connector (B),
wherein the coupling section 10 and the connecting section 20 are fluidically connected to each other via an internal channel (comprising chambers 15, 21, and ports 14) of the connecting body 10, 16, 20, wherein the section of the internal channel assigned to the coupling section 10 defines a central axis in a longitudinal direction of the coupling socket (understood as the complementary line connector) and also an axial and a radial direction and also a circumferential direction, wherein the coupling section 10 is concluded in the axially outward direction by a coupling opening,
wherein a valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 is arranged in the internal channel, wherein the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 comprises a valve guide 37, an axially movable valve body 38, and a valve seat 30, wherein the valve guide 37 defines the movement direction of the valve body 38, wherein the line connector (A) is designed such that the valve body 38 rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 30 in the locked state (understood as a closed state) of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 and does not rest on the valve seat 30 in the open state of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44,
wherein the valve seat 30 has at least one flow aperture 29 (Figs. 3-4) which in cross section or in a front view deviates from a circular shape arranged concentrically with respect to the central axis,
and/or
the valve guide 37 is mounted to slide axially in a guide receptacle of the valve seat 30 (comprising the opening in the valve seat 30 that receives the valve guide 37).
Regarding claim 2, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve seat 30 has at least two flow apertures 29 (Figs. 3-4) each with complete peripheral edges (because each aperture 29 inherently has at least one edge/peripheral edge).
Regarding claim 3, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the at least one or only one flow aperture 29 deviates from the circular shape (because the at least one flow aperture 29 is arch shaped).
Regarding claim 4, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the at least one flow aperture 29 is elongated or arched in a cross section or in a front view.
Regarding claim 5, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve body 38 has a sealing surface which rests in a fluid-tight manner on the valve seat 30 or on the at least flow aperture 29 in a closed state (Fig. 2) of the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44.
Regarding claim 6, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that an axially outward end of the valve guide 37 projects past the valve seat 30 or the guide receptacle (comprising the opening in the valve seat 30 that receives the valve guide 37) in an axially outward direction.
Regarding claim 7, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve seat 30 is produced separately from the connecting body 10, 16, 20 and is fixed in the connecting body 10, 16, 20 or in a valve seat section of the connecting body, 10, 16, 20 (via fastener 27).
Regarding claim 8, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 comprises a reset element 14, wherein the reset element 14 is preferably arranged axially outward from the valve seat 30 or from the guide receptacle (comprising the opening in the valve seat 30 that receives the valve guide 37).
Regarding claim 9, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the line connector (A) comprises a valve seat holder 27 for securing the valve seat 30 in the connecting body 10, 16, 20.
Regarding claim 10, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the connecting body 10, 16, 20 is designed as one piece and is integrally formed (because it is comprised of rigidly attached pieces).
Regarding claim 11, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the valve body 38 does not contact the connecting body 10, 16, 20 in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve (at least in the closed state of the valve, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 that the line connector (A) is designed such that the valve 30, 38, 37, 39, 44 opens or closes depending on a connection of the line connector (A) with a complementary line connector (B).
Regarding claim 14, Gregg discloses in Figs. 1-6 a fluid line comprising at least one line connector (A) according to claim 1 and a pipe (comprising any of the pipes connected to the valves 26 connected to the connectors A, B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7, 9, and 11 (alternatively: all; as understood: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Gregg (US 1,516,851).
Regarding claims 3-4, Foster discloses in Figs. 1-4 a plurality of apertures 28, as previously discussed, but is silent with regard to their specific shape.
Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 a similar plurality of apertures 29, wherein the at least one or only one flow aperture 28 deviates from the circular shape, because the at least one flow aperture 29 is elongated or arched in a cross section or in a front view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apertures disclosed by Foster deviate from the circular shape by being arc shaped, as Gregg teaches, because Foster is silent with regard to such detail and as an obvious modification of shape (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). Furthermore, the two arcs disclosed by Gregg are naturally produced when providing the two ribs to symmetrically support the guide receptacle in the middle of the apertures with minimum disruption in flow.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, Foster discloses a valve seat as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that the valve seat is produced separately from the connecting body and is fixed in the connecting body or in a valve seat section of the connecting body, the line connector comprises a valve seat holder for securing the valve seat in the connecting body, and wherein the valve body does not contact the connecting body in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Gregg teaches in Figs. 1-6 a similar valve seat 28, wherein the valve seat 28 is produced separately from the connecting body 10 and is fixed in the connecting body 10 or in a valve seat section of the connecting body 10. Regarding claim 9, the line connector (A) comprises a valve seat holder 27 for securing the valve seat 28 in the connecting body 10 (pg. 2, lines 8-16). Regarding claim 11, the valve body 38, 37 does not contact the connecting body 10 in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve seat (including the guide receptacle formed therewith) to be produced separately from the connecting body and fixed to the connecting body, as Gregg teaches, as an obvious separation of parts (MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)). Furthermore, having the valve be separable allows more flexibility in the assembly process, and allows for more modularity so smaller parts can be repaired/replaced for cheaper costs compared to larger/integral parts.
Regarding claim 11, in modifying Foster in view of Gregg, to have the valve seat and guide receptacle be separate from the connector body, as discussed above, the valve body does not contact the connecting body in the open state of the valve and/or in the closed state of the valve.
Claim 15 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrillo (US 2022/0018474) in view of Foster.
Regarding claim 15, Carrillo discloses in Figs. 1-9 use of a line connector 12 in an electric vehicle (abstract), but lacks disclosing that the line connector is according to claim 1.
Foster teaches in Figs. 1-4 a line connector according to claim 1, as discussed above in the anticipatory rejection of claim 1 in view of Foster.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the line connector disclosed by Carrillo to be like the line connector taught by Foster (at least at the connection end 18 disclosed by Carrillo), so the valve taught by Foster that automatically closes upon disconnection to a complementary line connector protects the check valve 10 disclosed by Carrillo, and the diaphragm thereof, from the external debris/fluids when the line connector isn’t connected to the complementary line connector.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753