DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burkett et al. (GB 2594321). Regarding Claim 1, Burkett discloses a power supply (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a housing (12, 14) having a plurality of walls (walls of 12 and 14); a power component (30) arranged in the housing; a first electrical connector (14) connected to the power component; a second electrical connector (12) connected to the power component; an electric circuit (Fig. 2) defined between the first electrical connector, the second electrical connector, and the power component; and a manual disconnect device (MSD) (10) including a pyro fuse (142) connected in one of the electric circuit, the MSD being provided on the housing and being configured to create an open in the electric circuit.
Regarding Claim 2, Burkett discloses the MSD being mounted to one of the plurality of walls (Page 4, Lines 5-8).
Regarding Claim 3, Burkett discloses the housing including a cover (148), the MSD being mounted to the cover.
Regarding Claim 4, Burkett discloses the power component including a power storage system including a plurality of battery cells (30) arranged in the housing.
Regarding Claim 5, Burkett discloses the MSD including a base portion (128) mounted to the housing and an electrical contact portion (120) that is selectively removeable from the base portion.
Regarding Claim 6, Burkett discloses the MSD including a handle (146) pivotally mounted to the electrical contact portion.
Regarding Claim 7, Burkett discloses the MSD including a latch element (132) that secures the electrical contact portion to the base portion.
Regarding Claim 8, Burkett discloses the pyro fuse being mounted in the electrical contact portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Burkett discloses the electrical contact portion including a low voltage circuit (Fig. 2) connected to the pyro fuse, the low voltage circuit including a low voltage connector (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Burkett discloses the electric circuit including a positive portion (Fig. 2) and a negative portion (Fig. 2), the MSD being arranged in the positive portion.
Regarding Claim 11, Burkett discloses a manual service disconnect (MSD) (10) for a power supply (Figs. 1-2) having an electric circuit (Fig. 2), the MSD comprising: a pyro fuse (142) connected in the electric circuit, the MSD being configured to create an open in the electric circuit through activation of the pyro fuse.
Regarding Claim 12, Burkett discloses the MSD including a base portion (128) and an electrical contact portion (120) that is selectively removeable from the base portion.
Regarding Claim 13, Burkett discloses the electrical contact portion including a rotatable handle (146).
Regarding Claim 14, Burkett discloses the rotatable handle including a latch element (132) that secures the electrical contact portion to the base portion.
Regarding Claim 15, Burkett discloses the pyro fuse being mounted in the electrical contact portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Burkett discloses the electrical contact portion including a low voltage circuit (Fig. 2) connected to the pyro fuse, the low voltage circuit including a first low voltage connector (Fig. 2) mounted in the electrical contact portion.
Regarding Claim 17, Burkett discloses the base portion including a second low voltage connector (Fig. 2) arranged in the base portion, the second low voltage connector being configured to operatively connect with the first low voltage connector.
Regarding Claim 18, Burkett discloses a triggering device (124) operatively connected to the low voltage circuit, the triggering device being configured to signal the pyro fuse to create an open in the electric circuit.
Regarding Claim 19, Burkett discloses the electrical contact portion including a first high voltage contact (Fig. 4) and a second high voltage contact (Fig. 4) joined by a bridge member (142), the pyro fuse including a cleaver (142) positioned at the bridge member.
Regarding Claim 20, Burkett discloses the pyro fuse including a pyro charge (142) operatively connected to the low voltage circuit, the pyro charge being configured to selectively drive the cleaver through the bridge member to create the open in the electric circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses power supplies, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having electrical connectors and manual disconnect devices with fuses.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831