DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on January 4, 2024, as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on May 22, 2024. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DETECTING
PAGING EARLY INDICATION INFORMATION IN A BANDWIDTH UNIT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a communication method comprising:
sending first configuration information to a plurality of terminal devices, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure the plurality of terminal devices to detect paging early indication information on a first bandwidth unit, and the paging early indication information indicates to detect or not to detect paging indication information, ([0365] “a wireless device may receive message indicating a first initial BWP of a cell comprising BWPs and a second initial BWP of the cell, wherein the first initial BWP is associated with a first wireless device type and the second initial BWP is associated with a second wireless device type. The wireless device may determine one of the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP based on a type of the wireless device, wherein the type is one of the first wireless device type and the second wireless device type. The wireless device may receive, via the determined initial BWP, both a PEI based on monitoring a PEI search space and a DCI scheduling a paging message in response to the PEI (e.g., indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH)”), ([0367] “based on a base station configuring PEI and paging on a same initial BWP and configuring different initial BWPs for different types (RedCap, non-RedCap, etc.) of wireless devices, a wireless device may stick to (e.g., without switching to another initial DL BWP) a same initial DL BWP for receiving a PEI and/or receiving a paging DCI scheduling a paging message for the wireless device in response to the PEI indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH. Example embodiments may allow the base station to transmit different PEIs on different initial DL BWPs for different types of wireless devices, without requesting the wireless devices to switch DL BWPs for receiving PEI and/or paging DCI/paging message”);
However, Zhou does not disclose sending a reference signal on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, WEN discloses, and sending a reference signal on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with a network device, ((see Page 4, 20th paragraph of the attached translated document) “A fourth aspect of the present application provides a method for determining time synchronization, including: an access network device sending bandwidth information of a downlink reference signal to a terminal device, where the downlink reference signal is used for time synchronization”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) to include the downlink reference signal, disclosed by WEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine and synchronize the time between access network device and terminal device, WEN (Page 4, 20th paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses A communication method comprising:
receiving, by a first terminal device, first configuration information from a network device, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure the first terminal device to detect paging early indication information on a first bandwidth unit, and the paging early indication information indicates to detect or not to detect paging indication information, ([0365] “a wireless device may receive message indicating a first initial BWP of a cell comprising BWPs and a second initial BWP of the cell, wherein the first initial BWP is associated with a first wireless device type and the second initial BWP is associated with a second wireless device type. The wireless device may determine one of the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP based on a type of the wireless device, wherein the type is one of the first wireless device type and the second wireless device type. The wireless device may receive, via the determined initial BWP, both a PEI based on monitoring a PEI search space and a DCI scheduling a paging message in response to the PEI (e.g., indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH)”), ([0367] “based on a base station configuring PEI and paging on a same initial BWP and configuring different initial BWPs for different types (RedCap, non-RedCap, etc.) of wireless devices, a wireless device may stick to (e.g., without switching to another initial DL BWP) a same initial DL BWP for receiving a PEI and/or receiving a paging DCI scheduling a paging message for the wireless device in response to the PEI indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH. Example embodiments may allow the base station to transmit different PEIs on different initial DL BWPs for different types of wireless devices, without requesting the wireless devices to switch DL BWPs for receiving PEI and/or paging DCI/paging message”);
However, Zhou does not disclose, and receiving, by the first terminal device, a reference signal from the network device on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the first terminal device to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with the network device.
