DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an image display device (Figure 10; Backlight Assembly 1000) comprising:
a light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) having a light source element (Figure 10; Light Sources 210a-210i) that irradiates light (see Paragraphs [0074] and [0135]; wherein it is disclosed that the light source 210 emits light to incident surface 310);
a display panel (Figure 10; Display Panel 100) that displays an image (see Paragraph [0073]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 100 displays an image according to driving signals and data signals); and
a light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 300) that guides light from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) to the display panel (see Paragraph [0082]; wherein it is disclosed that the light guide plate 300 converts point light source or line light source into plane light source distribution. The light guide plate 300 includes the incident surface 310, an exiting surface 320 and an opposing surface 330. The incident surface 310 is at a side of the light guide plate 300 and receives the incident light and the exiting surface 320 is extended from an upper side of the incident surface 310 and the incident light is emitted from the exiting surface 320),
the light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 300) having a lens portion (Figure 12; Light Adjusting Pattern 314) that suppresses spread of light from the light source (see Paragraph [0141]; wherein it is disclosed that the emitting angle distribution of the light, which is incident from the first light sources 210b, 210e and 210h according to the light adjusting patterns 314, is narrowed by the circular arc shape of the convex lens),
a maximum spread angle θ at which light irradiated from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) intersects with a main plane (see Figures 10 and 12; wherein the main plane corresponds to the entire incident surface 310 of the light guide plate 300 which occupies the XZ plane) of the lens portion being 15 degrees or more and 60 degrees or less (see Paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and Table 1; wherein the emitting angle distribution is ±8 ̊ and ±30 ̊ ),
light irradiated from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) having a width less than one-third of the width of the main plane (see Figures 10 and 12; wherein the main plane corresponds to the entire incident surface 310 of the light guide plate 300 which occupies the XZ plane) of the lens portion (see Figure 12 and Paragraphs [0140]-[0141]; wherein there are 9 light sources 210 and 3 circular arc shapes of a convex lens corresponding to the light adjusting patterns 314 arranged across the width of the incident surface 310 in the x direction. One of the light adjusting patterns 314 having the circular arc shape of the convex lens corresponds to the second first light source 210b in the x-direction, one of the light adjusting patterns 314 having the circular arc shape of the convex lens corresponds to the fifth first light source 210e in the x-direction and one of the light adjusting patterns 314 having the circular arc shape of the convex lens corresponds to the third first light source 210h in the x-direction. The emitting angle distribution of the light, which is incident from the first light sources 210b, 210e and 210h according to the light adjusting patterns 314, is narrowed by the circular arc shape of the convex lens. Thereby, light irradiated from the light source 210 has a width less than one-third of the width of the entire incident surface 310 of the light guide plate 300).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim further teaches the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) has a plurality of the light source elements (Figure 10; Light Sources 210a-210i), wherein
the light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 300) has an incident surface (Figure 10; Incident Surface 310) that faces the light source (see Figure 10), an exit surface (Figure 10; Exiting Surface 320) that faces the display panel (see Figure 10; wherein the exiting surface 320 faces the display panel 100), and a bottom surface (Figure 10; Bottom Surface 350) that faces the exit surface (see Figure 10), opposite to the display panel (see Figure 10; wherein the bottom surface 350 faces the exiting surface 320 and is opposite to the display panel 100), wherein
the incident surface (Figure 10; Incident Surface 310) is a lateral surface of the light guide (see Figure 10), lying between the exit surface (Figure 10; Exiting Surface 320) and the bottom surface (see Figure 10; wherein the incident surface 310 is between the exiting surface 320 and the bottom surface 350), wherein
the exit surface (Figure 10; Exiting Surface 320) having a rectangular shape composed of long sides and short sides (see Figures 10 and 12; wherein the light guide plate 300, as a whole, as well as the exiting surface 320 thereof has a rectangular shape with long sides and short sides), and wherein
in plan view, the plurality of light source elements (Figure 10; Light Sources 210a-210i) are arranged along direction of the short sides of the exit surface (see Figures 10 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Chan et al (US 2020/0174284; hereinafter referred to as Chan).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose that the light source comprises a condenser lens that condenses light irradiated from the light source element.
