DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guan et al (WO-2019096129 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), comprising: receiving (receiving , by a terminal, beam configuration information sent by a network device, the terminal starts the timer T1; page 2, page 21), by a terminal device, a beam configuration message sent by a first network node (receiving the beam configuration information, sends an acknowledgement message to the network device), wherein the beam configuration message indicates a first beam (the ACK message is sent to the network device in the n+k1 time slot, where the first beam transmission signal is used when the timing time of the timer T1 reaches the preset time length ; fig. 2, page 13), and the first beam is a beam used by the terminal device to receive and/or send a signal (a network device sending beam configuration information to a terminal, wherein the beam configuration information is used to indicate to the terminal to use a first beam transmission signal; fig. 7, page 14); and determining (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), to use the first beam to receive and/or send a signal (the network device sends beam configuration information to the terminal, where the beam configuration information is used to indicate that the terminal uses the first beam transmission signal; and the network device receives the terminal transmission An ACK message for beam configuration information; fig. 20; page 26, page 27-28), wherein the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device switches to the first beam (the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device switches to the new beam; page 25, page 10), or the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device sends, after switching to the first beam, a first acknowledgement message to a second network node on which the first beam is located (a first acknowledgment message to the network node on which the new beam is located; figs. 6-7; page 15; note that the terminal device can perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam or be handed over to the second network node on which the first beam is located; page 10, page 25-27), or the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device sends a second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (when the first preset duration arrives, at least the first beam transmission signal is used; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; page 2-4) or the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device receives the beam configuration message (the terminal receives indication information indicating that the ACK message is successfully transmitted by the network device, and transmits the signal using the first beam when the preset time period from the fourth time arrives; wherein the fourth time is the moment when the terminal receives the indication information; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; page 22-24).
Regarding claim 2, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device switches to the first beam, before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located (note that the terminal device can perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam or be handed over to the second network node on which the first beam is located; page 10, page 25-27); and receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message sent by the second network node (the terminal, after successfully receiving the beam configuration information, sends an acknowledgement message to the network device, and uses the first beam transmission signal when a preset duration that starts from the sending of the ACK message to the network device is reached; and the network device receives the ACK message and uses a second beam transmission signal corresponding to the first beam when a preset duration that starts from the receiving of the ACK message is reached ; page 13-14).
Regarding claim 3, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located; receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message sent by the second network node; and sending, by the terminal device, the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (send an acknowledgement message to the network device, and uses the first beam transmission signal when a preset duration that starts from the sending of the ACK message to the network device ;page 26-27).
Regarding claim 4, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device sends, after switching to the first beam (when the base station uses the MAC-CE activation command to change the TCI of a certain CORESET, the terminal should apply the MAC-CE indication information, that is, adjust, or switch to the receive beam indicated by the network device; the terminal device may use the moment at which the terminal device sends the second acknowledgement message as the first moment; page 10, page 24), the first acknowledgement message to the second network node on which the first beam is located, before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a random access request to the second network node; receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message sent by the second network node (the terminal device can perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam or be handed over to the second network node on which the first beam is located; page 10, page 25-27); and sending, by the terminal device, the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node the network device (send the beam configuration information to the terminal, and the terminal applies the beam configuration information to the terminal; furthermore, the network device sends RRC configuration information to the terminal; page 25-28).
Regarding claim 5, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device switches to the first beam, or the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal, the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (the terminal sends a beam configuration request to the network device, where the beam configuration request is used to request the network device; page 17, page 24); sending, by the terminal device (the terminal sends a beam configuration request to the network device, where the beam configuration request is used to request the network device; furthermore, the ACK message sent or fed back by the terminal to the network device may be a hybrid automatic repeat request -acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK)), a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located (the terminal device may further send a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located, and receive a random access response message sent by the second network node ; page 17-18; page 24-26); and receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message sent by the second network node (the network device sends the beam configuration information to the terminal, and the terminal applies the beam configuration information to the terminal; furthermore, the network device sends RRC configuration information to the terminal; page 26-28). Regarding claim 6, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1 ), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device sends, after switching to the first beam, the first acknowledgement message to the second network node on which the first beam is located, before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node; sending, by the terminal device, a random access request to the second network node (page 17-18; page 24-26); receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message sent by the second network node; and sending, by the terminal device, the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node (the terminal device can send a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located, receive a random access response message sent by the second network node, and send the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 7, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the random access response message comprises indication information of a second beam; and sending, by the terminal device, the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node comprises: sending (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node; the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26), by the terminal device, the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node by using the second beam (a network device sending beam configuration information to a terminal, wherein the beam configuration information is used to indicate to the terminal to use a first beam transmission signal; the terminal, after successfully receiving the beam configuration information, sends an acknowledgement message to the network device ; page 14, page 19-20).
Regarding claim 8, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1 ), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (when the first preset duration arrives, at least the first beam transmission signal is used; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; the first preset duration may be greater than or equal to 0; page ), before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (a network device sending beam configuration information to a terminal, wherein the beam configuration information is used to indicate to the terminal to use a first beam transmission signal; the terminal, after successfully receiving the beam configuration information, sends an acknowledgement message to the network device ; page 19-20).
Regarding claim 9, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein when the first moment is the moment at which the terminal device receives the beam configuration message (when the first preset duration arrives, at least the first beam transmission signal is used; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; page 25-26), before determining to use the first beam to receive and/or send the signal (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, that the moment at which the beam configuration message is received is the first moment (starting the timer at the second moment; the second moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the re-received beam configuration information to the network device ; page 15-18).
