DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 10-20 in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second lens” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: all claims must end with a period “.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lens means” in claims 10 and 16.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2002/0031324) in view of Frisken (US 2005/0100277).
Regarding Claim 10, Cao discloses a variable optical attenuator (VOA) comprising:
a lens means (Fig. 4, lens 404, Paragraph 0034) for receiving an input light beam (Fig. 4, input 402, Paragraph 0034) and for outputting an output light beam (Fig. 4, output 406, Paragraph 0034);
a rotatable mirror (Fig. 4, mirror support 304 may rotate, Paragraph 0031, lines 7-8, mirror coating 302, Paragraph 0034) positioned and operative, when rotating, for reflecting the input light beam received from the lens means to different parts of an input face of a lens which causes the input light beam received at the different parts of the input face of the lens to be output as a plurality of beams of light via an output face of the lens (Fig. 4, as shown); and
Cao does not specifically disclose a
… cylindrical lens … and … parallel beams … and
a reflector positioned for reflecting at least a portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens back through the cylindrical lens to the rotatable mirror which reflects the light received from the cylindrical lens as the output light beam.
However, Frisken, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
… cylindrical lens (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, cylindrical lens 13, Paragraph 0044) … and … parallel beams (Paragraph 0044, light is collimated in the y dimension or the x dimension, the collimated rays being parallel to each other, lines 4-7) … and
a reflector (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, LCD 15 can be reflective, Paragraph 0045, lines 3-4) positioned for reflecting at least a portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens back through the cylindrical lens (Fig. 2, as shown) to the rotatable (see Cao, above, Fig. 4, mirror support 304 may rotate, Paragraph 0031, lines 7-8), mirror (Fig. 2, mirror 12) which reflects the light received from the cylindrical lens as the output light beam, for the purpose of providing an attenuated light beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the variable optical attenuator of Cao with the … cylindrical lens … and … parallel beams … and a reflector positioned for reflecting at least a portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens back through the cylindrical lens to the rotatable mirror which reflects the light received from the cylindrical lens as the output light beam, of Frisken, for the purpose of providing an attenuated light beam.
Regarding Claim 17, Cao in view of Frisken discloses as is set forth above and Cao further discloses further comprising a controller that is programed or configured for controlling a position of the reflector at least partially in the path of the parallel beams of light that are output via the output face of the cylindrical lens (Paragraphs 0033-0034, the mirror is controlled by controlling the voltages applied to the electrodes 314 and 316, Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 18, Cao et al. (US 2002/0031324) discloses a method of variably optically attenuating a light beam comprising:
(a) passing an input light beam (Fig. 4, input 402, Paragraph 0034) through a first lens (Fig. 4, lens 404, Paragraph 0034);
(b) reflecting, by a rotating mirror (Fig. 4, mirror support 304 may rotate, Paragraph 0031, lines 7-8, mirror coating 302, Paragraph 0034), at least a portion of the input light beam of step (a)
Frisken (US 2005/0100277) further discloses
to a reflector (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, LCD 15 can be reflective, Paragraph 0045, lines 3-4) via a cylindrical lens (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, cylindrical lens 13, Paragraph 0044)
(c) reflecting, by the reflector, at least a portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens back through the cylindrical lens (Fig. 2, as shown)
to the rotating (see Cao, above, Fig. 4, mirror support 304 may rotate, Paragraph 0031, lines 7-8) mirror which reflects the light received from the cylindrical lens as the output light beam through a second lens (Frisken, Fig. 2, mirror 12).
Neither Cao et al. (US 2002/0031324) nor Frisken (US 2005/0100277) further disclose “… which separates the input light beam received at the different parts of an input face of the cylindrical lens into a plurality of parallel beams of light that are output via an output face of the cylindrical lens to the reflector …”.
Additionally, neither Moon et al. (US 2003/0174939), Moon et al. (US 6,934,069), Mao et al. (US 2015/0185583), Mao et al. (US 9,201,286), Garrett et al. (US 2018/0210151), Akashi et al. (US 2009/0323167), nor Suzuki et al. (US 2016/0286288) remedy the deficiencies of Cao et al. (US 2002/0031324) and Frisken (US 2005/0100277).
Reasons for Allowance/Examiner’s Comments
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding the allowability of independent claim 18: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a method comprising “… which separates (emphasis on “separates”) the input light beam received at the different parts of an input face of the cylindrical lens into a plurality of parallel beams of light that are output via an output face of the cylindrical lens to the reflector …”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 19-20 are allowable due to pendency on independent claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 13-15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 11, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a variable optical attenuator including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the reflector is positioned for passing another portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens.
Specifically, with respect to claim 12, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a variable optical attenuator including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the reflector is moveable into or out of a path of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens.
Specifically, with respect to claim 13, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a variable optical attenuator including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a shutter or block between the output face of the cylindrical lens and the reflector, wherein the shutter or block is positioned to pass the at least portion of the parallel beams of light to the reflector and to avoid or prevent another portion of the parallel beams of light output via the output face of the cylindrical lens from reaching the reflector.
Specifically, with respect to claim 16, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a variable optical attenuator including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising: a splitter in the paths of the input and output light beams between the lens means and the rotatable mirror, the splitter operative for reflecting portions of the input and output light beams, for passing another portion of the input light beam to the rotatable mirror, and for passing another portion of the output light beam to the lens means; an input photodiode positioned and operative to receive and convert the reflected portion of the input light beam into a input electrical signal; and an output photodiode positioned and operative to receive and convert the reflected portion of the output light beam into an output electrical signal.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872