Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 20 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because as noted in the restriction requirement, the different requirements of the combination elected (i.e. a vehicle), the sub-combination (i.e. the adhesive alone) and the method of manufacturing impose a serious burden on examination including separate and distinct requirements as to the classification search which must be performed for each group and the interpretation of the claims based on the statutory categories of invention require separate considerations.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 11426257 attached, using US PG Pub 2023/0193084 as an English equivalent).
In regard to claim 1, Chen teaches a vehicle comprising:
an electric motor (an electronic device, such as a vehicle or assisted bicycle – paragraph [0108]);
and a battery pack electrically coupled to the electric motor (paragraph [0073-0077] – such as a lithium secondary battery), the battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells (paragraphs [0003, 0118]), each battery cell comprising an electrode stack (positive and negative electrode material stacked with separator – paragraphs [0078-0105]);
wherein the electrode stack of each battery cell comprises a plurality of battery foils (positive and negative active material layers on current collectors) separated by an insulated member (outer packaging and/or polymer separator) in a stacked configuration comprising an alternating battery foil and insulated member layers (“adhesive tape used as a winding adhesive tape of the electrode assembly in the electrochemical device” – paragraph [0076]);
wherein the electrode stack of each battery cell further comprises an ultraviolet- curable gluing reagent, the ultraviolet-curable gluing reagent applied between the alternating battery foil and insulated member layers, thereby gluing the plurality of battery foils to the insulated member; and wherein the ultraviolet-curable gluing reagent comprises a multifunctional acrylate crosslinking agent and an initiator (paragraph [0051] “According to some embodiments of this application, the hardening solution includes a polyacrylate prepolymer, and the polyacrylate prepolymer includes 3 to 9 alkene functional groups. As the number of alkene functional groups increases, a polymerization degree and hardness of the polyacrylate prepolymer are also increased, reducing the dissolution rate in electrolyte of the electrochemical apparatus”).
In regard to claim 2, Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the multifunctional acrylate crosslinking agent comprises a multi-dented alkyl acrylate (paragraphs [0052-0060]).
In regard to claim 3, Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the multifunctional acrylate crosslinking agent comprises a multibranched alkyl acrylate having N branches, wherein N is 1,2, 3, or 4 (paragraphs [0052-0060]).
In regard to claim 4, Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 3, wherein the multifunctional acrylate crosslinking agent comprises at least one such as a single branch ethyl acrylate (paragraphs [0055]).
In regard to claim 5, Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the initiator comprises a photoinitiator comprising at least one of a peroxide, benzoyl peroxide (BPO) or tertbutyl peroxide (paragraphs [0054]).
In regard to claim 7, Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet-curable gluing reagent is cured using an ultraviolent light source, thereby fixing the electrode stack (paragraphs [0031]). The Examiner notes MPEP 2113 relating to Product by Process limitations - “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub 2021/0265661 newly cited).
Chen teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the electrode is a winding (paragraphs [0076]) but does not teach the electrode in stacked configuration comprises a z-fold stacked configuration having two or more electrode folds. However, Lee et al. teach a similar electrochemical device of a battery cell with layers that are joined via UV cured adhesives (paragraph [0090-0094]) and in paragraph [0116] “The shape of the lithium secondary battery as described above is not particularly limited and may be, for example, a jelly-roll type, a stack type, a stack-folding type (comprising a stack-Z-folding type), or a lamination-stacking type, and preferably a stack-folding type” depending on the requirements for size and shape of the lithium secondary battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to form the stacked cells as a Z-folded stack with two or more electrode folds in the device of Chen as such allows for different shape battery cells to be formed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Taylor US Pub 2015/0188185 newly cited, teaches a similar battery cell reinforced with UV curable acrylate polymer layers.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723