DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Luo fails to disclose the amended claim 1. Examiner disagrees. Luo also discloses conductors U2 and U3 adjacent to each other in slots 10, 11 and 20, 21. Thus, the argument is not persuasive. For a more detailed explanation of Luo, see prior art rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 13-15, 17, 19 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (CN 113726040 A).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses a motor (400), comprising:
a stator (300), including:
a first slot (slot 10 or 11) associated with a first phase (U phase), the first slot (slot 10 or 11) configured to receive a first plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) associated with the first phase and having an odd number (seven conductors; FIG. 31);
a second slot (slot 20 or 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), the second slot (slot 20 or 21) configured to receive a second plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) which includes a subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U3), and the second slot (slot 20 or 21) different from the first slot (slot 10 or 11);
a third slot (slot 11 or 10) associated with the first phase (U phase) and adjacent to the first slot (slot 10 or 11), the third slot (slot 11 or 10) configured to receive a third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2);
the subset including a first conductor (250; U2 or U3) having (i) a first portion disposed within a first layer (layer 7) of the first slot (slot 10 or 11) and (ii) a second portion that is disposed within a second layer (layer 7) of the second slot (slot 20 or 21), the first layer closest to a center point of the stator (300) relative to one or more additional layers of the first slot (slot 10 or 11), and the second layer closest to the center point relative to one or more additional layers of the second slot (slot 20 or 21); and
the third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2) including a second conductor having (i) a third portion disposed within a third layer (layer 7) of the third slot (slot 11 or 10) and adjacent to the first layer and (ii) a fourth portion disposed within a fourth layer of a fourth slot (slot 21 or 20) of the stator (300) and adjacent to the second layer (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 4/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the first plurality of conductors (250; U3), including:
the first conductor (conductor extending right in slot 11) to travel in a first direction (right) to span from the first slot (slot 11) to the second slot (slot 21); and
a third conductor (conductor extending left in slot 11) to travel in a second direction (left) away from the first slot (slot 11);
wherein the first direction (right) and the second direction (left) are different.
Regarding claim 5/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the stator (300), including:
a first number of slots (9 slots) disposed between the first slot (slot 11) and the second slot (slot 21);
a second number of slots (9 slots) disposed between the third slot (slot 10) and the fourth slot (slot 20); and
the first number of slots same as the second number of slots (both 9 slots).
Regarding claim 6/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the stator (300), including:
the fourth slot (slot 20) disposed adjacent to the second slot (slot 21), the fourth slot (slot 20) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the fourth slot (slot 20) configured to receive a subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U2) associated with the first phase (U phase);
the subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U3) having a first number of conductors (3 conductors);
the subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U2) having a second number of conductors (3 conductors); and
the first number of conductors same as the second number of conductors (both 3 conductors).
Regarding claim 8/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the stator, including;
a fifth slot (slot 22) disposed adjacent to a first side of the second slot (slot 21) and opposite a second side of the second slot (slot 21) that is adjacent to the fourth slot (slot 20), the fifth slot (slot 22) associated with a second phase (V), and the fifth slot (slot 22) configured to receive a fourth plurality of conductors associated with the second phase (V).
Regarding claim 21/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the motor includes the first phase (U phase), a second phase (W phase), and a third phase (V phase), and further comprising:
the stator (300) including:
a fifth slot (slot 9) adjacent to a first side of the first slot (slot 10) and opposite a second side of the first slot (slot 10) that is adjacent to the third slot (slot 11), the fifth slot (slot 9) associated with the second phase (W phase); and
a sixth slot (slot 22) associated with the third phase (V phase).
Regarding claim 22/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) including a first number of conductors (3 conductors);
the second plurality of conductors (250; U3) including a second number of conductors (3 conductors); and
the first number of conductors same as the second number of conductors (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 22/1, Luo was discussed above in claim 1. Luo further discloses the fourth slot (slot 21) disposed adjacent to the second slot (slot 20), the fourth slot (slot 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the fourth slot (slot 21) configured to receive a subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) associated with the first phase (U phase);
the subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) to travel, in a first direction (right), from the first slot (slot 10) to the second slot (slot 20); and
the subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) to travel, in the first direction (right), from the third slot (slot 11) to the fourth slot (slot 21).
Regarding claim 10, Luo discloses a vehicle (title), comprising:
a motor (400), including:
a stator (300), including:
a first slot (slot 10 or 11) associated with a first phase (U phase), the first slot (slot 10 or 11) configured to receive a first plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) associated with the first phase and having an odd number (seven conductors; FIG. 31);
a second slot (slot 20 or 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), the second slot (slot 20 or 21) configured to receive a second plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) which includes a subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U3), and the second slot (slot 20 or 21) different from the first slot (slot 10 or 11);
a third slot (slot 11 or 10) associated with the first phase (U phase) and adjacent to the first slot (slot 10 or 11), the third slot (slot 11 or 10) configured to receive a third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2);
the subset including a first conductor (250; U2 or U3) having (i) a first portion disposed within a first layer (layer 7) of the first slot (slot 10 or 11) and (ii) a second portion that is disposed within a second layer (layer 7) of the second slot (slot 20 or 21), the first layer closest to a center point of the stator (300) relative to one or more additional layers of the first slot (slot 10 or 11), and the second layer closest to the center point relative to one or more additional layers of the second slot (slot 20 or 21); and
the third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2) including a second conductor having (i) a third portion disposed within a third layer (layer 7) of the third slot (slot 11 or 10) and adjacent to the first layer and (ii) a fourth portion disposed within a fourth layer of a fourth slot (slot 21 or 20) of the stator (300) and adjacent to the second layer (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 13/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the first plurality of conductors (250; U3), including:
the first conductor (conductor extending right in slot 11) to travel in a first direction (right) to span from the first slot (slot 11) to the second slot (slot 21); and
a third conductor (conductor extending left in slot 11) to travel in a second direction (left) away from the first slot (slot 11);
wherein the first direction (right) and the second direction (left) are different.