Chan discloses an image display device (Figure 6A; Head Mounted Device 10) comprising: a light source (Figure 6A; Assembly 71) having a light source element (Figure 6A; Laser 72) that irradiates light (see Figure 6A and Paragraph [0055]); a display panel (Figure 6A; Display 40) that displays an image (see Paragraph [0056]); and a light guide (Figure 6A; Waveguide 84/94) that guides light from the light source (Figure 6A; Assembly 71) to the display panel (see Figure 6A), wherein
the light source (Figure 6A; Assembly 71) comprises a condenser lens (Figure 6A; Lens 75) that condenses light irradiated from the light source element (see Figure 6A and Paragraph [0044]; wherein it is disclosed that the objective lens 75 focuses light 74 onto pinhole aperture 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source of Kim such that the light source comprises a condenser lens that condenses light irradiated from the light source element, as taught by Chan, because doing so would predictably improve utilization efficiency of the generated light.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim as modified by Chan discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Chan further discloses a light condensing position of light passing through the condenser lens (Chan Figure 6A; Lens 75), a positional offset amount Lpf from a focal position of the lens portion (see Figure 6A; Collimating Lens 80), and a focal length f of the lens portion (see Figure 6A; wherein there exists a positional offset amount from a focal position of the collimating lens 80 and a focal length thereof).
Kim as modified by Chan does not expressly disclose that the relational expression -f/5 < Lpf < f/5 is satisfied.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to satisfy the above-mentioned expression in order to optimize the utilization efficiency of the generated light.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim as modified by Chan discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Chan further discloses a pitch d between the light source elements (Kim Figure 10; Light Sources 210a-210i) adjacent to each other (see Kim Figure 10), a length L from the light condensing position of light passing through the condenser lens (Chan Figure 6A; Lens 75) to the lens portion (Chan Figure 6A; Collimating Lens 80) of the light guide (see Chan Figure 6A), and a maximum spread angle of light (see Chan Figure 6A).
Kim as modified by Chan does not expressly disclose that the relational expression
1.6
L
·
t
a
n
θ
≤
d
≤
2.0
·
L
·
t
a
n
θ
.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to satisfy the above-mentioned expression in order to optimize the utilization efficiency of the generated light.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim as modified by Chan discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Kim further discloses the light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 300) has a protruding portion that is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the lens portion (Figure 12; Light Adjusting Pattern 314) and extends toward the light source (see Figure 12).
Claims 5, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Asai (US 2018/0259773).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose that the light source element has a laser element.
Asai discloses an image display device (Figure 2; Image Display Device 120) comprising: a light source (Figure 2; Light Source 111) having a light source element that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0034]); a display panel (Figure 2; Display Panel 115) that displays an image (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 115 transmits the light output from light beam control member 114 to display the image); and a light guide (Figure 2; Light Guide Plate 112) that guides light from the light source (Figure 2; Light Source 111) to the display panel (see Figure 2), wherein
the light source element (Figure 2; Light Source 111) has a laser element (see Paragraph [0120]; wherein it is disclosed that the light source 111 may be a laser diode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source of Kim such that the light source element has a laser element, as taught by Asai, because doing so would predictably allow for the projection of a brighter display image.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose that a light ray direction altering member that alters traveling direction of entire light leaving the light guide toward direction where the display panel lies; and a light orientation lens that, at central portion and peripheral portions of the light orientation lens, allows light from the light ray direction altering member to have different traveling directions with respect to the display panel.
