DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kowalik (US Patent Application Publication # 2022/0189710).
Regarding Claim 1, Kowalik discloses a mobile electrical system comprising:
a frame configured to be transitioned between a working arrangement (i.e. as shown in Fig. 1 & 2) and a transport arrangement (i.e. as shown in Fig. 6-8), the frame comprising:
a first support structure; a second support structure; and a third support structure (i.e. transverse switch support members 18a, 18b, 18c);
a first base portion (i.e. longitudinal beams 52a, 52b) attached to the first support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18c) at a first joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) and to the second support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18b) at a second joint assembly (i.e. another one of pivot connections/hinges 54), the first base portion configured to rotate relative to first support structure at the first joint assembly and to rotate relative to the second support structure at the second joint assembly; and
a second base portion (i.e. longitudinal beams 52a, 52b) attached to the second support structure at a third joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) and to the third support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18a) at a fourth joint assembly (i.e. another one of pivot connections/hinges 54), the second base portion configured to rotate relative to the second support structure at the third joint assembly and to rotate relative to the third support structure at the fourth joint assembly;
a first phase component (i.e. switch pole unit 14c) of an electrical apparatus mounted to the first support structure;
a second phase component (i.e. switch pole unit 14b) of the electrical apparatus mounted to the second support structure; and
a third phase component (i.e. switch pole unit 14a) of the electrical apparatus mounted to the third support structure, wherein,
when the frame is in the working arrangement, the first base portion extends perpendicular to the second support structure such that the first phase component of the electrical apparatus and the second phase component of the electrical apparatus are separated at least by a dielectric breakdown distance, and the second base portion extends perpendicular to the second support structure such that the second phase component of the electrical apparatus and the third phase component of the electrical apparatus are separated at least by the dielectric breakdown distance; and,
when the frame is in the transport arrangement, the first base portion and the second base portion are parallel to the first support structure, the second support structure, and the third support structure; and a width of the frame is less than the width of the frame in the working arrangement (Fig. 1-10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0033-0046, 0051).
Regarding Claim 2, Kowalik discloses that the first joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) comprises a first locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82/securement bolts 88a) configured to hold the first base portion perpendicular to the first support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18c) when the frame is in the working arrangement and to hold the first base portion parallel to the first support structure when the frame is in the transport arrangement;
the second joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) comprises a second locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82/securement bolts 88c) configured to hold the first base portion perpendicular to the second support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18b) when the frame is in the working arrangement and to hold the first base portion parallel to the second support structure when the frame is in the transport arrangement;
the third joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) comprises a third locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82) configured to hold the second base portion perpendicular to the second support structure when the frame is in the working arrangement and to hold the second base portion parallel to the second support structure when the frame is in the transport arrangement; and
the fourth joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) comprises a fourth locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82) configured to hold the second base portion perpendicular to the third support structure (i.e. transverse switch support member 18a) when the frame is in the working arrangement and to hold the second base portion parallel to the third support structure when the frame is in the transport arrangement (Fig. 2-4, 7; Paragraphs 0041, 0044-0045, 0051).
Regarding Claim 3, Kowalik discloses that the first base portion comprises: a first flange (i.e. flange members 76a/top face portions 60a) that defines a first flange opening (i.e. flange member holes 78a/78b), and a second flange (i.e. flange members 76b/top face portions 60b) that defines a second flange opening (i.e. flange member holes 78c/78d); and
the second base portion comprises: a third flange (i.e. flange members 76a/top face portions 60a) that defines a third flange opening (i.e. flange member holes 78a/78b), and a fourth flange (i.e. flange members 76b/top face portions 60b) that defines a fourth flange opening (i.e. flange member holes 78c/78d) (Fig. 2-4, 7; Paragraphs 0041-0045, 0051).
Regarding Claim 4, Kowalik discloses that the first locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82/securement bolts 88a) comprises: a first plate (i.e. top face portions 60a) that defines a working position opening and a transport position opening, and a first pin (i.e. hinge bolts 82);
wherein the second locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82/securement bolts 88c) comprises: a second plate (i.e. top face portions 60b) that defines a working position opening and a transport position opening, and a second pin (i.e. hinge bolts 82);
wherein the third locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82) comprises: a third plate (i.e. top face portions 60a) that defines a working position opening and a transport position opening, and a third pin; and
wherein the fourth locking mechanism (i.e. hinge bolts 82) comprises: a fourth plate (i.e. top face portions 60b) that defines a working position opening and a transport position opening, and a fourth pin (Fig. 2-4, 7; Paragraphs 0041, 0044-0045, 0051).