In the same field of endeavor, WEN discloses, and receiving, by the first terminal device, a reference signal from the network device on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the first terminal device to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with the network device, ((see Page 4, 20th paragraph of the attached translated document) “A fourth aspect of the present application provides a method for determining time synchronization, including: an access network device sending bandwidth information of a downlink reference signal to a terminal device, where the downlink reference signal is used for time synchronization”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) to include the downlink reference signal, disclosed by WEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine and synchronize the time between access network device and terminal device, WEN (Page 4, 20th paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses a communication apparatus comprising one or more processors ([0221], (FIG. 15: Processing System 1508)), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: send first configuration information to a plurality of terminal devices, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure the plurality of terminal devices to detect paging early indication information in a first bandwidth unit, and the paging early indication information indicates to detect or not to detect paging indication information, ([0365] “a wireless device may receive message indicating a first initial BWP of a cell comprising BWPs and a second initial BWP of the cell, wherein the first initial BWP is associated with a first wireless device type and the second initial BWP is associated with a second wireless device type. The wireless device may determine one of the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP based on a type of the wireless device, wherein the type is one of the first wireless device type and the second wireless device type. The wireless device may receive, via the determined initial BWP, both a PEI based on monitoring a PEI search space and a DCI scheduling a paging message in response to the PEI (e.g., indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH)”), ([0367] “based on a base station configuring PEI and paging on a same initial BWP and configuring different initial BWPs for different types (RedCap, non-RedCap, etc.) of wireless devices, a wireless device may stick to (e.g., without switching to another initial DL BWP) a same initial DL BWP for receiving a PEI and/or receiving a paging DCI scheduling a paging message for the wireless device in response to the PEI indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH. Example embodiments may allow the base station to transmit different PEIs on different initial DL BWPs for different types of wireless devices, without requesting the wireless devices to switch DL BWPs for receiving PEI and/or paging DCI/paging message”);
However, Zhou does not disclose, and send a reference signal on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, WEN discloses, and send a reference signal on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by the plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with a network device, ((see Page 4, 20th paragraph of the attached translated document) “A fourth aspect of the present application provides a method for determining time synchronization, including: an access network device sending bandwidth information of a downlink reference signal to a terminal device, where the downlink reference signal is used for time synchronization”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) to include the downlink reference signal, disclosed by WEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine and synchronize the time between access network device and terminal device, WEN (Page 4, 20th paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses a communication apparatus comprising one or more processors ([0221], (FIG. 15: Processing System 1518)), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive first configuration information from a network device, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure a first terminal device to detect paging early indication information on a first bandwidth unit, and the paging early indication information indicates to detect or not to detect paging indication information; determine to detect the paging early indication information on the first bandwidth unit, ([0365] “a wireless device may receive message indicating a first initial BWP of a cell comprising BWPs and a second initial BWP of the cell, wherein the first initial BWP is associated with a first wireless device type and the second initial BWP is associated with a second wireless device type. The wireless device may determine one of the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP based on a type of the wireless device, wherein the type is one of the first wireless device type and the second wireless device type. The wireless device may receive, via the determined initial BWP, both a PEI based on monitoring a PEI search space and a DCI scheduling a paging message in response to the PEI (e.g., indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH)”), ([0367] “based on a base station configuring PEI and paging on a same initial BWP and configuring different initial BWPs for different types (RedCap, non-RedCap, etc.) of wireless devices, a wireless device may stick to (e.g., without switching to another initial DL BWP) a same initial DL BWP for receiving a PEI and/or receiving a paging DCI scheduling a paging message for the wireless device in response to the PEI indicating to monitor a paging PDCCH. Example embodiments may allow the base station to transmit different PEIs on different initial DL BWPs for different types of wireless devices, without requesting the wireless devices to switch DL BWPs for receiving PEI and/or paging DCI/paging message”);
However, Zhou does not disclose, and receive a reference signal from the network device on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by a plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with the network device.
