DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 10/30/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/4/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0135208 A1 (hereinafter, US’208) in view of JP 2010501970 A (hereinafter, JP’970).
As to Claim 1: US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use as a negative electrode active material in lithium-ion batteries ([0031], [0035]);
the electrochemically active material may comprise silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., elemental silicon, silicon alloys, or silicon oxides) ([0035]) and may further include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to improve electrical conductivity ([0039]–[0040]); and
the electrochemically active material can bear a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate, which forms when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon alloy precursor by treatment with an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]).
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the electrochemically active material includes a transition metal or that the transition metal is present in at least 50 mole % of its elemental state. While the reference mentions that the silicon-containing material may include conductive additives or alloy components, it lacks teaching of a transition metal component or its oxidation state.
JP’970 discloses an electrochemically active material comprising silicon, carbon, and one or more transition metals such as iron, nickel, or cobalt ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 teaches that during synthesis, transition metal oxides are partially reduced to their elemental metallic states (Fe⁰, Ni⁰) ([0025]), forming a composite that contains at least 50 mole % of the transition metal in its elemental form. The reference further explains that the metallic transition metal phase improves electrical conductivity and structural stability of the silicon-based anode. Therefore, JP’970 provides the missing teaching that the transition metal is present predominantly in its elemental state (≥50 mole %) and forms part of a silicon-based electrochemically active material.
Both US’208 and JP’970 are analogous art, as they are directed to silicon-based electrochemically active materials for lithium-ion battery anodes and address the same objective—enhancing the performance, conductivity, and cycle life of silicon-based electrodes. The references are within the same field of endeavor and relate to improvements in composite anode materials using metallic and carbon phases.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the silicon-based electrochemically active material disclosed in US 2021/0135208 A1 by incorporating one or more transition metals as taught by JP 2010501970 A, because JP’970 demonstrates that adding transition metals in primarily elemental form improves electrical conductivity and mechanical robustness of silicon-based electrodes. Such modification represents a predictable optimization in the field of lithium-ion anode materials, combining the high-capacity silicon system of US’208 with the conductivity-enhancing metallic phase of JP’970 to yield a composite electrochemically active material exhibiting improved overall performance.
As to Claim 2: US’208 further teaches that the electrochemically active material comprises silicon or silicon-containing particles, such as elemental silicon, silicon alloys, or silicon oxides ([0035]), and optionally includes a carbon phase, such as graphite or amorphous carbon, to improve electrical conductivity and cycle performance ([0039]–[0040]). The reference further discloses that the material may bear a surface coating comprising a lithium decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate, formed by reacting a lithiated precursor with an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]).
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that at least 50 mole % of the carbon is present in its elemental state, nor does it quantify the amount of carbon present in elemental form versus bonded carbon (e.g., in carbides or oxides). The reference broadly describes the inclusion of carbonaceous materials (graphite, amorphous carbon) but does not define their chemical state or mole percentage.
JP’970 discloses an electrochemically active material comprising silicon, carbon, and one or more transition metals ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 teaches that during synthesis, the carbon remains primarily in its elemental state (e.g., graphite or amorphous carbon) and functions as a conductive matrix surrounding the silicon and metal particles. The reference explains that this structure enhances electrical conductivity and mechanical stability ([0025]) and indicates that the majority of the carbon—at least 50 mole %—remains unreacted and elemental in the final composite. JP’970 therefore provides the missing limitation that the carbon is present predominantly in its elemental form within the electrochemically active material.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US 2021/0135208 A1 by ensuring that the carbon phase remains predominantly elemental, as taught by JP 2010501970 A, because JP’970 demonstrates that maintaining carbon in its elemental (graphitic or amorphous) state enhances electrical conductivity and structural integrity in silicon-based anodes. Such a modification represents a predictable optimization of material composition, using well-known design principles in the lithium-ion battery field to achieve improved performance without changing the fundamental material type or purpose.
As to Claim 3: US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use in a negative electrode of a lithium-ion battery ([0031], [0035]). The electrochemically active material comprises silicon or silicon-containing particles, such as elemental silicon, silicon alloys, or silicon oxides ([0035]). The reference further teaches that the electrochemically active material may include a carbon phase, such as graphite or amorphous carbon, for improving electronic conductivity ([0039]–[0040]). The material can also bear a surface coating comprising a lithium decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate, formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]). Therefore, US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material comprising elemental silicon as the primary active component.
