Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 8 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The method requires creating an artwork while the table system can be used for other functions.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 8 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 7,380,765 to Shiff in view of US Patent 3,799,488 to Sena, US Patent 9,220,343 to Selwa and US Patent 5,400,720 to Stevens. (Selwa and Stevens are being provided as direct evidence of the previous official notice).
Shiff teaches
1. An art table system comprising: a base (24) comprising a top face and a bottom face a turntable (48, 32) configured to be rotated about a central axis (42), said turntable secured above said base via a pair of side structural frames (34,30); a crossbar arm (38,40) affixed to said turntable, said crossbar arm configured to receive and secure a working surface (22); said turntable affixed to a pivot point (36) about which said turntable may pivot from a horizontal orientation (as best seen in figure 4) to any orientation up to and including a vertical orientation (as best seen in figures 1 and 3); an adjustable bracket (54) selectively connected to a rail of said crossbar arm via a bolt (62) connecting said adjustable bracket to a lower receiver (86); said adjustable bracket being selectively movable along said rail (via the slot 60 in the rail); wherein said adjustable bracket is configured to secure said working surface to said crossbar arm; An adjustable guide arm (74) that is connected to connections (76, 78) to allow for the adjustment of the surface around the pivot point as best seen in figure 3.
Shiff does not expressly disclose the lower receiver of the adjustable bracket received in an interior space of the rail.
Sena teaches a system holing a canvas for panting. The system includes boxed rails (16,17) having a slot (47,48). Adjustable bracket (34,35,49,51) has a bolt (52,39) and a receiver (41). As best seen in figures 1 and 3, the receiver and bolt remain in the interior of the rail. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Shiff by making the rails from a boxed shape as taught by Sena as a functional equivalent and stronger rail.
Shiff does not expressly disclose a motor placed between the frame and configured to mechanically rotate the turntable.
Selwa teaches an art system with a turntable (rotating assembly, col 7, lines 25-Col 8, lines 22). A motor is attached to the rotating assembly and controlled with a remote control (Col 13, lines 16-21).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art table system of Shiff by adding a motor to the turntable as taught by Selwa to automatically rotate the canvas for a user. It should be noted that the motor would need to connect near the central rotating axis and therefore the motor inherently would be between the pair of structural frames of Shiff to maintain the other movements of the turntable.
Shiff in view of Selwa does not expressly disclose a hydraulic arm used to control motion about a pivot point.
Stevens teaches a table system with a base (16,18) and surface (20) that rotates about a pivot point (22). A hydraulic arm (24) connects between the base and the surface with pivot connections. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art table system of Shiff in view of Selwa by replacing the adjustable guide arm with a hydraulic arm as taught by Stevens to control the tilt of the table. It should be noted that the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Shiff teaches
2. further comprising: a plurality of wheels (26) configured to allow for the table system to be rolled along a floor surface; and wherein said plurality of wheels are affixed to the bottom face of said base (as best seen in figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3,
Shiff discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a plurality of anchors with feet to level the base. It is admitted prior art that it is well known in the art of tables, cabinets, and furniture to add threaded leveling feet adjacent or combined with casters to level an item of furniture and to raise casters off the ground. The common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice in the office action mailed 7/14/2025. See MPEP 2144.03. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Shiff by adding threaded leveling feet as known in the art to level and prevent the wheels form contacting the ground.
Regarding claim 7, Shiff teaches
7. wherein said working surface comprises a canvas (Col 2, 44-53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637