In the same field of endeavor, WEN discloses, and receive a reference signal from the network device on the first bandwidth unit, wherein the reference signal is used by a plurality of terminal devices to perform at least one of time synchronization or frequency synchronization with the network device, ((see Page 4, 20th paragraph of the attached translated document) “A fourth aspect of the present application provides a method for determining time synchronization, including: an access network device sending bandwidth information of a downlink reference signal to a terminal device, where the downlink reference signal is used for time synchronization”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) to include the downlink reference signal, disclosed by WEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine and synchronize the time between access network device and terminal device, WEN (Page 4, 20th paragraph).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of Weng et al. (US 20120122495 A1), hereinafter Weng.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose wherein paging resources used by at least two of the plurality of terminal devices to detect the paging indication information are in different bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, Weng discloses wherein paging resources used by at least two of the plurality of terminal devices to detect the paging indication information are in different bandwidth units, ([0135] “EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor an early paging indicator occasion in advance of a paging occasion in order to determine if the mobile device should look for a potential page during the paging occasion. In particular, EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor for an early paging indicator modulated using a first modulation type that results in an early paging indicator that comprises at least one phase-continuous tone over the duration of the early paging indicator occasion. Depending on whether the EPI detector function 13 is configured to look for either a "positive" or "negative" early paging indicator, EPI detector function 13 is configured to either advise processor 12 to attempt to receive a page via wireless access radio 11 during the paging occasion upon detecting an early paging indicator indicative of a potential page during the paging occasion, wherein the page is expected to be modulated using a second modulation type that differs from the first modulation type, (using different bandwidth units appears indeed mandatory, in case the system attempts to provide terminal-specific paging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the EPI detector function 13, disclosed by Weng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to monitor for an early paging indicator using multiple possible modulation types, Weng ([0135]).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose wherein paging resources used by at least two of the plurality of terminal devices to detect the paging indication information are in different bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, Weng discloses wherein paging resources used by at least two of the plurality of terminal devices to detect the paging indication information are in different bandwidth units, ([0135] “EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor an early paging indicator occasion in advance of a paging occasion in order to determine if the mobile device should look for a potential page during the paging occasion. In particular, EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor for an early paging indicator modulated using a first modulation type that results in an early paging indicator that comprises at least one phase-continuous tone over the duration of the early paging indicator occasion. Depending on whether the EPI detector function 13 is configured to look for either a "positive" or "negative" early paging indicator, EPI detector function 13 is configured to either advise processor 12 to attempt to receive a page via wireless access radio 11 during the paging occasion upon detecting an early paging indicator indicative of a potential page during the paging occasion, wherein the page is expected to be modulated using a second modulation type that differs from the first modulation type, (using different bandwidth units appears indeed mandatory, in case the system attempts to provide terminal-specific paging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the EPI detector function 13, disclosed by Weng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to monitor for an early paging indicator using multiple possible modulation types, Weng ([0135]).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1),
hereinafter WEN, further in view of TANG, HAI (WO 2019084923 A1), hereinafter TANG.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: sending a plurality of pieces of second configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein one of the plurality of pieces of second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of a plurality of bandwidth units; or sending third configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, TANG discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending a plurality of pieces of second configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein one of the plurality of pieces of second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of a plurality of bandwidth units, ((see Page 8, 11th paragraph of the attached translated document)“a second sending unit, configured to send, to the terminal device, configuration information of multiple paging bandwidths for carrying the paging message, the multiple paging The configuration information of the bandwidth is used by the terminal device to determine a frequency domain location of the at least one paging bandwidth”, (see Page 5, 4th paragraph of the attached translated document) “[…] the terminal device receiving configuration information of the multiple paging bandwidths sent by the network device; […] determining, by the terminal device, a frequency domain location of each paging bandwidth in the at least one paging bandwidth according to the identifier of the terminal device and the configuration information of the multiple paging bandwidths”); or sending third configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the configuration information, disclosed by TANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to determine the frequency domain of a paging bandwidth, TANG (see page 8, 10th paragraph of the attached translated document).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 11 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send a plurality of pieces of second configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein one of the plurality of pieces of second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of a plurality of bandwidth units; or send third configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of [[a]]the plurality of bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, TANG discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send a plurality of pieces of second configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein one of the plurality of pieces of second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of a plurality of bandwidth units, ((see Page 8, 11th paragraph of the attached translated document)“a second sending unit, configured to send, to the terminal device, configuration information of multiple paging bandwidths for carrying the paging message, the multiple paging The configuration information of the bandwidth is used by the terminal device to determine a frequency domain location of the at least one paging bandwidth”, (see Page 5, 4th paragraph of the attached translated document) “[…] the terminal device receiving configuration information of the multiple paging bandwidths sent by the network device; […] determining, by the terminal device, a frequency domain location of each paging bandwidth in the at least one paging bandwidth according to the identifier of the terminal device and the configuration information of the multiple paging bandwidths”); or send third configuration information to the plurality of terminal devices, wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of [[a]]the plurality of bandwidth units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the configuration information, disclosed by TANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to determine the frequency domain of a paging bandwidth, TANG (see Page 8, 10th paragraph of the attached translated document).