Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on June 3rd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 16-20 and claim 26 are pending in the application. Claims 1-15 and claims 21-25 have been cancelled. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 and dependent claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “from about 0.038% to about 0.15% by weight of lactic acid (LA);at least about 0.04% by weight of linear alkylbenzenesulfonic acid (LAS); andat least about 0.05% by weight of sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), wherein the total percentage by weight of LA, LAS, SLS, and any additional components in the composition is less than or equal to about 0.55%”. Based on the instant specifications, this is interpreted to mean that “any additional components” includes only “an ingredient that is recognized as being an active antimicrobial agent by a governmental agency that regulates environmental conditions” (see page 5 line 10-13).
Claim 16 is interpreted to mean that all components which are an active antimicrobial agent, as defined in the instant specifications, must be less than or equal to about 0.55%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 and claim 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roselle (US 20010046979 A1) is maintained.
With regard to claims 16-18, 20, and 26, Roselle discloses acidic antimicrobial compositions for treating food surfaces and food contact surfaces (see Abstract). Roselle further discloses compositions, especially in concentrated, or the corresponding diluted liquid form (see [0002]). Roselle further discloses lactic acid in a dilute composition at 0.003wt%-4.75wt% (see [0068] and [0072]), alkylbenzene sulfonic acid at 0.0002wt%-2wt% (see [0082] and [0086]), and sodium lauryl sulfate at 0.001wt%-5wt% (see [0075] and [0077]). Roselle further discloses concentrates can be diluted by the consumer using water (see [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize the lactic acid, alkylbenzene sulfonic acid, and sodium lauryl sulfate of Roselle in the cleaning composition as Roselle discloses an acidic antimicrobial composition comprising (1) organic acid; (2) surfactant, preferably selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactant, nonionic surfactant, and mixtures thereof (see [0005]). Lactic acid is an organic acid and alkylbenzene sulfonic acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are anionic surfactants.
With regard to claim 19, Roselle discloses effervescent buffers in a dilute composition at 0.0005wt%-3wt% (see [0099]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Roselle does not teach or suggest a composition comprising lactic acid, alkylbenzenesulfonic acid, and sodium lauryl sulfate in a single embodiment. As stated above, Roselle further discloses compositions, especially in concentrated, or the corresponding diluted liquid form (see [0002]). Roselle further discloses lactic acid in a dilute composition at 0.003wt%-4.75wt% (see [0068] and [0072]), alkylbenzene sulfonic acid at 0.0002wt%-2wt% (see [0082] and [0086]), and sodium lauryl sulfate at 0.001wt%-5wt% (see [0075] and [0077]). The entire reference must be considered.
Applicant further argues that all three components are necessary to achieve the unexpected results disclosed in the instant specifications. Applicant further argues one and two component compositions fail during testing. Composition A, Applicant argues, comprises 0.07% LA, 0.15% LAS, and 0.09% SLS and not only passes against S. aureus at one minute, but also exhibits broad-spectrum activity, achieving passing results against Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Candida albicans and demonstrated kill of poliovirus type 1 and canine parvovirus. Applicant further argues that the efficacy of the three- component composition, including at very low total amounts, is not predictable from the performance of its parts, each of which fails when tested alone or in pairs.
As stated above, Roselle discloses acidic antimicrobial compositions for treating food surfaces and food contact surfaces (see Abstract). Roselle further discloses compositions, especially in concentrated, or the corresponding diluted liquid form (see [0002]). Roselle further discloses lactic acid in a dilute composition at 0.003wt%-4.75wt% (see [0068] and [0072]), alkylbenzene sulfonic acid at 0.0002wt%-2wt% (see [0082] and [0086]), and sodium lauryl sulfate at 0.001wt%-5wt% (see [0075] and [0077]). Roselle further discloses concentrates can be diluted by the consumer using water (see [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize the lactic acid, alkylbenzene sulfonic acid, and sodium lauryl sulfate of Roselle in the cleaning composition as Roselle discloses an acidic antimicrobial composition comprising (1) organic acid; (2) surfactant, preferably selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactant, nonionic surfactant, and mixtures thereof (see [0005]). Lactic acid is an organic acid and alkylbenzene sulfonic acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are anionic surfactants.
Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., broad-spectrum antimicrobial efficacy at these low concentrations at short contact times) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, most of the claims are for a composition and not a method of using. A composition is not limited to the intended use presented.
Applicant further argues Roselle does not disclose the claimed combination and a person of ordinary skill would not have arrived at it from Roselle’s teachings. Applicant further argues that each of Roselle's working Examples I through VIII uses citric acid as the organic acid and SLS as the sole surfactant, not one example uses lactic acid, not one example uses LAS, and not one example combines LAS with SLS. Applicant further argues that Roselle fails to disclose a composition comprising all three components. As stated above, the entire reference must be considered.
Applicant further argues that Roselle only discloses antimicrobial efficacy for citric acid, not lactic acid. However, Roselle discloses lactic acid as an alternative for citric acid (see [0007]). Roselle discloses lactic acid as a suitable organic acid to kill and/or reduce microorganisms on the treated surface (see [0007]). Therefore, lactic acid is disclosed as having antimicrobial efficacy.
Applicant further argues that the rejection requires hindsight reconstruction. Applicant further argues that the combination of an organic acid and a surfactant is only possible using the instant claims as a template. Roselle discloses an acidic antimicrobial composition for treating food surfaces and food contact surfaces comprise an organic acid and a surfactant (see Abstract). Roselle further discloses anionic surfactants, nonionic surfactants, and mixtures thereof (see [0008]). As stated above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize the lactic acid, alkylbenzene sulfonic acid, and sodium lauryl sulfate of Roselle in the cleaning composition as Roselle discloses an acidic antimicrobial composition comprising (1) organic acid; (2) surfactant, preferably selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactant, nonionic surfactant, and mixtures thereof (see [0005]). Lactic acid is an organic acid and alkylbenzene sulfonic acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are anionic surfactants.
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed June 3rd, 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 1based upon 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
It includes statements which amount to an affirmation that the claimed subject matter functions as it was intended to function. This is not relevant to the issue of nonobviousness of the claimed subject matter and provides no objective evidence thereof. See MPEP § 716.
The affidavit states the compositions require lactic acid (LA), linear alkylbenzenesulfonic acid (LAS), and sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) together. The affidavit further states that all three components are required to achieve the antimicrobial efficacy of the claimed compositions.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761