DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because claims 1, 7 and 13 have been amended with new limitations, i.e., re-enabling the N1 mode capability over 3GPP access when performing Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection.
However, the arguments with respect to the newly amended limitations are not fully supported by paragraph [0081] because paragraph [0081] cites these:
[0081] In other embodiments, as an alternative to a timer based solution, UE 702 on registering on any PLMN on LTE, UMTS, GSM will keep running the above timer, and on its expiry, UE 702 will enable N1 mode capability and attempt PLMN selection as per 23.122.
There is no such “re-enable” from this paragraph. As such, the examiner assumes the “re-enable” is “enable” N1 mode as shown from the paragraph as for sake of the arguments thus for the new rejection below.
The arguments with respect to the newly amended limitations are also not persuasive because Surisetty teaches “re-enabling the N1 mode capability over 3GPP access when performing Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection” (Surisetty, Figs. 4A and 4B, pp [54]: The wireless connection controller may enable the N1 mode after the expiry of the timer, in response to determining that the UE is located in the tracking area. The wireless connection controller may terminate the timer, and enable the N1 mode, in response to determining that the UE is located in another tracking area; Fig. 8, pp [66]: the UE disables N1 mode and later re-enables the N1 mode based on tracking area update when roaming from 4G to 5G and back to 4G networks).
Therefore, the newly amended limitations were written such that they read upon reference Surisetty as explained above.
As for the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, since Surisetty teaches and discloses the new amended limitations as explained above, thus claims 4, 10, 16 and 19-20 are believed rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as shown in the following details.
As for the arguments on the Non-statutory Double Patenting rejection, the examiner agrees with the Applicant’s arguments. Therefore, the Non-statutory Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Surisetty et al. (Publication No. US 2021/0329539).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) Surisetty teaches a method (Surisetty, the Abstract), comprising:
receiving an indication of rejection to all of one or more of requested slices over 3GPP access (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]);
disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access based on the indication (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]); and
re-enabling the N1 mode capability over 3GPP access when performing Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection (Surisetty, Figs. 4A and 4B, pp [54]: The wireless connection controller may enable the N1 mode after the expiry of the timer, in response to determining that the UE is located in the tracking area. The wireless connection controller may terminate the timer, and enable the N1 mode, in response to determining that the UE is located in another tracking area; Fig. 8, pp [66]: the UE disables N1 mode and later re-enables the N1 mode based on tracking area update when roaming from 4G to 5G and back to 4G networks).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Surisetty teaches a User equipment (UE) apparatus (Surisetty, the Abstract), comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the apparatus to:
receive an indication of rejection to all of one or more of requested slices over 3GPP access (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]);
disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access based on the indication (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]); and
re-enabling the N1 mode capability over 3GPP access when performing Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection (Surisetty, Figs. 4A and 4B, pp [54]: The wireless connection controller may enable the N1 mode after the expiry of the timer, in response to determining that the UE is located in the tracking area. The wireless connection controller may terminate the timer, and enable the N1 mode, in response to determining that the UE is located in another tracking area; Fig. 8, pp [66]: the UE disables N1 mode and later re-enables the N1 mode based on tracking area update when roaming from 4G to 5G and back to 4G networks).
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Surisetty teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (Surisetty, the Abstract), cause the computer to:
receive an indication of rejection to all of one or more of requested slices over 3GPP access (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]);
disable N1 mode capability over 3GPP access based on the indication (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]);
disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access based on the indication (Surisetty, Fig. 8, pp [65]-[66]); and
re-enabling the N1 mode capability over 3GPP access when performing Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) selection (Surisetty, Figs. 4A and 4B, pp [54]: The wireless connection controller may enable the N1 mode after the expiry of the timer, in response to determining that the UE is located in the tracking area. The wireless connection controller may terminate the timer, and enable the N1 mode, in response to determining that the UE is located in another tracking area; Fig. 8, pp [66]: the UE disables N1 mode and later re-enables the N1 mode based on tracking area update when roaming from 4G to 5G and back to 4G networks).
Regarding claim 2. (Original) Surisetty teaches the method of claim 1, in which the indication is a deregistration request for Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) failure (Surisetty, pp [43]-[45]).
Regarding claim 3. (Original) Surisetty teaches the method of claim 1, in which the indication is a registration rejection for all requested S-NSSAIs (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Regarding claim 5. (Original) Surisetty teaches the method of claim 1, in which the indication is a rejection for failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization (Surisetty, pp [15], [45], [52]).