Regarding Claim 7, Kowalik discloses that the frame is configured to be transitioned between the working arrangement and the transport arrangement in response to manual manipulation (i.e. by a workman using handle-ratchet 99), the manual manipulation comprising a direct force manually applied to a portion of the frame (Fig. 7-11; Paragraph 0051).
Regarding Claim 9, Kowalik discloses a frame for an electrical apparatus (i.e. switch pole units 14a, 14b, 14c), the frame comprising:
support structures (i.e. transverse switch support members 18a, 18b, 18c), each configured to hold one phase component (i.e. one of switch pole units 14a, 14b, 14c) of the electrical apparatus; and
base portions (i.e. longitudinal beams 52a, 52b), each connected to first joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) on a first one (i.e. transverse switch support member 18c) of the support structures and to a second joint assembly (i.e. another one of pivot connections/hinges 54) on a second one (i.e. transverse switch support member 18b) of the support structures; wherein
each base portion is configured to rotate about a joint in the first joint assembly and a joint in the second joint assembly between a working position (i.e. as shown in Fig. 1 & 2) and a transport position (i.e. as shown in Fig. 6-8); the frame comprises a first number of support structures and a second number of base portions and the second number is greater than the first number (Fig. 1-10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0033-0046, 0051).
Regarding Claim 10, Kowalik discloses that each joint assembly is lockable (i.e. by using shipment securement bolts 88a-88d) in the working position and the transport position (Fig. 1-10; Paragraph 0051; Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 11, Kowalik discloses that each joint assembly comprises a locking pin (i.e. shipment securement bolts 88a-88d), and
when the locking pin is inserted in the joint assembly, the joint assembly is locked; and
when the locking pin is not inserted in the joint assembly, the joint assembly is unlocked (Fig. 1-10; Paragraph 0051; Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 12, Kowalik discloses that each of the base portions is configured to be rotated about the joint in the first joint assembly and the hoin in the second joint assembly in response to manual manipulation (i.e. by a workman using handle-ratchet 99), the manual manipulation comprising a direct force manually applied to the base portion (Fig. 7-11; Paragraph 0051).
Regarding Claim 14, Kowalik discloses that each joint (i.e. connections/hinges 54) is configured to allow a connected base portion (i.e. longitudinal beams 52a, 52b) to rotate through a 90-degree arc (Fig. 6-11; Paragraph 0046, 0051).
Regarding Claim 15, Kowalik discloses that the 90-degree arc is in a plane that is parallel to a plane that includes the connected base portion (Fig. 6-11; Paragraph 0046, 0051).
Regarding Claim 16, Kowalik discloses that the base portions are parallel to each other and to the support structures in the transport arrangement (Fig. 6-11; Paragraph 0046, 0051).
Regarding Claim 17, Kowalik discloses that from each of the first end and second end of the first support structure extends a connector beam (i.e. interphase rods 34) running perpendicular to the first support structure and toward of the second support structure, and from each of the first end and second end of the second support structure extends a connector beam running perpendicular to the second support structure and toward the first support structure and a connector beam running perpendicular to the second support structure and toward of the third support structure, and from each of the first end and second end of the third support structure extends a connector beam running perpendicular to the third support structure and toward of the second support structure (Fig. 1, 6, 9-11; Paragraph 0038).
Regarding Claim 18, Kowalik discloses that each connector beam (i.e. interphase rods 34) attaches to a base portion at a joint assembly (Fig. 1, 6, 9-11; Paragraph 0038).
Regarding Claim 19, Kowalik discloses that each joint assembly comprises: a first connector beam (i.e. one of interphase rods 34) attached to a base portion, a second connector beam (i.e. another one of interphase rods 34/ drive linkage 29/ drive rod 32) attached to a support structure, and a pin connecting the first connector beam to the second connector beam (Fig. 1, 6, 9-11; Paragraph 0038).
