Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4th April 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim Objections
Claims 27 and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27: please insert -- access point -- prior to the first occurrence of the “AP” term.
Claim 32: please replace “:” with --.-- at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
========== ========== ==========
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 10, 13, 14, 15, 19, 22, 23, 25, 27, 30, 31, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al (US 10,153,857 B1).
Claim 10 (similarly Claim 1). Chu shows a station (STA) for facilitating radio frequency (RF) combining in a wireless network (fig. 1: client station 25), the STA comprising: one or more memories (col. 38 lines 37-44: a processor executing software instructions, or any combination thereof wherein when implemented utilizing a processor executing software or firmware instructions, the software or firmware instructions may be stored in any computer readable memory such as on a magnetic disk, an optical disk, or other storage medium, in a RAM or ROM or flash memory, processor, hard disk drive, optical disk drive, tape drive, etc.); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see above), the one or more processors configured to: receive a multicast request-to-send (RTS) frame from an access point (AP) (col. 36 lines 39-41: the AP 14 transmits a control frame, for example, an RTS frame, to trigger a duplicate CTS from the client stations prior to the OFDMA data exchange); simultaneously transmit a plurality of clear-to-send (CTS) frames to the AP (col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed); set an initial state of a scrambler used to generate the plurality of CTS frames to a state derived from the received multicast RTS frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 38 lines 21-25: a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed); receive a multicast data frame from the AP (col. 15 lines 4-10: such OFDMA data units are downlink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted by an AP to a plurality of client stations in some cases, and are uplink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted form a plurality of client stations to an AP; col. 37 lines 64-66: the client station 25 receives the OFDMA data unit 1002, 1202, 1302, 1402, 1502, 1506, 1602, 1702, 1802, or 1902 from the AP 14); and simultaneously transmit one or more acknowledge (ACK) frames to the AP (col. 17 lines 9-11: the acknowledgement frames are transmitted by the client stations simultaneously; col. 32 lines 47-50: the client stations STA1 and STA2 respond to the control frame of the OFDMA data unit 1506 by providing respective acknowledgment frames within the OFDMA data unit 1508).
Claim 13 (similarly claim 4). Chu shows the STA of claim 10, wherein the scrambler scrambles data of the one or more CTS frames prior to encoding the data and transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 28 lines 39-42: each of the duplicate 20 MHz CTS frames must have the same content, same scramble seed, and data rate so that the AP can decode the frames due to overlap of the frames).
Claim 14 (similarly claim 5). Chu shows the STA of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to set an initial state of the scrambler to a state derived from the received multicast data frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 28 lines 39-42: each of the duplicate 20 MHz CTS frames must have the same content, same scramble seed, and data rate so that the AP can decode the frames due to overlap of the frames).
Claim 15 (similarly claim 6). Chu shows the STA of claim 10, wherein the multicast RTS frame includes signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of the one or more CTS frames (col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed).
Claim 17 (similarly claim 8). Chu shows the STA of claim 10, wherein the multicast data frame includes a duration field set to an ACK transmission time (col. 18 lines 46-51: a duration corresponding to transmission of acknowledgement frames includes duration of transmission of the acknowledgement frames as well as an interframe space (e.g. SIFS) between transmission of the OFDMA data unit and the acknowledgement frames).