Regarding claim 10, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the first duration is determined based on at least one piece of the following first information: duration required for switching a frequency band by the terminal device (the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device switches to the new beam; page 2-4), duration required for switching a bandwidth part by the terminal device, duration required for activating the first beam by the terminal device (start the timer when the ACK message is received, the second beam transmission signal corresponding to the first beam is used when the timer time reaches the preset duration; in addition, send an acknowledgement message to the network device, and uses the first beam transmission signal when a preset duration that starts from the sending of the ACK message to the network device; page 26-27 ), duration required for switching a component carrier by the terminal device (starting the timer at the second moment; the second moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the re-received beam configuration information to the network device; page 16), and a capability reported by the terminal device (the network device receives the ACK message and uses a second beam transmission signal corresponding to the first beam when a preset duration that starts from the receiving of the ACK message is reached; fig. 7, page 14 , page 26).
Regarding claim 12, Guan et al discloses a beam configuration method (beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the first duration is further related to the moment at which the terminal device receives the beam configuration message and the moment at which the terminal device sends the second acknowledgement message (when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device, the timer is started, and when the preset time duration of the timer reaches the preset duration, the first beam is used to transmit the signal ; page 2, page 13; page 26).
Regarding claim 13, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), comprising: a transceiver (transceiver unit 1501) configured to receive (receiving the beam configuration information sent by the network device, the terminal starts the timer T1; page 2, page 21) a beam configuration message sent by a first network node (receiving the beam configuration information, sends an acknowledgement message to the network device), wherein the beam configuration message indicates a first beam (the ACK message is sent to the network device in the n+k1 time slot, where the first beam transmission signal is used when the timing time of the timer T1 reaches the preset time length; page 2, page 13), and the first beam is a beam used by the communication apparatus to receive and/or send a signal (a network device sending beam configuration information to a terminal, wherein the beam configuration information is used to indicate to the terminal to use a first beam transmission signal; fig. 7, page 14 ); and a processor configured to determine (the network device determines that the uplink beam needs to be configured to the terminal, the uplink beam configuration procedure is performed; furthermore, the terminal device can determine, at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, by the terminal device at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the new beam for communication; fig. 18, page 26), at a time at which first duration starting from a first moment is reached, to use the first beam to receive and/or send a signal (the network device sends beam configuration information to the terminal, where the beam configuration information is used to indicate that the terminal uses the first beam transmission signal; and the network device receives the terminal transmission An ACK message for beam configuration information; fig. 20; page 26, page 27-28), wherein the first moment is a moment at which: the communication apparatus switches to the first beam (the first moment is a moment at which the terminal device switches to the new beam; page 10), or the first moment is a moment at which the communication apparatus sends, after switching to the first beam, a first acknowledgement message to a second network node on which the first beam is located (a first acknowledgment message to the network node on which the new beam is located; figs. 6-7; page 15; note that the terminal device can perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam or be handed over to the second network node on which the first beam is located; page 10, page 25-27), or the first moment is a moment at which the communication apparatus sends a second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (when the first preset duration arrives, at least the first beam transmission signal is used; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; page 2-4), or the first moment is a moment at which the communication apparatus receives the beam configuration message (the terminal receives indication information indicating that the ACK message is successfully transmitted by the network device, and transmits the signal using the first beam when the preset time period from the fourth time arrives; wherein the fourth time is the moment when the terminal receives the indication information; wherein the first moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the beam configuration information to the network device; page 22-24).
Regarding claim 14, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus switches to the first beam, send a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located (figs. 6-7; page 10, page 15), and receive a random access response message sent by the second network node (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node; the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 15, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1 ), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, send a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located, receive a random access response message sent by the second network node, and send the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node; after receiving the beam configuration message, the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 16, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus sends, after switching to the first beam, the first acknowledgement message to the second network node on which the first beam is located, send a random access request to the second network node, receive a random access response message sent by the second network node, and send the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node; after receiving the beam configuration message, the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 17, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus switches to the first beam (), or the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, send the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, send a random access request to the second network node on which the first beam is located, and receive a random access response message sent by the second network node (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node; the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 18, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the transceiver (transceiver unit 1501) is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus sends, after switching to the first beam, the first acknowledgement message to the second network node on which the first beam is located (when the base station uses the MAC-CE activation command to change the TCI of a certain CORESET, the terminal should apply the MAC-CE indication information, that is, adjust, or switch to the receive beam indicated by the network device; page 10, page 4), send the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node, send a random access request to the second network node, receive a random access response message sent by the second network node, and send the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node (receive a random access response message sent by the second network node. In this implementation, after receiving the beam configuration message, the terminal device may perform random access, and after random access is completed, the terminal device determines to switch to the first beam ; page 17-18; page 24-26).
Regarding claim 19, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the random access response message comprises indication information of a second beam; and the transceiver (transceiver unit 1501) is configured to send the first acknowledgement message for the random access response message to the second network node by using the second beam (the second beam transmission signal corresponding to the first beam is used, and therefore, the terminal sends an ACK message, and the network device receives the ACK message ; page 18-19, page 27-28).
Regarding claim 20, Guan et al discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 2: beam configuration method and device, which facilitates a network device using a second beam transmission signal; abstract, page 1), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: when the first moment is the moment at which the communication apparatus sends the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (the terminal sends a beam configuration request to the network device, where the beam configuration request is used to request the network device; page 16-17) send the second acknowledgement message for the beam configuration message to the first network node (starting the timer at the second moment ; the second moment is a moment when the terminal sends an ACK message for the re-received beam configuration information to the network device; page 3-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641