Asai discloses an image display device (Figure 10; Image Display Device 320) comprising: a light source (Figure 10; Light Source 111) having a light source element that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0034]); a display panel (Figure 10; Display Panel 115) that displays an image (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 115 transmits the light output from light beam control member 114 to display the image); and a light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 112) that guides light from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 111) to the display panel (see Figure 10), and
a light ray direction altering member (Figure 10; Light Beam Control Member 114) that alters traveling direction of entire light leaving the light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 112) toward direction where the display panel lies (see Paragraph [0077]); and a light orientation lens (Figure 10; Light Beam Deflection Member 119) that, at central portion and peripheral portions of the light orientation lens (Figure 10; Light Beam Deflection Member 119), allows light from the light ray direction altering member (Figure 10; Light Beam Control Member 114) to have different traveling directions with respect to the display panel (see Paragraph [0117]; wherein the light beam deflection member 119 is described as a Fresnel lens which inherently has different structures in a center and peripheral portion thereof such that light has different traveling directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim to include a light ray direction altering member that alters traveling direction of entire light leaving the light guide toward direction where the display panel lies; and a light orientation lens that, at central portion and peripheral portions of the light orientation lens, allows light from the light ray direction altering member to have different traveling directions with respect to the display panel, as taught by Asai, because doing so would allow for the eyebox to be set in a desired range (see Paragraph [0113]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose a head-up display comprising the image display device according to claim 1.
Asai discloses a head-up display (Figure 1; Heads-Up Display 100) comprising an image display device (Figure 10; Image Display Device 320), comprising: a light source (Figure 10; Light Source 111) having a light source element that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0034]); a display panel (Figure 10; Display Panel 115) that displays an image (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 115 transmits the light output from light beam control member 114 to display the image); and a light guide (Figure 10; Light Guide Plate 112) that guides light from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 111) to the display panel (see Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate the image display device of Kim into a heads-up display based upon the teachings of Asai, because doing so would predictably allow for a user to visually recognize a virtual image while operating a motor vehicle.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 17 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Asai discloses a movable body (Asai Figure 1; Vehicle 200) comprising the head-up display according to claim 17 (see Claim 17 rejection above).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim further discloses that light irradiated from the light source (Figure 10; Light Source 210) has a narrow width with an emitting angle distribution of ±8 degrees (see Paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and Table 1; wherein the emitting angle distribution is ±8 ̊ and ±30 ̊ ).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the light irradiated from the light source has a width of 0.5 mm or less. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the image display device of Kim such that light irradiated from the light source has a width of 0.5 mm or less because doing so would improve light use efficiency while also achieving high brightness and uniformity with a narrow emitting angle distribution advantageously used for the private viewing of a displayed image.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as modified by Asai (US 2018/0259773) as applied to claim 5, in view of Zenko et al (US 2023/0324692; hereinafter referred to as Zenko).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim as modified by Asai discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Asai does not expressly disclose that the laser element is arranged such that light from the laser element has a pupil diameter whose long-diameter direction corresponds to short-side direction of an eyebox that is a visibility area of the image.
Zenko discloses a laser element (Figure 2; Light Source 50) that is arranged such that light from the laser element (Figure 2; Light Source 50) has a pupil diameter whose long-diameter direction corresponds to short-side direction of an eyebox that is a visibility area of the image (see Paragraph [0146]; wherein it is disclosed that the spot is 0.4 millimeters long in the direction of the x-axis and 0.8 millimeters long in the direction of the y-axis. The eye box 200 is 12.8 millimeters long in the x-axis direction and 7.2 millimeters long in the y-axis direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim as modified by Asai such that the laser element is arranged such that light from the laser element has a pupil diameter whose long-diameter direction corresponds to short-side direction of an eyebox that is a visibility area of the image, as taught by Zenko, because doing so would predictably improve utilization efficiency of the generated light.
Claims 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Okumura et al (US 2009/0316072; hereinafter referred to as Okumura).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose an optical fiber arranged between the light source and the light guide, wherein light from the light source propagates via the optical fiber to the light guide.
