Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vernazza (PGPub 20220218173) in view of Weaver (PGPub 20110167583).
Vernazza teaches a surface cleaning tool comprising: a handle body (110) having a first longitudinal axis; and a head (130) configured to receive a wiper blade (120), the head defining a plane extending through a center of the head parallel to the wiper blade; wherein the head is movable along a path of movement relative to the handle body and an orientation of the plane extending through the center of the head remains constant relative to the first longitudinal axis as the head moves along the path of movement (figure 2a-2c).
Vernazza teaches all the essential elements of the claim however fails to teach a tab protruding from the handle body that is to be received in a groove on the head, wherein during movement of the head along the path of movement, the tab correspondingly moves and remains within the groove. The head of Vernazza is attached to the handle along the axis x shown in figure 1B. Typically, in the art, they handle and head are attached via a bolt or pin extending through both the handle and the head that allows for pivoting, however it is unclear what connection means is being used in Vernazza.
Weaver teaches a pivoting joint connecting a handle and a head, wherein the handle comprises tabs (156) that protrude from the handle body and are received within a groove (164) in the head. With this structure, the tab remains in the groove when the head moves along a path of movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivoting structure of Vernazza (bolt or pin) with the tab/groove structure as taught by Weaver as an alternative means to connect the handle to the head. Both structures allow for pivoting of the head with respect to the handle and thus would not alter the functionality of the device.
With regards to claim2, the head is positionable at a plurality of positions relative to the handle body (figure 2a and 2c).
With regards to claim 3, the head is rotatable relative to the handle body between the plurality of positions (figure 2b).
With regards to claim 4, the plurality of positions includes a first position (figure 2b) and a second position (opposite position of figure 2b, where the head is swiveled to the same angle but in the other direction), wherein in the first position, the second longitudinal axis is arranged at a first angle relative to the first longitudinal axis, and in the second position, the second longitudinal axis is arranged at a second angle relative to the first longitudinal axis.
With regards to claim 5, the first angle is equal and opposite to the second angle (they are both 45 degrees).
With regards to claim 6, herein at least one position of the plurality of positions (figure 2a) is located between the first position and the second position along the path of movement.
With regards to claim 7, the plurality of positions includes a third position (figure 2c) where the second longitudinal axis is aligned with the first longitudinal axis.
With regards to claim 8, a locking mechanism (150’) operable to retain the head in one of the plurality of positions.
With regards to claim 9, the locking mechanism further comprises an engagement mechanism (155) movable between an unlocked position and a locked position, the head being movable between the plurality of positions when the engagement mechanism is in the unlocked position, and the head being restricted from moving between the plurality of positions when the engagement mechanism is in the locked position.
With regards to claim 10, the head further comprises a plurality of slots (openings between 151, 152) and in the locked position, a portion of the engagement mechanism is positionable within one of the plurality of slots (figure 2a-2c).
With regards to claim 11, Vernazza teaches handle body (110); a head (130) connected to the handle body and configured to receive a wiper blade (120), the head being movable along a path of movement relative to the handle body, wherein the head further comprises a plurality of protrusions (151, 152) and a plurality of slots (figure 2a shows openings between protrusions) formed between the plurality of protrusions; and a locking mechanism (150’) operable to selectively lock the head relative to the handle body, the locking mechanism comprising an engagement mechanism (155) having an engagement feature positioned adjacent to a surface of the head, the engagement feature being receivable within one of the plurality of slots to restrict movement of the head along the path of movement.
Vernazza teaches all the essential elements of the claim however fails to teach a tab protruding from the handle body that is to be received in a groove on the head, wherein during movement of the head along the path of movement, the tab correspondingly moves and remains within the groove. The head of Vernazza is attached to the handle along the axis x shown in figure 1B. Typically, in the art, they handle and head are attached via a bolt or pin extending through both the handle and the head that allows for pivoting, however it is unclear what connection means is being used in Vernazza.
Weaver teaches a pivoting joint connecting a handle and a head, wherein the handle comprises tabs (156) that protrude from the handle body and are received within a groove (164) in the head. With this structure, the tab remains in the groove when the head moves along a path of movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivoting structure of Vernazza (bolt or pin) with the tab/groove structure as taught by Weaver as an alternative means to connect the handle to the head. Both structures allow for pivoting of the head with respect to the handle and thus would not alter the functionality of the device.
With regards to claim 12, the engagement mechanism is manually movable to selectively lock the head relative to the handle body (slides back and forth out of the slots).
With regards to claim 13, the engagement mechanism is translatable between an unlocked position and a locked position, the engagement feature being receivable within one of the plurality of slots in the locked position.
With regards to claim 14, each of the plurality of slots is associated with a different position of the head along the path of movement (figure 2a-2c).
With regards to claim 15, the head is movable within a plane oriented parallel to the wiper blade and including a longitudinal axis of the head (figure 1b).
With regards to claim 16, the plane is arranged at an angle to a longitudinal axis of the handle body (figure 1a).
With regards to claim 17, the longitudinal axis of the head is coplanar with a longitudinal axis of the handle body (figure 1b).
With regards to claim 18, the head is rotatable about an axis along the path of movement (figure 2a-2c).
With regards to claim 19, the axis is arranged at an angle to a longitudinal axis of the handle body (figure 2a-2c).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant amended the claims to include a tab and groove that remain in contact during use. In response, this newly added limitation can be read on the pivot connection between the head and the handle. The pivot connection of Vernazza is not discussed however it is shown by the reference letter c. This connection is known in the art as typically a bolt or screw that will connect the handle to the head while still allowing for pivoting. After further search, the examiner is relying of the Weaver reference to teach a pivot connection with a tab and groove. Modifying the pivot connection of Vernazza with the pivot connection of Weaver is an obvious modification since they are equivalent pivoting structures known in the art.
It appears that the applicant intended to claim reference elements 78, 80 however the claim is written broadly enough to read on the connecting pivoting structure. It is suggested to the applicant to narrow the claim by further defining the structure of the tab and groove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723