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) Surisetty teaches the method of claim 1, in which the indication is a rejection for all requested S-NSSAI not available in a current Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) or SNPN (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Regarding claim 8. (Original) Surisetty teaches the UE apparatus of claim 7, in which the indication is a deregistration request for Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) failure (Surisetty, pp [43]-[45]).
Regarding claim 9. (Original) Surisetty teaches the UE apparatus of claim 7, in which the indication is a registration rejection for all requested S-NSSAIs (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Regarding claim 11. (Original) Surisetty teaches the UE apparatus of claim 7, in which the indication is a rejection for failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization (Surisetty, pp [15], [45], [52]).
Regarding claim 12. (Previously Presented) Surisetty teaches the UE apparatus of claim 7, in which the indication is a rejection for all requested S-NSSAI not available in a current Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) or SNPN (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Regarding claim 14. (Original) Surisetty teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, in which the indication is a deregistration request for Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) failure (Surisetty, pp [43]-[45]).
Regarding claim 15. (Original) Surisetty teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, in which the indication is a registration rejection for all requested S-NSSAIs (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Regarding claim 17. (Original) Surisetty teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, in which the indication is a rejection for failed or revoked network slice-specific authentication and authorization (Surisetty, pp [15], [45], [52]).
Regarding claim 18. (Previously Presented) Surisetty teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, in which the indication is a rejection for all requested S-NSSAI not available in a current Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) or SNPN (Surisetty, Fig. 5, pp [57]-[58]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surisetty et al. (Publication No. US 2021/0329539) and further in view of Park et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0413241).
Regarding claim 4. (Previously Presented) Surisetty does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising connecting with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access in which the selected PLMN includes a non-3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.
Park teaches “connecting with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access in which the selected PLMN includes a non-3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.” (Park, pp [99]-[102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Surisetty by incorporating teachings of Park, method and system for a user equipment configuration update (UCU) of a terminal in a wireless communication system wherein the method provides setting update instruction messages for updating a set of the terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the setting update instruction messages include rejected single-network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI) for the terminal and a rejection reason and storing, on the basis of the rejection reason, the rejected S-NSSAI in rejected NSSAI. To an extension, in the 5G system, a node is responsible for wireless transmission/reception with the UE is gNB and plays the same role as the eNB in the EPS. When the UE is simultaneously connected to the 3GPP connection and the non-3GPP connection, the UE receives a service through one AM. That connection is made by the non-3GPP connection and a connection is made by the 3GPP connection are connected to one same UPF, but the connection is not particularly required and may be connected by a plurality of different UPFs. However, in case when the UE is unable to connect to a network via a 3GPP access for an instance when a N1 mode is deactivated then the UE selects N3IWK (also referred to as non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF)) in the HPLMN in the roaming scenario and is connected to the non-3GPP connection, the AMF that manages the 3GPP connection may be located in the VPLMN and the AMF that manages the non-3GPP connection may be located in the HPLMN. Thus the system provides an improvement for UEs that are not able to connect to a network via a 3GPP access, are able to use or able to select a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to access to the network without being delay or interruption of service.
Regarding claim 10. (Previously Presented) Surisetty does not teach the UE apparatus of claim 7, wherein the instructions further configure the apparatus to connect with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access in which the selected PLMN includes a non-3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.
Park teaches “connect with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access in which the selected PLMN includes a non-3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.” (Park, pp [99]-[102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Surisetty by incorporating teachings of Park, method and system for a user equipment configuration update (UCU) of a terminal in a wireless communication system wherein the method provides setting update instruction messages for updating a set of the terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the setting update instruction messages include rejected single-network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI) for the terminal and a rejection reason and storing, on the basis of the rejection reason, the rejected S-NSSAI in rejected NSSAI. To an extension, in the 5G system, a node is responsible for wireless transmission/reception with the UE is gNB and plays the same role as the eNB in the EPS. When the UE is simultaneously connected to the 3GPP connection and the non-3GPP connection, the UE receives a service through one AM. That connection is made by the non-3GPP connection and a connection is made by the 3GPP connection are connected to one same UPF, but the connection is not particularly required and may be connected by a plurality of different UPFs. However, in case when the UE is unable to connect to a network via a 3GPP access for an instance when a N1 mode is deactivated then the UE selects N3IWK (also referred to as non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF)) in the HPLMN in the roaming scenario and is connected to the non-3GPP connection, the AMF that manages the 3GPP connection may be located in the VPLMN and the AMF that manages the non-3GPP connection may be located in the HPLMN. Thus the system provides an improvement for UEs that are not able to connect to a network via a 3GPP access, are able to use or able to select a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to access to the network without being delay or interruption of service.