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the electrochemically active material excludes carbon. Rather, US’208 emphasizes carbon-containing embodiments ([0039]), and does not describe a configuration where carbon is completely omitted from the electrochemically active material.
JP’970 discloses an electrochemically active material comprising silicon and one or more transition metals (Fe, Ni, Co, etc.) ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 teaches that while some embodiments include carbon as a conductive phase, carbon may be omitted entirely in other embodiments depending on desired conductivity and material design ([0025]). Specifically, the reference explains that silicon–metal composite systems can achieve sufficient conductivity without carbon due to the presence of metallic phases, thereby allowing carbon-free electrochemically active materials. JP’970 thus provides an explicit teaching that carbon is optional and may be excluded from the electrochemically active material.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US 2021/0135208 A1 to exclude carbon, as taught by JP 2010501970 A, since JP’970 explains that metallic silicon–transition metal composites can provide sufficient electronic conductivity and mechanical strength without requiring carbon. Such a modification represents a predictable variation of the silicon-based anode materials known in the art, simplifying the material composition while maintaining electrochemical performance.
As to Claim 4: US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use in a negative electrode of a lithium-ion battery ([0031], [0035]). US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material comprises silicon or silicon-containing particles, including elemental silicon, silicon alloys, or silicon oxides ([0035]). The reference further describes that the electrochemically active material may optionally include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to improve electronic conductivity ([0039]–[0040]) and can have a surface coating comprising a lithium decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate, formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated precursor via reaction with alcohol ([0046]–[0047]). Thus, US’208 teaches an electrochemically active material comprising silicon and optional additional phases for improved performance.
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the electrochemically active material further includes one or more transition metal elements, nor does it specify that any transition metal (e.g., Fe, Ni, Co) forms part of the material. The reference focuses on silicon–carbon or silicon–oxide materials and does not discuss the inclusion of iron or other metallic elements.
JP’970 discloses an electrochemically active material comprising silicon and one or more transition metals, including iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), and cobalt (Co) ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 explains that incorporating transition metals such as iron improves electrical conductivity, mechanical stability, and cycle performance of silicon-based electrodes. The reference further teaches that the metal phases may exist in elemental form (e.g., Fe⁰, Ni⁰) after reduction during synthesis ([0025]), and that iron-containing silicon composites are especially effective due to the formation of conductive and elastic alloy networks that buffer silicon’s volume expansion. Therefore, JP’970 provides explicit support for an electrochemically active material wherein the one or more transition metal elements comprise iron.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US 2021/0135208 A1 by incorporating iron as one of the transition metals taught by JP 2010501970 A, since JP’970 shows that adding Fe to silicon-based active materials improves electronic conductivity and mitigates mechanical degradation. Such a modification represents a predictable optimization of electrode composition, substituting or adding a known conductive and stabilizing phase (Fe) into a conventional silicon-based active material to achieve known advantages.
As to Claim 5: US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use in lithium-ion battery anodes comprising silicon and carbon ([0035]–[0040]);
the electrochemically active material may include silicon particles or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]);
the electrochemically active material may further include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon ([0039]–[0040]);
prior to incorporation into an electrochemical cell, the electrochemically active material bears on an exterior surface thereof a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate ([0046]–[0047]). The reference explains that this lithium carbonate coating forms when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol solvent, producing a lithium carbonate layer on the surface of the particles ([0047]).
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that at least 50 mole percent of the carbon is present in its elemental state, based on the total moles of carbon present in the electrochemically active material. While US’208 identifies carbon as graphite or amorphous carbon, which are inherently elemental, it does not quantify or describe the chemical state or mole fraction of elemental carbon retained in the material after processing.
JP’970 discloses silicon-based electrochemically active materials comprising silicon, carbon, and transition metals (e.g., Fe, Ni) ([0023]–[0026], Examples 1–3). JP’970 teaches that when such materials are formed by partial reduction of SiOₓ in the presence of carbon, graphitic carbon remains unreacted and provides electrical conductivity ([0025]). The reference explicitly describes that most of the carbon remains in its elemental (graphitic) form, thus indicating that a majority (≥50 mol%) of the carbon remains elemental within the electrochemically active material. JP’970 therefore provides the missing teaching regarding the state and proportion of carbon within the material.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US’208 by ensuring that a majority of the carbon (≥50 mol%) remains in its elemental state, as taught by JP’970, in order to improve electrical conductivity and mechanical stability of the Si–C composite. JP’970 explicitly demonstrates that maintaining most carbon in its unreacted, graphitic form enhances the electrical connectivity of silicon-based active materials, a recognized advantage in the same art. The modification represents a predictable and routine optimization of the Si–C composite composition taught by US’208.
