DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the 112(a) rejection of claims 3-8 and 15-19 and the drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims and objection of the drawing has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the prior art Rahman is not prior art due to the exception of 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A), but no declaration of attribution under rule 130(a) has been filed to invoke the exception. The prior art Rahman names another inventor not named in the instant application. Thus, the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-14, 16 and 20 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2023/0018571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rahman discloses a motor (¶ [0031]), comprising:
a stator (100), including:
a first slot (603, 703) associated with a first phase (phase B), the first slot (603, 703) configured to receive an even number of conductors (six, eight or ten conductors) associated with the first phase (phase B; FIG. 6-7); and
a second slot (602, 702) associated with the first phase (phase B) and a second phase (phase A), the second slot (602, 702) configured to receive a subset of the even number of conductors (four to six conductors) associated with the first phase (phase B) and a first number of conductors (two to four conductors) associated with the second phase (phase A; FIG. 6-7).
Regarding claim 2/1, Rahman was discussed above in claim 1. Rahman further discloses the subset of the even number of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) located in a first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (602);
the first number of conductors associated with the second phase (phase A) located in a second position (layers 5-6) of the second slot (602); and
the second position (layers 5-6) of the second slot (602) distal to a center portion of the stator (100) relative to the first position (layer 1-4) of the second slot (602).
Regarding claim 9/1, Rahman was discussed above in claim 1. Rahman further discloses the stator (100) including a first face and a second face (see annotation below);
the first slot (603, 703) including a cavity configured to receive at least a portion of the even number of conductors (FIG. 1) associated with the first phase (phase B); and
the even number of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) configured to extend along the cavity of the first slot (603, 703) to position a first portion (see annotation below) of the even number of conductors associated with the first phase external to the first face of the stator (100) and a second portion (see annotation below) of the even number of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) external to the second face of the stator (100).
Regarding claim 10/1, Rahman was discussed above in claim 1. Rahman further discloses wherein the motor includes three phases (phases A, B, C), wherein the three phases include the first phase (phase B), the second phase (phase A), and a third phase (phase C), and further comprising:
the stator (100), including:
a pattern (FIG. 6-7) to define a placement of a first plurality of conductors (dotted pattern) associated with the first phase (phase B) relative to a placement of at least one of a second plurality of conductors (filled pattern) associated with the second phase (phase A) or a third plurality of conductors (slash pattern) associated with the third phase (phase C);
the first plurality of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) include the even number of conductors (FIG. 6-7) associated with the first phase (phase B); and
the second plurality of conductors associated with the second phase (phase A) include the first number of conductors (FIG. 6-7) associated with the second phase (phase B).
Regarding claim 11/1, Rahman was discussed above in claim 1. Rahman further discloses wherein the motor includes three phases (phase A, B, C), wherein the three phases include the first phase (phase B), the second phase (phase A), and a third phase (phase C), and further comprising:
the stator (100), including:
a first plurality of conductors (dotted pattern) associated with the first phase (phase B), the first plurality of conductors including the even number of conductors (FIG. 6-7) associated with the first phase (phase B);
the first plurality of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) disposed within a plurality of slots of the stator, the plurality of slots including the first slot (603, 703) and the second slot (602, 702);
the first plurality of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) disposed within the plurality of slots based on a predetermined pattern (FIG. 6-7); and
the predetermined pattern to define one or more first slots (603, 703) of the plurality of slots associated with the first phase (phase B), one or more second slots (602, 702) of the plurality of slots associated with the first phase (phase B) and the second phase (phase A), one or more third slots (604, 704) of the plurality of slots associated with the first phase (phase B) and the third phase (phase C), one or more fourth slots (601, 701) of the plurality of slots associated with the second phase (phase A), and one or more fifth slots (605, 705) of the plurality of slots associated with the third phase (phase C).
Regarding claim 12/1, Rahman was discussed above in claim 1. Rahman further discloses wherein a number of conductors included in the even number of conductors is based on a stator winding pattern (FIG. 6-7).
Regarding claim 13, Rahman discloses a vehicle (¶ [0026]), comprising:
a motor (¶ [0031]), including:
a stator (100), including:
a first slot (603, 703) associated with a first phase (phase B), the first slot (603, 703) configured to receive an even number of conductors (six conductors) associated with the first phase (phase B; FIG. 6-7); and
a second slot (602, 702) associated with the first phase (phase B) and a second phase (phase A), the second slot (602, 702) configured to receive a subset of the even number of conductors (four conductors) associated with the first phase (phase B) and a first number of conductors (two conductors) associated with the second phase (phase A; FIG. 6-7).
Regarding claim 14/13, Rahman was discussed above in claim 13. Rahman further discloses the subset of the even number of conductors associated with the first phase (phase B) located in a first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (602);
the first number of conductors associated with the second phase (phase A) located in a second position (layers 5-6) of the second slot (602); and
the second position (layers 5-6) of the second slot (602) distal to a center portion of the stator (100) relative to the first position (layer 1-4) of the second slot (602).
Regarding claim 20, Rahman discloses a method, comprising:
disposing, in a first slot (603, 703) of a stator (100), an even number of conductors associated with a first phase (phase B), the first slot (603, 703) associated with the first phase (phase B); and
disposing, in a second slot (602, 702) of the stator (100), a subset of the even number of conductors (six conductors) associated with the first phase (phase B) and a first number of conductors (two conductors) associated with a second phase (phase A), the second slot (602, 702) associated with the first phase (phase B) and the second phase (phase A).
