Method Of Testing Vehicle Clear Vision
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/04/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 4, which depends from claim 1, be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. Additionally, should claim 16, which depends from claim 15, be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 20120041658; “Turner”), in view of Kawazoe (US 20230194385; "Kawazoe"), and further in view of Beck (US 20250138046; “Beck”).
Regarding claim 1, Turner discloses, in figures 1-9, a method of testing (TITLE, “method for determining a steering angle for a vehicle”) a vehicle (12) that includes a propulsion system (18), drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R), and a steering wheel (¶ 0032, “steering wheel”), the method comprising: operating the propulsion system (18) to rotate the drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R) at a one or more speeds while actively adjusting a rotational position of the steering wheel to maintain straight vehicle travel (¶ 0058, Turner calibrates the steering angle sensor when the operator positions the steering wheel in its neutral position for operate the vehicle along a substantially straight path); measuring angle data of the steering wheel during the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel (¶ 0114, examiner notes Turner acquires steering position sensor data when substantially straight driving path estimation is determined); checking the measured angle data to determine if it is outside a predetermined angular range (¶ 0121, examiner notes Turner compares the current steering position sensor data with previously sampled values to determine if a variation is outside a predetermined threshold), and comparing steering angles to determine a fault error in the system (¶ 0134).
Turner fails to disclose driving the vehicle on a dynamometer and outputting a vehicle fault code under certain conditions.
Kawazoe teaches, in figure 1, positioning the vehicle (W) on a dynamometer (2), rotate the drive wheels (W1, W2) at a one or more predetermined speeds (¶ 0024, Kawazoe evaluates steering function at a low speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kawazoe’s use of a dynamometer into Turner’s method to provide an environmentally controlled region to undertake the process. Doing so protects the vehicle and operators from inclement weather.
Turner and Kawazoe fail to disclose outputting a vehicle vault code in response to angle data being outside a range.
Beck teaches, in figure 6, outputting, in response to the angle data being outside the predetermined angular range, a vehicle fault code (¶ 0018, Beck’s controller triggers diagnostic fault codes in the event of a steering angle sensor malfunction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Beck’s scheme triggering diagnostic fault codes into Turner and Kawazoe’s scheme of determining a system fault since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of communicating when a variation is outside a threshold.
Regarding claim 2, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Kawazoe’s figure 1, the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel is performed by a driver assist system (Kawazoe (4)) of the vehicle (Kawazoe, ¶ 0054, “The test piece W basically performs steering control… by an ADAS (Advanced Driver-Assistance Systems”) controller”).
Regarding claim 3, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Kawazoe’s figure 1, the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel (Kawazoe, ¶ 0054, “The driving robot 4 includes various actuators for operating a steering wheel… The test piece W basically performs steering control,… by… an AD (Autonomous Driving)) is performed by a robot (Kawazoe (4)).
Regarding claim 4, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the one or more predetermined speeds is greater than 40 mph (64.37 kph).
However, Applicant has not disclosed that running the vehicle wheels at a predetermined speed greater than 40 mph is critical or produces unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a process of testing clear vision on as a matter of design choice to provide a standardized vehicle speed during tests of multiple vehicles. Do so allows for testing at typical driving conditions.
Regarding claim 5, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the predetermined angular range is −2.5° to 2.5°.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that a predetermined angular range of −2.5° to 2.5° is critical or produces unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a process of testing clear vision on as a matter of design choice to provide a standardized measured straight driving steering angle range. Do so allows for determining steering sensor failures or steering assembly misalignment.
Regarding claim 6, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data checked (¶ 0121, “current steering angle value”) is angle data measured during a predetermined operating state (see fig. 5, examiner notes Turner makes a straight judgement of the operating state based on low slip ratio, low acceleration, speed above a minimum) of the vehicle (W), wherein the predetermined operating state is such the vehicle does have forward acceleration during the predetermined operating state (¶ 0070, Turner acceleration threshold represents a cruising condition with an acceleration of substantially zero).
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the predetermined operating state is such that a transmission of the vehicle does not shift gears during the predetermined operating state.
However, applicant has not established the criticality of operating the vehicle so that the transmission does not shift gears for the instant invention. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to operate the vehicle so that the transmission does not shift gears, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success of operating the vehicle in a cruising state would be obvious to try. Doing so provides a reliable way of maintaining a vehicle cruising speed with zero acceleration.
Regarding claim 7, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the predetermined operating state is such that the one or more predetermined speeds is a constant speed (¶ 0070, Turner acceleration threshold represents a cruising condition with an acceleration of substantially zero).
Regarding claim 9, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device (Turner (38)) mounted adjacent to the steering column (¶ 0032, Turner’s steering angle sensor lie’s adjacent to the steering column).