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of TANG, HAI (WO 2019084923 A1), hereinafter TANG, and further in view of JUNEJA et al. (US 20220303990 A1), hereinafter JUNEJA.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Zhou as modified by WEN and TANG does not disclose, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNEJA discloses wherein the plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit, ([0007], [0005] “a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, a first BWP of a first carrier aggregation signal and a second BWP of a second carrier aggregation signal. […] The method also includes tuning a radio frequency (RF) channel to a center of a wideband channel including the first BWP and the second BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and TANG to integrate the bandwidth part (BWP) switch, disclosed by JUNEJA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so both the first BWP and the second BWP are included in the center of a wideband channel, JUNEJA ([0007], [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Zhou as modified by WEN and Weng does not disclose, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNEJA discloses wherein the plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit, ([0007], [0005] “a bandwidth part BWP) switch, a first BWP of a first carrier aggregation signal and a second BWP of a second carrier aggregation signal. […] The
method also includes tuning a radio frequency (RF) channel to a center of a wideband channel including the first BWP and the second BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and TANG to integrate the bandwidth part (BWP) switch, disclosed by JUNEJA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so both the first BWP and the second BWP are included in the center of a wideband channel, JUNEJA ([0007], [0005]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of TANG, HAI (WO 2019084923 A1), hereinafter TANG, further in view of XIONG et al. (US 20200128588 A1), hereinafter XIONG, further in view of SHI; CONG (US 20200305162 A1), hereinafter SHI, and further in view of XU et al. (US 20210258996 A1), hereinafter, XU.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Zhou as modified by WEN and TANG does not disclose, wherein the method further comprises: sending fourth configuration information, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by a terminal device to perform an initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XIONG discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending fourth configuration information, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by a terminal device to perform an initial access process, ([0136] “[…] transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource for the UE to perform random access procedure, wherein the configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource is used to determine corresponding physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”, [0257] “[…] configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource configuration information for the UE to perform random access procedure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and TANG to include the configuration information, disclosed by XIONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to perform random access procedure, XIONG ([0257]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, TANG, and XIONG does not disclose, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information.
In the same field of endeavor, SHI discloses, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information, ([0040], [0037] “the network may configure identifier information of the first BWP to be the same as identifier information of the second BWP. Or, the network randomly configures identifier information of the first BWP and identifier information of the second BWP so that the identifier information of the first BWP and the identifier information of the second BWP may be the same or different”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, TANG, and XIONG to integrate the configuring network, taught by SHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the network to configure identifier information of the first BWP, which may also serve to identify the second BWP, SHI ([0040], [0037]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, TANG, XIONG, and SHI does not disclose, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, ([0223] “[…] the single DCI message indicates that a first communication is scheduled on the first BWP (having a BWP ID of 1) of the first cell (Cell 0), and that a second communication is scheduled on the third BWP (having a BWP ID of 3) of the second cell (Cell 1). Additional details regarding techniques for indicating the multiple BWPs are described below in connection with FIGS. 9-11. [0224] As shown by reference number 820, the UE 120 and the base station 110 may communicate with one another using the multiple BWPs (indicated in the single DCI message) corresponding to the multiple cells. For example, the base station 110 may transmit downlink communications to the UE 120 using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells, and the UE 120 may monitor for and/or receive the downlink communications using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells. […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, TANG, XIONG, and SHI to integrate the first BWP and third BWP, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a communication between the base station and UE using multiple distinct BWPs, XU ([0223]).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 3 above, Zhou as modified by WEN and TANG does not disclose, wherein the transceiver unit is further configured to send fourth configuration information, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by a terminal device to perform an initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XIONG discloses wherein the transceiver unit is further configured to send fourth configuration information, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by a terminal device to perform an initial access process, ([0136] “[…] transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource for the UE to perform random access procedure, wherein the configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource is used to determine corresponding physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”, [0257] “[…] configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource configuration information for the UE to perform random access procedure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and TANG to include the configuration information, disclosed by XIONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to perform random access procedure, XIONG ([0257]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, TANG, and XIONG does not disclose, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information.