Okumura discloses an image display device (Figure 1B) comprising: a light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) having a light source element (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0126]); a display panel (Figure 1B; Liquid Crystal Panel 4) that displays an image (see Paragraph [0115]); and a light guide (Figure 1B; Light Guide Plate 18) that guides light from the light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) to the display panel (see Figure 1B), and
an optical fiber (Figure 1B; Light Mixer 20) arranged between the light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) and the light guide (Figure 1B; Light Guide Plate 18), wherein light from the light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) propagates via the optical fiber (Figure 1B; Light Mixer 20) to the light guide (see Paragraph [0275]; wherein it is disclosed that LED arrays 24 of the light source 12 are disposed to face the light entrance plane 52b, and light from the LED arrays 24 of the light source 12 is entered via the light mixer 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim to include an optical fiber arranged between the light source and the light guide, wherein light from the light source propagates via the optical fiber to the light guide, as taught by Okumura, because doing so would allow for the light entering the light guide plate to be made uniform (see Okumura Paragraph [0192]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim as modified by Okumura discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose that the light source is arranged apart via the optical fiber from the light guide, and wherein the light source arranged apart from the light guide includes a heat sink that releases heat of the light source elements.
Okumura further discloses that the light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) is arranged apart via the optical fiber (Figure 1B; Light Mixer 20) from the light guide (Figure 1B; Light Guide Plate 18), and wherein the light source (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) arranged apart from the light guide (Figure 1B; Light Guide Plate 18) includes a heat sink (Figure 1B; Heat Sink 27) that releases heat of the light source elements (see Paragraph [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim such that the light source is arranged apart via the optical fiber from the light guide, and wherein the light source arranged apart from the light guide includes a heat sink that releases heat of the light source elements, as taught by Okumura, because doing so would allow for the heat generated by the LED chips to be absorbed and released to the outside (see Okumura Paragraph [0127]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim as modified by Okumura discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose a fluorescent substance arranged between the optical fiber and the light guide, wherein blue light is emitted from each of the light source elements, and wherein blue light from each of the light source elements irradiates the fluorescent substance to allow white light to be incident on the light guide.
Okumura further discloses a fluorescent substance arranged between the optical fiber (Figure 1B; Light Mixer 20) and the light guide (Figure 1B; Light Guide Plate 18), wherein blue light is emitted from each of the light source elements (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25), and wherein blue light from each of the light source elements (Figure 1B; LED Chip 25) irradiates the fluorescent substance to allow white light to be incident on the light guide (see Paragraph [0126]; wherein it is disclosed that the LED chip 25 is a single-color LED configured to convert a light emitted from the LED into a white light by using a fluorescent material. For example, when a GaN blue LED--is used as a single-color LED, a white light can be obtained by using a YAG (yttrium aluminum garnet) fluorescent material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim to include a fluorescent substance arranged between the optical fiber and the light guide, wherein blue light is emitted from each of the light source elements, and wherein blue light from each of the light source elements irradiates the fluorescent substance to allow white light to be incident on the light guide, as taught by Okumura, because doing so would predictably provide a white light source with high luminous efficiency.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as modified by Okumura et al (US 2009/0316072; hereinafter referred to as Okumura) as applied to claim 11, in view of Hajati et al (US 2020/0090569; hereinafter referred to as Hajati).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim as modified by Okumura discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Okumura does not expressly disclose that a pitch between exit openings of the optical fibers adjacent to each other is smaller than a pitch between the light source elements adjacent to each other.
Hajati discloses an image display device (Figure 12; Display System 14) comprising: a light source (Figure 12; Light Source 14A) having a light source element (Figure 12; Laser 204) that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0059]); and a light guide (Figure 12; Optical Component 14C), wherein light from the light source (Figure 12; Light Source 14A) propagates via an optical fiber (Figure 12; Channels 218) to the light guide (see Figure 12), wherein
a pitch between exit openings of the optical fibers (Figure 12; Pitch 238) adjacent to each other is smaller than a pitch between the light source elements (Figure 12; Pitch 236) adjacent to each other (see Figure 12 and Paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim as modified by Okumura such that the pitch between exit openings of the optical fibers adjacent to each other is smaller than a pitch between the light source elements adjacent to each other, as taught by Hajati, because doing so would maximize the resolution of the displayed far-field (see Hajati Paragraph [0064]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as modified by Okumura et al (US 2009/0316072; hereinafter referred to as Okumura).as applied to claim 11, in view of Nagata et al (US 2010/0177025; hereinafter referred to as Nagata).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim as modified by Okumura discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Okumura does not expressly disclose a plurality of optical fibers toward the light guide are branched from a single optical fiber toward the light source element.