The Examiner takes official notice that a steering angle sensor removeable mounted to the steering wheel is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known steering angle sensor removeable mounted to the steering wheel to measure Turner, Kawazoe and Beck’s angle data. Doing so provides a reliable way of positioning a sensor for data collection.
Regarding claim 10, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device (Turner (38)) mounted to a steering column (¶ 0032, Turner’s steering angle sensor lie’s adjacent to the steering column).
The Examiner takes official notice that a steering angle sensor mounted to a steering column is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known steering angle sensor mounted to the steering column to measure Turner, Kawazoe and Beck’s angle data. Doing so provides a reliable way of positioning a sensor for data collection.
Regarding claim 11, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device (Turner (38)).
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to explicitly disclose a measurement device that includes an optical sensor configured detect an angular position of the steering wheel.
The Examiner takes official notice that a steering angle sensor that includes an optical sensor configured detect an angular position of the steering wheel is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known steering angle sensor that includes an optical sensor to measure Turner, Kawazoe and Beck’s angular position of the steering wheel. Doing so provides a reliable sensor technology for data collection.
Regarding claim 15, Turner discloses, in figures 1-9, a method of testing (TITLE, “method for determining a steering angle for a vehicle”) a vehicle (12) that includes a propulsion system (18), drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R), and a steering wheel (¶ 0032, “steering wheel”), the method comprising: operating the propulsion system (18) to rotate the drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R) at a one or more speeds while actively adjusting a rotational position of the steering wheel to maintain straight vehicle travel (¶ 0058, Turner calibrates the steering angle sensor when the operator positions the steering wheel in its neutral position for operate the vehicle along a substantially straight path); measuring angle data of the steering wheel during the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel (¶ 0114, examiner notes Turner acquires steering position sensor data when substantially straight driving path estimation is determined); checking the measured angle data to determine if it is outside a predetermined angular range (¶ 0121, examiner notes Turner compares the current steering position sensor data with previously sampled values to determine if a variation is outside a predetermined threshold), and comparing steering angles to determine a fault error in the system (¶ 0134).
Turner fails to disclose driving the vehicle on a dynamometer and outputting a vehicle fault code under certain conditions, wherein the predetermined speed is greater than 40 mph.
Kawazoe teaches, in figure 1, positioning the vehicle (W) on a dynamometer (2), rotate the drive wheels (W1, W2) at a one or more predetermined speeds (¶ 0024, Kawazoe evaluates steering function at a low speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kawazoe’s use of a dynamometer into Turner’s method to provide an environmentally controlled region to undertake the process. Doing so protects the vehicle and operators from inclement weather.
Turner and Kawazoe fail to disclose outputting a vehicle vault code in response to angle data being outside a range, wherein the predetermined speed is greater than 40 mph.
Beck teaches, in figure 6, outputting, in response to the angle data being outside the predetermined angular range, a vehicle fault code (¶ 0018, Beck’s controller triggers diagnostic fault codes in the event of a steering angle sensor malfunction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Beck’s scheme triggering diagnostic fault codes into Turner and Kawazoe’s scheme of determining a system fault since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of communicating when a variation is outside a threshold.
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the one or more predetermined speeds is greater than 40 mph (64.37 kph).
However, Applicant has not disclosed that running the vehicle wheels at a predetermined speed greater than 40 mph is critical or produces unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a process of testing clear vision on as a matter of design choice to provide a standardized vehicle speed during tests of multiple vehicles. Do so allows for testing at typical driving conditions.
Regarding claim 16, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Kawazoe’s figure 1, the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel is performed by a driver assist system (Kawazoe (4)) of the vehicle (Kawazoe, ¶ 0054, “The test piece W basically performs steering control… by an ADAS (Advanced Driver-Assistance Systems”) controller”.
Regarding claim 17, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data checked (¶ 0121, “current steering angle value”) is angle data measured during a predetermined operating state (see fig. 5, examiner notes Turner makes a straight judgement of the operating state based on low slip ratio, low acceleration, speed above a minimum) of the vehicle (W), wherein the predetermined operating state is such the vehicle does have forward acceleration during the predetermined operating state (¶ 0070, Turner acceleration threshold represents a cruising condition with an acceleration of substantially zero).
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the predetermined operating state is such that a transmission of the vehicle does not shift gears during the predetermined operating state.
However, applicant has not established the criticality of operating the vehicle so that the transmission does not shift gears for the instant invention. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to operate the vehicle so that the transmission does not shift gears, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success of operating the vehicle in a cruising state would be obvious to try. Doing so provides a reliable way of maintaining a vehicle cruising speed with zero acceleration.
Regarding claim 18, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the predetermined operating state is such that the one or more predetermined speeds is a constant speed (¶ 0070, Turner acceleration threshold represents a cruising condition with an acceleration of substantially zero).
