DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 14, 21 were amended, claim 11, 13, 15 was canceled, claims 23-24 are new. Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Van Dykes Restorers Blog (see webpage attached).
With respect to claim 1, Van Dyke discloses an inlay system configured for storage of a plurality of containers at different vertical levels within a processing device, comprising: a processing device comprising an enclosure (a room), and a plurality of support structures (figure 1) disposed within the enclosure of the processing device, each of which support structures is arranged at a different vertical level and configured to respectively support at least a portion of at least one of a plurality of containers (figure 1), wherein the support structures are arranged with a horizontal offset between adjacent levels disposed within the enclosure.
Examiner Note: It is clear that Van Dykes device can be utilized on a wall in a house.
With respect to claim 2, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein a vertical spacing between a lower support structure and a higher support structure being adjacent to the lower support structure is configured so that a vertical distance between a vertically protruding portion of at least one of the plurality of containers located on the lower support structure and the higher support structure is at most 5 cm. From the figure, it would appear that the frame of the lower support structure in figure 1 is less than 5cm. The measurement can be taken from the top surface of the middle support structure to the top of the photo frame. From the figure, those items appear to be similar in height. Also, refer to 112b, the reference points are unclear.
With respect to claim 3, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein a vertical spacing between a lower support structure and a higher support structure being adjacent to the lower support structure (lowest shelf of figure 1) is configured so that a vertically protruding portion (figure 1) of at least one of the plurality of containers located on the lower support structure vertically overlaps and/or extends beyond the higher support structure (second shelf of figure 1).
With respect to claim 4, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein the horizontal offset is such that neither the support structure (second shelf) adjacent in the direction of a vertically protruding portion (figure 1) of at least one of the plurality of containers nor a container (figure 1) stored upon said adjacent support structure horizontally overlaps with said protruding portion.
With respect to claim 5, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the support structures comprises at least one stiffening element, wherein the at least one stiffening element comprises at least one of a bend, an offset, a hem, a hole, a slot, a seam, a tab, a notch, a flange, an emboss, a dimple and/or a rib. (inherent slot for installation of floating shelves. Alternatively it can be viewed as an inherent tab. Also dimple can be considered an inherent finish on wooden products)
With respect to claim 7, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of containers comprises a main portion (transparent/glass/plastic portion of frame) and at least one of the plurality of containers comprises at least one protruding portion (darker frame portion that extends above glass) that extends vertically beyond the main portion of the respective container.
With respect to claim 8, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 7, wherein the main portion comprises main portion height H1 (transparent portion height) and the at least one protruding portion of the at least one container comprises a protruding portion height H2 (protruding portion height), wherein for at least one container comprising a protruding portion and being stored on a lower support structure a vertical distance H3 between the lower support structure (lowest shelf) and a higher support structure (2nd shelf) being adjacent to the lower support structure is chosen such that H1< H3 <(H1+H2).
Examiner Note: See 112b above. This is met by the top most surface of the lower support structure and the bottom most surface of the higher support structure.
With respect to claim 9, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is one of a heated and/or refrigerated incubator, an environmental chamber, a heating cabinet or a cooling cabinet. (The shelves of Van Dyke are incorporated on houses. Houses can be considered a controlled environment, in which the temperature and sometimes humidity is controlled. The term “environmental chamber” can be broadly read and a house can meet this definition.)
With respect to claim 10, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein a higher support structure being adjacent to a lower support structure is configured such that a vertically protruding portion of at least one of the plurality of containers (figure 1, the frame) located on the lower support structure (lowest shelf) does not horizontally overlap with the respective higher support structure.
With respect to claim 12, Van Dyke discloses a device for processing samples, the device comprising an inlay system for storage of a plurality of containers at different vertical levels within a processing device, the inlay system comprising: a plurality of support structures (figure 1), each of which is arranged at a different vertical level and configured to respectively support at least a portion of at least one of a plurality of containers (figure 1), wherein the support structures are arranged with a horizontal offset between adjacent levels, wherein the device is configured to control at least one or a plurality of, temperature (if placed on a household wall, a house commonly has a thermostat), humidity, C02-level, and/or 02-level within the device and/or containers stored therein.
Examiner Note: It is noted that the claims as presented are directed to a product and apparatus. As currently presented, the apparatus is the mere assembly of the product and its examination in conjunction with the product does not represent a serious burden at this time; therefore, no restriction is required. However, if subsequent amendments to the claims result in diverging subject matter and searches between the claimed inventions, the examiner reserves the right to restrict at that time.