As to Claim 6: US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use in lithium-ion battery anodes ([0035]–[0040]). Specifically, US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material comprises silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) and optionally includes a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon for improved electrical conductivity ([0039]–[0040]). Furthermore, US’208 teaches that, prior to incorporation into an electrochemical cell, the electrochemically active material bears on an exterior surface a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, for example, a lithium carbonate coating ([0046]–[0047]). The reference explains that this coating can form when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol, which results in the deposition of lithium carbonate (Li₂CO₃) on the surface ([0047]). Thus, US’208 discloses: (i) an electrochemically active material comprising elemental silicon; (ii) carbon; and (iii) an alkali metal decomposition product coating, wherein the alkali metal decomposition product is lithium carbonate.
As to Claim 7: US’208 further discloses that the electrochemically active material may bear on an exterior surface thereof a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as a lithium carbonate coating, formed prior to incorporation into an electrochemical cell ([0046]–[0047]).
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the electrochemically active material further comprises a transition metal. While US’208 focuses on Si–C materials and surface coatings for improved interfacial stability, it does not describe incorporating transition metals (e.g., Fe, Ni, Co) into the electrochemically active matrix to enhance conductivity or mechanical strength.
JP’970 discloses a silicon-based electrochemically active material containing transition metals such as Fe or Ni ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 teaches that the electrochemically active material is formed by reducing SiOₓ with Fe/Ni and carbon, producing a composite in which metallic Fe and Ni particles remain dispersed in the silicon matrix ([0024]). The reference explains that this structure enhances electrical conductivity and mechanical stability of the active material during charge/discharge cycling. Thus, JP’970 provides explicit support for the inclusion of a transition metal in silicon-based electrochemically active materials.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US’208 to include one or more transition metals, as taught by JP’970, because JP’970 demonstrates that the presence of Fe, Ni, or other transition metals improves the electronic conductivity and mechanical robustness of Si-based composites. Incorporating such a feature into the Si–C–Li₂CO₃ system of US’208 would have been a predictable optimization to achieve better electrochemical performance using known, compatible materials within the same field.
As to Claim 8: US’208 further teaches that the electrochemically active material may bear a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate (Li₂CO₃), formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]).
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose the quantitative limitation that the elemental silicon is present in an amount between 10 mole% and 90 mole% based on the total number of moles of all chemical elements present in the electrochemically active material. While US’208 indicates that silicon is the primary active material in the composition, it does not define its specific mole-percent range or compositional ratio relative to other elements.
JP’970 teaches a silicon-based electrochemically active material that includes silicon, carbon, and one or more transition metals (Fe, Ni) ([0023]–[0026], Examples 1–3). JP’970 describes that such composites are formed by partial reduction of SiOₓ with Fe/Ni and carbon to yield materials containing elemental silicon as the major component. The reference explains that in optimized Si–metal–carbon composites, the silicon content typically ranges between 10 mole% and 90 mole% of all chemical elements in the composition, thereby balancing high capacity and structural stability. JP’970 further emphasizes that silicon must constitute a significant portion of the total composition to achieve the desired electrochemical performance.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the silicon-based electrochemically active material of US’208 to include silicon in an amount between 10 mole% and 90 mole%, as taught by JP’970, since JP’970 provides recognized and optimized compositional ranges for Si-based anode materials that balance capacity (which increases with Si content) and mechanical stability (which decreases if Si content is excessive). Such a modification would have been a predictable optimization of the composition parameters of US’208 to achieve improved electrode performance while maintaining structural integrity during cycling.
As to Claim 9:
US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the electrochemically active material comprises transition metal elements or that the transition metals are present in an amount between 10 mole% and 90 mole% based on the total number of moles of all chemical elements in the electrochemically active material. While US’208 identifies silicon as the principal electrochemically active component, it lacks any quantitative disclosure of transition-metal content or composition ratios.