Regarding Claim 20, Kowalik discloses a frame for an electrical apparatus, the frame comprising:
support structures (i.e. transverse switch support members 18a, 18b, 18c), each configured to hold one phase component of the electrical apparatus; and
base portions (i.e. longitudinal beams 52a, 52b), each connected to first joint assembly (i.e. one of pivot connections/hinges 54) on a first one of the support structures and to a second joint assembly (i.e. another one of pivot connections/hinges 54) on a second one (i.e. transverse switch support member 18b) of the support structures; wherein
each base portion is configured to rotate about a joint in the first joint assembly and a joint in the second joint assembly between a working position (i.e. as shown in Fig. 1 & 2) and a transport position (i.e. as shown in Fig. 6-8), and the base portions are parallel to each other and to the support structures in the transport position (Fig. 1-10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0033-0046, 0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 8, & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalik (US Patent Application Publication # 2022/0189710).
Regarding Claim 5, Kowalik discloses that the electrical apparatus is rated for at least 150 kilovolts (kV) (i.e. 115-230 kV) (Paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0011, 0035, 0046).
Kowalik does not explicitly disclose that the electrical apparatus comprises a capacitor bank. However, Kowalik discloses a switch gear used in substations for interconnecting high power transmission lines with high voltage switches and insulators while not detailing the electrical components on the switch gear. It is well known in the art to use capacitors or capacitor banks when connecting substations and high-power transmission lines in order to correct the power factor, stabilize voltage, and reduce line losses. Kowalik states that the device is used in a power system with a power rating in a range of 115-230 kV. Therefore, it would have been obvious that Kowalik would use capacitors and/or a capacitor bank in the apparatus in order to correct the power factor, stabilize voltage, and reduce line losses.
Regarding Claim 6, Kowalik discloses that each of the first phase component, the second phase component, and the third phase component (i.e. switch pole units 14a, 14b, 14c) comprises a line connection (i.e. connected to a plurality of power transmission lines) (Fig. 1; Abstract; Paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0011, 0035, 0046).
Kowalik does not explicitly disclose that each phase component comprises a capacitor and an arrester. However, Kowalik discloses a switch gear used in substations for interconnecting high power transmission lines with high voltage switches and insulators while not detailing the electrical components on the switch gear. It is well known in the art to use capacitors or capacitor banks when connecting substations and high-power transmission lines in order to correct the power factor, stabilize voltage, and reduce line losses while arresters are used to divert excess voltage and current or protect from lightning. Therefore, it would have been obvious that Kowalik would use capacitors and/or a capacitor bank in the apparatus in order to correct the power factor, stabilize voltage, and reduce line losses and arresters in order to divert excess voltage and current or protect from lightning.
Regarding Claim 8, Kowalik does not explicitly disclose that each of the first joint assembly, the second joint assembly, and the third joint assembly comprises a damper. However, it is well known in mechanical structures with moving parts to include dampers or shock absorbers to dampen impacts between said moving parts, particularly hinged parts. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include dampers in the joint assemblies of Kowalik in order to reduce impact shocks and noise when moving the along the hinges from a working position to a transport position and vice versa.
Regarding Claim 13, Kowalik does not explicitly disclose that each of the first and second joint assemblies comprises a plate and a damper position on the plate an in a plane of rotation of the base portion, the damper configured to interact with one of the base portions when the base portion is rotated into the working position. However, it is well known in mechanical structures with moving parts to include dampers or shock absorbers to dampen impacts between said moving parts, particularly hinged parts. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include dampers in the joint assemblies of Kowalik in order to reduce impact shocks and noise when moving the along the hinges from a working position to a transport position and vice versa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Kowalik does not teach the limitations of the claims as now written or the limitations of newly added claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and has addressed the new claims in the rejection above. Specifically, the Applicant argues that support structures 18a-18c and longitudinal beams 52a/52b are not parallel to each other in the rhomboid configuration which corresponds to the claimed transport arrangement. However, as shown in at least Figs. 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, & 14, support structures 18a-18c are always above longitudinal beams 52a/52b when looked at from the side and are therefore always parallel to them. The claims as currently written do not specify from which perspective said elements are parallel to each other. Therefore, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, support structures 18a-18c and longitudinal beams 52a/52b are always parallel to each other and the limitations of the claim are met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847