Nagata discloses an image display device (Figure 18; Information Display Device 60) comprising: a light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) having a light source element (Figure 18; Laser Light Sources 31a, 31b and 31c) that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0103]); a display panel (Figure 18; Liquid Crystal Panel 26) that displays an image (see Paragraph [0071]); and a light guide (Figure 18; Light Guide Plate 40) that guides light from the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) to the display panel (Figure 18; Liquid Crystal Panel 26), and an optical fiber (Figure 18; Fiber 61) arranged between the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) and the light guide (see Figure 18), wherein light from the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) propagates via the optical fiber (Figure 18; Fiber 61) to the light guide (see Figure 18), wherein
a plurality of optical fibers (Figure 18; Fiber 61) toward the light guide (Figure 18; Light Guide Plate 40) are branched from a single optical fiber (Figure 18; Fiber 61) toward the light source element (see Figure 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim as modified by Okumura to include a plurality of optical fibers toward the light guide are branched from a single optical fiber toward the light source element, as taught by Nagata, because doing so would predictably improve light use efficiency while maintaining the polarization of the incoming light (see Nagata Paragraph [0131]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2012/0195063; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as modified by Chan et al (US 2020/0174284; hereinafter referred to as Chan) as applied to claim 3, in view of Nagata et al (US 2010/0177025; hereinafter referred to as Nagata).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim as modified by Chan discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Kim as modified by Chan does not expressly disclose an optical fiber arranged between the light source and the light guide; and a half mirror arranged on an optical path between the light source element and the condenser lens, wherein light from the light source propagates via the optical fiber to the light guide, wherein light from the light source element is split by the half mirror, and wherein split light is incident on the optical fiber.
Nagata discloses an image display device (Figure 18; Information Display Device 60) comprising: a light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) having a light source element (Figure 18; Laser Light Sources 31a, 31b and 31c) that irradiates light (see Paragraph [0103]); a display panel (Figure 18; Liquid Crystal Panel 26) that displays an image (see Paragraph [0071]); and a light guide (Figure 18; Light Guide Plate 40) that guides light from the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) to the display panel (Figure 18; Liquid Crystal Panel 26), and an optical fiber (Figure 18; Fiber 61) arranged between the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) and the light guide (see Figure 18), wherein light from the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) propagates via the optical fiber (Figure 18; Fiber 61) to the light guide (see Figure 18), wherein the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) comprises a condenser lens (Figure 18; Collecting Lens 35) that condenses light irradiated from the light source element (see Paragraph [0104]; wherein it is disclosed that the collecting lens 35 collects the laser beam 32 to be injected into the optical fiber 34), and wherein
an optical fiber (Figures 18 and 19; Fiber 61) arranged between the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) and the light guide (Figure 18; Light Guide Plate 40); and a half mirror (Figure 18; Dichroic Mirror 33) arranged on an optical path between the light source element (Figure 18; Laser Light Sources 31a, 31b and 31c) and the condenser lens (Figure 18; Collecting Lens 35), wherein light from the light source (Figure 18; Laser Light Source 31) propagates via the optical fiber (Figures 18 and 19; Fiber 61) to the light guide (see Figures 18 and 19), wherein light from the light source element (Figure 18; Laser Light Sources 31a, 31b and 31c) is split by the half mirror (see Figure 18), and wherein split light is incident on the optical fiber (see Figure 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image display device of Kim as modified by Chan to include an optical fiber arranged between the light source and the light guide; and a half mirror arranged on an optical path between the light source element and the condenser lens, wherein light from the light source propagates via the optical fiber to the light guide, wherein light from the light source element is split by the half mirror, and wherein split light is incident on the optical fiber, as taught by Nagata, because doing so would allow for the red, green and blue light to be combined and efficiently injected into the optical fiber (see Nagata Paragraph [0111]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882