Claims 1-2, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata et al. (US 2015/0022046 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata discloses a motor (¶ [0023]), comprising:
a stator (11), including:
a first slot (slot 5) associated with a first phase (u phase), the first slot (slot 5) configured to receive an even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase); and
a second slot (slot 4) associated with the first phase (u phase) and a second phase (v phase), the second slot (slot 4) configured to receive a subset of the even number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) and a first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the second phase (v phase; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2/1, Shibata was discussed above in claim 1. Shibata further discloses the subset of the even number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) located in a first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (slot 4);
the first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the second phase (v phase) located in a second position (layers 5-8) of the second slot (slot 4); and
the second position (layers 5-8) of the second slot distal to a center portion (outer radial side) of the stator (11) relative to the first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 9/1, Shibata was discussed above in claim 1. Shibata further discloses the stator including a first face (first end side; FIG. 5B) and a second face (second end side; FIG. 5B);
the first slot (slot 5) including a cavity (FIG. 1 and 5B) configured to receive at least a portion of the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase); and
the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) configured to extend along the cavity of the first slot (slot 5) to position a first portion (43) of the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) external to the first face (first end side) of the stator (11) and a second portion (43) of the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) external to the second face (second end side) of the stator (11).
Regarding claim 10/1, Shibata was discussed above in claim 1. Shibata further discloses wherein the motor includes three phases (¶ [0025]), wherein the three phases include the first phase (u phase), the second phase (v phase), and a third phase (w phase), and further comprising:
the stator (11), including:
a pattern to define a placement of a first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase) relative to a placement of at least one of a second plurality of conductors (31 in slot 4) associated with the second phase (v phase) or a third plurality of conductors (31 in slot 6) associated with the third phase (w phase);
the first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase) include the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase); and
the second plurality of conductors (31 in slot 4) associated with the second phase (v phase) include the first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the second phase (v phase).
Regarding claim 11/1, Shibata was discussed above in claim 1. Shibata further discloses wherein the motor includes three phases (¶ [0025]), wherein the three phases include the first phase (u phase), the second phase (v phase), and a third phase (w phase), and further comprising:
the stator (11), including:
a first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase), the first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) including the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase);
the first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase) disposed within a plurality of slots (12) of the stator (11), the plurality of slots (12) including the first slot (slot 5) and the second slot (slot 4);
the first plurality of conductors (31 in slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase) disposed within the plurality of slots (12) based on a predetermined pattern (pitch of 6 slots); and
the predetermined pattern (pitch of 6 slots) to define one or more first slots (slot 5, slot 11, slot 17…) of the plurality of slots (12) associated with the first phase (u phase), one or more second slots (slot 4, slot 10, slot 16…) of the plurality of slots (12) associated with the first phase (u phase) and the second phase (v phase), one or more third slots (slot 6, slot 12, slot 18…) of the plurality of slots (12) associated with the first phase (u phase) and the third phase (w phase), one or more fourth slots (slot 3, slot 9, slot 15…) of the plurality of slots (12) associated with the second phase (v phase), and one or more fifth slots (slot 7, slot 13, slot 19…) of the plurality of slots (12) associated with the third phase (w phase).
Regarding claim 12/1, Shibata was discussed above in claim 1. Shibata further disclose wherein a number of conductors (31) included in the even number of conductors (31; eight layers) is based on a stator winding pattern (FIG. 3-4).
Regarding claim 20, Shibata discloses a method, comprising:
Disposing, in a first slot (slot 5) of a stator (11), an even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with a first phase (u phase), the first slot (slot 5) associated with the first phase (u phase); and
Disposing, in a second slot (slot 4) of the stator (11), a subset of the even number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) and a first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with a second phase (v phase), the second slot (slot 4) associated with the first phase (u phase) and the second phase (v phase; FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al. (US 2015/0022046 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2021/0218305 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Shibata discloses a motor (¶ [0023]), including:
a stator (11), including:
a first slot (slot 5) associated with a first phase (u phase), the first slot (slot 5) configured to receive an even number of conductors (31; eight layers) associated with the first phase (u phase); and
a second slot (slot 4) associated with the first phase (u phase) and a second phase (v phase), the second slot (slot 4) configured to receive a subset of the even number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) and a first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the second phase (v phase; FIG. 4).
Shibata does not disclose a vehicle, comprising: the motor.
Tang discloses a vehicle (¶ [0015]), comprising: the motor (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Shibata in view of Tang to disclose a vehicle, comprising: the motor, as electric machines are commonly used in vehicles as a generator for battery charging or a motor for propulsion.
Regarding claim 14/13, Shibata in view of Tang was discussed above in claim 13. Shibata further discloses the subset of the even number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the first phase (u phase) located in a first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (slot 4);
the first number of conductors (31; four layers) associated with the second phase (v phase) located in a second position (layers 5-8) of the second slot (slot 4); and
the second position (layers 5-8) of the second slot distal to a center portion (outer radial side) of the stator (11) relative to the first position (layers 1-4) of the second slot (FIG. 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834