DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rear zone is fluidly isolated from the front zone such that no fluid communication can occur between the front zone and the rear zone as amended in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. In the Applicant’s drawing, Fig. 1, the front zone Z1 and rear zone Z2 are generally designated areas of the front and rear areas of the vehicle 10. The two arrows, in Z1, pointing rearward, represent fluids pumping out of the first washer fluid reservoir 24. The two arrows of fluid can easily flow to the rear of a vehicle when the vehicle is traveling in high speed. It is unclear how or what causes no fluid communication can occur between the front zone and the rear zone as amended in claim 12? Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the rear zone is fluidly isolated from the front zone such that no fluid communication can occur between the front zone and the rear zone as amended in claim 12. In the Applicant’s drawing, Fig. 1, the front zone Z1 and rear zone Z2 are generally designated areas of the front and rear areas of the vehicle 10. The two arrows, in Z1, pointing rearward, represent fluids pumping out of the first washer fluid reservoir 24. The two arrows of fluid can easily flow to the rear of a vehicle when the vehicle is traveling in high speed. It is unclear how or what causes no fluid communication can occur between the front zone and the rear zone as amended in claim 12? Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doherty et al. (US5904296. Doherty hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Doherty discloses a motor vehicle (40), comprising: a cargo bed (48 in general and elements above the chassis. Figs 1 and 2); and a washer fluid reservoir (54) mounted at least partially within an internal cavity of a side wall of the cargo bed (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention. See Fig. 2 with additional annotations below).
With respect to claim 3, Doherty discloses wherein the washer fluid reservoir is mounted between an inner panel (forming 48) and an outer (vertical) panel of the side wall at a location between a wheel well and a rear-most pillar (52) of the cargo bed.
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ward et al. (US 20080203187. Ward hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Ward discloses a motor vehicle (50, 650. Figs. 1-24), comprising: a cargo bed (56, 656 in general and elements above chassis 52, 652); and a washer fluid reservoir (270) mounted at least partially within an internal cavity of a side wall (114, 116, 117, 115. Fig. 14) of the cargo bed (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 3, Ward discloses wherein the washer fluid reservoir is mounted between an inner panel (116, 117) and an outer (114, 115) panel of the side wall at a location between a wheel well (space enclosing wheels 64) and a rear-most pillar (188) of the cargo bed.
With respect to claim 4, Ward discloses wherein the washer fluid reservoir includes a mounting flange (148), a reservoir housing (defined by 270), and a closeout panel (116, 117, 114, 115).
With respect to claim 5, Ward discloses wherein the mounting flange is mounted to a panel (connected by 154. Fig. 1) of the side wall (115) of the cargo bed.
With respect to claim 6, Ward discloses wherein a first (upper) portion of the reservoir housing extends above a floor (defined by upper portion of 102) of the cargo bed, and a second (lower) portion of the reservoir housing extends below the floor (Figs. 14 and 15).
With respect to claim 7, Ward discloses wherein the closeout panel is attached to the reservoir housing to establish an interior volume for (capable of) storing a washer fluid (Figs. 7-17).
With respect to claim 8, Ward discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 7, comprising a pump (302) that is fluidly connected to the interior volume and operable to (capable of) deliver the washer fluid from the washer fluid reservoir to a camera or a sensor that is mounted within the cargo bed.
With respect to claim 10, Ward discloses wherein the washer fluid reservoir includes a fill neck (upstream of 280) recessed within a pocket section (304. Fig. 16) of the washer fluid reservoir, and further wherein the pocket section extends between the mounting flange and an upper front surface (of 120) of the reservoir housing.
With respect to claim 11, Ward discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 10, comprising a fill cap (282) removably connected to the fill neck.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al. (US 10300869. Salter hereinafter).
With respect to claim 12, Salter discloses a washer fluid system (Figs. 1-7) for a motor vehicle (13), comprising: a front zone (at 28, generally left side of 54 in Fig. 1) including a first washer fluid reservoir (12) configured for (capable of) providing a washer fluid to a first camera or a first sensor (visual sensors 32, 40, e.g., cameras, LIDARs left side of 54) located within the front zone; and a rear zone (at 36, generally right side of 54 in Fig. 1) including a second washer fluid reservoir (14) configured for (capable of) providing the washer fluid to a second camera or a second sensor (visual sensors 32, 40, e.g., cameras, LIDARs right side of 54) located within the rear zone, wherein the rear zone is fluidly isolated (separated immediately downstream of 16 and separated by check valve 22 above 14) from the front zone such that no fluid communication can occur between the front zone and the rear zone (12 and 14 are not fluidly connected. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 17, Salter discloses the washer fluid system comprising a first hose (lines from 12 to 32) connecting between the first washer fluid reservoir and the first camera or the first sensor, and further comprising a second, different hose (lines from 14 to 40) connecting between the second washer fluid reservoir and the second camera or the second sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward in view of Zaitz et al. (US 20150114488. Zaitz hereinafter).
With respect to claim 9, Ward discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 7, except for a fluid level sensor that extends into the interior volume, wherein the fluid level sensor is configured to sense when a fluid level of the washer fluid falls below a threshold value.