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 19. Chu shows an access point (AP) for facilitating radio frequency (RF) combining in a wireless network (fig. 1: Access Point, AP, 14), the AP comprising: one or more memories (col. 38 lines 37-44: a processor executing software instructions, or any combination thereof wherein when implemented utilizing a processor executing software or firmware instructions, the software or firmware instructions may be stored in any computer readable memory such as on a magnetic disk, an optical disk, or other storage medium, in a RAM or ROM or flash memory, processor, hard disk drive, optical disk drive, tape drive, etc.); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see above), the one or more processors configured to: transmit a multicast request-to-send (RTS) frame to a plurality of stations (STAs) (col. 36 lines 39-41: the AP 14 transmits a control frame, for example, an RTS frame, to trigger a duplicate CTS from the client stations prior to the OFDMA data exchange); simultaneously receive a plurality of clear-to-send (CTS) frames from the plurality of STAs (col. 24 lines 22-26: the first control frame polls the client stations or otherwise indicates that the plurality of client stations STA1, STA2, STA3, and STA4 are requested to simultaneously transmit respective control frames to the AP 14; col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed), the plurality of received CTS frames based a scrambled initial state of the multicast RTS frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 38 lines 21-25: a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed); transmit a multicast data frame to the plurality of STAs (col. 15 lines 4-10: such OFDMA data units are downlink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted by an AP to a plurality of client stations in some cases, and are uplink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted form a plurality of client stations to an AP; col. 37 lines 64-66: the client station 25 receives the OFDMA data unit 1002, 1202, 1302, 1402, 1502, 1506, 1602, 1702, 1802, or 1902 from the AP 14); and simultaneously receive one or more acknowledge (ACK) frames from the plurality of STAs (col. 17 lines 9-11: the acknowledgement frames are transmitted by the client stations simultaneously; col. 32 lines 47-50: the client stations STA1 and STA2 respond to the control frame of the OFDMA data unit 1506 by providing respective acknowledgment frames within the OFDMA data unit 1508).
Claim 22. Chu shows the AP of claim 19, wherein the plurality of received CTS frames are based a scrambled initial state of the multicast data frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 28 lines 39-42: each of the duplicate 20 MHz CTS frames must have the same content, same scramble seed, and data rate so that the AP can decode the frames due to overlap of the frames).
Claim 23. Chu shows the AP of claim 19, wherein the multicast RTS frame includes signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of the one or more CTS frames (col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed).
Claim 25. Chu shows the AP of claim 19, wherein the multicast data frame includes a duration field set to an ACK transmission time (col. 18 lines 46-51: a duration corresponding to transmission of acknowledgement frames includes duration of transmission of the acknowledgement frames as well as an interframe space (e.g. SIFS) between transmission of the OFDMA data unit and the acknowledgement frames).
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 27. Chu shows a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that (col. 38 lines 37-44: a processor executing software instructions, or any combination thereof wherein when implemented utilizing a processor executing software or firmware instructions, the software or firmware instructions may be stored in any computer readable memory such as on a magnetic disk, an optical disk, or other storage medium, in a RAM or ROM or flash memory, processor, hard disk drive, optical disk drive, tape drive, etc.), when executed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to perform: simultaneously transmitting, by a plurality of stations (STAs) (fig. 1: client stations 25), a plurality of clear-to-send (CTS) frames to an access point (AP) (fig. 1: AP 14; col. 24 lines 22-26: the first control frame polls the client stations or otherwise indicates that the plurality of client stations STA1, STA2, STA3, and STA4 are requested to simultaneously transmit respective control frames to the AP 14; col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed); setting, by the plurality of STAs, an initial state of a scrambler used to generate the plurality of CTS frames to a state derived from the received multicast RTS frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 38 lines 21-25: a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed); receiving, by the plurality of STAs, a multicast data frame from the AP (col. 15 lines 4-10: such OFDMA data units are downlink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted by an AP to a plurality of client stations in some cases, and are uplink OFDMA data units that include respective OFDM data units simultaneously transmitted form a plurality of client stations to an AP; col. 37 lines 64-66: the client station 25 receives the OFDMA data unit 1002, 1202, 1302, 1402, 1502, 1506, 1602, 1702, 1802, or 1902 from the AP 14); and simultaneously transmitting, by the plurality of STAs, one or more acknowledge (ACK) frames to the AP (col. 17 lines 9-11: the acknowledgement frames are transmitted by the client stations simultaneously; col. 32 lines 47-50: the client stations STA1 and STA2 respond to the control frame of the OFDMA data unit 1506 by providing respective acknowledgment frames within the OFDMA data unit 1508).
Claim 30. Chu shows the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 27, wherein the scrambler scrambles data of the one or more CTS frames prior to encoding the data and transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 28 lines 39-42: each of the duplicate 20 MHz CTS frames must have the same content, same scramble seed, and data rate so that the AP can decode the frames due to overlap of the frames).