Regarding claim 20, Turner discloses, in figures 1-9, a method of testing (TITLE, “method for determining a steering angle for a vehicle”) a vehicle (12) that includes a propulsion system (18), drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R), and a steering wheel (¶ 0032, “steering wheel”), the method comprising: operating the propulsion system (18) to rotate the drive wheels (14L, 14R, 16L, 16R) at a one or more speeds while actively adjusting a rotational position of the steering wheel to maintain straight vehicle travel (¶ 0058, Turner calibrates the steering angle sensor when the operator positions the steering wheel in its neutral position for operate the vehicle along a substantially straight path); measuring angle data of the steering wheel during the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel (¶ 0114, examiner notes Turner acquires steering position sensor data when substantially straight driving path estimation is determined); checking the measured angle data to determine if it is outside a predetermined angular range (¶ 0121, examiner notes Turner compares the current steering position sensor data with previously sampled values to determine if a variation is outside a predetermined threshold), and comparing steering angles to determine a fault error in the system (¶ 0134).
Turner fails to disclose driving the vehicle on a dynamometer and outputting a vehicle fault code under certain conditions, wherein the predetermined speed is greater than 40 mph.
Kawazoe teaches, in figure 1, positioning the vehicle (W) on a dynamometer (2), rotate the drive wheels (W1, W2) at a one or more predetermined speeds (¶ 0024, Kawazoe evaluates steering function at a low speed), wherein the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel is performed by at least one of a driver assist system (4) of the vehicle (Kawazoe, ¶ 0054, “The test piece W basically performs steering control… by an ADAS (Advanced Driver-Assistance Systems”) controller”) and a robot ((4) ¶ 0054, “The driving robot 4 includes various actuators for operating a steering wheel… The test piece W basically performs steering control,… by… an AD (Autonomous Driving))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kawazoe’s use of a dynamometer and an ADAS or AD into Turner’s method to provide an environmentally controlled region to undertake the process. Doing so protects the vehicle and operators from inclement weather and reduces the number of operators needed to perform testing.
Turner and Kawazoe fail to disclose outputting a vehicle vault code in response to angle data being outside a range, wherein the predetermined speed is greater than 40 mph.
Beck teaches, in figure 6, outputting, in response to the angle data being outside the predetermined angular range, a vehicle fault code (¶ 0018, Beck’s controller triggers diagnostic fault codes in the event of a steering angle sensor malfunction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Beck’s scheme triggering diagnostic fault codes into Turner and Kawazoe’s scheme of determining a system fault since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of communicating when a variation is outside a threshold.
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to disclose the one or more predetermined speeds is greater than 40 mph (64.37 kph).
However, Applicant has not disclosed that running the vehicle wheels at a predetermined speed greater than 40 mph is critical or produces unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a process of testing clear vision on as a matter of design choice to provide a standardized vehicle speed during tests of multiple vehicles. Do so allows for testing at typical driving conditions.
wherein the active adjusting of the rotational position of the steering wheel is performed by at least one of a driver assist system of the vehicle and a robot;
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 20120041658; “Turner”), Kawazoe (US 20230194385; "Kawazoe"), and Beck (US 20250138046; “Beck”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Brewer (US 20070088477; "Brewer").
Regarding claim 12, Turner, Kawazoe and Beck disclose, in Turner’s figures 1-9, the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device (Turner (38)).
Turner, Kawazoe and Beck fail to explicitly disclose the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device that includes at least one of a gyroscope and an accelerometer.
Brewer teaches, in figures 2, the angle data measured is measured by a measurement device (A, B) that includes at least one of a gyroscope (¶ 0077, Brewer’s sensors A and B are gyroscopes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brewer’s scheme of using gyroscopes to collect steering wheel angular data with Turner, Kawazoe and Beck’s scheme measuring angular data since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of measuring steering angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 13-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the examiner notes a search has not revealed prior art teaching or suggesting to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Turner, Kawazoe and Beck, as combined in the rejection of claims 1 and 6, to include the predetermined operating state is such that the one or more predetermined speeds includes an accelerating speed. Examiner concludes prior existence of the combination, or a suggestion to combine all cited references, is improbable.
Regarding claim 13, the examiner notes a search has not revealed prior art teaching or suggesting to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Turner, Kawazoe and Beck, as combined in the rejection of claim 1, to include performing a wheel alignment before operating the propulsion system to rotate the drive wheels at the one or more predetermined speeds. Examiner concludes prior existence of the combination, or a suggestion to combine all cited references, is improbable. Dependent claim 14 would be allowable for at least the same reasons as above.
Regarding claim 19, the examiner notes a search has not revealed prior art teaching or suggesting to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Turner, Kawazoe and Beck, as combined in the rejection of claims 15 and 17, to include the predetermined operating state is such that the one or more predetermined speeds includes an accelerating speed. Examiner concludes prior existence of the combination, or a suggestion to combine all cited references, is improbable.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855