In the same field of endeavor, SHI discloses, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information, ([0040], [0037] “the network may configure identifier information of the first BWP to be the same as identifier information of the second BWP. Or, the network randomly configures identifier information of the first BWP and identifier information of the second BWP so that the identifier information of the first BWP and the identifier information of the second BWP may be the same or different”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, TANG, and XIONG to integrate the configuring network, taught by SHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the network to configure identifier information of the first BWP, which may also serve to identify the second BWP, SHI ([0040], [0037]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, TANG, XIONG, and SHI does not disclose, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the terminal device to perform the initial access process, ([0223] “[…] the single DCI message indicates that a first communication is scheduled on the first BWP (having a BWP ID of 1) of the first cell (Cell 0), and that a second communication is scheduled on the third BWP (having a BWP ID of 3) of the second cell (Cell 1). Additional details regarding techniques for indicating the multiple BWPs are described below in connection with FIGS. 9-11. [0224] As shown by reference number 820, the UE 120 and the base station 110 may communicate with one another using the multiple BWPs (indicated in the single DCI message) corresponding to the multiple cells. For example, the base station 110 may transmit downlink communications to the UE 120 using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells, and the UE 120 may monitor for and/or receive the downlink communications using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells. […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, TANG, XIONG, and SHI to integrate the first BWP and third BWP, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a communication between the base station and UE using multiple distinct BWPs, XU ([0223]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of JUNEJA et al. (US 20220303990 A1), hereinafter JUNEJA.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein a plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNEJA discloses wherein a plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit, ([0007], [0005] “a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, a first BWP of a first carrier aggregation signal and a second BWP of a second carrier aggregation signal. […] The method also includes tuning a radio frequency (RF) channel to a center of a wideband channel including the first BWP and the second BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the bandwidth part (BWP) switch, disclosed by JUNEJA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so both the first BWP and the second BWP are included in the center of a wideband channel, JUNEJA ([0007], [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein a plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit.
In the same field of endeavor, JUNEJA discloses wherein a plurality of bandwidth units comprise the first bandwidth unit, ([0007], [0005] “a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, a first BWP of a first carrier aggregation signal and a second BWP of a second carrier aggregation signal. […] The method also includes tuning a radio frequency (RF) channel to a center of a wideband channel including the first BWP and the second BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the bandwidth part (BWP) switch, disclosed by JUNEJA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so both the first BWP and the second BWP are included in the center of a wideband channel, JUNEJA ([0007], [0005]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of AGIWAL et al. (US 20200137718 A1), hereinafter AGIWAL.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal device, second configuration information from the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in a plurality of bandwidth units, and the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information, wherein the second configuration information comprises a plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information, and one of the plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of the plurality of bandwidth units; or the second configuration information comprises one piece of paging resource configuration information, and the one piece of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, AGIWAL discloses, wherein the method further
comprises: receiving, by the first terminal device, second configuration information from the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in a plurality of bandwidth units, and the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information, wherein the second configuration information comprises a plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information, and one of the plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of the plurality of bandwidth units; or the second configuration information comprises one piece of paging resource configuration information, and the one piece of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units, ([0093] “FIG. 2 illustrates determining PF and PO according to another embodiment of the disclosure. [0094] The UE camps on a NR cell (210) [0095] The UE receives system information which contains the paging search space configuration and first type of paging parameters and second type of paging parameters (220). [0096] The UE applies the paging search space and first type of paging parameters and the second type of paging parameters to determine PF/PO in the initial BWP UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI in the initial BWP (230). [0097] The UE receives RRC control message which contains configuration information for additional dedicate BWPs (240). Dedicate BWP can be configured with pagingSearchSpace and second type of paging parameters”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, to integrate the paging search space configuration and first type of paging parameters, disclosed by AGIWAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to configure dedicate BWP, WEN ([0095]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive second configuration information from the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in a plurality of bandwidth units, and the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information, wherein the second configuration information comprises a plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information, and one of the plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of the plurality of bandwidth units; or the second configuration information comprises one piece of paging resource configuration information, and the one piece of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units.
