DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to a restriction election filed on 06/24/2026.
Claims 1-10 are pending. Applicant has elected group I, claims 1-9, without traverse and claim 10 is withdrawn as non-elected Group II claim.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yang et al (CN115116760, machine translation) in view of Cheng et al (CN 112390241, machine translation).
Regarding clams 1, 7-8, Yang discloses a method of preparation of carbon-lithium oxide composite comprising mixing lithium source such as lithium carbonate with active carbon in tubular furnace (reads on ), grinding the first mixture (i.e., ball milling) and then heat treatment (reads on sintering) ranges from 600-800°C under protective gas atmosphere where protective gas is nitrogen, helium gas, neon gas, argon gas, krypton gas, at least one of xenon gas( reads also claims 7-8) and then further grinding or pulverizing to obtain carbon lithium oxide material (paragraphs 0006-0009, 0024, 0032, 0034, 0035-0039, 0040, embodiment 1).
Yang does not explicitly disclose or suggest mixing dispersant and dispersing to obtain intermediate solution and pulverizing under protective atmosphere to obtain lithium oxide material.
However, Cheng discloses method that uses phosphate and ferric oxide as mixed iron source, lithium carbonate, and lithium phosphate are mixed as lithium source, adding the iron source and lithium source (i.e., lithium carbonate) into dispersant and adding carbon source and additive into the dispersant, ball milling to obtain slurry; spray-drying the slurry and sintering the intermediate solution and crushing under protective inert atmosphere such as at least one of nitrogen, argon gas, helium gas (paragraphs 0009, 0015-0018, 0023, 0025, 0044-0047, 0060, 0070-0073, 0076-0085, examples, reads on also claims 7-8).
Given Yang and Cheng are both directed lithium battery technology field therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mix dispersant and dispersing and crushing (i.e., pulverizing) under protective inert atmosphere of Cheng which would exhibit high initial charge and discharge specific capacity and good rate charge and discharge performance as well as reducing manufacturing cost as taught by Cheng (paragraphs 0007, 0035,0002).
Regarding claims 2-3, Cheng discloses carbon source comprises an inorganic carbon source and organic carbon source wherein the inorganic carbon source includes at least one of Super P, Ketjen black, carbon nanotubes, acetylene black, vapor-grown carbon fiber, graphene; and the organic carbon source comprises at least one of glucose, sucrose, starch, fructose, maltose, cyclodextrin, citric acid, polyethylene glycol, polyvinyl alcohol, and polyglycerol (paragraph0019).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses the dispersant comprises one of deionized water, and anhydrous ethanol (paragraph 0060, examples).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses wherein a grinding particle size D50 of the wet grinding is 0.2-0.8 um (paragraph 0069). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses wherein in the spray drying process, the spray is conducted with an air inlet temperature of 200- 280°C, and an air outlet temperature of 90-120°C (paragraphs 0024-0026). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses wherein in the sintering process, a sintering temperature is 700°C-1200°C, and sintering time is 6-48 h (paragraph 0027-0031).
Yang discloses sintering temperature from 600-800 and time is 1-4 hours (see paragraphs 0035-0039). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/24/2026