Regarding claim 16. (Previously Presented) Surisetty does not teach the computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the instructions further configure the computer to connect with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPPaccess in which the selected PLMN includes a non- 3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.
Park teaches “connect with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPPaccess in which the selected PLMN includes a non- 3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.” (Park, pp [99]-[102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Surisetty by incorporating teachings of Park, method and system for a user equipment configuration update (UCU) of a terminal in a wireless communication system wherein the method provides setting update instruction messages for updating a set of the terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the setting update instruction messages include rejected single-network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI) for the terminal and a rejection reason and storing, on the basis of the rejection reason, the rejected S-NSSAI in rejected NSSAI. To an extension, in the 5G system, a node is responsible for wireless transmission/reception with the UE is gNB and plays the same role as the eNB in the EPS. When the UE is simultaneously connected to the 3GPP connection and the non-3GPP connection, the UE receives a service through one AM. That connection is made by the non-3GPP connection and a connection is made by the 3GPP connection are connected to one same UPF, but the connection is not particularly required and may be connected by a plurality of different UPFs. However, in case when the UE is unable to connect to a network via a 3GPP access for an instance when a N1 mode is deactivated then the UE selects N3IWK (also referred to as non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF)) in the HPLMN in the roaming scenario and is connected to the non-3GPP connection, the AMF that manages the 3GPP connection may be located in the VPLMN and the AMF that manages the non-3GPP connection may be located in the HPLMN. Thus the system provides an improvement for UEs that are not able to connect to a network via a 3GPP access, are able to use or able to select a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to access to the network without being delay or interruption of service.
Regarding claim 19. (Previously Presented) Surisetty does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising connecting with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access.
Park teaches “connecting with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access due to disabling N1 mode capability over 3GPP access.” (Park, pp [99]-[102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Surisetty by incorporating teachings of Park, method and system for a user equipment configuration update (UCU) of a terminal in a wireless communication system wherein the method provides setting update instruction messages for updating a set of the terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the setting update instruction messages include rejected single-network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI) for the terminal and a rejection reason and storing, on the basis of the rejection reason, the rejected S-NSSAI in rejected NSSAI. To an extension, in the 5G system, a node is responsible for wireless transmission/reception with the UE is gNB and plays the same role as the eNB in the EPS. When the UE is simultaneously connected to the 3GPP connection and the non-3GPP connection, the UE receives a service through one AM. That connection is made by the non-3GPP connection and a connection is made by the 3GPP connection are connected to one same UPF, but the connection is not particularly required and may be connected by a plurality of different UPFs. However, in case when the UE is unable to connect to a network via a 3GPP access for an instance when a N1 mode is deactivated then the UE selects N3IWK (also referred to as non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF)) in the HPLMN in the roaming scenario and is connected to the non-3GPP connection, the AMF that manages the 3GPP connection may be located in the VPLMN and the AMF that manages the non-3GPP connection may be located in the HPLMN. Thus the system provides an improvement for UEs that are not able to connect to a network via a 3GPP access, are able to use or able to select a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to access to the network without being delay or interruption of service.
Regarding claim 20. (Previously Presented) Surisetty does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving services associated with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access related to a 5G network which is in N1 mode.
Park teaches “receiving services associated with a selected Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) over a non-3GPP access related to a 5G network which is in N1 mode.” (Park, pp [99]-[102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Surisetty by incorporating teachings of Park, method and system for a user equipment configuration update (UCU) of a terminal in a wireless communication system wherein the method provides setting update instruction messages for updating a set of the terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the setting update instruction messages include rejected single-network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI) for the terminal and a rejection reason and storing, on the basis of the rejection reason, the rejected S-NSSAI in rejected NSSAI. To an extension, in the 5G system, a node is responsible for wireless transmission/reception with the UE is gNB and plays the same role as the eNB in the EPS. When the UE is simultaneously connected to the 3GPP connection and the non-3GPP connection, the UE receives a service through one AM. That connection is made by the non-3GPP connection and a connection is made by the 3GPP connection are connected to one same UPF, but the connection is not particularly required and may be connected by a plurality of different UPFs. However, in case when the UE is unable to connect to a network via a 3GPP access for an instance when a N1 mode is deactivated then the UE selects N3IWK (also referred to as non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF)) in the HPLMN in the roaming scenario and is connected to the non-3GPP connection, the AMF that manages the 3GPP connection may be located in the VPLMN and the AMF that manages the non-3GPP connection may be located in the HPLMN. Thus the system provides an improvement for UEs that are not able to connect to a network via a 3GPP access, are able to use or able to select a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to access to the network without being delay or interruption of service.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644