Regarding claim 14/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the stator (300), including:
a first number of slots (9 slots) disposed between the first slot (slot 11) and the second slot (slot 21);
a second number of slots (9 slots) disposed between the third slot (slot 10) and the fourth slot (slot 20); and
the first number of slots same as the second number of slots (both 9 slots).
Regarding claim 15/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the stator (300), including:
the fourth slot (slot 20) disposed adjacent to the second slot (slot 21), the fourth slot (slot 20) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the fourth slot (slot 20) configured to receive a subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U2) associated with the first phase (U phase);
the subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U3) having a first number of conductors (3 conductors);
the subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U2) having a second number of conductors (3 conductors); and
the first number of conductors same as the second number of conductors (both 3 conductors).
Regarding claim 17/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the stator, including;
a fifth slot (slot 22) disposed adjacent to a first side of the second slot (slot 21) and opposite a second side of the second slot (slot 21) that is adjacent to the fourth slot (slot 20), the fifth slot (slot 22) associated with a second phase (V or W phase), and the fifth slot (slot 22) configured to receive a fourth plurality of conductors associated with the second phase (V or W phase).
Regarding claim 24/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the motor includes the first phase (U phase), a second phase (W phase), and a third phase (V phase), and further comprising:
the stator (300) including:
a fifth slot (slot 9) adjacent to a first side of the first slot (slot 10) and opposite a second side of the first slot (slot 10) that is adjacent to the third slot (slot 11), the fifth slot (slot 9) associated with the second phase (W phase); and
a sixth slot (slot 22) associated with the third phase (V phase).
Regarding claim 25/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) including a first number of conductors (3 conductors);
the second plurality of conductors (250; U3) including a second number of conductors (3 conductors); and
the first number of conductors same as the second number of conductors (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 26/10, Luo was discussed above in claim 10. Luo further discloses the fourth slot (slot 21) disposed adjacent to the second slot (slot 20), the fourth slot (slot 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the fourth slot (slot 21) configured to receive a subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) associated with the first phase (U phase);
the subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) to travel, in a first direction (right), from the first slot (slot 10) to the second slot (slot 20); and
the subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) to travel, in the first direction (right), from the third slot (slot 11) to the fourth slot (slot 21).
Regarding claim 19, Luo discloses a method, comprising:
disposing, within a first slot (slot 10 or 11) of a stator (300), a first plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) associated with a first phase (U phase) and having an odd number (seven conductors; FIG. 31), the first slot (slot 10 or 11) of the stator (300) associated with the first phase (U phase);
disposing, within a second slot (slot 20 or 21) of the stator (300), a second plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) which includes a subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U2 or U3) associated with the first phase (U phase), the second slot (slot 20 or 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the second slot (slot 20 or 21) different than the first slot (slot 10 or 11),
disposing, within a third slot (slot 11 or 10) of the stator (300) associated with the first phase (U phase) and adjacent to the first slot (slot 10 or 11), a third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2);
the subset including a first conductor (250; U2 or U3) having (i) a first portion disposed within a first layer (layer 7) of the first slot (slot 10 or 11) and (ii) a second portion that is disposed within a second layer (layer 7) of the second slot (slot 20 or 21), the first layer closest to a center point of the stator (300) relative to one or more additional layers of the first slot (slot 10 or 11), and the second layer closest to the center point relative to one or more additional layers of the second slot (slot 20 or 21): and
the third plurality of conductors (250; U3 or U2) including a second conductor having (i) a third portion disposed within a third layer (layer 7) of the third slot (slot 11 or 10) and adjacent to the first layer and (ii) a fourth portion disposed within a fourth layer (layer 7) of a fourth slot (slot 21 or 20) of the stator (300) and adjacent to the second layer (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 27/19, Luo was discussed above in claim 19. Luo further discloses the stator (300) includes a fifth slot (slot 9) adjacent to a first side of the first slot (slot 10) and opposite a second side of the first slot (slot 10) that is adjacent to the third slot (slot 11), wherein the fifth slot (slot 9) associated with the second phase (W phase), and the stator (300) includes a sixth slot (slot 22) associated with the third phase (V phase).
Regarding claim 28/19, Luo was discussed above in claim 19. Luo further discloses the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) includes a first number of conductors (3 conductors), wherein the second plurality of conductors (250; U3) includes a second number of conductors (3 conductors), and the first number of conductors same as the second number of conductors (FIG. 31).
Regarding claim 29/19, Luo was discussed above in claim 19. Luo further discloses the fourth slot (slot 21) disposed adjacent to the second slot (slot 20), the fourth slot (slot 21) associated with the first phase (U phase), and the fourth slot (slot 21) configured to receive a subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) associated with the first phase (U phase), wherein the subset of the first plurality of conductors (250; U2) travel, in a first direction (right), from the first slot (slot 10) to the second slot (slot 20), and wherein the subset of the third plurality of conductors (250; U3) travel, in the first direction (right), from the third slot (slot 11) to the fourth slot (slot 21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834