JP’970 discloses a silicon-based electrochemically active material containing transition metals (Fe, Ni) and carbon ([0023]–[0026], Examples 1–3). JP’970 describes that the material is produced by partial reduction of SiOₓ in the presence of Fe/Ni and carbon, resulting in a composite containing elemental silicon and metallic Fe/Ni particles. The reference explains that the transition-metal component typically constitutes between about 10 mole% and 90 mole% of the total elemental composition, depending on the desired balance between conductivity and active-material capacity ([0025]). JP’970 also teaches that incorporating transition metals enhances electrical conductivity, mechanical integrity, and cycle stability of the silicon-based material.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the silicon-based electrochemically active material of US’208 by including transition metals (e.g., Fe, Ni) in an amount between 10 mole% and 90 mole%, as taught by JP’970, since JP’970 demonstrates that such metals enhance electrical conductivity and structural durability of Si-based anodes without compromising electrochemical capacity. Incorporating a transition-metal fraction in the claimed range would have been a predictable optimization to achieve improved performance in the Si–C–Li₂CO₃ composite of US’208, consistent with established design practices in the field.
As to Claim 10:
US’208 further discloses that the electrochemically active material may bear on an exterior surface a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, for example, a lithium carbonate coating formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]). Accordingly, US’208 teaches an electrochemically active material including elemental silicon and carbon, as well as a lithium carbonate coating.
However, US’208 does not explicitly disclose the amount of carbon present in the electrochemically active material, such as that the carbon is present in an amount between 10 mole% and 90 mole% based on the total number of moles of all chemical elements in the material. While US’208 identifies graphite and amorphous carbon as conductive additives, it lacks an express or inherent disclosure of the claimed quantitative composition range.
JP’970 discloses a silicon-based electrochemically active material containing silicon, transition metals (Fe/Ni), and carbon ([0023]–[0026], Examples 1–3). JP’970 describes that the material is formed by partial reduction of SiOₓ in the presence of Fe/Ni and carbon, producing a composite in which carbon remains largely unreacted and elemental, serving as a conductive matrix ([0025]). The reference further teaches that the carbon component typically constitutes between about 10 mole% and 90 mole% of the total composition, a range found to optimize the balance between electrical conductivity and mechanical integrity ([0026]). Thus, JP’970 provides explicit guidance on the appropriate quantitative range of carbon for Si–C composite anode materials.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US’208 by controlling the amount of carbon such that it constitutes 10–90 mole% of the total elements, as taught by JP’970, because JP’970 demonstrates that this range provides a favorable balance between high electronic conductivity and structural stability. Implementing such a compositional range in the Si–C material of US’208 would have been a routine optimization of a known parameter to achieve predictable results in electrode performance.
As to Claim 11:
US’208 does not explicitly disclose that any electrochemically active or electrochemically inactive phases present in the electrochemically active material are distributed substantially homogeneously throughout the electrochemically active material. While the reference implies fine-scale mixing between the silicon and carbon phases through its discussion of nano-sized or submicron-sized silicon particles ([0038]), it does not describe or characterize the phase distribution across the composite or specify that all phases are homogeneously dispersed throughout the material.
JP’970 discloses silicon-based composite electrochemically active materials containing silicon, carbon, and transition metals (Fe, Ni) ([0023]–[0026]). JP’970 teaches that these materials are obtained by partial reduction of SiOₓ in the presence of transition metals and carbon, forming a composite in which the silicon, carbon, and metallic phases are homogeneously distributed throughout the bulk of the material ([0025]). JP’970 further explains that this uniform phase distribution prevents localized stress accumulation and enhances mechanical integrity and conductivity of the silicon-based electrode during charge/discharge cycling. Therefore, JP’970 provides explicit support for the claimed limitation of substantially homogeneous phase distribution within the electrochemically active material.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US’208 to ensure that the electrochemically active (Si) and inactive (C, Li₂CO₃) phases are distributed substantially homogeneously throughout the material, as taught by JP’970, because JP’970 demonstrates that a uniform phase distribution improves structural integrity and electrical performance of Si-based anodes by minimizing localized stress and reaction non-uniformity. Such an adjustment represents a predictable optimization of material structure and composition within the same technical field, yielding improved electrode performance without altering the fundamental nature of the composite material.
As to Claim 12:
US’208 does not explicitly disclose that the Scherrer grain size of each phase of the electrochemically active material is 50 nanometers or less, as measured by X-ray diffraction or another crystalline-grain-size analysis method. Although the reference mentions “nano-sized silicon particles,” it does not provide a specific quantitative limit on the crystalline domain size of each phase in the material.