In the same field of endeavor, AGIWAL discloses, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive second configuration information from the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in a plurality of bandwidth units, and the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information, wherein the second configuration information comprises a plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information, and one of the plurality of pieces of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in one of the plurality of bandwidth units; or the second configuration information comprises one piece of paging resource configuration information, and the one piece of paging resource configuration information is used to configure a paging resource in each of the plurality of bandwidth units, ([0093] “FIG. 2 illustrates determining PF and PO according to another embodiment of the disclosure. [0094] The UE camps on a NR cell (210) [0095] The UE receives system information which contains the paging search space configuration and first type of paging parameters and second type of paging parameters (220). [0096] The UE applies the paging search space and first type of paging parameters and the second type of paging parameters to determine PF/PO in the initial BWP UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI in the initial BWP (230). [0097] The UE receives RRC control message which contains configuration information for additional dedicate BWPs (240). Dedicate BWP can be configured with pagingSearchSpace and second type of paging parameters”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, to integrate the paging search space configuration and first type of paging parameters, disclosed by AGIWAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to configure dedicate BWP, WEN ([0095]-[0097]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of JUNEJA et al. (US 20220303990 A1), hereinafter JUNEJA, further in view of XIONG et al. (US 20200128588 A1), hereinafter XIONG, further in view of SHI; CONG (US 20200305162 A1), hereinafter SHI, and further in view of XU et al. (US 20210258996 A1), hereinafter, XU.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 7 above, Zhou as modified by WEN and JUNEJA does not disclose, wherein the method further comprises: receiving fourth configuration information from the network device, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by the first terminal device to perform an initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XIONG discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving fourth configuration information from the network device, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by the first terminal device to perform an initial access process, ([0136] “[…] transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource for the UE to perform random access procedure, wherein the configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource is used to determine corresponding physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”), ([0257] “[…] configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource configuration information for the UE to perform random access procedure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and JUNEJA to include the configuration information, disclosed by XIONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to perform random access procedure, XIONG ([0257]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, JUNEJA, and XIONG does not disclose, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information.
In the same field of endeavor, SHI discloses, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information, ([0040], [0037] “the network may configure identifier information of the first BWP to be the same as identifier information of the second BWP. Or, the network randomly configures identifier information of the first BWP and identifier information of the second BWP so that the identifier information of the first BWP and the identifier information of the second BWP may be the same or different”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, JUNEJA, and XIONG to integrate the configuring network, taught by SHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the network to configure identifier information of the first BWP, which
may also serve to identify the second BWP, SHI ([0040], [0037]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, JUNEJA, XIONG, and SHI does not disclose the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process.
([0223] “[…] the single DCI message indicates that a first communication is scheduled on the first BWP (having a BWP ID of 1) of the first cell (Cell 0), and that a second communication is scheduled on the third BWP (having a BWP ID of 3) of the second cell (Cell 1). Additional details regarding techniques for indicating the multiple BWPs are described below in connection with FIGS. 9-11. [0224] As shown by reference number 820, the UE 120 and the base station 110 may communicate with one another using the multiple BWPs (indicated in the single DCI message) corresponding to the multiple cells. For example, the base station 110 may transmit downlink communications to the UE 120 using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells, and the UE 120 may monitor for and/or receive the downlink communications using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the
multiple cells. […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, JUNEJA, XIONG, and SHI to integrate the first BWP and third BWP, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a communication between the base station and UE using multiple distinct BWPs, XU ([0223]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of LIU et al. (KR 20200022432 A), hereinafter LIU.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 6 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first terminal device based on identification information of the first terminal device and a mapping rule, that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the mapping rule represents a mapping relationship between identification information of a terminal device and a bandwidth unit; or receiving, by the first terminal device, resource indication information from the network device, wherein the resource indication information indicates that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information.
In the same field of endeavor, LIU discloses, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first terminal device based on identification information of the first terminal device and a mapping rule, that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the mapping rule represents a mapping relationship between identification information of a terminal device and a bandwidth unit, ((see Page 8, 11th paragraph of the attached translated document) “[…] before the terminal device determines the transmission frequency band of the paging message according to the center frequency point of the paging message corresponding to the terminal device, the method includes: Identifier information of the terminal group to which the terminal device belongs transmitted by the first network node, bandwidth section information to which the terminal device belongs, mapping relationship information of the terminal group and the center frequency point, and mapping of the bandwidth section and the center frequency point Receiving at least one of the relationship information”); or receiving, by the first terminal device, resource indication information from the network device, wherein the resource indication information indicates that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the terminal device, disclosed by LIU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the terminal device may use the identifier information to realize the mapping relationship between the bandwidth section and the center frequency point of the paging message, LIU (see Page 8,
11th paragraph of the attached translated document).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim16 above, Zhou as modified by WEN does not disclose, wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine, based on identification information of the first terminal device and a mapping rule, that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the mapping rule represents a mapping relationship between identification information of a terminal device and a bandwidth unit; or the transceiver unit is further configured to receive resource indication information from the network device, wherein the resource indication information indicates that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information.
