DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends a replacement sheet was filed to correct a drawing objection, however, the corrected drawing(s) was not received. Regarding the rejection over Grotz and also noting dependent claims rejected over Ringeisen as a teaching, the focus of disagreements was pertaining to the added limitations of materials for different portions and the fixation holes. The examiner has addressed these in the rejections below and notes that fixation holes are well known in the art and Grotz had mentioned screws for securing a “fixation mechanism” which is a broad feature being recited. Another family Grotz document teaches holes in tabs. Additionally, the new teaching of Steinberg shows that utilizing rigid and deformable material in a joint implant provides cushioning along with stabilization and is known. Also note that different materials for superior and inferior portions of an implant for a tendon is known, see Halbrecht.
Priority
Acknowledgment of claim to prior application 17/127,634 as CON is noted.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 212. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed 7/6/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “similar” in claim 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not evident how a fixation tab is structured to thus know or establish what a similar tab would be arranged as.
The term “slightly” in claim 37 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not evident how much force is required to compress or deform the implant to thus know or establish any particular material to define its property. Thus, it is not clear as to how much compression or deformation is permitted to a material would define “slightly” to meet the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,6,7,9,27-33,35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg (2002/0143402). Grotz shows (Fig. 2) an orthopedic implant 10 comprising:(a) an inferior portion having a bone contact surface 13, (b) a superior portion opposite to the inferior portion having a tissue contact surface 14. Please note the recitations of “configured to extend over a tibia” and “configured to change a position of a patellar tendon by lifting or tilting the patellar tendon when the tibia contact surface is engaged with the tibia” are recitations of intended use and only require the implant to have the ability to perform the function as the claim(s) is to a product and not a method of use. In addition Grotz discloses (paragraph 31) the implant is fully capable of being placed in patella locations on the tibia. Grotz discloses (abstract) the orthopedic implant being further configured to change shape from a first configuration to a second configuration in response to a load applied between the intended use area which is fully capable of being between a tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface. It is noted that Grotz discloses (paragraph 42,51) to provide the implant walls or components with balanced deformability and rigidity. However, Grotz did not explicitly disclose the inferior portion comprises rigid material and the superior portion comprises deformable material. Steinberg teaches (Figs. 18G-18L) a joint implant 400 the inferior portion 416 comprises rigid material (paragraph 168) and the superior portion comprises deformable material (paragraph 165). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the inferior portion be made of a rigid material and the superior portion formed of a deformable material as taught by Steinberg in the joint implant of Grotz US ‘126 as modified by Grotz WO ‘004 such that it provides both a load bearing and shock absorbing surface area at the joint site, see Steinberg paragraph 166. It is noted that Grotz discloses what can be construed as (c) a fixation mechanism 18 adapted to attach the orthopedic implant to the tibia, since it is an extension to secure on a bone surface. It is also noted that Grotz shows (Fig. 7) an alternative arrangement of a tab 35 to define a fixation mechanism and screws can be used therein (see paragraph 37). However, Grotz was silent that the fixation mechanism comprises screw holes in the inferior portion. Grotz WO ‘004 teaches (paragraph 68) a fixation mechanism can be screw holes in an inferior portion or that on the bone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the fixation mechanism with screw holes in the inferior portion as taught by Grotz WO ‘004 in the implant of Grotz US ‘126 such that the screws can be inserted easily and not have to bore or be forced into the implant to cause any disruption on the location of placement. Regarding claim 2, Grotz US ‘126 illustrate a distance between the tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface is less in the second configuration (Fig. 2) than in the first configuration, see Fig. 1. Regarding claims 6,7,29 it can be construed that the first configuration can be either unloaded or partially loaded as no adjustment is made until forces or load is applied to alter the range or distance between superior to inferior surfaces relative to one another, paragraph 42 of Grotz US ‘126. With respect to claim 9, Grotz US ‘126 additionally discloses (Figs. 1,2) that there is (a) a first lateral side 15 disposed between the inferior portion and the superior portion; and (b) a second lateral side disposed between the inferior portion and the superior portion opposite to the first lateral side, wherein at least one of the first lateral side and the second lateral side comprises flexible material, paragraph 29. Regarding claim 27, the same explanation is used for the limitations as detailed above for claim 1 and also further as mentioned the fixation mechanism can alternatively include tabs as US Grotz ‘126 show fixation tabs 35 in Fig. 7 and thus one of ordinary skill in the art can incorporate fixation tabs as both Grotz documents teach fixation tabs and Grotz WO ‘004 suggest fixation tabs can include holes for the screws to be used to secure onto the bone as it is an obvious expedient to do such as it increases securement along with having the holes eliminates any force on the tab if they were not pre-established. Regarding claim 30, Grotz US ‘126 discloses (paragraphs 6,29) at least one of the first lateral side and the second lateral side comprises deformable material. With respect to claim 31, Grotz teaches elastic material can be used (paragraph 6) and further per the modification Steinberg teaches (paragraph 108) the deformable material is silicone rubber. Regarding claim 32, Grotz teaches metal can be used (paragraph 44) and further per the modification Steinberg teaches (paragraph 168) the rigid material is metal. Regarding claim 33, it can be seen (Figs. 1,2) Grotz teaches a bone contact surface can be curved to match the contour of the bone it is placed thereon, thus it is fully capable of being a tibia. With respect to claim 35, Steinberg teaches (paragraphs 160,208) a durometer and a geometry of the deformable material of the at least one of the first lateral side and the second lateral side are calibrated to provide support for tendon lift and/or redirection and to permit the orthopedic implant to temporarily deform under compressive forces and return to the first configuration after removal of the compressive forces to be used in the implant of Grotz as modified with Grotz.