However, Zaitz teaches a fluid level sensor (29. Fig. ) that extends into an interior volume (cavity 20), wherein the fluid level sensor is configured to (capable of) sense when a fluid level of the washer fluid falls below a threshold value ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a fluid level sensor, as taught by Zaitz, to Ward’s motor vehicle, in order to sense a level of the fluid therein ([0016]).
Claim(s) 13-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Ward.
With respect to claim 13, Salter discloses a washer fluid system as recited in claim 12, except for wherein the rear zone encompasses a cargo bed of the motor vehicle.
However, Ward teaches a motor vehicle (50, 650. Figs. 1-24), comprising: a rear zone encompasses a cargo bed (56, 656 in general and elements above chassis 52, 652); and a washer fluid reservoir (270) mounted within the cargo bed (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a rear zone encompasses a cargo bed, as taught by Ward, to Salter’s motor vehicle, in order to carry the load for required storage and dispensing tasks (Abstract).
With respect to claim 14, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Salter and Ward disclose wherein the second washer fluid reservoir (of Salter) is mounted within a (left and right) side wall of the cargo bed (Figs 14-17 of Ward).
With respect to claim 15, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Ward further teaches wherein the second washer fluid reservoir (of Salter) is mounted between an inner panel (116, 117) and an outer (114, 115) panel of the side wall at a location between a wheel well (space enclosing wheels 64) and a rear-most pillar (188) of the cargo bed.
With respect to claim 16, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Salter and Ward further disclose wherein the second camera or the second sensor is mounted within the cargo bed (within the rear zone of Salter). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the second camera or the second sensor within the cargo bed in order to see or detect what happen in the cargo bed. It has been held that rearranging (relocating) parts (camera or sensor) of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With respect to claim 18, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Ward further teaches wherein the second washer fluid reservoir includes a mounting flange (148), a reservoir housing (defined by 270), and a closeout panel (116, 117, 114, 115).
With respect to claim 19, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Ward further teaches wherein the closeout panel is attached to the reservoir housing to establish an interior volume for (capable of) storing a portion of the washer fluid (Figs. 7-17).
With respect to claim 20, Salter’s washer fluid system modified by Ward’s washer fluid reservoir mounted within the cargo bed, Salter further disclose wherein the second washer fluid reservoir includes a pump (44) and a fluid level sensor (110, 112, 116).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward in view of Salter.
With respect to claim 21, Ward discloses a motor vehicle (50, 650. Figs. 1-24), comprising: a cargo bed (56, 656 in general and elements above chassis 52, 652) including a first (left) side wall (114, 116. Fig. 14), a second side wall (117, 115), a front wall (near the cab), a tailgate (715), and a floor (at 122); a washer fluid reservoir (270) mounted at least partially within an internal cavity (of 270) that extends between an inner panel (116, 117) and an outer panel (114, 115) of the first side wall or the second side wall of the cargo bed.
Ward fails to disclose at least one camera or sensor mounted within the cargo bed; and a hose that fluidly connects the washer fluid reservoir to the at least one camera or sensor, the hose being arranged to direct a washer fluid from the washer fluid reservoir onto a surface of the at least one camera or sensor to clean the surface.
However, Salter teaches a washer fluid system (Figs. 1-7) for a motor vehicle (13), comprising: at least one camera or sensor (visual sensors 32, 40, e.g., cameras, LIDARs left side of 54) mounted within the motor vehicle; and a hose that fluidly connects the washer fluid reservoir to the at least one camera or sensor, the hose (52) being arranged to direct a washer fluid from the washer fluid reservoir onto a surface of the at least one camera or sensor to clean the surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a camera or sensor cleaning system, as taught by Salter, to Ward’s motor vehicle, in order to have camera or sensor and the cleaning system (Fig. 1 and BACKGROUND).
Ward and Salter fail to disclose the at least one camera or sensor mounted within the cargo bed.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the at least one camera or sensor mounted within the cargo bed in order to see or detect what happen in the cargo bed. It has been held that rearranging (relocating) parts (camera or sensor) of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the liquid storage vessel 54 of Doherty does not extend within any side wall recess, void, or integrated structural cavity. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the Fig. 2 of Doherty with additional annotations above, the liquid storage tanks 54 is well within the side wall recess of the cargo bed.
As for the Ward reference, as elaborated in the previous and above rejections, the side walls are 114, 116, 117, 115 as shown in Fig. 14. The washer fluid reservoir (270) is mounted at least partially within an internal cavity of the cargo bed (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
The Applicant further argues about the term “within,” to not merely adjacent or proximate to. It is unclear which part of the Office Action implies that the Examiner interpreted of the term “within” is merely adjacent or proximate to? As elaborated by mapping all possible identifiable limitations of the claims, Doherty and Ward clearly anticipated the claim limitations as shown above. The Applicant appear to impose a narrower interpretation of “within,” but is yet to elaborated in the claims or the arguments. Doherty and Ward’s configuration is exactly or at least similar to the Applicant’s invention. The Applicant's argument should commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
The Applicant also agues the amended limitations in claim 12, as elaborated above, the amended limitations violate 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) requirements. Nevertheless, the amended limitations in claim 12 is fully addressed in the revised 35 U.S.C. 103 section.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 April 1, 2026