With respect to claim 14, Van Dyke discloses a method for storing a plurality of containers at different vertical levels within a processing device, the method comprising: causing storage of a plurality of container in an inlay system configured for storage of a plurality of containers at different vertical levels within an enclosure of the processing device, the inlay system comprising: a plurality of support structures (figure 1), each of which is arranged at a different vertical level and configured to respectively support at least a portion of at least one of a plurality of containers (figure 1), wherein the support structures are arranged with a horizontal offset between adjacent levels
Examiner Note: It is noted that the claims as presented are directed to a product and method of using the product. As currently presented, the method is the mere assembly of the product and its examination in conjunction with the product does not represent a serious burden at this time; therefore, no restriction is required. However, if subsequent amendments to the claims result in diverging subject matter and searches between the claimed inventions, the examiner reserves the right to restrict at that time.
With respect to claim 16, Van Dyke discloses the method according to claim 14,wherein the method comprises storing the plurality of containers such that a vertical distance V between a vertically protruding portion of at least one of the plurality of containers and the support structure of an adjacent vertical level being higher than the vertical level supporting the at least one of the plurality of containers is at most 5 cm. From the figure, it would appear that the frame of the lower support structure in figure 1 is less than 5cm. The measurement can be taken from the top surface of the middle support structure to the top of the photo frame. From the figure, those items appear to be similar in height.
With respect to claim 17, Van Dyke discloses the method according to claim 14,wherein the method comprises storing the plurality of containers such that a vertically protruding portion (figure 1) of at least one of the plurality of containers vertically overlaps and/or extends beyond the support structure of an adjacent level (2nd shelf) being higher than a level supporting (lowest shelf) the at least one of the plurality of containers.
With respect to claim 18, Van Dyke discloses the method according to claim 14,wherein the method comprises installing the inlay system in a processing device (a buildings wall) such that there is a horizontal offset between support structures of adjacent levels.
With respect to claim 19, Van Dyke discloses the method according to claim 14,wherein the method comprises storing each of the plurality of containers (figure 1) on a support structure of the inlay system.
With respect to claim 20, Van Dyke discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the method comprises removing a container from one level without removing any container of a level directly above. (Inherent structure of Van Dykes, for example changing the photo in the photo frame would result in said performance. The prior art is configured to enable the removal of an item on one level without the removal of an item from another level.)
With respect to claim 21, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system of claim 1, wherein the horizontal offset is a distance between most proximal points of respective support structures of adjacent levels. (Overlapping features can have an “offset”)
With respect to claim 22, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system according to claim 2, wherein the vertical offset is the distance between a top of the vertically protruding portion and a bottom of the higher support structure. (Overlapping features can have an “offset”)
Examiner Note: It is believed that Van Dyke achieves the claimed subject matter. Any arguments can also be obviated by a change of shape rationale (height of the protrusion), it would be considered as a simple change of shape of Van Dykes design and not novel in view of the guidelines established In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to claim 23, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system of claim 1, wherein the processing device comprises at least one of an incubator, an environmental chamber, a heating cabinet, and a cooling cabinet. (A household room can be known as an environmentally controlled chamber, often having a heating element, a cooling element, or sometimes a humidity control element)
With respect to claim 24, Van Dyke discloses the inlay system of claim 23, wherein the incubator comprises a heated incubator.
Examiner Note: An incubator can be defined as “an apparatus with a chamber used to provide controlled environmental conditions especially for the cultivation of microorganisms or the care and protection of premature or sick babies”. A standard house has the capability of heating. Further, houses can be considered environmentally controlled, set to a variety of “heated” conditions, and allow for the cultivation of microorganisms.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Home Depot Sunset (see webpage attached).
With respect to claim 1, Home Depot discloses an inlay system for storage of a plurality of containers at different vertical levels within a processing device, the inlay system comprising: a plurality of support structures (figure 1), each of which is arranged at a different vertical level and configured to respectively support at least a portion of at least one of the plurality of containers (figure 1), wherein the support structures are arranged with a horizontal offset between adjacent levels.
With respect to claim 6, Home Depot discloses the inlay system according to claim 1, wherein the horizontal offset O is in the range of 2 to 10 cm . (Inherent property of Home Depots stacked configuration. Refer to figure 2 to see horizontal direction. Home Depot’s front surface is wavy and inconsistent. Therefore at a certain point the offset between the front face of the two levels can easily be a number from the range between 2 to 10 cm. )
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant believes that the positive recitation of a processing device overcomes the prior rejection. However, a processing device is not a clearly defined entity. The specification lists examples of a processing device but does not limit or provide an exact definition for a processing device. As such, the term can be broadly read and is defined by the claims. The independent claim only positively recites a processing device comprising an enclosure. For example, a room can be considered a processing device. Processes may occur in a room. A room is a temperature controlled environment. Rooms and houses are considered enclosures and are normally environmental controlled environments.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20150176410-A1 OR US-20190270956-A1 OR US-20160137961-A2 OR US-20140120608-A1.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735