Claim(s) 3-5,28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg (2002/0143402) as applied to claims 2,27 above, and further in view of Ringeisen et al. (7723395). Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg is explained supra. However, Grotz (2010/0023126) as modified with Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also Steinberg did not disclose the distance between the tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface is up to either 50% or 2/3 or 75% less in the second configuration than in the first configuration. Ringeisen et al. teach (see claim 24) that a material for an orthopedic implant can be provided with material that is configured to change or withstand loads applied thereon within ranges of 50-75% as it equates to distances between contact surfaces to be up to 75% less or 2/3 less or up to 50% less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a material in the orthopedic implant to allow a distance between the tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface is up to either 50% or 2/3 or 75% less in the second configuration than in the first configuration per the teaching of Ringeisen et al. with the orthopedic device of US Grotz as modified with WO Grotz and also Steinberg such that the appropriate supportive structure and load tension is applied/permitted at the site of treatment in the patient. Finding the optimal material properties for use only involves routine skill in the art and would have been an obvious matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg (2002/0143402) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Halbrecht (2010/0131069). Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg is explained supra. However, Grotz (2010/0023126) as modified with Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also Steinberg did not disclose the tibia contact surface is flat and configured to be accommodated by a cut or shaved surface of the tibia. Halbrecht teaches (Fig. 1) an implant 100 can be provided with its inferior portion 104 being flat such that it can be configured to be accommodated by a cut or shaved surface of the tibia, see paragraph 26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inferior portion to be flat as taught by Halbrecht with the implant of Grotz US ‘126 as modified with Grotz WO ‘004 and Steinberg such that the desired tension height is provided, see Halbrecht.
Claim(s) 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotz (2010/0023126) in view of Grotz (WO 2011/091004) and also in view of Steinberg (2002/0143402) and also in view of Ringeisen et al. (7723395). Grotz US ‘126 discloses (Fig. 2) an orthopedic implant 10 configured to be positioned (see paragraph 31) between a patellar tendon and a tibia, the orthopedic implant comprising:(a) an inferior portion 13; (b) a superior portion 14 opposite the inferior portion and having a tendon contact surface configured to engage the patellar tendon to lift and/or tilt the patellar tendon when the tibia contact surface is in place on the tibia (intended use, see paragraph 31 of Grotz US ‘126 suggesting use with tendon); (c) a first lateral side 15 extending from the superior portion to the inferior portion; (d) a second lateral side opposite the first lateral side and extending from the superior portion to the inferior portion;(e) deformable portions comprising the superior portion and/or at least one of the first lateral side and the second lateral side see paragraph 6 of Grotz, the deformable portions being formed of soft and deformable material and having a durometer and geometry calibrated to provide support for tendon lift and/or redirection. It is noted that Grotz US ‘126 discloses what can be construed as (f) a fixation tab 35 extending from the inferior portion on the first lateral side (see other embodiment of Grotz Fig. 7) configured to accommodate fixation screws (paragraph 37 of Grotz); and (g) a similar fixation tab 35 extending from the inferior portion on the second lateral side configured to accommodate fixation screws or spikes, Grotz US ‘126 (abstract) discloses the orthopedic implant has a first configuration when placed on the tibia, is configured to temporarily deform under compressive forces to a second configuration, and is configured to return to the first configuration after removal of the compressive forces. It is noted that Grotz discloses (paragraph 42,51) to provide the implant walls or components with balanced deformability and rigidity. However, Grotz did not explicitly disclose the inferior portion rigid plastic or metal and having a tibia contact surface configured to be positioned against, or in proximity to, the tibia. Steinberg teaches (Figs. 18G-18L) a joint implant 400 the inferior portion 416 comprises rigid material (paragraph 168) and the superior portion comprises deformable material (paragraph 165). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the inferior portion be made of a rigid material and the superior portion formed of a deformable material as taught by Steinberg in the joint implant of Grotz US ‘126 as modified by Grotz WO ‘004 such that it provides both a load bearing and shock absorbing surface area at the joint site, see Steinberg paragraph 166. However, Grotz US ‘126 was silent that the fixation tabs comprises screw holes in the inferior portion. Grotz WO ‘004 teaches (paragraph 68) a fixation mechanism can be screw holes in an inferior portion or that on the bone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide fixation tabs with screw holes in the inferior portion as taught by Grotz WO ‘004 in the extension feature of embodiment Fig. 2 implant of Grotz US ‘126 such that the screws can be inserted easily and not have to bore or be forced into the implant to cause any disruption on the location of placement. Grotz US ‘126 in view of Grotz WO ‘004 as modified with Steinberg did not disclose a distance between the tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface in the second configuration is up to 50% less than in the first configuration. Ringeisen et al. teach (see claim 24) that a material for an orthopedic implant can be provided with material that is configured to change or withstand loads applied thereon within ranges of 50% as it equates to distances between contact surfaces to be up to 50% less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a material in the orthopedic implant to allow a distance between the tendon contact surface and the tibia contact surface is up to either 50% less in the second configuration than in the first configuration per the teaching of Ringeisen et al. with the orthopedic device of US Grotz as modified with WO Grotz and also Steinberg such that the appropriate supportive structure and load tension is applied/permitted at the site of treatment in the patient. Finding the optimal material properties for use only involves routine skill in the art and would have been an obvious matter of design choice. Regarding claim 37, Grotz US ‘126 show the first configuration is a configuration in which the orthopedic implant is slightly compressed or deformed when first placed between the tibia and the patellar tendon, see paragraph 31 suggesting capability.
With respect to claim 38, Grotz teaches elastic material can be used (paragraph 6) and further per the modification Steinberg teaches (paragraph 108) the deformable material is silicone rubber.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799