Claim 31. Chu shows the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 27, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform: setting an initial state of the scrambler to a state derived from the received multicast data frame (col. 25 lines 33-36: the client stations use a predetermined function with a same initial value to generate the scramble seed… a random number generator with a particular seed value; col. 28 lines 39-42: each of the duplicate 20 MHz CTS frames must have the same content, same scramble seed, and data rate so that the AP can decode the frames due to overlap of the frames).
Claim 32. Chu shows the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 27, wherein the multicast RTS frame includes signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of the one or more CTS frames (col. 38 lines 11-25: the client station 25 transmits the CTS frame of the OFDMA data unit 1004, 1204, 1304, 1404, 1504, 1604, 1704, 1804, or 1904 to the AP 14… the second control frame is duplicated across the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels that are available, providing the second control frame includes generating the second control frame to indicate that the at least some of the plurality of sub-channels are available, identifying a scramble seed for the second control frame that allows the first communication device to decode i) the second control frame, and ii) a third control frame to be transmitted by a third communication device, wherein the second control frame is to be transmitted simultaneously with the third control frame, and scrambling the second control frame with the identified scramble seed).
Claim 34. Chu shows the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 27, wherein the multicast data frame includes a duration field set to an ACK transmission time (col. 18 lines 46-51: a duration corresponding to transmission of acknowledgement frames includes duration of transmission of the acknowledgement frames as well as an interframe space (e.g. SIFS) between transmission of the OFDMA data unit and the acknowledgement frames).
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al in view of Halasz (US 7,039,068 B1).
Claim 11 (similarly claims 2 and 28). Chu shows the STA of claim 10; Chu does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are configured to set a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in the one or more CTS frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more CTS frames.Halasz teaches setting a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in one or more CTS frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 4 lines 59-61: the Frame Control field has two type bits and four subtype bits that identify the frame (ACK, CTS, RTS, etc.), and also has (among other things) a power management bit).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Halasz in the STA configuration of Chu to facilitate dynamic restructuring of packets.
Claim 12 (similarly claims 3 and 29). Chu shows the STA of claim 10; Chu does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are configured to set a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in one or more of the ACK frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more ACK frames.Halasz teaches setting a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in one or more CTS frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 4 lines 59-61: the Frame Control field has two type bits and four subtype bits that identify the frame (ACK, CTS, RTS, etc.), and also has (among other things) a power management bit).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Halasz in the STA configuration of Chu to facilitate dynamic restructuring of packets.
Claim 20. Chu shows the AP of claim 19, wherein the one or more CTS frames include a more data (MD) bit set to a zero value (col. 23 lines 52-59: the broadcast control frame in legacy duplicated data units 1002 carries the information for multiple stations STA1, STA2, STA3, and STA4 to transmit a CTS… the Duration field in the broadcast control frame in duplicated legacy data units 1002 carries Duration which indicates the remaining TXOP – remaining duration is set to “0” at the end of transmission).Chu does not expressly describe a power management (PM) bit.Halasz teaches setting a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in one or more CTS frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 4 lines 59-61: the Frame Control field has two type bits and four subtype bits that identify the frame (ACK, CTS, RTS, etc.), and also has (among other things) a power management bit).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the power management bit as taught by Halasz in the STA configuration of Chu to facilitate dynamic restructuring of packets.
Claim 21. Chu shows the AP of claim 19, wherein the one or more ACK frames include a more data (MD) bit set to a zero value (col. 20 lines 10-19: each control frame 807 includes an indication of a remaining duration of the TXOP 805 after the end of the control frame 807… each control frame 807 indicates a duration corresponding to transmission of the OFDMA data unit 809 from the AP 802 to the client stations 804 and transmission of the acknowledgement frames (e.g. ACK frames or BlkAck frames) 812 from the client stations 804 to the AP 802 – remaining duration is set to “0” at the end of transmission).Chu does not expressly describe a power management (PM) bit.Halasz teaches setting a power management (PM) bit and a more data (MD) bit in one or more CTS frames to a zero value prior to transmitting the one or more CTS frames (col. 4 lines 59-61: the Frame Control field has two type bits and four subtype bits that identify the frame (ACK, CTS, RTS, etc.), and also has (among other things) a power management bit).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the power management bit as taught by Halasz in the STA configuration of Chu to facilitate dynamic restructuring of packets.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claims 7, 16, 24 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al in view of Ouchi et al (US 2015/0222402 A1).