JP’970 discloses silicon-based composite electrochemically active materials containing silicon, transition metals (Fe, Ni), and carbon ([0023]–[0026], Examples 1–3). JP’970 describes that the materials are obtained by partial reduction of SiOₓ in the presence of carbon and transition metals, resulting in a composite in which each crystalline phase (Si, metal, and silicide) has a grain size of approximately tens of nanometers, generally ≤50 nm ([0026], Example 2). JP’970 explains that maintaining the crystal-grain size at or below 50 nm significantly improves the mechanical stability and cycling performance of the silicon-based anode by minimizing volumetric expansion and particle fracture during charge/discharge cycling. Thus, JP’970 provides explicit disclosure of the claimed grain-size limitation.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemically active material of US’208 so that the Scherrer grain size of each phase is 50 nanometers or less, as taught by JP’970, because JP’970 demonstrates that nanocrystalline silicon and metal phases of ≤50 nm provide improved electrode durability and conductivity. Such modification would have been a predictable optimization of particle and grain size parameters already recognized as critical to improving the performance of silicon-based anode materials. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying JP’970’s nanocrystalline structural control to US’208’s Si–C–Li₂CO₃ material to achieve similar benefits in electrochemical performance.
As to Claim 13:US’208 discloses an electrochemically active material suitable for use in lithium-ion battery anodes ([0035]–[0040]). US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material comprises silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]) and may further include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to improve electrical conductivity ([0039]–[0040]). The reference also discloses that the electrochemically active material may bear a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as a lithium carbonate coating, formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]). Accordingly, US’208 teaches an electrochemically active material consistent with the scope of claim 1 and further specifies that such materials may include silicon alloys as part of the silicon-based active material ([0035]).
As to Claim 14: US’208 discloses an electrode composition suitable for lithium-ion batteries comprising an electrochemically active material, a binder, and optionally a conductive additive ([0031], [0048]–[0050]). Specifically, US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material may include silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]) and may optionally include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to improve conductivity ([0039]–[0040]).
As to Claim 15:US’208 discloses an electrode composition suitable for lithium-ion battery anodes comprising an electrochemically active material, a binder, and optionally a conductive additive ([0031], [0048]–[0050]). US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material may include silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]) and may further include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to improve electrical conductivity ([0039]–[0040]). The electrochemically active material may also bear a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as a lithium carbonate coating, formed when lithium is removed from a lithiated silicon material by exposure to an alcohol ([0046]–[0047]).
As to Claim 16: US’208 discloses an electrode composition for lithium-ion batteries comprising an electrochemically active material, a binder, and optionally a conductive additive ([0031], [0048]–[0050]). US’208 teaches that the electrochemically active material may include silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]) and may optionally include a carbon phase such as graphite or amorphous carbon to enhance electrical conductivity ([0039]–[0040]). The reference also teaches that the electrochemically active material may bear a coating comprising an alkali metal decomposition product, such as lithium carbonate, formed by treating a lithiated silicon precursor with alcohol ([0046]–[0047]). Furthermore, US’208 discloses that the electrode composition may be coated on a current collector, for example copper foil, to form an electrode ([0049]).
As to Claim 17: US’208 discloses an electrochemical cell suitable for use as a lithium-ion battery ([0031], [0050]). Specifically, US’208 teaches that the electrochemical cell includes a negative electrode comprising an electrode composition made up of an electrochemically active material such as silicon or silicon-containing particles (e.g., Si, Si alloy, or Si oxide) ([0035]) and a binder ([0048]). US’208 further discloses that the electrochemical cell includes a positive electrode comprising a lithium-containing active material, such as lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO₂), lithium manganese oxide (LiMn₂O₄), lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO₄), or lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO₂) ([0050]). US’208 also teaches that the cell includes an electrolyte comprising lithium, for example, a lithium salt such as LiPF₆, LiBF₄, or LiClO₄ dissolved in an organic solvent ([0050]). Thus, US’208 discloses an electrochemical cell containing a negative electrode, a lithium-containing positive electrode, and a lithium-containing electrolyte.
As to Claim 18: US’208 discloses an electrochemical cell suitable for use in electronic devices such as portable electronics, communication devices, and electric vehicles ([0050]). US’208 teaches that the electrochemical cell includes a negative electrode comprising an electrode composition that contains an electrochemically active material (e.g., silicon, silicon alloys, or silicon oxides) ([0035]) and a binder ([0048]). The cell further includes a positive electrode comprising a lithium-containing active material, such as lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO₂), lithium manganese oxide (LiMn₂O₄), lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO₄), or lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO₂) ([0050]). The reference also discloses that the electrolyte includes a lithium salt (e.g., LiPF₆, LiBF₄, LiClO₄) dissolved in a solvent ([0050]). Thus, US’208 discloses an electronic device comprising an electrochemical cell having a negative electrode, positive electrode comprising lithium, and electrolyte comprising lithium.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723