In the same field of endeavor, LIU discloses, wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine, based on identification information of the first terminal device and a mapping rule, that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the mapping rule represents a mapping relationship between identification information of a terminal device and a bandwidth unit, ((see Page 8, 11th paragraph of the attached translated document) “[…] before the terminal device determines the transmission frequency band of the paging message according to the center frequency point of the paging message corresponding to the terminal device, the method includes: Identifier information of the terminal group to which the terminal device belongs transmitted by the first network node, bandwidth section information to which the terminal device belongs, mapping relationship information of the terminal group and the center frequency point, and mapping of the bandwidth section and the center frequency point Receiving at least one of the relationship information”); or the transceiver unit is further configured to receive resource indication information from the network device, wherein the resource indication information indicates that a paging resource of the first terminal device is in a second bandwidth unit, wherein the paging resource is used by the first terminal device to detect the paging indication information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN to integrate the terminal device, disclosed by LIU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the terminal device may use the identifier information to realize the mapping relationship between the bandwidth section and the center frequency point of the paging message, LIU (see Page 8, 11th paragraph of the attached translated document).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230403679 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of WEN et al. (WO 2020020322 A1), hereinafter WEN, further in view of AGIWAL et al. (US 20200137718 A1), hereinafter AGIWAL, further in view of XIONG et al. (US 20200128588 A1), hereinafter XIONG, further in view of SHI; CONG (US 20200305162 A1), hereinafter SHI, and further in view of XU et al. (US 20210258996 A1), hereinafter, XU.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Zhou as modified by WEN, and AGIWAL does not disclose, wherein the transceiver unit is further configured to receive fourth configuration information from the network device, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by the first terminal device to perform an initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XIONG discloses wherein the transceiver unit is further configured to receive fourth configuration information from the network device, wherein the fourth configuration information is used to configure the plurality of bandwidth units, wherein the plurality of bandwidth units are used by the first terminal device to perform an initial access process, ([0136] “[…] transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource for the UE to perform random access procedure, wherein the configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource is used to determine corresponding physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”), ([0257] “[…] configuration information of the initial active UL BWP and the corresponding random access resource configuration information for the UE to perform random access procedure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN and AGIWAL to include the configuration information, disclosed by XIONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the UE to perform random access procedure, XIONG ([0257]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, AGIWA, and XIONG does not disclose, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information.
In the same field of endeavor, SHI discloses, the fourth configuration information comprises identification information of the plurality of bandwidth units, identification information of one bandwidth unit comprises first identification information and second identification information, ([0040], [0037] “the network may configure identifier information of the first BWP to be the same as identifier information of the second BWP. Or, the network randomly configures identifier information of the first BWP and identifier information of the second BWP so that the identifier information of the first BWP and the identifier information of the second BWP may be the same or different”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, AGIWA, and XIONG to integrate the configuring network, taught by SHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the network to configure identifier information of the first BWP, which may also serve to identify the second BWP, SHI ([0040], [0037]).
However, Zhou as modified by WEN, AGIWA, XIONG, and SHI does not disclose, the first identification information indicates that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses, the first identification information indicates
that the bandwidth unit is a bandwidth unit used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process, and the second identification information identifies one of the bandwidth units used by the first terminal device to perform the initial access process, ([0223] “[…] the single DCI message indicates that a first communication is scheduled on the first BWP (having a BWP ID of 1) of the first cell (Cell 0), and that a second communication is scheduled on the third BWP (having a BWP ID of 3) of the second cell (Cell 1). Additional details regarding techniques for indicating the multiple BWPs are described below in connection with FIGS. 9-11. [0224] As shown by reference number 820, the UE 120 and the base station 110 may communicate with one another using the multiple BWPs (indicated in the single DCI message) corresponding to the multiple cells. For example, the base station 110 may transmit downlink communications to the UE 120 using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells, and the UE 120 may monitor for and/or receive the downlink communications using the multiple BWPs corresponding to the multiple cells. […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the received PEI, disclosed by Zhou ([0367], [0365]) as modified by WEN, AGIWA, XIONG, and SHI to integrate the first BWP and third BWP, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a communication between the base station and UE using multiple distinct BWPs, XU ([0223]).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to GILBERT GRANT whose telephone number is (703)756-1136. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Thursday.
/GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642