Claim 16 (similarly claims 7 and 33). Chu shows the STA of claim 10; Chu does not expressly describe wherein the multicast data frame includes signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of the one or more ACK frames.Ouchi teaches feature of signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of one or more ACK frames ([0061]: the information on the configuration of the uplink reference signal may include a parameter indicating whether or not to perform simultaneous transmission of the reference signal and Ack/Nack).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Ouchi in the signaling process of Chu to facilitate dynamically reconfiguring UL/DL configurations in a unit of radio frames.
Claim 24. Chu shows the AP of claim 19; Chu does not expressly describe wherein the multicast data frame includes signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of the one or more ACK frames.Ouchi teaches feature of signaling information indicating simultaneous transmission of one or more ACK frames ([0061]: the information on the configuration of the uplink reference signal may include a parameter indicating whether or not to perform simultaneous transmission of the reference signal and Ack/Nack).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Ouchi in the signaling process of Chu to facilitate dynamically reconfiguring UL/DL configurations in a unit of radio frames.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claims 9, 18, 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al in view of Gong et al (US 2011/0158159 A1).
Claim 18 (similarly claims 9 and 35). Chu shows the STA of claim 17; Chu does not expressly describe wherein in response to the duration field is set to a non-zero value, the one or more processors are configured to: simultaneously respond with one or more ACK frames in response to the plurality of STAs has a multicast address membership.Gong teaches simultaneously respond with one or more ACK frames in response to a plurality of STAs has a multicast address membership ([0034]: STAs 106a and 106b may transmit A-MPDU+CF-ACK frames simultaneously with each other using UL SDMA within the period indicated by the granted TXOP duration… AP 102 may transmit another CF-Poll frame to STAs 106c and 106d from SDMA Group 2 using a multicast address).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Gong in the processor of Chu to efficiently poll associated stations from multiple SDMA groups for their uplink transmissions.
Claim 26. Chu shows the AP of claim 25; Chu does not expressly describe wherein the one or more ACK frames are simultaneously received in response to the duration field is set to a non-zero value and the STA has a multicast address membership.Gong teaches simultaneously respond with one or more ACK frames in response to a plurality of STAs has a multicast address membership ([0034]: STAs 106a and 106b may transmit A-MPDU+CF-ACK frames simultaneously with each other using UL SDMA within the period indicated by the granted TXOP duration… AP 102 may transmit another CF-Poll frame to STAs 106c and 106d from SDMA Group 2 using a multicast address).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Gong in the AP of Chu to efficiently poll associated stations from multiple SDMA groups for their uplink transmissions.
========== ========= ==========
Conclusion
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
1. Merlin et al, US 2019/0173794 A1: a station for wireless communication comprising a receiver configured to receive a trigger frame from an access point, the trigger frame being transmitted to the station and to at least another station, the trigger frame indicating an uplink transmission opportunity for the station to transmit a first uplink physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) at a specific time and concurrently with the at least another station transmitting a second uplink PPDU, the trigger frame further comprising a duration field indicating a same duration of the first uplink PPDU and the second uplink PPDU; and a transmitter configured to transmit the first uplink PPDU at the specific time and with the indicated duration to the access point concurrently with the at least another station transmitting the second uplink PPDU to the access point.
2. Wang et al, US 2006/0109804 A1: a system for parallel transmission over WLAN that comprises causing a first mobile station to transmit an RTS and causing a second mobile station to transmit a CTS after receiving the RTS; searching third mobile stations to find any one receiving the RTS not the CTS and taking it as transmitting terminal; after receiving the CTS causing the first mobile station to transmit a first fragmentation to the second mobile station, after receiving the first fragmentation causing the second mobile station to reply to the first mobile station with an ACK, and repeatedly causing the first mobile station to transmit a next fragmentation until the fragmentations have been transmitted; and causing the transmitting terminal to transmit an RTS to a receiving terminal when the first mobile station is transmitting, and causing the receiving terminal to transmit a CTS after the second mobile station replying to the first mobile station with the ACK.
/XAVIER S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 17th March 2026